SPIED: 2016 Proton Saga next to Honda Brio Amaze

12595982_10154053115948910_1366197726_n

It’s another set of spyshots of the 2016 Proton Saga, this time courtesy of reader Sean Yeoh. However, the national carmaker’s smallest, cheapest car now appears to have been benchmarked next to the Honda Brio Amaze, hinting at ambitions to challenge Honda’s global budget sedan.

As before, this development mule wears a touch less camouflage, showing the more three-dimensional tail lights, a new fog light in the bumper and the more steeply raked shoulder line – incorporating the new Iriz-style door handles. Also seen is the C-pillar window line kink that differs from the current car‘s straight slope.

Although only the rear has been caught in these photos, the front of the car was seen in another photo that surfaced online earlier in the week, revealing reshaped headlights, a new dual-bar grille and a reprofiled front bumper. Also expected are larger changes to the interior, revamping the Savvy-era cabin of the current car.

Technical details remain scarce right now, but the Saga could launch with the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine and a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also make an appearance further down the line – these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017 – while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also feature.

Aside from the Saga, the new 2016 Proton Perdana was also seen tested – it shouldn’t be long now before the flagship D-segment sedan is launched, seeing as the order books have already been opened.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• policeman on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:39 pm

To much anticipation will lead to disappointment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…looking forward Honda to take 2nd spot of overall car sales in 2016…Bye bye P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • nosushi on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:50 pm

OMG…looking forward p1 to take 1st spot of overall car sales in 2017…Bye bye Jepunis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
        • Proton rebadge on Mar 25, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Perodua is currently training their dealers for the launch of new 1.5 sedan. Can Proton beat them to it ? Or repeat of the Myvi / Savvy and Axia / Iriz history. Proton always 1 month behind and fail miserably… time and customers wont wait for you anymore Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
          • 1JutaAxiaSedan on Mar 25, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Axia Sedan easily can get 100K sales per year and it is a big problem for both Perodua and Proton but actually have simple win-win solution:
            – Proton either rent or sell off its half empty factory to Perodua.

#1JutaAxiaSedan
            #KipidapPerodua
            #DongidapPerodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • OMG…wake up lah…Now the P2 sales is double P1 sales, wanna be no.1…Dreaming lah P1 fanboys.

• Funny design on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Badan besar, tayar kecik.

• Kasi can kite modify sndri guna 205

• Prolly lower variant with smaller tyred. You dun read kah?

• Ahmad on Mar 27, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Agree..
          Proton been doing this for quite sometime but i dont feel it drives the sale!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Good luck to Proton new CEO bean counter accountant. Just launch Saga no more teaser.

• Sack designer on Mar 25, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Sack the designer.

• Samedashboard on Mar 26, 2016 at 5:04 am

Bimmer designers are more worth to be sacked

• Samang on Mar 27, 2016 at 11:24 am

The original car designer was probably some Korean guy in Hyundai/Kia 20 years ago, so why sack him. What P1 has are just tinkerers and facelifters of this very old design.

• camtakpro on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:01 pm

Remember those masked ‘Exora’ being benchmark/compare along with Toyota Wish?

End up only the size is bigger, failed everything else.

• sprinter on Mar 27, 2016 at 8:29 am

Century sprint exora wins
        Space exora wins
        FC exora wins
        Drivebility and handling exora wins

Exora winrar liao lor

• Tutup aje Potong on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Just look at the difference, one look and you know the Honda is way better design & quality than potong turd ….close shop potong !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 38
    • WAHHH! Ur eyes so sharp can see at blurry photos, thru news paper camo, pass dark tinting, and deduce that it is alredi lousier than the brio.
      Ur eyes must be sharper than Superman. Probably can see thru clothing too. KYAAA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 18
      • Tutup aje Jepunis on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Just look at the difference, one look and you know the p1 is way better design & quality than honta turd ….close shop honda !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • OMG…the new saga copy H.Brio Amaze? yucksss…

• John B on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Dream on to reach the sales target that was pointed out by Tun for this year, it is already almost end of march, where is the Perdana touted to be launched by March, some more, these two car are still on their endless testing run… proton are only good at giving spy shots only… went to proton showroom recently, nobody put booking fee for perdana yet.. according to salesman, nobody wants to because they are putting a booking fee on something that are not there, not the price, not even the picture of the car, only hint, bit and pieces of the car, come on proton, you brand is not strong enough to pull out this kind of stunt, launch it already la… people are sick of these spyshots already….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • lelwat on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:37 pm

wah what a die hard fan of proton. You really cant wait for the model launching? You really that desperate? wow. never see ppl like this that really looking forward for proton new model launching. haha.

• William Lim on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:56 pm

last time, proton iris side by side Honda Jazz.. then end up which model bigger in real?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Dotcom on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Hoi Iriz sales is better than Honda jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • Abah kau on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Malaysia ke atau worldwide? Kalau Malaysia saja… Jaguh kampung la ni

• Mak kau on Mar 26, 2016 at 5:06 am

Nobody said iriz is sold worldwide.

• CFETurbo2014 on Mar 28, 2016 at 1:29 am

Iriz now has break out sales better than those stupid rumors by P2 salesman. More Iriz now seen day by day on the road.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:08 pm

I thought the Brio Amaze was ugly….until I saw the Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • 316junk on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:53 pm

I thought the Brio Amaze was ugly….until I saw your recond F30 316.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Nonsense logic on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Funny how Brio Amaze being used as benchmark by Proton but not allowed for sale here. So paranoid even under same group DRB.

• undrtakar on Mar 27, 2016 at 9:44 am

Honda oso paraniod only allows thousands unit of accordana for sale

• Unknown on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:14 pm

I’m a bit worried about the fuel consumption. Current Saga 1.3 consumption of fuel rivals cars that use 2.0 engine, makes me wonder what will happen when it uses the 1.0 and 1.2 3-cylinder engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • George Abdul on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Friend if you mention on PROTON CVT yes you’re right… but don’t forget Proton MT are good with fuel-efficient.

• loler on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Clearly you dun understand to count FC, lol
        1.3l saga rival 2.0l engine? Even 2.0l japs engine drinks fuel much more like lembu minum air than 1.6l campro turbo.

lolololololololloololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Campro engine dont use direct injection. The fuel is injected at the port. Multi port injection is not as efficient as direct injection. Thats why the fuel consumption of saga is sometimes more than 2.0 engine with direct injection. If u compare it with mazda 2.0 skyactiv which has unique direct injection, high compression ratio, etc, it is only logical to say campro 1.3 will use more fuel than skyactiv 2.0

• Pak Atan on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:06 pm

wat a dump statement.
            you just not comparing head to jead like that. be in numbers and fact

• Direct injection cant save much fuel. If hybrid then yes it can. E300 vs kanciul

• camtakpro on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:59 pm

That 1.6L campro turbo bocor, confirm drink less fuel since it is dead.

Proton not only high FC (fuel consumption), also high FC (failure count).

• 1.6l CFE drinks lesser fuel than 2.0l jepunis while having more power

• oldstory on Mar 27, 2016 at 8:26 am

That’s ady past stories, Iriz is more efficient and much much much safer than Vios

• CFETurbo2014 on Mar 28, 2016 at 1:27 am

support loler, 2.0l toyojapan car unbelievable than my 1.6 tubro charge. foudn last week, another things, 1.6 turbo exora much2 enjoying and comfort than brand new 6 month old ToyoPrius handling @ medium speed. another tipu by toyocar. also noisy weatherstrip doortrim both rear doors. stupid how Toyocar could shut their fan mouth towards this problem??

• Littlebear on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Will it still use the rough & unrefined Campro engine?

• No. It shud be using 1.3 VVT now

• Same L0rr on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Same campro la.. Campro with vvt.. But still use cvt punch powertrain i think.. Never learn from the pass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • viosfan on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Meanwhile Vios still using outdated ancient engine 1nz-fe paired with ancient gearbox 4 speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • camtakpro on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:05 pm

Even kimchi modern Kia Rio also 4 speed auto.

Anyway it is funny that ancient gearbox 4 speed has better reliability and efficiency than ‘hi kampung-tech’ CVT.

• viosfails on Mar 27, 2016 at 7:36 am

Vios is not that save but Iriz, every else oso fails

• Compare with iriz, similar weight, more safety, got VVT and more efficient than Vios.

• Chenga on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Hmm…pass or past aa do you mean?

• Matching couple on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Still a crap engine mated with jerky gearbox.

• adriano on Mar 25, 2016 at 1:40 pm

saga tail lamp macam brio amaze

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 25, 2016 at 3:20 pm

The only anticipation for Proton fans is the price of the car…all else is secondary matter. Those who don’t like Proton will never buy. The well to do will likely buy one to use when they want to avoid attention. So better for Proton to work on trade in for loyal owners as they will likely see more sales than trying to sell to ppl who dislike the brand.

• Pemalas on Mar 25, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Work hard and buy Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Ootai on Mar 26, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Give existing saga owners kow kow discount for them to buy new saga for children, etc, under loyalty program. Forget about getting new customers. P1 is past tense.

• Ford toyota kia VW oso got discount gao gao, why no bash? Coz not p1? Come on

• So you are jepunis cars worshipper?
        Even airbags cannot get it right how to get good sales

• A very concern member of the public on Mar 25, 2016 at 3:42 pm

stop putting little wheels on ur cars proton!!

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Mar 25, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Proton, even if you put your cars against a BMW i8, Tesla S or a Bugatti Chiron, we all know that it still gonna be a carbage because of that maCAMtakPRO engine.

• If you ever think about their price, you’ll soon realise that the above comparison is “carbage”.

• Nak amana on Mar 26, 2016 at 12:04 am

1.5 TGDi proton 180hp 250nm is coming guyss . Kepish kepish. Dont get shock seeing proton pass by you at 220kmh later

• Clearly you never drive p1, campro is not that bad.

• Wah nowadays p1 compared to BMW, no Toyota or jepunis mentioned coz too shabby

• gundam mama on Mar 25, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Proton definitely wins and champion among car manufacturers in the world for putting up the most spyshots in the web.

if the car is nice nevermind, but the car looks pretty ugly oredi…..

• karam singh on Mar 25, 2016 at 7:09 pm

I thought perdana is launching end of Q1? In 1 week time… We are in Q2 already. Lying again, Proton?

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Anyone here know how to pronounce SAGA in proper English? It’s ‘Say-Gay’

Jokes aside, I hope it’ll turn out to be better than anticipated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • That means ur grasp of english vocab is still elementary. Saga is also an english word by itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Honda Brio not selling here, and Proton Saga can’t sell oversea, challenge what?

• HALIM BIN MOHD HANIPA on Aug 16, 2016 at 3:05 pm

come on support the malaysian car!!!. Easy to ride, no problem of spare part, never ever recall after sales rather than many car like civic, vw, ferrari etc.