Mazda CX-5 and 6 SkyActiv-D diesel priced at RM166k and RM209k; launches this month – local dealer

Offcial Launching Skyactiv D Turbo 2.2L (July)

#MAZDA6 RM 208,739.00

#CX5 RM 166,335.71

Engine Performance…

Posted by Mazda – Sales Promo & News on Sunday, 17 July 2016

It appears that the launch of diesel-powered Mazda vehicles in Malaysia will take place this month, according to a local dealer. A post on the Mazda – Sales Promo & News Facebook page also revealed the pricing of both the diesel CX-5 SUV and 6 sedan.

For the former, the CX-5 will be priced at RM166,335.71, which is only RM6,519.81 more than a current petrol-powered CX-5 2.5L 2WD (metallic). As for the diesel 6, the model is said to retail for RM208,789, an additional RM8,445.22 over the petrol Mazda 6 2.5L Sedan. The prices mentioned here, we were told, are on-the-road with insurance.

The Mazda 6 is said to be fully-imported from Japan (CBU), whereas the diesel CX-5 is locally assembled in Inokom’s Kulim plant here, where it is also exported to the Thailand market.

Both vehicles are powered by a 2.2 litre twin-turbo SkyActiv-D inline four-cylinder diesel engine, paired to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. The mill produces 175 PS at 4,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, which bests the torque figure of the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine in both the 6 and CX-5 by 170 Nm, although with 12 PS less.

We’ve already sampled both vehicles before, where we took the CX-5 diesel on a near-1,400 km drive from Bangkok to Hanoi recently. We’ve also test driven the 6 diesel in its pre-facelift guise as well, and you can read all about it, here.

However, there was no mention on the pricing for the diesel CX-3 and 2, where both are powered by a smaller 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D four-cylinder engine mated to a six-speed auto. Both vehicles are reportedly part of Bermaz’s four-vehicle diesel offensive for the Malaysia market. We’ve highlighted the capabilities of the diesel-powered 2 in an earlier review, where we took one from Bangkok to the Malaysian border (over 1,000 km) on a single tank of diesel.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• contender on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Lauched in time for B10 diesel …… Mazda6 2.5D at 208k nice premium pricing. This is the E300 diesel hybrid Merc equivalent at only 208k. Expect 6mths waiting period ….. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Recession? So little motor news lately.

• Operation Manager on Jul 19, 2016 at 9:36 am

Kick off diesel project that going phase out in auto industry …? Going right direction …?

• MeToo on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Did you seriously just compared E300 with Mazda6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • thepolygonal on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Good luck! Please use Euro 5 fuel to prolong your engine life… injector and DPF if these cars come in with any. Diesel engines are good, and I have no doubt these SkyActives are great. Just a few things you need to get to live with… the engine clattering… try BMW 3 series diesel… and if you are planning to save a few $$$ by going for the normal diesel fuel and not the Euro 5, then drop the DPF and let the pollution through or it will get chocked up so fast, it regenerates so often it will kaput and needs replacement before you finish your 4 years loan. Yes, I know…

• euro5 on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:11 pm

i always pump ron97 for my cars…euro5 rm1.70/l, nothing la ( sap sap sui la )….:)

• Amriji on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:23 pm

He talks about diesel, U talk about petrol. Macam itik cakap dgn ayam…

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Yes diesel-powered engines are good. The only minus points are, 1.Pollutes the air more compared to Petrol and 2.Noisy engine; but still it’s worth the money to buy one. Been using a 2.5L Diesel pickup, if the manufacturer design and install a pretty good sound insulation, then there is nothing to worry about buying a Diesel vehicle.

• Chickenriceisfried on Jul 18, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Not too badly priced but we can only hope bermaz gives a good spec

• nah, i wait for Proton new diesel engine

• wagon 6 on Jul 18, 2016 at 5:16 pm

how about wagon 6? the current 2.5 petrol wagon 6 is rm6k cheaper than sedan, is that mean the 2.2 diesel will also be cheaper by 6k?

• the driver on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Hello Bermaz, will the Mazda 2 diesel come with a manual or auto gearbox?

• Moving Forward on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Please bring in the manual gearbox. I’ll swap out mine with the manual hatch once it’s here.

• most probably just auto bro.

• Gaviny on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Good thing our Diesel is cheaper than petrol , it will immediately start paying for the difference at first refuel

• Jamal on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Thanks to that Proton creator, Malaysians pay RM80-120k more to get this beauty.

• KennyFang on Jul 18, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Don’t be fooled by the high torque. A diesel engine runs out of breath very fast and will lose in a drag race with a petrol engine of the same cc. The high torque is only within a narrow band of about 1000 rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • i’m not fully agree with your statement..yes diesel engine will run out of breath at high rpm but not all drivers drag race their cars. torquey engine is more useful in everyday use especially for city driving

• mr1031 on Jul 19, 2016 at 1:05 pm

hi ricer boy

• this guy sure have not driven any modern diesel…try a beemer diesel or even a kimchi diesel. Narrow power band are those old tech diesels, modern diesel have quite huge spread of peak torque….and the best part, max torque achieved from as low as 1,500rpm all the way to 4,500rpm. hence u dont need to rev the engine at all compared to a petrol, (2,000rpm u’re already above legal speed limit)…by 4,500rpm u are already above 200kph. So why do u need to rev the engine like a petrol….modern diesel is all about effortless progress and ride the huge wave of torque….

• Fwd only for malaysia’s diesel cx5 is a major letdown. with low torque petrol engine i would understand but diesel with much higher torque they should bring the 4wd/awd model too…

• If its so good, just give 5 years warranty la..

• old horse on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:46 pm

with B10 for sure (since newspaper already said G cant sell palm oil to china, and we know it related to sugar history..), thanks and no thanks..

• oh mak lu cina on Jul 18, 2016 at 11:31 pm

One stupid substandard japanese car for over 200K? Even more than an entry level BMW 316i??

• gaviny on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:16 am

entry level 316i is the most embarrasing BMW for anyone to own.

It completely says ‘i want BMW but cannot afford a real 320 or 328i, hence a 316i’

• how can u compare this with 316? it should be 320d.
      320d is almost rm280k which doesn’t even have reverse camera…m6 is fully equipped and 35% cheaper than 320d is reasonable to me.
      btw, 316 was discontinued

• Jepunis badge is not babe magnet, only ah lian will come

• badge? on Jul 19, 2016 at 7:59 pm

u buy car based on badge? pity u…only european car can attract ur babe? is that mean those babes who come to u is because of ur car? pity u again

• -BigBalls- on Jul 19, 2016 at 8:31 am

you can get a handful of entry level continental sedan and SUVs with 208k, what is Bermaz doing? the M6 diesel only appeals to the hardcore Mazda6 and diesel fanboys at this price… too high!

-BigBalls-

• zaam zaam al kazaam on Jul 19, 2016 at 2:34 pm

When bermaz will launch mazda 3 facelift? I heard now they start to clear the stock out…