VIDEO: Road safety – accidents do not affect just you

Have you ever wondered about the human cost of an accident? Ever said to yourself, when you see some car or motorcycle zooming recklessly at high speed, “idiot, as long as he only kills himself?” This video shows, with great effect, how an accident affects not just the rider, but those he loves, and who love him in return.

The thing about an accident is when it happens, the cost and impact does not just affect the driver or rider. The mistake may not even be your own. But the effects of an accident will linger, sometimes for many years or months, sometimes forever.

So, when riding a motorcycle, or driving a car, safety should always be the first consideration. For motorcyclists, use proper safety gear, all the time. This means a certified helmet, a padded riding jacket, gloves and shoes, at a minimum. Ride defensively, and do not ride at an excessively high speed, just fast enough to distance yourself from traffic.

Road safety - accident

For drivers, use your safety belt, and put that mobile phone down, even when the car is stationary or in a traffic jam. If children are in the car, certified child safety seats must be used. Do not overload the car, and never carry more passengers than there are seatbelts.

Driving, and riding, is a privilege, not a right. Sharing the road, and giving due consideration for other road users, no matter what they might be driving or riding, will go a long way towards making everyone’s journey pleasant, and safer.

As the video says, “the greatest danger is believing there is none.” Remember, safety is in your hands.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Sona3 on Apr 26, 2016 at 12:42 pm

blame it on the hog

• hahaha on Apr 26, 2016 at 4:40 pm

still don’t care about the idiot rider/driver or their loved ones or the people affected by their deaths…

actually it is good to affect the people they love so they can preach to everyone all the time about being careful on the road.

‘short’ term pain for national gain.

• Say no to toyota/P2 moving coffins, its not just ur live that is at risk. Ur families too as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • dont blame the car dude. car is not hazard as long as it is not moving… and while it moving, it will become more hazardous to driver and people surrounding if the driver is not competence or in other word ignorance or stupid moron drive macam hantu.

hard body shell, air bag, ABS and so on are just protection or counter measure if the accident happen, they are not an incident prevention device, they are just protection device (unless you are wealthy enough to buy a car that can drive it self). why this accident happen? because of the driver. the car dont have any brain, the drivers do have one. still blaming the car? driving a 20 year old kancil can be safe enough if the driver have a good minded brain.

• Jobless on Apr 26, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Frum my experience driving daily in KV, almost 90% of todays’s drivers are either incompetent, recklessly dumb or show offs…tthey caused accidents by changing lanes without any warning, overtaking at corners and bends, parking whenever theylike blockingother motorist view, the sad thing is these fools are seldom caught as enforcements mostly concentrate on speedsters and those not wearing seatbelts etc