Euro 5 fuels will benefit the country in the near future

JB03_121114_DIESEL EURO5

The implementation of Euro 5 fuels will benefit the country in the near future. Natural resources and environment minister Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said that the eventual switch to fuels adhering to the European emission standard by 2025 will result in improved air quality through reduced vehicle-based pollution, Bernama reports.

“Euro 5 will benefit our country because it encourages the use of refined fuel and therefore reduce carbon emission,” he told reporters.

He said that the standards will be implemented in stages, with Euro 5 grade petrol only due to be fully introduced across the country in 2025, as gazetted. The implementation, he added, will need some adjustments, especially by industry players.

Euro 5 grade diesel is already available in selected locations in the country – the fuel was first introduced in Johor in November 2014, but can now be found in the Klang Valley and certain petrol stations in Perak. Further expansion in Perak as well as Penang and Pahang is due.

Currently, RON 97 petrol has gone the Euro 4 route, and this is set to be followed by Euro 4 RON 95 petrol in October 2018. The full switch to Euro 5 RON 95 and RON 97 is scheduled for September 2025. As for diesel, the full introduction of Euro 5 standard diesel nationwide will be in September 2020.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Luckily he told otherwise v rakyat dnt knw abt dat

• Every1canTalk on May 13, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Others inforce Euro4@2005, Euro5@2009, Euro6@2014.
      Malaysia: Euro 5 @ 2025???!!!!!!!!
      Hurrayyyy… We really really love environment!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • We need to wait for Proton. Sabar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Its Petronas, not P1. Wrong one, bub.

• WT Fuchhh on May 14, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Can someone pls start selling Ron 89, or Ron 86.? Pls, it’s proven using Ron 97 , there is no real benefit by the european expert. Fuel would be cheaper too .

• eeeriz on May 15, 2016 at 8:07 am

Whilst I’m fully support the introduction of Euro 5 fuel to our nation, the time is suddenly not a right time. Oil prices have downed to very low levels, and many small oil companies already bungkus esp. in US. PETRONAS is struggling too, and it will take few more years to recover. By then hopefully gomen will not defer the introduction of euro5 again. Hopefully.

• touchNgo on May 13, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Fuu licin nyer…

• kimi's fan on May 14, 2016 at 12:31 pm

another syok sendiri press.

they do tell people said, “hey guys, i will do it, implement it…but wait for another N years..at least i’m doing, planning. i’m still doing my job.”

authorities don’t put country and people future in main priority

• Since school days I have learnt that Malaysian crude oil is low in sulfur so why export it minister. Use it locally BAM we have Euro5 immediately.

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Because they think malaysians don’t deserve the good stuff we produce.

Export the good things, bring in cheap imports.

Why you think it took them so long before they gave us the correct fuel? $$$$

• nabill (Member) on May 13, 2016 at 2:36 pm

believe it or not , all our home oil goes to few countries who are paying higher per barrel (higher than USD4x on the world market)for it bcos of lower cost to refine it bcos as u mentioned , its very low on sulfur , so our oil consumed locally actually comes from world market(opec) at dirt cheap prices…

• Our crude is actually jet-fuel quality which wud go to waste if put into ur car due to the high demand for this type of oil (higher price). Therefore its still more economically sensible to sell ours while buying more qty of lower grade and turn them into E5.

Well now u know.

• I think it is to maximize the profit. One barrel of our petroleum can import two barrel low grade petroleum maybe. And it will not enough to MY usage if solely depend on local production. Still need to import. Then come the time petroleum money also not enough, comes the GST la..

• ProtonGSC on May 13, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Amoi or Awek? Well both look good.

• Tong Sampah on May 13, 2016 at 1:50 pm

only those in rural still believe whatever “official” announcement from any of the MP..

• Only those ignorant & arrogant choose to belip Superman & his Supreme Leader

• azrai on May 13, 2016 at 2:22 pm

2025? By then they are Euro8 already..Or no more petrol guzzling car, all go for electric.

• Danny on May 13, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Meanwhile, I enjoyed the company of these two chicks :-P~~~

• observe on May 13, 2016 at 3:03 pm

i hope every lorry will be required to use euro5 soon.as i ride bike daily thru the most lorry dense road its sickening to see those thick black substance comin out of the pipes in full grandiose engulfing the road in dark clouds.that stuff smelly like hell sticking to my cloth i be wearing whole day

• TheDuh on May 13, 2016 at 3:38 pm

We would all be dead by 2025.

• Yes we have produce a good guality of euro5 but they. Export out to mat salleh because they life is more expensive then malaysian thanks to our malaysian minister who care making money for themself and care less for the they own people and by 2025 if we still live by then. Dont ever think 2020 and 2025 nothing will happen by then all the talk all the plan end up lots of bullshit

• seancorr (Member) on May 13, 2016 at 5:15 pm

2025 still too far off lah who knows by then Jib and gang edi destroyed the country due to corruption and bomoh-ism

• Better than letting Party Hard implode MY into factionalism & warlordism.

• We still need more affordable diesel cars like the Peugeot’s 1.6 BlueHDi & the CooperD. I’m still baffled why BMW Msia got rid of the 320d in their line up.

• Pening on May 13, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Now only you know ah? If you know it is beneficial then implement it immediately….not 2025! Euro 5 fuel is already readily available in Europe why wait till 2025 for Malaysia ???

• Why it took so long? Its been proven that MY consumers dun care what fuel as long as its cheap. But to get Euro 2-> 3-> 4-> 5, each of these requires increasingly more investment to improve the refining process. The move to Euro6 is another big technical & financial leap which i will save for another day. Anyway, if u ask majority MY pipu will they stump up to pay for each upgrade level (more expensive fuel), they will say: HELL NO! GIP ME MY EURO1 RM1.00 FUEL NOW!

But the world cant sit still and neither MY. So Najib, like it or not, have to upgrade the fuel level here otherwise lesser and lesser car brands will bring in their newer models. The only logical way to do it, is for Petronas to setup Pengerang cuz the refineries at Kerteh is either too old/limited or available expansion is maxed out. Political decision to locate it in Johor notwithstanding.

Due to the economic downtime and cheap oil, the dateline for RAPID completion cud possibly be delayed, thereby oso delaying Petronas intro of their own Euro5 fuel. Unless they r willing to commit to their marketing deadline and get the E5 stocks from SG as well.

TLDR: until RAPID complete, Petronas wun come out with Euro5 fuel.

• pakcik Tautau on May 13, 2016 at 6:32 pm

syukur lah ada BN, baru ada petrol murah…..

• Tracks on May 13, 2016 at 7:10 pm

We are supposed to be a Developed Country by 2020 as per Wawasan 2020. For the country’s fuel standard to comply to Euro 5, we can only comply by 2025 which is 5 years after 2020. To me it reflects badly on our country so called status by then.

• crash on May 13, 2016 at 7:18 pm

By 2025, we already don’t need your Euro 5 fuel. We will be using Tesla’s EV . Torque comes instantly from electric motor and zero emissions.

• GOPINATH on May 13, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Currently I think only BHP offers RON 95 Euro 3 grade petrol,and others Euro 2 grade

• Gopinath on May 13, 2016 at 7:26 pm

I think only BHP is currently offering Euro 3 grade Ron 95 petrol and others are still stuck at Euro 2 grade petrol.

• Riswan Rahman on May 13, 2016 at 9:46 pm

BHP diesel Euro 5 feel more uhhhppp compare to Shell diesel Euro 5…

• Sean Liew on Apr 09, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Why is it so difficult to implement Euro 5 or 6? All these bullshits about refineries capabilities are just a simple excuse. Economic scenario not good? Honestly what happened to those good sunny days before? You made barrel full of money and now you want to keep it? We should have been Euro 5 five years ago at least! All political rubbish.