Malaysia vehicle sales data for April 2016 by brand – Nissan sales down by 30.7%, Volkswagen up 116.8%

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_-001_BM

The numbers have just come in for the total vehicle sales in April. In summary, a majority of brands in Malaysia have registered a drop in numbers, translating to lower sales figures for the month of April compared to March this year.

For the month of April, total vehicles sold amounted to 42,177 units. Out of that number, a total of 37,893 were passenger vehicles, with the remaining 4,284 being commercial vehicles. The numbers pale in comparison to March, which saw a total of 48,877 vehicles sold earlier in the year (a drop of 13.7%).

We’ll now take a closer look at a few brands that have dropped in sales, starting with local makes. Market leader Perodua registered a 15.5% decrease (14,898 units sold in April, compared to 17,629 in March), while Proton saw sales drop by 19.1% (4,477 units vs 5,535 in March).

Honda, on the other hand, managed to take the second spot, despite a 19.6% decrease in sales (5,964 vs 7,418). Toyota came in fourth with 4,089 units sold (-5.3%), with Nissan taking fifth place with 3,015 units sold in April (-30.7%). Mazda ended up seventh with 1,305 units sold in April (-7.8%).

Volkswagen has emerged above Mazda in the month of April, taking the sixth spot. The brand saw a drastic increase of its sales last month (from 649 in March to 1,407 units in April, up 116.8%). Elsewhere, brands that have shown increased sales include BMW (666 units, up 3.9%), Peugeot (178 units, 17.9%), Lexus (138 units, up 14.0%), Audi (113 units, up 11.9%) and MINI (76 units, up 7.0%).

In terms of total sales so far this year, Perodua is the runaway leader with 35.8% market share (62,078 units), while Honda (24,741) leads Proton (23,702) in second and third places, respectively. Just behind the top three, it’s equally close between Toyota (14,305) and Nissan (13,788).

Click on the table below to view an enlarged version.

April-2016-Malaysian-car-sales_01

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• SmartPeopleUseVM on May 24, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Good! More business for VW Malaysia especially for their SC… This month number of broken down VW have also increased by 116.8%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 52
    • Operation Manager on May 24, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Wow… doing so good, what is happening…? From 649(Mar) to 1407(Apr) ……!!!

• Short term on May 25, 2016 at 12:41 am

of coz doing so well give until so steep promotion. Hurtful for the brand in long run

• Less people don’t buy VW not because is not good. Is because they cannot afford the money and maintenance. Cheap price but old stock, people still buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • VW Malaysia on May 25, 2016 at 9:32 am

Finally we are able to clear all our left over stocks from 2014-2015. Thank you VS customers for helping us get rid of a major headache on our side!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • 2,999 people have more time than brains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
    • Proton sales after Persona R, Saga R, Perdana R, TGDi and GDi engine launch: 300,000 unit sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • Those who bought VW, welcome to VW club.
      Enjoy your drive.

Soon we’ll meet at SC..
      It’ll be common place to meet too.
      Anyway they give free coffee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 17
      • timbuktu on May 25, 2016 at 5:30 pm

i’ve never seen you at SC. are you really an owner?

• admit it on May 25, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Admit lah tu. Start to notice others pula.. spent too long in SC la
          Admit la….

• Hj Ahmad Razif on May 25, 2016 at 7:50 am

Celaka Proton! Aku dah booking Perdana, tak tau bila boleh dapat, launch pun belum lagi! Cancel booking la, baik ambik Honda Accord! Celaka betui Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • azrai on May 25, 2016 at 8:26 am

Their promotion on 2014, 2015 model la..

• OMG…History made? Proton sales had beaten by Honda. Now Honda is in 2nd place.

• azrai on May 25, 2016 at 2:08 pm

The previous month also the same meh..Still Honda & Proton belong to DRB-HICOM a.k.a. Syed Mokhtar.

• timbuktu on May 25, 2016 at 5:23 pm

This proves a very strong point. People are not so bothered on the constant bashing of VW. As long price point is right, people will grab it. Sorry for the haters who are obviously butt hurt on these figures.

• Same L00 on May 24, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Malaysians now understand buying a expensive reliable car is better than a cheap junk car. As I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • KIAHYUNDAIDEJUNK on May 24, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Lol.. Hyundai & KIA worst than Hino lorry.. Junk to the core, now korean car fanboy seem extinct like T Trex & Raptor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0rrr on May 25, 2016 at 7:52 am

Because Kimchis cars are the worst RV in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • jengjeng on May 31, 2016 at 4:14 pm

suzuki no vehicle sale last month.. worst than any kimchi..french..timor leste car

• Fred Durst on May 24, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Why there’s no data based on models, i.e civic vs altis vs sylphy, or myvi vs iriz, or camry vs passat vs accord vs 508, why no such data? Why so serious? Where’s all the fun gone?

• Spanking new 2015 VW Jetta only rm 80K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • UMW TOYOTA on May 24, 2016 at 6:18 pm

kimchi ssangyong RIP…salesman also move to UMW

• Satan on May 24, 2016 at 6:35 pm

BMW: 666 !!!

• Toyota can go nirvana memorial now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • Albert on May 24, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Tokok john,
      With due respect to Protong,lets analyse their sales trend/projections.
      At the rate things are moving,proton will only touch 60,000 units this 2016.
      To make money,Proton has to sell 150-200,000 units annually.
      I think pengemis DRB,tak malu will ask for another “soft loan” again,in the name of R and D(research and donation)since they are going into tie ups with Suzuki and other car manufacturers.
      At 60,000 units,Proton might as well be given a GIANT AP to bring in all types of exotic cars,like Naza.
      No point korek korek your taxes,cry baby again,ask for bailouts…just lelong off the bladdy plants and be a AP car distributor.Sure can make tons of money.Why make LHDN work overtime.They also letih,bang.
      Protong is actually BANKRUPT and insolvent b4 Mus came to dish out the bailout.
      This is disgusting, taxpayers money is used to rescue a badly run company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Albert on May 24, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Toyota only sold 3600 units of cars,omg.
      I think it is the distributor,UMW.
      Worldwide,Toyota made rm80 Billion.They can bail out Protong for the next 50 years @ rm1.5 B/year.
      Why is UMW doing so badly?
      Toyota japan…..high time u dump UMW.
      You want bumi distributors….hundreds out there waiting for a chance.
      Mediocrity has crept into UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • policeman on May 24, 2016 at 6:46 pm

I believe Proton will be at No2 by year end. Sales will pick up after Saga and Persona is launched.

Honda is done for the year, after the Civic. No matter how high the demand for Civic will be, It’ll always be limited by its output capacity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Yes I drive a Honda! on May 24, 2016 at 6:57 pm

VW car design especially the interior really boring. Can never compete with Honda. Even Kia design is way better…those who own a VW buy it just because of the engine but end of the day you stuck in traffic jam in your car looking at boring interior design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Heaven on May 25, 2016 at 10:56 am

Everyone has his/her own preference when it comes to interior styles. For me, I appreciate the minimalist designs of VW interiors.

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2016 at 2:06 pm

when you are on the highway, VW will outrun u and u will spend time eating VW’s dust.

• GreenTechie on May 25, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Yup, me too. I appreciate the tasteful interior of Tiguan, Beetle, Passat and Golf. Honda’s interior is plasticky. BTW, I drive an Accord.

• timbuktu on May 25, 2016 at 6:10 pm

me too, i appreciate the minimalist design. The “Yes I Drive A Honda!” guy above is typical of an arrogant b*tch who thinks everything shares the same taste as him.

• Firdaus on May 24, 2016 at 6:57 pm

where is that great wall of china??
    not even on the charts??

• blaster88 on May 24, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Interesting to note that Toyota had slipped to No.4. They better buck up and improve on their offerings. Honda can only grow from strength to strength esp on the back of their impending launch of the new Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • VW rules on May 24, 2016 at 7:04 pm

VW sales increase because of the stock clearance sales..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
  • contender on May 24, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Smart move by Volksvagen to slash prices for their unsold cars from 2014 and 2015 contributed to remarkable salea jump …… revival of VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Ong Chee Boon on May 24, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Not for long. They need to increase the number of SC as well to cope for the increasing sales or else this “revival” will be a short lived one

• dodgeviper88 on May 24, 2016 at 7:09 pm

I think a year to year comparison would be a more accurate assessment on how the car brands perform. Don’t forget VW is literally throwing prices on their cars, giving deep discounts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • intermilan on May 24, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Unfortunately, this call will be never heed. Malaysia Boleh!

• You have a point there about YoY comparison, which is a commonly used way to gauge sales performance. But i think the month on month plus YTD method is as effective because cars as a product is not the same as something like gardenia bread where the product has been largely the same for decades.

Car manufacturers sell different classes of vehicles, varying trims and fluctuating prices which collectively change every month when a new model is introduced and an old one is phased out. The month on month method is a more accurate way to measure sustained demand.

• Keng Huat on May 24, 2016 at 7:14 pm

P1,P2,Honda got new guns coming in so the rest might lose tremendously in numbers.. Esp Toyota & Nissan.Even though Toyota will come up with new mpv,i don’t believe consumer would opt for weird grasshopper eyes Sienta or fuel drinker innova.There is option for this latest family cars soon which is 7 seater Honda BRV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Najib Econs on May 24, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Malaysians getting poorer by the day. Seems only can afford Perodua these days, a car not found elsewhere but Malaysia. Making it worst, money all gone to Daihatsu too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • Birdie on May 24, 2016 at 8:54 pm

True…no point to be proud of P2 at #1…the money goes oversea anyway…to toyota/daihatsu….

• B-Unggul on May 24, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Actually, you can buy a Perodua Axia in Singapore.

Its range topper available for a measly price of SGD$75,888, 5 years maintenence all thrown in too. Superb value indeed.

• And yet more pipu buying VW. So means MY pipu getting richer instead of poorer

• down.... on May 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm

from 48k to 42k, almost 20% down…good work everyone, keep it “down”….toyota commercial down more than 50%…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Hanye on May 24, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Volkswagen spokesperson: “if you want quantum leap in sales increase, you sell at cost price like we did”

• tokmoh. on May 24, 2016 at 10:25 pm

And then charge rm53k for wiring harness huehuehue

• Tong Sampah on May 24, 2016 at 10:50 pm

cost? that is comparable to NORMAL car price in Europe..and its a year old car dude..

• this report is kind of misleading, the ranking should be based on YTD…VW sales is actually after Mitsubishi

• kzm (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 11:53 pm

I don’t see any misleading “Malaysia vehicle sales data for April 2016 by brand” – it is about monthly sales not yearly sales. YTD (Jan-Dec) u need to wait in Jan 2017.

• Hello ETCM, how are you doing? Still sleeping comfortably at night while your yards are packed to the brim because stock is not moving fast enough? Now would be a good time to give me a RM30k discount off from a Teana, unless of course you like to stretch your average stockkeeping days.

Or you could grow a pair and bring in an early facelift of the Teana. We like our LED DRLs and big wheels you know. You might even get a few younger execs if you introduce Apple Carplay/Android Auto headunits. Your Sylphy might as well be phased out as your X-Trail is your hot selling cashcow thats somehow keeping you guys close to UMW in sales numbers. Plus, the new Honda Civic Turbo will wipe the floor in the local C-segment.

You guys still selling the ancient Livina? Tak malu ke? Oh, maybe you guys are memang tak malu, looking at the atrocious 3rd-world DRLs you slapped on already the hideous Almera. Stop making Nissans that suck!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • Ong Chee Boon on May 25, 2016 at 12:09 am

I agree with you. Nissan and Toyota is a great car company world wide, but UMW and ETCM actually screwed up so badly in Malaysia.

Almera underpowered, safety features like shit. My friend has one and he regretted buying it.
      Teana overpriced and lack of features.
      Sylphy is just meh.
      X-trail design, some hate some love it. power wise still comparable.
      Don’t even get me started on that pathetic LIVINA. I wonder why there are still people who buy it and feel like a privileged owning one.

Where is Juke?
      Where is Kicks?
      WHere is Pulsar?

ETCM 100% is being complacent and LAZY right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Wow wow on May 24, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Seem like luxury car volume been increasing since previous year.

• Rich getting richer, poor getting poorer. Why…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Ofcourse, when they are selling Jetta less than a City, sales will go up like no tmr, bt probably negative profits…

• What about merc? How many %?

• waters on May 24, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Suzuki sold a total of ZERO cars??? How are they keeping their showrooms open? I wonder how they are still paying salaries. Crazy la….

• krs189 on May 25, 2016 at 8:47 am

No More Suzuki Show Room la…. all converted to PROTON

FYI, Suzuki has stopped making CKD Cars and ordering CBU Units since Julai 2015.

• GreenTechie on May 25, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Yes, very sad. I crave for the retro styled Suzuki Lapin which is not on sale here. While subjective, I think it’s a shame that the last Swift model is much better looking than the current one.

• Aero (Member) on May 24, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Well, sort of knew TCM Nissan’s sales was going to fall in April, they raised prices after all. Still, they managed to hold off UMWT for the entire Q1 2016, that is a respectable feat. It’s unlikely that TCM will manage to regain their fourth spot, but it was fun while it lasted.

And how did VGM’s sales explode so suddenly ? o.O I believe this is their best ever monthly ranking… sixth position no less… well done to them.

The more worrying news here is Proton’s YTD, which is now less than HMSB’s. This is the first time Honda has ever overtaken Proton’s YTD, although they’ve surpassed Proton’s monthly sales several times now and in 2015. This was not supposed to happen, had Proton launched the Perdana on track in March or so, they would have retained their second spot. Well, whatever lah, no use brooding over that now.

Proton should take care with the new Saga and BH Persona, don’t rush the launch just because your YTD has fallen behind Honda, if you can greatly improve your QC, reliability, long-term refinement (sorry, I must repeat this because it’s beyond important) with the two new cars, your YTD sales will surely surpass HMSB’s towards the year’s end.

It is not Proton’s fault for poor 2016 sales, there are too many external factors involved from politics to economics and just the unfortunate timing of things. Proton shouldn’t give up now, they’re still in a relatively good position, with the soft-loan and all, new promising models, widening export markets and quite a bit more on top of that. They just need to keep at it during this difficult period, respite will come soon enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • Jobless on May 24, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Nissan is dead, dont see the Selfie pomoted iin all their ads..the Tina is too long too big

• Goldie on May 24, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Toyota sales down sharply as buyers are saving for the new Hilux and Fortuner. They are lots of die hard fans of Hilux so expect a sharp rebound this quarter. However, Toyota is losing badly in the C and D segments without any exciting offering this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • intermilan on May 24, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Peugeot year on year (jan-apr16 vs jan-apr15) sales dropped by almost 56%. Total collapse… dwclining trend that seems to have no end. Wonder if there is any other brand perform worse than this. What a disaster for them. Kesian pulak..

• KIA and Hyundai really dying. I dunno how they can survive with less than 5k sales a year. Their total sales even less than Mercs…

• I wonder how many cars Haval are selling? I haven’t seen their name in the sales data mentioned here. Or are they included with other brand names?

• C.P.MOHAN on May 25, 2016 at 8:58 am

Comparing Perodua/Proton with Mercedes/BMW is like comparing apple with grapes. A better comparison would be low/medium/high or segments.

• 4G63T DSM on May 25, 2016 at 10:09 am

Poor poor Proton.

Too bad for them. Now paying for years of bad history. Karma is a bitch. Lesson of the day. Don’t screw your customers. They remember.

Perodua now outsells Proton 3:1, despite only having 3 models compared to 7 models in Proton’s fleet and Fleet sales to various Government agencies.

• isuzuki on May 25, 2016 at 11:14 am

Well…. When I renewed my 2011 1.6 NGL insurance with Tan Chong, I was advised to insure for 51K. When I asked to trade in the same 1.6 NGL with Tan Chong, I was told 37K only (all in one month time)… how? ………

• Why are there no ferrari / fiat sales?

• GTi-R on May 25, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Fiat? Where are you from?… sini malaysia maa.. mana ada jual fiat lagi.. distributor sudah lama tapau..

• Raja Mongkol II on May 26, 2016 at 7:15 pm

VW owners thought they bought a new bargain car….

Wait till their car breaks down…and stuck in the SC. The car will be useless like a damn rock then.

Enjoy your VW while still car.