2016 Mazda CX-5 facelift launched in Thailand – now with i-ActivSense, 2.5L SkyActiv-G variant dropped

2016 Mazda CX-5 facelift Thailand launch 1-1

The facelifted Mazda CX-5 has been launched in Thailand recently, featuring updated looks and new technologies. The SUV is offered in four variants – 2.0 C, 2.0 S, XD and XDL, with the 2.5 S now being removed from the line-up.

On the powertrain front, the 2.0 litre four-cylinder SkyActiv-G petrol engine continues to serve in the 2.0 C and 2.0 S, providing 165 PS and 210 Nm. The mill is now compatible with E85 gasohol – just like in the Mazda 3 and CX-3. As previously mentioned, the 2.5 S is no longer part of the line-up.

Therefore, the 2.5 litre four-cylinder SkyActiv-G mill will no longer be offered for the Thai market. In place of the 2.5 S is a new XD variant, which carries a 2.2 litre turbocharged four-cylinder SkyActiv-D diesel engine. The top-of-the-line XDL variant also carries the same oil burner.

2016 Mazda CX-5 facelift Thailand launch 2

All engines are mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic, but only 2.0 C and 2.0 S come with a drive selection switch (Sport mode) with Mazda’s i-Activ all-wheel drive system reserved for the XDL. The remaining variants meanwhile, are all two-wheel drive by default.

Exterior changes on the CX-5 include a new front grille design similar to ours, and new LED headlights, tail lights, fog lamps and DRLs (2.0 S, XD and XDL). The 2.0 C meanwhile, gets halogens for all its lighting units. Wheels fitted for the petrol variants are 17 inches in size, with larger 19-inch alloys reserved for the diesel CX-5s, wearing a similar design to what we get here (no two-tone design like in other markets).

Inside, all variants now benefit from an eight-way power adjustable seat with power lumbar adjustment on the driver’s side. Mazda’s latest MZD Connect also makes its way into the CX-5. The infotainment system is linked to a Bose nine-speaker surround sound system on the diesel variants, while the petrol CX-5s get six-speaker setup.

2016 Mazda CX-5 facelift Thailand launch 3

As for the new technologies, only the CX-5 XDL gains Mazda’s i-ActiveSense package, which includes the brand’s Adaptive LED Headlamps (ALH) that divides the high beam light source into multiple units that turn on & off individually so as not to blind oncoming drivers. Other components within the suite include Lane Departure Warning System, Lane-Keep Assist System, Smart City Brake Support (forward and reverse) and Driver Attention Alert.

As for variants without the package, they still have systems like Advanced Blind Spot Monitoring, Rear Cross Traffic Alert, four-wheel ABS, airbags, Dynamic Stability Control, Traction Control System, Hill Launch Assist and tyre pressure monitoring system (standard on the XDL).

Price-wise, the diesel CX-5s are now affordable as a result of Thailand’s new excise tax rules based on CO2 emissions. At the top of the heap, the XDL is priced at 1.69 million baht (RM199,657), while the XD goes for 1.53 million baht (RM180,754). The petrol 2.0 C and 2.0 S retail for 1.22 million baht (RM144,130) and 1.33 million baht (RM157,126), respectively.

GALLERY: Mazda CX-5 2.5L 4WD CKD (Malaysia-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• john is otak batu on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Congratulations to Thais.. worse price tag than Bolehland.

• maidin on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:30 pm

currently rm1=8.46 baht, the price tag seem to be a bit high after conversion, no more rm1=10 baht

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Solid package. Nice all rounder this CX5. I am a satisfied owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:28 pm

I hope the junk company Proton learn from Mazda, give people good specs and quality product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • policeman on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Actually Mazda learned a few from Proton.
      One of it is how to fix the wheel arch moulding. I’ve seen many CX5 with dangling mouldings.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:34 pm

BMW 320i just got EEV status. Being a crony company Sime Darby, getting EEV status and cheaper prices is no problem.

Poor Mazda. Most advanced petrol engine in town, yet cannot get EEV status or lower prices. (mazda 2)

Malaysian government should be transparent and not just give EEV status to crony GLCs or to those that give the Ministry big fat ang pow under the table

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Bradder Songlap,
      In BolehLand,it is who you know,not what you know.
      Imagine ,the japanese are the most hardworking folks I have ever come across.
      After the 1945 atomic attack,they cleaned up the radioactive city and today Mazda is giving the world sky activ technology.
      The last 30 years Mazda have been advancing by leaps and bound.
      Look at Protong.They can only produce a SYIOK ACTIV Campro engine.Total FAILURE,SHAMBOLIC….to describe Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
      • Sam proton saga on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Uncle Sam Loo must work really hard to change his son proton saga to this car.

• U must have missed the history that 30 years ago, mazda was on the brink of bankruptcy with lacklustre models. Back then, they burned thru their resources to develop rotary engines which din get anywhere except for RX series (a niche market model). They needed Gov ‘donations’ to keep alive and later Ford ‘donations’ before they have stable footing.

With the cashflow from US, they used it as last chance to develop skyactiv, while their cars used Ford engines. That took them 10 years. If Japan had pipu like u then, b4 skyactiv becum real, Mazda wud have tapau by then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • john is otak batu on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Oooo! Scary history from john…. I’m so bright now!!

• Albert on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:10 am

Tokok Spineless John,
          we r not interested in your thesis.
          What we see is resurgence of mazda(with gomen help)and their export market penetration.
          Protong,with massive gomen help, suck the last ringgit from taxpayers,for 30 years…still cannot succeed…even lost to latecomer perodua.
          In the business world ,you can talk 3,talk 4…what people want to see is success not historical rhetoric.
          We should have more people like Datuk songlap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Bertie. U tried to sound smart by taking references that u have no full knowledge of, and cherry picking facts & history to suit ur arguments.

But in comes somebody who knows more about the subject matter at hand & whom tried to educate u & correct ur misinformation. Instead u tried to divert to another matter. Why do u sound like a certain political party, hmm?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:36 pm

malaysian spec like tin kosong compared to the one thais are getting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Sesuailah! Orang Malaysia banyak tin kosong! Especially gang DAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • T, H, N, M did a study and found that Malaysians wud rather proudly die in their jepunis tin kosong than shamefully survive in a P1

• kzm (Member) on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:54 pm

CX5 2.0 in US oni $21k (Baht 780k) full spec but in Thai they sell CX5 2.0 for Baht 1.22 million..

• Presumably the last facelift version before major change in 2017

• RBA macais says ini semua salah Najib/ Rosmah/ 1Mdb/ TPPA/ BN/ UMNO/ Meleis/ P1/ the stone inside their shoe/ yada yada yada

• Sick&tired on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Malaysian ringgit so low compared to thai bhat!? Soon malaysians will be going to thailand to work as maids!

• Yet I still see many thais cum here do 3D work that Malaysians dun wan

• in Singapore they sell Mazda CX-5 2.0 for SGD$129,888 – RM390,000 !

• RBA macais says ini semua salah Najib/ Rosmah/ 1Mdb/ TPPA/ BN/ UMNO/ Meleis/ P1/ the stone inside their shoe/ yada yada yada

• So do you know what is the different of ringgit and SGD?

• stasta on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:17 pm

in singapore a office white collar worker can earn sgd 5k per month (rm 15k).

• car lover on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Mazda, why Mia got lover specs than Thailand? And almost same price. Please don’t compare the currency as RM was depreciated the most in SEA. This is our Gov’ problem. We should change the people lead the Gov’ in next GENERATION.

• As what KZM said, thai got higher price than US. So shud oso change thai gov? oso SG price much much much higher than in US. So shud oso change SG Gov too?

• Sam Loo on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Stay away from new sushis

Get a brand new kimchi instead. Keep the used car market for kimchis primed

• old horse on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:15 pm

dont worry, Bermaz will strip off all features and sell the base for a cheaper price…LOL..damn..

• Random guy on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:17 am

I’m not a proton fan. I dont have any proton in my house. But i’m already sick watching people like songlap songlap commenting on how bad proton is. I know and i understand their build isnt as good as european or japanese counterparts, but that p1 is improving. Kutuk sana sini, copy paste sana sini, tp anda x ubah apa2 pun. Malaysians now really suka kritik something. And keep repeating “i paid for taxes, i got right to do so” like we all were not. Stop condeming others if you dont know the real struggle of making a car. At least have some respect to p1 dude. A lot of my not so rich friends r thankful to proton, they can buy safe iriz for their family for less. And they really loved iriz more than they loved their previous 2004 vios, 2007 city.

• Thats why Sam Loo says onli poor pipu buys P1, and then convince richer Malaysians that proudly dying in a moving coffin is better than shamefully survive in a P1.
      And aloooooot of pipu buy that bullsh*t (his reasoning & the car).

So jangan persoal cuz if u say anything gud about P1, u will called BN lapdog

• WahLao on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:00 am

Wah, not last year already got facelift? 2016 facelift again? CX5 got how many facelift? Like cheating consumer.. with the same design n tweak a bit…

http://paultan.org/2015/03/11/mazda-cx-5-facelift-ads-oto-my/

• khairul on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:33 am

If you aware, last year it was CBU unit imported from Japan and available for cx-5 2.5 variant only. This time around it was CKD version assemble in Malaysia and available in 2.0 and 2.5 variant. That was it.

• DPCraft on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:05 am

This suppose to be 2015 facelift, but only reach here in 2016…

• sakitlutut on Feb 26, 2016 at 10:04 am

Any reason why the diesels are so expensive in Thailand? Are the diesel CX-5’s now “imported” from the Mazda Kulim plant, hence the higher price? Really looking forward to the introduction of Mazda’s Skyactiv-D range here in Malaysia, especially the 2.2 in the CX-5 and 6. But if indicative pricing is same as Thailand, that is going to put me off them for sure.

• Pete in Thailand on Mar 29, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Just bought the 2.2 XDL version after wavering between that and Honda’s CRV. Briefly my review has more cons than pros:
    Pros: The XDL 2.2 diesel proves to be an excellent engine with little in car noise. Interior is comfortable with good legroom. Instrument cluster well laid out. More cup holders than average.

Cons: No air conditioning for rear seat passengers. Tailgate has no in car release lever and ideally should be power operated for a vehicle of this class, when fully open it is too high for the average person to pull down and shut No lighting on door side switches, especially for the driver, can lead to pressing wrong button in the dark. Door mirrors tend to reflect the chrome on the inside trim. Navigation hard to understand and use, the map very old. Tyre noise very noticeable and wind noise above 80 kmph unacceptable. Mazda could do better with a little attention to the cons.
    Maybe the CRV would have suited me better.