Malaysian motorcyclists to be banned from fast lane?

FW302026_SG14_301013_JELAJAH

Motorcyclists in Malaysia may soon be denied use of the fast, or over-taking, lane on gazetted highways and expressways, based on a request from the Transport ministry. According to The Sun Daily, deputy transport minister, Datuk Aziz Karpawi, has said the ministry will request road traffic authorities to enforce the ruling without delay.

Aziz said this measure is intended to reduce fatalities among bikers. “Motorcyclists should not be on the fast lane or right lane,” he said to reporters after launching the three-year road safety campaign of “Visibility Makes a Difference” for motorcyclists by the Road Safety department and Linde Group.

It was mentioned that discussions will be held between the Road Transport department and police for measures to implement and enforce the ruling. Bikers made up 62% of out a total of 6,706 road fatalities in 2015, or 4,203 deaths. This was a rise of 32 fatalities over the previous year.

Bikers should always be mindful of their safety, said Aziz. “Their behaviour of running red lights, riding above the speed limit, changing lane without giving signal, swerving in and out of traffic without adequate safety steps, racing on the road and many other instances should be avoided,” he said.

Another measure mentioned by Aziz in connection with road safety for motorcyclists was the possibility of compulsory use of reflective vests. “Bikers should be seen by other road users. Visibility makes a difference. At the moment, we are initiating advocacy programmes to encourage them to don the reflective vest or bright jacket,” Aziz added.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:53 pm

All talk no action as usual.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
    • MatiKatak on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:11 pm

When Pak Lah was PM, he RE-ALLOWED the motorcyclist back on to highways. How many lives lost since.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
      • WT Fuchh on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:37 pm

How can it work if traffic police cannot even catch up with the superbike. Even AES cannot take picture of bike plate, because its fully hidden intentionally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • WT Fuchh on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:39 pm

Just look at picture above. Can you see the license plate ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
          • That plate already censored

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:49 am

Ask anyone and they will tell you, you hon at these guys, they come by your side and kick your side mirror.

Or if they are in a group, they take their helmet out and smash your windscreen.

We car drivers have no way to protect ourselves. Many times I hon at a motorbike just to help him be aware I am nearby or next to him, he gets angry and chases me. twice already they kicked my side mirror until it got smashed.

I hope the Government give car drivers some protection. Those days, it was the burden of the car driver to look after the motorbike. But nowadays, motorbikes have become gangsters of the road. All the time abusing car drivers.

how many of us get shown the finger by the motorbike? Most of us, daily we kena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
        • Ootai on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Drive at the guthrie hiway. The kapcais to big 2 wheelers are kings. Car drivers tolls have to give way to them. Enforcement?? What enforcement??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:18 am

Have nasi lemak in the department, director goes into trance and light bulb moment..kapcai all must tinted!

• Operation Manager on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Never paid tol, ride road side, pls…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 54
    • alban on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:39 pm

I drive and ride too. Most of the accidents involving bikers were due to inconsidered drivers overtaking blindly than it is to do with bikers@big bikes. Just to add.. We bikers do pay hefty roadtax also. So.. think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 120
      • any1here on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:37 pm

i second that. I drive and ride too. Most of the time drivers just change lanes without even looking at their mirrors and using their indicators. Whats even worse we have those who use mobile phones while driving and trying to change lanes at the same time without looking at their side or rearview mirror. Road tax for big bikes are almost the same as cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 30
        • leonardo on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:12 am

I drive and used to ride too. I can tell you that it is the other way around. Every time I Wanted to change lanes, I have to look at my rear view mirror and my 2 side mirrors just in case there are bikes speeding past in between cars. What irks me most is when I wanted to change lanes, and switch on my turn signals, the bikes will honk me and sometimes yell at me.
          For your information, I have attended advance driving for cars and also defensive motorcycle training before. So I really know the views from both vehicles.
          I also frequently travel back to Bentong, Pahang my hometown. And I never fail to see super bikes speeding past and weaving in and out of traffic, especially on weekends. And I have also witness many fatal accidents involving super bikes along the KL-Bentong stretch of highways.
          Yes, I totally agree that they should not ride on the right lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • DonkeyKong on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Actually it’s due to inconsiderate bikers that ride at high speed between cars as if cars are static obstacles that won’t switch lanes.

When cross railway tracks – we have to look out for the train. When crossing a road – we have to look left and right to make sure it’s clear. But why is it when it comes to motorcycles, idiot motorcyclists expect everyone else to look out for them while they can be road nuisances with impunity?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 18
      • I was a driver for 20 years and only started riding for a year already. What I find is bikes are much faster than most 4 wheels, I myself don’t like riding on the left cause vehicles can just turn left right infront of us. On the highway, left lane is mostly use by heavy vehicles which blocks our visibility. As a rider we need good visibility. Accident happen cause ppl ride without due care, lack of riding skills. If you look at other countries they have school specially for bikers like the MSF. When I took the test, they never teach us anything all skills I had to learn from videos and articles online. So is not right to blame good better riders just because of some bad once

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
      • taboogen on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:56 am

bikers lets all unite and drove our cars/mpvs/suvs to work and see if they can reach office on time or enough parking to park their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • swoosh3553 on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:16 am

I am a driver and a rider (kapchai if you must know). It takes 2 hands to clap. I always use the motor lane if provided. If not, I will keep as best to the left lane/emergency lane. I can agree to some that bikes are faster than cars and heavy vehicles tend to be on the left lane. Also there are drivers that simply overtake left/right side without indication. However, there is a chicken-egg story of who is right and wrong. Just be considerate, be aware and be alert at all times on the road, no matter driving or riding. Stay safe everyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • theanswer on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:36 am

depends..some of the bikes speed around 160-170..just take a few sec for them to appear on driver’s side mirror..even with proper signal the driver was blamed..tak sempat maa.. some bikers think they have to rights to speed on the right lane. not all..but some.

• tnchsg on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:55 am

you have to take care of your own life and don’t expect others to care about your life…

you know you are riding the bike, and expose to danger, yet you want to ride at fast lane…
        even you are not doing wrong and driver is wrong, so what? you die on the road…that’s your life..

you pay tax, but not toll…think again too..

• Lance on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:11 am

Majority of the nuisances start from the riders. Everyone on the road should be alert of each other. I am especially irritated with many bikers who like to cut in and out during traffic congestion and worst still they will get angry when they saw some cars were blocking their ‘path’.

• WT Fuchh on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Can you see telicense plate in above picture???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Fuchh on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:29 pm

It’s been edited la!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • what do you mean edited. the first bike’s plate is clearly placed behind the wheel. get a life.

• bro, that’s a radiator guard. The number plate is on the front wheel fender which have been censored.

• You know superbike roadtax how much per year ?
      dont talk nonsence if u dono

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 51
      • Jay Law on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:16 pm

sure i do
        little to none

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • DonkeyKong on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Who cares, it’s just a hobby for people who are going through midlife crisis anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • GHLÒO on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:13 pm

You pay road tax, so go to ride at federal road. Don’t go to expressway. You don’t pay for PLUS, KESAS, LATAR, etc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 16
        • Deslim on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:17 am

I drive and ride too, im completely ok if gov wan me to pay tol when i ride, if like your mean that we got “right” to ride on expressway if we pay tol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Rooney on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:14 am

Well, next time when you ride, be sure to go through toll gate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • komarad on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:10 am

well I’ve seen some spyders and superbikes using smartag….

• highway operator dont bother y your concerned?if the operator not allowed ok that fine.

• Sportbike or bigger cc Motorcycle roadtax is more expansive than a car. Pls go JPJ page To check The price first before talk or comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
    • tnchsg on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:52 am

totally agree with this…
      superbike must be banned from 2nd and 3rd lane…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Bryan Ng on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:01 pm

“Their behaviour of running red lights, riding above the speed limit, changing lane without giving signal, swerving in and out of traffic without adequate safety steps, racing on the road and many other instances should be avoided.”
    They are truly a menace on the roads.

This, I agree. And about time something was done about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 19
    • im a biker and a driver on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:02 pm

you think car drivers don’t do all of the above? driving and texting. driving and talking on the phone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
      • myself on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:03 am

the problem is when we give signal to switch road, the 4th or 5th car behind will give way but motorcycle never slowed down even though they can see the signal. And when we stopped at the traffic light, they wont. Once, a biker try to squeeze between the traffic hit my side mirror and caused the mirror fell down on the road. Biker not even turn around to apologised but ran away. It cost me over 100 to replace the side mirror.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Get those douchebags off the federal highway too!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 16
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:50 pm

ever since federal highway has disruptions to the motorcycle lane thanks to Setia Group….those bikers had the privlige of riding on the car lanes….and how they enjoyed it they still use it until now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Ootai on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Car drivers, give way to the bikers. Else, your side mirror maybe dented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
        • John Doe on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:34 am

Yeah, when the car mirror dented, the next thing is the biker will be at the mortuary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Wiwiwiwiw on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:04 am

Ya come come lai lai lai… My Ford Ranger’s large chrome side mirror will eat you for breakfast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • athies on Jun 25, 2017 at 4:16 pm

I use both car and bike( 500CC).. the bike lanes are dangerous and unssafe… too many blind corners. The surfaces are also not flat… so i avoid the bike lanes…

• Chai Ho on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:08 pm

yes, should do it.
    i hate those biker gang driving on fast lane around 90km/h only with whole bunch of them and refuse to switch to left lane even it’s empty.
    another thing is i thought heavy vehicle not allow to use fast lane but what i saw is everytime they switch to fast lane without any signal, like a heavy truck drag race on highway and do drag cars wait behind over 200 300m, i hate that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • Elchino on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Its not too bad if the super bikes ride close convoy and once they pass u, they should go back to the left lanes. Once, a very long super bike convoy stretching to as long as 2 klm went past me. So when the road was clear, I overtook a car in front of me. Suddenly, a biker wearing a marshals vest quickly overtook me & he kicked my side mirror whilst gesturing me to go back to d left lanes. He behaved as if d highway had been reserved for his convoy. Yes, take action against them by all means, don’t just say it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 0
      • Ootai on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:26 pm

These marshals are descendents of the wild west.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:11 pm

The law should also be amended so that for accidents involving cars hitting bikes that are in the fast lane, the car is not at fault. This will provide the added incentive to ensure bikers do not simply ride in the fast lane as they please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Bike Killer on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:42 pm

You should have side swept the idiot biker and let him be one of the road kill statistics. I would if ever some one did that.

• swoosh3553 on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:39 am

This convoy you spoke off is INDEED in the wrong! I have been to a marshal course where there are briefing by the PDRM and Ketua Pengarah JPJ on the dos and donts of marshaling a convoy. Marshals DO NOT have any right to block traffic UNLESS there is a police escort! Only police is allowed to block or divert traffic. So the next time any marshals or convoys that DOES NOT have any police escort, honk the convoys to stay on the left most lane or middle lane so that public vehicles has a lane to overtake. Any misdoings, we as public users has right to lodge police report against these “uneducated convoys/marshals that do not respect the public roads and users”.

• NormalIQ on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Good. Now ban stupid car drivers using the emergency land in traffic jams. They cause more harm than good and causing a total gridlock -_-

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 8
    • Agree!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Banning won’t help. Fines have not been helping either. The best way to deal with people who run red lights, hog the yellow box in between traffic light changes, and abuse the emergency lanes, is to physically damage the vehicles. Traffic police should be allowed to dent the vehicles that flout these laws, or even break the front and rear windscreens. Without physical damage, people won’t learn.

• Anonymous on Mar 31, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Out of topic… but still agree with u.

• Rooney on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Enforcement is more important than imposing more bans.

Place sniper shooter every one kilometer on the middle divider.

Shoot to kill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Diesel Power!!! on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:18 pm

At last something to be done on those notorious bikers…never follow law at all…why on the first place they are allow to use highways? Never pay toll but can use the facility? Really illogical!! Just make it compulsory for highway operator to build & maintain more bikes lane…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 16
  • winwin on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:30 pm

i’m not a biker myself but i would say it is a bad idea. Should only impose this on bikes smaller than 250cc. Mostly kapcai with a low top speed is hogging the fast lane. Big cc sports bike (>600cc) can easily outrun most cars on the fast lane. So i have no problems with bigger bikes as they dont really squeeze here and there in congested area because these riders know they cant.

I have most problems with large trucks especially uphill sections of the road. These trucks are the ones causing traffic congestion and hogging the road. Most concerning problem is they always leave their huge exploded tyre carcass in the middle of the highway which is dangerous to everyone. I see it almost everyday on NKVE .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 17
  • Neutral on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:36 pm

I suppose some of the facts is true about bikers. But not all of them did those things. When complain about giving signals, does every car drivers give signals when changing lane in the first place? How about tailgaters? Car drivers blames bikers and vice versa. But these stereotypes have no initiative to improve their own driving or riding the roads. Not all drivers or bikers are atrocious. Blaming on one side is too ridiculous. Thats is why the transport ministry is doing such incompetent job. They only look at the smaller picture not the bigger picture.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • jontyan on Mar 31, 2016 at 7:38 pm

I drive a car and ride a bike to work on alternate basis. I try my best not to be bias in giving my short humble opinion on this issue.
    It’s all in the head. Put a lousy driver on a bike and vice-versa, you’ll get same shitty driving/riding. Pea brains we call it.
    The day the road will be safe is when road users know how to drive/ride defensively with common sense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • dugongx on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:03 am

The day the roads will be safe is when jpj stop eating duit kopi to allow morons to pass driving licence test and policeman stop makan duit kopi also. Then ours roads will be safe. Just look at singapore. Can you bribe their polis or LTA (JPJ)??

• big Bikers ni semua memang poyo.
    Im specifically mentioning yang big bikers yang tengah convoy. The Marshal dengan poyonya akan pasang strobe light as if dia polis traffic suruh car on speed lane pegi ke lane lain cos the poyo big bikers ramai2 nak lalu lane tu.

poyo giler.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 15
  • Ha ha ha

• Gargantia on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Totally got agree with this… Please persist it.

• chikubi on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Also ban those small cars that intended for city use from entering the highway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • myvi is godcar on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Pls ban myvi n viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Ashvin Sabesan Mahendran on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Why ban small cars?
      I have a small car too…a myvi to be exact and its perfectly road legal and capable of following rules.
      See nothing wrong in that.
      City use cars does not mean that they are not supposed to be on highways.
      I dont think its relevant to how big or small a car is or what bikes you use.
      Its all on the mentality of us highway users.
      Some big cars also use the highway like it belongs to their grandfather…why isnt that stated here?…

• Bryan hoo on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Should banned those heavy vehicle (buses/lorry) from overtaking using right/fast lane..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • donno on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Have you tried riding your 1000cc bike at 110kph on the left lane? It is a very scary experience, with express busses and container trailers overtaking you at high speeds. In fact I can vouch that most express busses on the highway were speeding at 130-140kph on average. Do the lawmaking pen pushers ever tried riding at 110kph on the highway? If no, fxxk off and don’t mess with other people’s lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 26
    • Rooney on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:17 am

Ditch your bike and get a car. It’s that simple.

• donno on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:07 am

Nope, drop a gear and give a big wallop of throttle. That is much more simpler and safer, being a bit faster than all the lorries and express busses just feels safer. Cars are boring. Some of us just feels more alive riding bikes. I have a car, but I also have a different bike for each day of the week!

• mr1031 on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:34 pm

shit law without enforcement..mcm cibai..just like our speed limit..never enforced that’s why people feels like its normal to push wayyyy above the speed limit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Jay Law on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Its about TIME

• Anonymous on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Transport ministry need to look at this thoroughly… if all hiways have motorcycle lanes big enough for big bikes then its ok… it would be worse if u have motorbikes n busses n lorries n other heavy vehicles in the same lane all the time… can they then overtake using the fast lane?

I must say that i despise the convoys n their marshalls more nowadays… most of them n idiots anyways… they think just because they move fast in a convoy they own the fast lane n the speed limit does not apply to them. The transport ministry n police need to educate these people that thye must share the hiways with others too… be considerate to all. Others need to use the fast lanes to overtake slower vehicles too…

Transport ministry’s statistics need to be more comprehensive… how many accidents in the hiways compared to state roads… what r the causes of the accidents at each locale… different locale means different causes be it negligent, attitude or what else… coz there’s no use saying bikers cause accidents becoz they run red lights since there r none in the hiways. Breakdown the numbers n approach each segment of bikers n its causes differently coz u can never lump it all together.

Convoy marshals are not the police… u don’t have the right to bully others off the right lane! Convoys too need to slow down when the traffic is heavy in the right lane… not blasting their horns n revving to show your arrogance… we already know u are arrogant anyway. In fact… why not just BAN motorbikes in convoys!

I drive n ride too.

• swoosh3553 on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:50 am

As mentioned in my earlier comments for convoys/marshals, THEY DO NOT have the right to block/divert traffic! Only POLICE is allowed. So unless the convoy has a police escort, then only are they able to be “king” on the road. Other than that, you do not have to GIVE way even when they blast their so-call police siren or turn on their red-blue lights. Just standby 999 on your mobile on fast dial if these uneducated marshals/convoy acts barbaric towards you or other users. These are those that actually spoil the goodname and healthy needs of marshals for managing and assisting traffic police to manage convoys that has actual good cause towards society (rumah anak yatim, old folks home, etc). PS: Convoys requesting police escort is NOT easy unless the convoy end goal is to contribute to society and the needy. Convoys need to apply for police permit by the way. It is actually against the law to converge in 3 or more. Just that it is not severely enforced.

• Mr. WarMiCe on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:56 pm

do as well for Buses, lorries, steamrolls, bicycles,

• Stephen on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:17 pm

These bargers talk onlylah. What about the big bikers? 500, 600, 800 or even the 1100cc’s? You mean they cannot overtake cars on the fast lane??? Then if that’s the case calling for all the Kelisa, Viva, Kancil and Atos owners, DON’T DRIVE ON THE FSAT LANE COS YOU ARE ALSO TREATED AS KAPCHAI’S CATAGORY. Previously they implimented the rule that every motorcyclist must have the reflective sticker on the helmet and wearing the vest. Ok, what about later? slowly fading away and now coming back to the same rubbish again. Why can’t the learn from the LTA, Singapore? See how discipline they are? Look back JPJ and PDRM. who only knows how to talk from A to Z but done nothing. What are they good for? Good for nothing. Saying that the FAT policemen are the one’s who are lack of exerciser. My foot… Eat and sleep in the BALAI. That is what they know!!!

• Apparently there is some sort of competition on going among ministers now.it is called “who can issue the most stupid statement”.

• Ngiam Tee Wai on Mar 31, 2016 at 10:38 pm

They can’t even make motorcyclists to use the motorcycle lane at the Federal Highway!

• oklar on Mar 31, 2016 at 11:28 pm

Kita sudah hidup berapa puluh tahun, takkan benda mudah ini pun tak boleh setel.

• oklar on Mar 31, 2016 at 11:30 pm

i think we should ban all vehicles using fast lane instead. those are only for Pak Menteri’s.

• Ashvin Sabesan Mahendran on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:05 pm

I dont agree because then they will misuse it.
      Why can’t they leave early to their destination?

• Car and bike on Mar 31, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Settle the mat rempits first before those big bikes. Mat rempits are the worst.

• Who do you refer to mat rempit? Bikers? Lorry drivers? Car drivers? kapcai riders?
      Which one kills more?

• Ini realiti sikap yg ada pd pemikiran rakyat malaysia. Bkn kata kita naik moto je. Waimah kita naik kete pun kalau kita laju depa duk depan mcm x besalah je. Walhal lorong tegah or kiri tu kosong. Kita lak yg kena potong kiri. Kalau kita naik moto salah ke kalau dia org bg luluan kat kereta or moto yg laju d lane kanan. X rugi pun bg malah kira respek n ucap terima kasih lagi dgn isyarat. So x timbul rasa x puas hati. Mentaliti kena berubah. D malaysia ni sekolah2 memandu hanya pentingkan keuntungan dari mendidik n mengajar. Untung sapa x nak untung kalau berniaga tp perlu telus n wajar dgn apa yg perlu dibuat.

Moto dah tentu arah laju. Kete yg terhegeh2 duduk fast lane mcm x de akal x nak pulak d banned. Dah la pelan stay je lane kanan mcm x bersalah. Org bg lampu pun x nak ketepi malah dia tekan brek lagi ada. Mangkuk btl. Konsep laluan kanan tu x diaorg x faham dah tulis terang2 kat signboard lorong kanan untuk memotong. So ko laju mcmana sekali pun kalau lane tengah atau kiri tu kosong kena la masuk. Ni moto yg laju duk fast lane juga yg d salahkan. Tingok la kedua2 belah pihak. Jgn nak banned sebelah pihak je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • mr1031 on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:33 pm

slalunya yang bawak laju tu 2 kali lebih bodoh..dia marah org bawak slow dekat lane kanan sekali padahal dia langgar peraturan lebih speed limit..dah tu, jadi road bully plak tu cucuk2 belakang org..

moto?? dah ade freedom pun nak hogging satu lane ke? selalu elok je menyelit..

• scooticus on Mar 31, 2016 at 11:56 pm

fast lane is for overtaking purposes only. may it be motorcycles, cars and other vehicles. how can you bar any vehicles to use the lane ?

One must understand that there are bad examples of drivers and rides everywhere. there will be riders who rides at excessive speeds. there are drivers of cars, lorries and busses that do the same. there is equal of both evils on both divide. i myself drive and ride a bike, but one thing i am not willing to tolerate is

1. handphones while driving which endangers everyone.
    2. driving or riding under the influence
    3. police escorted vehicles that go around pushing tax payers to the side for the sake of someone who is supposed to represent tax payers but does not feel or want to share the plight and burdens of the general public. ” pukul 6-8 malam nak escort pergi mana ? …. nah peri hotel makan ke ? “

• RideNDrive on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:00 am

i thought that’s what fast/overtaking lanes are for? If the bikes are riding slow and blocking other ppl then i see the logic but if they are overtaking and laws are followed then where is the wrong? i dont like convoys myself just because i like riding solo but if the convoys are permitted and no laws are broken then again, why ban? To reduce motorcycle related fatalities? By that logic then all vehicles should be banned so no more road accidents, right? the problem here is the driver/rider themselves, not the vehicle type. we see both sh*tty rempits and drivers and the way to counter that is to improve enforcement. Dont blame or punish other ppl just because you’re doing a sh*tty job. I ride and drive and whether its freaking rempits or stupid drivers, they all make me want to snap their necks

• Cheok on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:41 am

I am not a biker but I have no problem with super bikers to use overtaking lane but not the small kapcai. However, I would like to propose no bike squeeze in between lane when the vichicle speed is above certain speed such as 50km/h. This is one dangerous act often seen on toll and non toll roads countrywide.

• Rawfi on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:49 am

At last…

• Fafau80 on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:15 am

hey whattahek JKR planning to build motorway along Jalan Kuching to Selayang ?? Heard before Sammy Vellu resigned…Mr Sammy…ur aswer please…

• Still believe in politician?
      During 1st grade who choose your class leader?
      Only politician promote them self to be leader.

• Sazly on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:33 am

Can…no prob…then u must make all the cars not using the emergency lane in whatever condition la…

• sparcov on Apr 01, 2016 at 7:35 am

From very beginning, they should ban the motorcyclist on the highway. For vary reason, the highway is meant to ease the traffic congestion for the car. The road (car) user pay for the toll but the motorcyclist block our way at the highway, what is this?

The highway authorities even encourage motorcyclist to use the highway by building all the shade for the motorcyclist.

The problem is, motorcyclist thing they are driving a ferrari travelling at the speed of 110 -120kmh next to the car on fast lane!

Please review the code and safety standard. Everyday you will see accident involving motorcycle on the highway.

NKVE is the worst, LDP, Rawang – Jalan Duta, Jalan Kuching,

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:14 am

Accidents happen because of inconsiderate driving and riding or taking too much risks, like speeding or distracted driving. Doesn’t matter which lane you take (car or motorcycle).

• Talk only.. slow and heavy vehicle not allow on first lane.. you see all lorries and even tank truck also on first lane cruising at 110km/h

• Ulf Myhre on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:47 am

The big number of fatalities is not among the superbikers, but small engine bikers who often have no licence, poor quality non fastened helmet, nonfunctioning taillight and absolutely no respect for the rules of the road or knowledge of the limitations in a cardrivers ability to see them. They drive at high speed between lanes of cars without thinking or respecting that a car may need to change lanes.
    Sure superbikers drive at high speed some times, but they do it with great care on bikes with superior handling and braking power. Of course like always there is going to be the exception who doesn’t ride with sufficient care.
    Denying superbikers to overtake safely in the fast lane would cause dangerous overtaking in slow lanes. There is too much of that already due to the lack of enforcement to get the motorists to keep to the left, allowing them to hog the fast or middle lane.

• and it’s better for them to be in the left lane with all the heavy vehicles and trucks?

• it’s the right thing to do. most bikers think they’re God. weaving through traffic like there’s no tomorrow. even if we give signal 1km earlier they won’t slow down because they think it will be a waste to slow down since they paid a million dollar worth of road tax. instead of we should look out for each other they make us look out of their arrogance. yes i agree that i’m not a perfect driver. everyone make mistakes but these bikers even if it is their fault they will horn you like crazy and slow down while looking at you like some thugs. yes not all of them are like that but i can assure you 90% of the time they will do that.

because you’re small you have the right to weave through traffic but can’t you do it slowly? what is it that they’re rushing to? i believe that most important figures are in a car, waiting patiently but bikers can’t even slow down a bit just so that they won’t be late to kedai mamak. once my friend were back from traffic and he told proudly that he scratches some cars when weaving, while laughing. enough said. these buggers deserve a stricter law.

• Addict on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:34 am

Yes 62% fatalities are bikers..but they’re not protected with a metal like cars. So if cars are driven around without the body around, the numbers could go more than the bikers. So ban cars driving fast, especially high cc or sports cars than talk la. Have anyone seen a supercar driving according to the speed limit? Superbikes are meant to be ride fast like supercars. In the case of a car accident, bikers are the one who stops first. RESPECT BIKERS!!!!

• Kapcai Hater on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:48 am

Time for all drivers to put a knife at the side mirror and cut those bikers who like to squeeze in between cars.

• Their behaviour of running red lights, riding above the speed limit, changing lane without giving signal, swerving in and out of traffic without adequate safety steps, racing on the road and many other instances should be avoided,”.. ban a completely unrelated thing.

• here we have a constant bunch of people bashing cars for providing only 2 airbags lah, no VSC lah, crash test 1 star lah blah blah…
    But at the same time, the law allows a vehicle like motorcycle to be on a highway.

Don’t even get me started with the number plates…

• Yusof on Apr 01, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Wow ramai mat salleh kt sini, bukan salah motosikal atau kereta , tapi salah pemandu tu, pemandu yg tidak bertimbangrasa dan bodoh bawa kenderaan ape pun tetap bodoh. Basikal, motosikal dan kereta semuanya kenderaan yg ada hak yg sama di jalan raya. Bukan masalah bayar tol atau tidak, tol tk kurangkan kemalangan kecuaian pemandu yg menyebab kan kemalangan baik motosikal ataupun kereta. Ingat dalam atau atas setiap kenderaan itu adalah nyawa. Jangan cuai….

• anderson on Aug 27, 2018 at 9:03 am

I am driving at 100 speed at Taman Desa and the bikers suddenly change to right side fast lane without giving any signal, i am shocked and keep on pressing brake of my car because it nearly to cause accident. my heart going jumping out at that moment. There is no further comment other than life is your own.