Zercado auto-adjustable motorcycle rear-view mirrors – seeing things differently on the road

Zercado smart motorcycle mirror - 1

One of the traditional bug-bears of riding a motorcycle is the view – or lack thereof – that a rider gets from the rearview mirrors. Due to the width of the handlebars, and the rider’s seating position, motorcycle rear-view mirrors can sometimes have large blind spots, or provide less than a proper view of what’s behind the rider.

Zercado, a start-up founded by Bartosz Ambrozkiewicz, may have the answer in the form of an automatically adjustable mirror that changes the viewing angle based on the rider’s position on the bike. Since riding a motorcycle calls for a lot of physical movement from the rider, the rider’s viewing angle changes changes constantly in relation to the mirror position, and can sometimes result in blind-spots appearing, or becoming larger.

This, of course, increases the risk of an accident, especially when the rider doesn’t know what is going on behind him or her. Using sensors built into the rider’s jacket or a smartphone in the rider’s jacket pocket, the Zercado mirror adjusts the mirror lens to provide the best possible rearview for the rider.

Using an aspherical mirror, the Zercado mirror “almost completely eliminates blind spots,” claims Ambrozkiewicz. The mirror also incorporates turn signals, and is designed to be fitted to a multitude of sports and naked bikes using the standard rearview mirror mounts.

Currently moving into raising funds on Kickstarter, the Zercado mirror has gone through second prototype phase, and won the Microsoft Imagine Cup design competition in 2015. Pricing is estimated to be USD250 (RM1022).

What do you think? A boon for riders and motorcycle safety or another gadget that looks better than it works? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Matchy on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:32 am

Side mirror or rear mirror?

• Really on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:34 am

When most motorcyclists couldn’t even care less to spend on a better helmet, what is the chance they will care about thousand ringgits rearview mirror? Sorry to be pessimistic but that is the sad reality in Malaysia.

• En Ketam on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Sorry, rempit nowadays willing to spend more than Rm2k for a better helmet – though their choice for helmet type (open face vs full face) is another debate in itself.

• Your mother on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Buutoooo… Lies everywhere

• Your everyday rider on Jul 10, 2016 at 4:33 am

As a rider myself, I have to disagree on that.. Yes they do spend thousands of RM for a helmet, but not for their features or safety, more towards the “brg rare” attitude only, the bragging rights.. If they do care about safety, you won’t see them popping wheelies or go superman on the road in flippers, t-shirts and jeans..

• Turn your head around and slow down on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:53 am

I find slowing down and turning my head to look around before changing lanes or overtaking usually does the trick. Heck, it’s good exercise for the neck muscles too!

• Although I understand your point, that does leave you vulnerable if something happens in front of your bike like a car suddenly cuts into your lane. The same as a car driver glimpses for a second at his phone is enough to take his concentration off what is happening in front of him.

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:51 pm

A quick turn of the head to check and clear the blind spot is accepted safety practice for both cars and motorcycles. Sadly, this technique is no longer taught in the local driving schools.

• Turn your head around and slow down on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:08 pm

I also turn on my signal light which has a beeper sound, to let others know I’m changing lane or turning, or slowing down to stop on the side of the road.

I think all bikes and cars should come with indicator beepers.