Car thieves can hack immobilisers in minutes – JPJ

honda-civic-stolen

According to a report by Harian Metro, an organised syndicate targeting models such as the Toyota Alphard, Toyota Camry, Honda Civic and Honda City, can hack into the immobiliser systems by resetting it and therefore disarming the system in less than two minutes.

According to the Road Transport Department’s (JPJ) automotive engineering division director Datuk Mohamad Dalib, cars with immobilisers would stop running as soon as the vehicle senses that the key fob is not within a certain distance or range.

With this, the syndicate utilised a number of techniques, including the use of a jammer to disable the immobiliser before hiding the stolen vehicle at certain spots. As for immobilisers with satellite monitoring systems, Mohamad said that, “the thief will hack into it within five to 10 minutes to remove its battery to prevent the car from being tracked.”

Apparently, the stolen vehicles are then smuggled into African countries such as Kenya and Uganda, according to Mohamad. So guys, have you experienced any (unfortunate) cases where your vehicle was involved in a theft? Share your experiences and thoughts with us below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• just add extra lock..stering lock, pedal lock…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on May 17, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Yes. Thieves don’t like delay. Or buy cars which are not favourite for theft. Cars like Chevrolet Cruze. Or Great Wall M4

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
    • hahaha on May 17, 2016 at 6:23 pm

or like mr bean, tambah pad lock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Syasya on May 18, 2016 at 9:01 am

Actually ‘Dalib’ is his father’s name. His name is ‘Mohamad’ only.

• Malaysia apa pon Boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 3:17 pm

car stolen got insurance….not so worried actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 67
    • If insurance can cover 100% the loan owner take, then only not so worried.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • What not to worry??
      Then dont have car to go to work, how??? Very troublesome. Insurance claim also take months.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
      • The more cars get stolen, sooner or later your insurance premiums will rise. The insurance companies don’t print free money and willingly take losses.

• mohdfaiz88 on May 17, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Be like Mr Bean. Remove the steering wheel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 2
  • lonelyman on May 17, 2016 at 3:25 pm

How such a big car.they.can smuggled it.through our port and they can easily pass the check point. I think something fishy going on.kah kah what you think folk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 2
    • The same reason why cars can easily be smuggled out of SG. U know, i know lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
    • hailthepurist on May 17, 2016 at 5:41 pm

bolehland is one awesome country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • SG lagi ‘awesome’. Can even smuggle out jailed man wanted by CIA, FBI, FSB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Justice on May 17, 2016 at 5:12 pm

There’s a reason why we are placed in world top corrupted countries. How else would be able to bring out stolen vehicles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
    • Umm. sori to burst ur bubble but which hole did u find that we r world top corrupt countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
      • Coconut on May 17, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Ummm. you better come out of your coconut shell. Malaysia is among the top corrupt countries in the world.

• Just Google “Malaysia top corrupted”. Among the sources is Time Magazine which placed Malaysia as Top 2.

But you know it’s all western agenda to topple Malaysian government, source not reliable, etc etc. Malaysia is clean!!11

• Tom Ato on May 17, 2016 at 9:57 pm

http://time.com/4262897/five-facts-globa-corruption/

• He doesnt know, just random keyboard warrior bullshit. The kind of people who are afraid when faced with tough situations.

• Which hole were you in to find the RM2.6B and RM42B and PKFZ and condo cows and submarines and all Ministers dam rich and Mongolian model get blown up by military explosives for no apparent reason? Korek korek korek? Video evidence also swept under carpet.

• Lets pick this 1by1:
          2.6B – donation from saudi. No corruption element.
          42B – losses due to 1MDB management. DAP says no Najib direct involvement.
          PKFZ – Save MY supporter Ling LS involved. Better go ask Tun M.
          Condo & cow – still under investigation for any criminal element so cannot judge guilty verdict yet.
          Subs – no corruption element cuz its Gov2Gov deal. France said no Altantuya here.
          Mongolian – see above.
          Ministers all rich – cuz they can get undervalued bungalows?
          Video evidence – evidence apa?

Anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Saitam on May 17, 2016 at 5:39 pm

I am not surprised they can hack the system in a short time to steal the car.
    I am surprised they can smuggle it out to Kenya and Uganda.
    And they fact that we know they smuggled to specific destinations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • mohsin on May 17, 2016 at 5:53 pm

steering lock jugak yg lejen!
    kiki kiki kiki

• JB_KIA on May 17, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Simple. Change to cars that the African don’t like…no market n theft.

• City_Stolen on May 17, 2016 at 7:07 pm

That’s why my car Honda City 2015 V Spec got stolen last December 2015 infront of my house. The immobilizers & keyless features are not safe. Make sure u have various additional locks for steering, brake pedal etc… :(

• ayamxxx on May 17, 2016 at 7:28 pm

What a pity. I lost my old junk waja last November 2015.

Even old car also got stolen. Damn to those pencuri

• kimchi on May 17, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Well, you should buy kimchi car. At least peace of mind and no worries of no transport for the next 6 months while claiming insurance money.

• Manual on May 17, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Thats why its best to install a kill switch in the car. Unless the switch is on it is impossble to even start the car.

• banwagon__xoxo on May 18, 2016 at 12:14 am

HOW COME ONLY Toyota Alphard, Toyota Camry, Honda Civic and Honda City, Toyota Vios not on the list? haha …

• raziack on May 17, 2016 at 8:59 pm

like computer system. access to ODB port must be password protected, cheapest but easily can miss place.. something manufacturers need to think to add or ODB connector can be operated or accessed with unique RFID.. my older car, if the emobiliser is enabled then we need to input a security code number into the car with special methods. wonder if newer cars are like this.

• Do a bait car program. Police and insurance company can work together to catch the culprit. This will make the bugger think twice before they want to steal another car…

• 4G63T DSM on May 18, 2016 at 11:34 am

Good suggestion.

But then again, that implies that the Police are capable in being proactive. Which is highly unlikely, given they already know how the theft happens and where the cars eventually end up….which has been going on for some time now.

Its not like they didn’t know this was happening. cars don’t simply just “leave” the country.

• manufacturers must be made to respond..they have a responsibility to keep their products safe from theives

• ccfoong on May 18, 2016 at 8:19 am

The authority knows how the thief works, where the stolen cars are smuggled to. This lead is good enough for them to curb this extensive thief.
    Authority, please act now, you have the lead.

• SampahCars on May 18, 2016 at 11:12 pm

If this happened to Proton everyone will blame how sampah Proton is. But since it happened on luxury cars everyone quickly blames the driver for not adding extra locks instead of commenting on how sampah these so called car manufacturers are and their pathetic locking mechanism.

• zulhilmi on May 19, 2016 at 9:54 pm

This is normal in Malaysia, thieves like to stay here because our environment is so theft friendly. Our Nation have corrupt leaders and corroupt system, perfect ingredients for disaster.