Bullet-proofing your car – what you need to know

ballistic-resistant transparent armour 7.62mm effect

Fatal shooting incidents have been headlining the local news of late, and many of these have involved those being in vehicles.

Notable cases include that which occurred on July 6, when a 32-year-old property agent was killed and her daughter injured when the vehicle they were in was shot at by assailants. Another happened earlier this week, when a 43-year-old man was shot to death in his car at the Jalan Taman Ibu Kota/Jalan Genting Klang junction.

No doubt, the reaction among many to the sudden increase in such gun-related crimes will be one of heightened concern and to take a closer look at the possibility of improving the level of protection in a vehicle by “bullet-proofing” it.

If you’ve been toying with that idea, you best be prepared to be committed, in every possible sense. The subject is not as simple – and straightforward – as it sounds, the deeper one delves into it.

For one, armouring a civilian vehicle and increasing its bullet-resistance capabilities involves a lot of time, effort and more importantly, money. The idea that you can get it all done in days and on the cheap is a fallacy – a few thousand to get your Kancil up to being able to handle small-arms fire while keeping you intact in the process isn’t even remotely a possibility.

The period after a spate of shootings always sees a sudden increase in enquiries about armouring a car, according to Ho Chong Chuai. The managing director of SecuGlass, a local company involved in the manufacture of bullet-resistant glass products, said that the number of calls he gets jumps significantly following a rise in incidents. Virtually all enquiries, however, never follow through.

“Everyone thinks it’s straightforward and cheap to make a car bullet-resistant, but when we tell them the cost involved in the process, they give up on the idea,” he laughs. Ho, whose company outfits security vans and also provides bullet-resistant glass for military-based applications, says that armouring a civilian vehicle to be able to handle the minimum level of protection from small-arms fire can cost up to RM90,000, and that’s quite basic in its intent, he explained.

While retrofit armouring work involves replacing the standard glass fittings on the car with ballistic-resistant glazed shielding (transparent armour) and adding sheet protection (opaque armour) behind the metalwork of the car, there are many levels of protection, each increasing in complexity and, as you’d expect, price.

ballistic-resistant steel plate

In general, the basic ballistic rating capability of the transparent armour has to meet a DIN EN 1063 (for opaque armour, EN 1522) BR2 threat level rating, which makes it capable of handling 9×19 mm Parabellum rounds fired from a handgun. In bullet-resistant vehicle (BRV 2009) classification terms, this translates to a VR3 rating. A BR4 (or VR4) rating offers protection up to .44 Remington Magnum rounds.

The latter is what IMS Magna Armoring’s offerings are rated to. When it first began operations two years ago, the KL-based company’s armouring work was rated to BR2 classification, but this has since been upped to BR4 levels, its managing director Howe Chin said.

The company’s main body of work involves performing security modifications for civilian cars, and its business involves vehicles in the luxury segment. That’s not surprising, because with a job costing anywhere from RM145,000 to RM200,000, you’re not going to find mid-market offerings going that route.

Here, the armouring work consists of replacing all glass components with glazed shielding, which consists of a sandwich of glass, polyvinyl butyral, glass, polyurethane and finally, polycarbonate layers, bonded together. It is this composite that gives the transparent armour its ballistic capabilities. In BR2 applications, the thickness of the glazed shielding is 15 mm, while to achieve a BR4 rating, a 22 mm thickness is required, Chin explained.

ballistic-resistant transparent armour IMA

Unlike in factory-installed versions, the transparent armour windows are usually fixed in place in retrofit applications, and the use of the original doors are retained. In IMA Magna’s case, the rear windows are fixed units, while the front windows can be wound down very slightly to present a small aperture. A fully-functional AC looks to be a big must, as is having to open the door to get parking tickets in private car park lots.

Meanwhile, ballistic nylon and para-aramid fibre (better known by its trademarked name, Kevlar) sheets are used for the opaque armour in the doors and body. The latter helps keep the weight down, but there’s no escaping that a security vehicle has to pile on the pounds due to its nature. Both men said that in normal applications, around 200 kg is added on to a vehicle’s kerb weight.

A weight penalty is inescapable, Ho says, though this can be mitigated with the use of lighter materials, though this bumps up the cost. Also, other considerations come into play – the more comprehensive the protection, the heavier it usually gets.

Despite having an extra 200 kg on, things aren’t a real issue, but go well beyond that and it will be. “For example, the suspension and brakes, which are meant to only deal with a standard car, may not be able to cope and will have to be upgraded,” he said.

ballistic-resistant opaque armour IMA

The fitting work is both labour and time-intensive. “The process of armouring a car can take from four to six weeks to complete,” Ho said, adding that a couple of weeks are needed to allow the inter-layer bonding agent in the glazed shielding to cure completely.

The same timeframe is given by Chin, who said that the transparent armour used by his company is fully imported and needs a lead time of about two months to be brought in. Fitting work is carried out locally at an undisclosed location to protect the client’s confidentiality.

Dedicated security offerings from manufacturers, of which there are a number of examples, naturally offer a higher level of security, by virtue of having being designed in mind for this purpose and correspondingly worked upon as such. They also cost a lot more, naturally.

Notable examples are the BMW X5 Security Plus, which has a VR6 rating (technically between BR4 and BR5, and 7.62×39 mm AK-47 proof) and the Range Rover Sentinel, which has a VR8 (between BR6 and BR7) classification and is able to withstand 7.62 mm high velocity, armour-piercing incendiary bullets and offer side protection against up to 15 kg of TNT blasts and DM51 grenades from beneath the floor and above.

There’s also the Audi A8 L Security, equipped with hot-formed armoured steel, aramid fabrics, ceramics, special aluminum alloys and multi-plate glass, and which is good for a VR9 (or a BR7) classification rating. That, if you must know, is capable of handling 7.62×51 mm NATO sub-caliber rounds, or assault-rifle levels of threat, which is highly unlikely to be seen here.

During the interview, Ho shows examples of transparent armour that have gone through evaluation trials. All the samples, be they from the impact of 9 mm handgun or 5.56×45 mm (from the M16) and 7.62 mm rifle rounds (there’s even one from a grenade blast), aren’t pretty to look at, but as he points out, “the armour has done its job, terminating the velocity of the projectile and keeping the occupants behind it safe. And that is what it is all about.”

So there you have it – while you can make your car bullet-proof, it’s not going to be a simple or cheap process. The last word then from Ho, who – despite being in the business of providing ballistic protection – says very few civilians are likely to need their vehicle to be armoured. “It’s all about your track record. If you have nothing to fear, then you won’t need it. But it’s there if you want it, much like insurance.” The question is, do you?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Solution: Don’t piss ppl off nowadays.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 4
    • Operation Manager on Jul 30, 2016 at 12:33 pm

All Japanese to be fuel efficiency by reduce weight thinner all metal parts, but European car to be fuel efficiency by maximize overall engine system design efficiency. Exyra weight to Japanese car (especially dinosaur Honda vtec) you will find it even worst fuel consumption than Korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • DPCraft on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:22 pm

But how much you pay for a mercedes compare to Honda. Besides, light weight doesn’t means not safe, some european car gets worst crash test ratings or the same ratings compared to Japanese cars. Light weight means easier to maneuver, more agile, so manufacture gets to fit in smaller displacement engine to be more fuel Efficiency.

ALSO, not all european cars are bulletproof… you need to buy that specific variant or it’s an add-on package.

• The so-called “property agent” scammed people with sure-win easy-money lies. She did not die for no reason

• For people who drive toyota and proton cant afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Kunta roti canai cb no1 on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:18 pm

wah, very expensive, how to to afford if it is more expensive than the car

• well. i have seen people own a car worth 300k but a house worth only 150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Cuckoo on Jul 30, 2016 at 6:04 pm

If you are a nice guy who is polite to everyone, but some desperate guy owes you 10 million, you might still get shot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Good luck not pissing anyone these days.

The glass solution is very expensive. You can get cheaper option by using special tints that can deflect bullets. Not 100% bulletproof but can save your life if you have offended a gangster at a niteclub

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • whatever it is…. it is sad to see malaysia is going down to drain with crimes and now even having the needs to armour our cars.

economy = security = crime = long term well being for our children and the future generations.

• Save Malaysia on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Avoid offend other person. If involved in an accident, try calm yourself. You would not know the true identities of the others. Now hire a shooter only cost RM5000 and that is the price to take down a person. It also clearly shows that the value of life is cheap in Malaysia. Do not expect Five O do their jobs professionally, most of the cases are unsolved. Their job is to put the deceased in a plastic bag after the incident.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 10
  • Jimmy on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Do proper bisnes.

Stay away from jinab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • James on Jul 29, 2016 at 11:44 pm

You still need to get out of the car eventually…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • really? on Jul 30, 2016 at 12:43 am

From a country that was peaceful 10 years ago, this is what it has come down to? What has happened to our country till it’s so easy to get weapons in the first place?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
    • i_the_kiasu_people on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:20 am

10 years ago also this country got people killed by gunshoot like the recent one meh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Then be thankful u did not have to live back then worrying about commie stuff sudden happen (read: AIA). These things happen, we just got lucky we have a 10~20 year window of relative peace, but it never goes away. Just ask USA overlords, they know very well.

• really? on Jul 30, 2016 at 9:17 pm

The world has changed in the past 10-20 years. Malaysia needs to keep up. Not only in the automotive industry but also in education, technology and security to remain a relevant country. Right now, all the government does is talk. No action. China and India have their own space program. It shows how Malaysia is left behind other countries. We expect other countries to take us seriously? Things are going to get worse before we see change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • The world has changed, but was it for the better? Maybe for those who has money, yes. But what about the poor? What about those poor in ur China and India which has space programs? Their income gap is as astronomical as their space ambition!

And how do u want us to be taken seriously? By muscling into territory and bullying others? Is this considered better than now? By being the bully? What kinda right thinking we have here!

• really? on Jul 31, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Let me sum it up. A good government will produce good citizens. In terms of education, economy and health and wealth. We don’t need to bully anyone into anything. Just safeguard people’s interests and the country will prosper. Look at Finland, good education, no terrorism, stable economy, good infrastructure, clean environment, happy people.

• U got that backwards. Its gud pipu who makes gud Gov, cuz the Gov comes from pipu. Besides, no nation takes each other seriously in terms of education and health and wealth, when dealing with diplomacy. Its military and financial influence might. Why else do u think SG need to have a strong military when they have Uncle Sam?

And cherry picking Finland is very cheeky. Why not Sweden? Izit cuz thats the favourite destination for the refugees? Why not Norway? Cuz of Breivik?
            U do better to pick Greenland instead, cuz they din have economy collapse like Finland did!

So like I said, changes happened and theres pros and cons. We cant just pick only the gud ones and leave the bad. Thats just life. Deal with it.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 30, 2016 at 1:44 am

In short, you do unethical things that pisses people off, you’ll eventually get shot. Doesn’t matter if the car is armored or not, eventually a target has to get out of the vehicle and will still get killed. Karma is very real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Jerung on Jul 30, 2016 at 6:27 am

The lady murdered at OUG was murdered by the ‘unethical’ guy who conned her a few million RM. She only asked for her money back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
      • hiredgunman on Jul 30, 2016 at 9:32 am

do u wanna know where she got that 1.3 mil from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • 13m la … Zzzzzz

• Don't sesat on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:25 pm

It’s not 1.3mil, it’s 13mil. Btw, she got it from her businessman husband. News reports states that the husband got the money from his biz in China.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 30, 2016 at 11:36 am

Her husband openly admit he was part of a ponzi scheme in China. Makes you wonder how on earth he can get a dato’ in the first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Ollie on Jul 30, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Only the morally depraved will blame the victim.

• Not blaming the victim. Just commenting what cause and effect is.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 31, 2016 at 2:14 pm

Stupidest display of moral relativism ever. The “victims” are not innocent saints or angels. They had it coming. People don’t hire hitmen as a first resort, it’s always a last resort.

• Not exactly, those who did a good job to protect the interest of the country especially from corrupt officers or leaders also at risk.

• orang biasa on Jul 30, 2016 at 1:56 am

Might be our MO1 need that glass too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Sammy Loo on Jul 30, 2016 at 2:01 am

need to get it done in my Hilux before the kimchi owners shoot me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • BOYRACER on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:58 am

Don’t worry Sammy.You don’t have to do that because if they wanted to shoot you,they would have done it long time ago and btw RM
      5000 is too much to pay for someone like you.
      Peace bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • DPCraft on Jul 30, 2016 at 3:46 pm

^ joke of the day

• BOYRACER on Jul 30, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Don’t worry Sammy.If they wanted to do that,they would have done it long time ago.Fyi the Rm5k required is too much to waste for someone like you.
      Peace bro.

• Jobless on Jul 30, 2016 at 8:20 am

Many years ago gated and guarded housing areas using private security firms started to sprout like mushrooms. Now bullet proofing your car will become the norm. Something is not right here when people are paying all kinds of taxes but our safety and security are becoming worse. Clearly there are people who are not doing the job they’re supposed to do and have failed us the rakyat miserably.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
  • wayang on Jul 30, 2016 at 9:52 am

Pipu in MY will ask for free bullet proofing across the models because its a safety thing
    You know imagine you are stopping at the traffic light and the car in front gets shot at and stray bullet might hit your car
    So yeah definitely its a safety thing and car manufacturer should provide bullet proofing for free
    Dont tell me you need to be rich to be safe

Just like how pipu in My asked for VSC to be free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 31, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Elsewhere VSC is standard on all variants and all cars, it is not expensive to implement and benefits everyone.

Bullet proof cars cost A LOT, and are useless to almost everyone. They consume much more fuel, are harder to live with, have terrible performance, …

• wayang on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:46 am

Elsewhere is elsewhere problem
        You stay in Malaysia you live with problem associated with Malaysia

Elsewhere you can wear an office attire and cycle to
        work
        In Malaysia you wear on office attire and cycle to work you make the whole office smell like ikan masin
        You can argue all you want how green, cheap and efficient elsewhere is with cycling

Elsewhere might be developed country, Malaysia is a developing country
        There are alot of people who cant afford expensive cars fitted with VSC
        People who are upgrading from a kapchai for example cannot afford expensive vscs and the maintenance of expensive electronics safety devices
        Upgrading from a 2 wheel kapchai to a basic 4 wheel with roof is already a huge upgrade in safety for them

I lived in elsewhere before and I never see people ride kapchai
        Kapchai got not enough torque and make riding and overtaking in highway dangerous
        So if you were to ban kapchai because elsewhere everyone is riding at least quarter litre bike
        You see how many will make noise

• Gunting kecik on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:05 am

yeah, will we at bulletproofing the car, maybe we should start shopping for bullet proof vest too….

Anyway, to avoid all these…….jangan buat dosa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • kaboom on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:16 am

Untuk pintu,nak jimat pakai sabut kelapa..cermin tu pandai2lah

• Ah Lim on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:21 am

Beside the cost involve, I think you need to get the approval from the police right ? Otherwise all the criminals in MALAYSIA can get their car bullet proof.

• DPCraft on Jul 30, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Criminals can bribe m’sia police

• Don't sesat on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Referring to news report (http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2013/08/01/many-looking-to-bulletproof-their-vehicles-companies-note-increase-in-enquiries/) Puspakom said that there are no regulations or licensing required when it comes to bullet proof vehicles.

• Roti John 1M on Jul 30, 2016 at 11:51 am

Wonder why ppl wanted to shoot the deceased?
    Must be too handsome izit?
    Jealous becoz too beautiful ah?
    Cost of bullet very very cheap, izit?
    Target practice izit?

Your guess is as good as mine….

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 30, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Good article, very informative about the classes of security levels available in a vehicle. Anything beyond the A8 L Security u will need to get an APC.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 30, 2016 at 1:16 pm

almost all of those shootings are actually either related to ahlongs or those guys who are involved in those filthy pyrimid schemes …seriously , i know it looks bad on tv , bt if u r not involved in those unethical business u have nothing to worry about…we never had proper police to fight crime anyway…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 30, 2016 at 1:50 pm

the problem is i never gt shot…cos when i was menteri no guns could enter malaysia. vote barisan semi 2018

• Semua orang sudah gila la on Jul 30, 2016 at 2:18 pm

House break-ins and robberies on the rise so people spend money on cctv, home alarms and gated community. Rakyat pays. Hired killers kill for a cheap price of 3-5k on the rise so people spend 50-100k on bulletproof cars. Rakyat pays again. And people say crime doesn’t pay. HAHA! Laugh is all we can do. (Oh cost of living has also increased ridiculously so haha to inflation too! ) I wonder why we pay tax for?

• Xxxxx on Jul 30, 2016 at 2:57 pm

How much for an Ironman suit?

• PriestJoe on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:50 pm

The safest way is to migrate to other safe country e.g. Singapore or Iraq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • MY.com on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:36 pm

We need a leader like President Rodrigo Duterte…do it for pple and nation…no nonsense get to the point..

• Thats why I say all leaders here nobalas. There, if anybody dare to cbai with Pinoy Harry, they wun get ISA. They straight get the piang as what he said on TV. No oppolitikuses bollocks. Thats the kinda leader we need.

• If I’m rich and got enemies, 100k is peanuts. My life is more important.

• ste... on Jul 30, 2016 at 8:08 pm

What happened to the Country?

• exvat69 on Jul 30, 2016 at 8:45 pm

itulah..when the police wants to increase the punishment, people make noises and politicians also masuk campur. Human rights people also make noise. Look@ Singapore, the ISA is still there. The laws on possession and discharge of weapons must be changed – u carry, own , discharge or sell firearms illegally…hit them hard including sending them to the gallows. They must also install metal detectors at ALL entry points. With technology nowadays, Im sure we can decrease the flow of illegal firearms.
    Hope the police tctical teams will taruk these murderers and gangsters kau-kau.
    My time in the late 70s till late 80s…we taruk the gangsters, communist insurgents and MORO pirates kau-kau. But with new technology..we need to think faster and act faster but the public can always help.

• Back then, we dun have oppolitikuses, BAR, this bersih, that bersih cbai-ing everything law enforcements doing. Now even hardcore diehard criminals get loyar plotek cuz got money.

• That is the price we pay after ISA gone. Ironicly, our jiran the so call develop country down below still have their ISA.

• Karim on Jul 31, 2016 at 1:26 am

Malaysia is not safe anymore. Not a safe country to live in. Full of gangsters. I dont want to be racist here, but this gangsters joined by all races. Malay, chinese, indian. 1 Malaysia

What our polices do? And why their organizations are allowed? Dont say that they are illegal org, we have police forces. They should be caught already.

Too many org.. pukida, 24,30,77 etc. For what? Seriously this is sh*t

• Bernard on Jul 31, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Is this what the country has come to?

Thank god I am poor and I think I have no enemies :)

But if I have money will still bullet proof my 20 year old kancil 660:)

• U gangster ah? on Jul 31, 2016 at 12:51 pm

No need to worry if u are not gang banger

• james tomas on Dec 27, 2016 at 4:33 am

STEC Armour provides lighter car armouring services in Malaysia. We convert normal vehicle to bullet resistance vehicle everyday.

The advantages of STEC Armour services are as below:

1. STEC produces CURVE bullet resistance Front and Rear windscreen. The windscreen looks like original fitting after installation even though the thickness has increased from 5mm to 18mm

2. All the door window glasses will be replaced with 10mm CURVE bullet resistance glass produced by STEC Armour and the window still work as normal….wind fully UP and Down after installation

3. All doors panel are fitted with super light Bullet Resistance Shield. Cut to door contour in one big piece without join to provide full protection. Door Bullet Resistance Shield (Polymer) is produced by STEC Armour locally and exported to 25 countries.

4. STEC Armour also provide installation service for Car Roof and Car floor as well. This is to protect customer from shot comes from above and explosion from bottom.

Much value added advantages:

1. STEC Armour bullet resistance glass offer one way return fire. Means that it stops bullet from outside but allow bullet to penetrate from inside. This return fire option allow owner who has gun or bodyguard to return fire from inside vehicle without the need to exit.

2. STEC Armour bullet resistance glass for window is able to be broken from inside the vehicle in case of emergency escape is require such as when car falls into river. Others competitor offering a thick and dead window which is a trap.

For more detail, please contact STEC Armour CEO – James Tomas (0124097749)