2016 Toyota Sienta – priced between Avanza, Innova

Toyota-Sienta-1-e1456204801483

We recently reported on the specifications of the Indonesian-built 2016 Toyota Sienta, where it appears four variants will be offered for the MPV. Before its unveiling at the 2016 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) next week, PT Toyota Astra Motor vice president Henry Tanoto has hinted at the vehicle’s pricing.

In a report by Kompas, Tanoto said the Sienta will fill the niche between the Avanza (Grand Veloz in Indonesia) and Innova (Kijang Innova in Indonesia), including its price. In Indonesia, the most expensive Avanza (1.5 Veloz AT ) is priced at 230.5 million rupiah (RM68,312), while the cheapest Innova (Type G MT) retails at 285.4 million rupiah (RM84,582).

Apply that to the Malaysian context, the top-spec Avanza 1.5S (AT) is priced at RM81,441, and the base Innova 2.0E (MT) costs RM100,882 (both prices are OTR without insurance). Based on Tanoto’s statement, the Sienta could be priced within the space of both MPVs. This correlates to an earlier advertisement posted on Mudah.my, where a Sienta was listed at RM89,880.

The same ad also suggested that the Sienta will be available in Malaysia starting from August. Malaysian-market Sientas will likely come from Indonesia, where it will reportedly go on sale there in April. Should that be the case, the MPV will be powered by the new new 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine from the facelifted Avanza, producing 107 PS and 143 Nm, mated to a CVT.

Are you looking forward to the arrival of the Toyota Sienta? What do you think of the MPV’s projected pricing and more importantly, what features would you want in our local-spec model once it arrives here? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kuinosan on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:38 pm

No point commenting because this model will not be introduce to our market. That’s how sad our car market is in Malaysia. We are only offered the 2nd liners or the leftovers. Too bad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Another moving coffin for ASEAN. We ASEAN pipu lives r cheap cuz we supported it. Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • 7 air-bags with Traction Control and Electronic Stability Control. Isn’t that obvious? Cars with only 2 air-bags with ABS and EBD is so yesterday.

• RedPlanet on Mar 30, 2016 at 1:44 pm

The feature was meet to current middle class requirement, who currently using Avanza, Alza or Inova. Sliding doors are much conveniences for family with kids and old folk.

Price wise, up date i will said is still reasonable. But I still hope someone could take away proton and AP license, so do the imported car price could drop as 30yrs ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • shawal ali on Mar 30, 2016 at 1:45 pm

it’ll add abit of diversity to our roads….which is nice…

• farghmee on Mar 30, 2016 at 2:01 pm

1. Are you looking forward to the arrival of the Toyota Sienta?
    -Yes

2. What do you think of the MPV’s projected pricing and more importantly,
    -price it close to avanza, instead of innova.

3. what features would you want in our local-spec model once it arrives here?
    -VSC comes as std, extra blower.

• razee hussin on Mar 30, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Will this be another failure like Honda Freed

• If they want to priced it between the Avanza and Innova then put the 1.8cc lah.

Otherwise, just another failure product like Toyota Rush.

• Even my bike got 500cc. Joke aside, 1.8l engine is ady been put in wish. They won’t kacau those segment

• I agree with abc, at least a 1.6 like livina – better still a 1.8 but I also agree with Wsc because Sienta is actually a Japanese model unlike Avanza, Innova and Rush 7 seater. In Japan there is wish 1.8 also.

• I think it’s unnecessary. They have abundance of MPVs but lack of SUVs. A RAV4 should be much more interesting.

Perhaps they target those who are bored with both Avanza and Innova.

• If they can priced slightly more than Avanza BUT no more than RM89K + VSC as standard + Airbags and no black bumper or anything that implied cheapo- YES.

If more than that- better bring new C-HR instead and priced it around HRV’s pricing.

• Azran on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:00 pm

I think it is refreshing to see something new for Toyota Line Up in Malaysia. VSC can be overrated sometime. We should analyse all the accident data in the world and see the ratio between human error VS lack of VSC in that particular vehicle

• stasta on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:23 pm

its more practical and feasible to add stability control in all cars. u know its impossible to ensure all drivers are alert and not distracted 100% of the time.