Toyota Sienta to launch in Malaysia in August, RM90k?

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 4.25.42 PM

This is interesting – an ad for the Toyota Sienta MPV from a Toyota dealer has appeared on Mudah.my, all but confirming that the wacky Japanese curio is coming to Malaysia after all. The copy lists a price of RM89,880, with the seller mentioning that the people carrier will be available starting in August.

Malaysian-market Sientas will likely come from Indonesia, where it will reportedly go on sale sometime in April. Initial production at PT Toyota Motor Manufacturing Indonesia’s new Factory II in Karawang, West Java is expected to amount to around 25,000 units, with 80% for the domestic market and the rest for export. The facility will be the second production hub for the MPV after Japan.

Cars built in Indonesia will reportedly feature slight differences compared to Japanese models. For one, Indonesian-built models will come with either manual or power-sliding doors (the latter are standard on all but the base V package model in Japan).

Also to be included are double blowers (not available in Japan) to beat the tropical heat, as well as a different seat design. This would be par for the course for Toyota’s Indonesian outpost, as the Indonesian-built Toyota Rush (as sold here) and Daihatsu Terios also feature a few differences over the Japanese versions, including a longer wheelbase and a seven-seat option.

It was previously reported that the Sienta will come with a 1NZ-FE 1.5 litre VVT-i engine from the Vios, making 109 PS and 141 Nm. However, given that the facelifted Avanza has already moved to the new, more fuel efficient 104 hp/139 Nm 2NR-FE mill with Dual VVT-i, it is possible that the Sienta will follow suit.

This would differ from the Japanese models, which come with either a 109 PS/136 Nm 1.5 litre 2NR-FXE Atkinson-cycle engine with electrically-actuated VVT-iE on 2WD variants, a 103 PS/132 Nm 1NZ-FE on 4WD models or a 74 PS/111 Nm 1.5 litre 1NZ-FKE mated to an electric motor on the Sienta Hybrid. The petrol engines are paired to a Super CVT-i transmission, while the hybrid powertrain is coupled to an eCVT.

When it goes on sale, the Sienta is expected to slot between the Avanza and Innova in the local Toyota range. So, how do you think the unconventionally-styled Sienta will fare here?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Looks better than Innova & other MPVs line up but underpower :(

• Punj 3Speed on Feb 23, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Grand Livina owners get ready to leave your car club! Go to ROS and register Kelab Pemilik Toyota Sienta!

Abang-abang Alza yang suka pakai topi sambil memandu Alza, kumpul duit downpayment sekarang!

Myvi Familia gang, this Toyota if it is not son of God incarnate, I don’t know what is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Taboulinaikbukit on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Underpower MPV

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:12 am

Today I have 17 calls asking for the Sienta. 2 of them even asking if I accept the down payments. Relax lar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Feb 23, 2016 at 4:38 pm

If you look at this car closely, it is actually based on the Perodua Alza. The A-B-C pillars, the door gap lines, roof lines, the whole front door is exactly the same as Alza’s, door ahndles but with a redesigned side mirror. Even the interior, the gear positioning and the aircond controls are exactly same as the Alza’s. Pay more if you want an Alza with electric rear sliding doors and a Toyota badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • variodical on Feb 23, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Baseless..The Alza’s donor car is another small MPV, the Toyota Passo Sette. Small MPVs are designed with the sole purpose of maximising space within a small package, and thus they have upright A/B/C-pillars, slabby sides with large and squarish doors for easy access for passengers. so of course the door positions/shape of Passo Sette & Sienta are similar , but doesn’t mean they are the same vehicle -_- Btw, Sienta’s doors are curvier than Passo Sette/Alza. The gearlever on the dashboard also is to free up space.

Btw, Wish also has the gearlever and aircond controls in the same place as Alza, so Wish based on Alza?? :P

• uncle Honda on Feb 23, 2016 at 4:39 pm

The next gen of Produa Alza ?

• donno on Feb 23, 2016 at 4:40 pm

The sienta is basically an alza with a different skin. The looks is either you like it, or you don’t at all, no middle road there. So it boils down to if you want a Toyota or perodua logo on your hood. Personally I would just buy an alza and spend 3-4k to convert it into Toyota passo sette with original JDM exterior and interior parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Saw it before at a roadshow in Singapore, is a small size MPV

• Ollie on Feb 23, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Just looking at the plastic gives me shudders… In tropical heat those heat up like the surface of lava.. feels so bad any time of the day you don’t wanna touch it.. oh why do we get these things in this country.. whyyy

• Its actually here. The demon lovechild between vios keli, Alza, and Honda Freed. Which nut wud buy this? Oh, its at P….

• If they’re feeling generous, it’ll have 2 airbags and VSC for only the most expensive overpriced variant.

• Stupid Msian Cars on Feb 23, 2016 at 6:31 pm

UMW will strike again killing this beautiful caR and world no1 brand with freakish profiteering price tags with the least almost bare minimum specs…..

• Freed Anyone? on Feb 23, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Reminds me of the Honda Freed somewhat, although the price is definitely cheaper than the Honda. Might do reasonably well in Malaysia then…

• power rangers on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:48 pm

we all know all Toyota cars come to town will be either stripe off or ASEAN low budget car, why the fuss to even excited about it?
    Seriously, which Toyota cars are excited to check out now?
    Vios? Altis? Camry? …uurr…stripe off cars
    Avanza? Innova? …Asean low cost cars
    Hilux, Rush, Fortuner? Hilux price is shooting up until user will choose others for sure..Rush is a junk joke, and Fortuner..nvm..

Taxi’s are taking up the Avanza and Innova, and JPJ will take up Fortuner…how pity is UMW now..

• car lover on Feb 23, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Don’t dream friend. U think Toyota Malaysia will give u such a good car? Yes, with two airbag and no VSC. All good safety device will be removed not just give us a very basic car only. Do u still wanted this type of car? Think about your family safety.

• ahchai79 on Feb 24, 2016 at 5:56 am

hope it will be a reality..

• Same L0rrr on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:16 am

Good RV maa..

• Meow2 on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:19 am

underpowered

naik genting larat ke

• chin peng on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:45 am

haha samelorr,u really are a toyoda salesman..syok sendiri man..keep it up apek

• JS Toh on Mar 04, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Should seriously consider putting 1.8L power mill. Else will die like Honda Freed.

• Kalimutu on Jun 02, 2016 at 7:56 am

Price is considered attractive but in this competitive edge and UMWT is on losing of market share…..the price is deemed high.
    Imho certain optional should be made standard and price should be around 75-85k.

Also need to consider the after sales service quality is pretty bad nowadays.

Its ok wait for sam loo gang to give hefty discount. 13k for camry hybrid in sept 2015 was the best offer i received…

• Lawrence on Jun 09, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Any manual version in MY? Indonesia got 6MT…