Malaysia July 2016 vehicle sales data by brand – overall down 26%, but Volvo up 109%, Porsche 422%!

Perodua_Bezza_GearUp_Fullcar-3

Sales figures by brand for the month of July 2016 have been released by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), and the overall trend has been of a decline to the tune of 26.5%.

Perodua, top as usual, posted sales of 15,121 units in July compared to 20,044 units in June, a reduction of 4,923 units or 24.6%. Proton, meanwhile, takes fourth overall (behind Honda and Toyota) with a dip of 44.5% with a July sales figure of 3,866 units, down 44.5% compared to June. Toyota is up to third, selling 5,028 units in July (-26.1% compared to June). Honda, in second, took a smaller hit, selling 7,827 units (-15.4%).

Mazda posted a reduction of 47% – only 686 units were sold in July compared to 1,295 units sold in June, and Ford followed closely with drop of 46.7%, with 495 units sold in July compared to 928 units sold in June. German brand Volkswagen recorded a dip of 49.2%, making sales of 234 units in July compared to 461 units in the preceding month.

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class_vs_F30_BMW_3_Series_ 026

The premium sector recorded drops as well, with Mercedes charting 940 units for July compared to 1,234 units in June, BMW posting July sales of 689 units compared to 760 units in June, and Audi selling 51 units in July compared to 55 units the month before.

Growth was recorded as a minority occurrence for July; Subaru posted a growth of 21.4% with 591 units sold compared to 487 in the month before, while Volvo increased its sales for July by 109% to 71 units from 34 units in June. Porsche took the biggest leap forward in July with 47 vehicles sold, compared to 9 units in June, making a 422% growth figure.

Click on the image below for an enlarged version.

July-2016-Malaysian-car-sales

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hussein on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Goes to show that the rich are getting richer and the expensive cars are enjoying lower prices.

this is what you call a stupid Government. They reduce car prices for the rich. Look at Mercedes, BMW and Jaguar, they all reduced car prices. Good for the rich and politicians to buy.

The majority of the rakyat, still suffer paying high loans to buy our Persona, Myvi, Axia.

Is this what Najib means by reducing car prices by 30%?? I look, it only benefits the rich.

All cars below RM100k have gone up the past few years. Come on Najib, please give the poor people the 30% you promised. 30% of Myvi at RM50k is RM15k less

To me, RM15k is such big money!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 11
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:15 pm

woi bangau, kerajaan sudai tunai janji. harga Subaru Forrester sudah jatuh rendah. Tak suka, keluar Malaysia!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 199 Thumb down 207
      • You are confirmed idiot to make such statement. Who are you to tell people to keluar Malaysia?

Without the rest of people making Malaysia what it is today,you still will be living in the hutan!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 20
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:42 pm

kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Harga dah turun! Najib sudai tunai janji. Tengok Mercedes C350e, harga dah turun!

Pakai lah mata sendiri tengok! RM299k dah!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 122 Thumb down 132
          • Now I know who is Albert’s latest dupe after kuntilanak kena permaban

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Operation Manager on Aug 24, 2016 at 7:24 pm

Because mili tin 51k Bezza, p2 sales dropped 25% from 20k(Jun) to 15k (15k)… oh sohai beza…

• Close Shop Proton on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:49 pm

In 5 years time, Proton will be making like 1000 cars per year. They will be known as speciality car maker. It will be like Bufori or like their TD2000.

Close shop lah Proton. I think by 2020, even Bufori also got more sales than you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 21
          • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 24, 2016 at 4:17 pm

I think Proton should create a mobile game app called…

Proton GO.

If you can find Suprima, you’ll get high points.

If you can find new Perdana, you will go two levels up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
        • Who is he? RBA trooper lah! Apalagi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Dr Vida on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:11 pm

I will buy bezza for each of my bibik. I have 7 bungalows total 500,000 sq ft. I have 1 bibik per 1,000 sq ft. You do the math. My son’s Bugati Veyron even has a bibik.

• sarcasm

• Young entrepreneur on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Do business; if you want to afford expensive cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
      • Close Shop Proton on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Proton got 12,000 workers. Last month sold only 3866 cars.

You can kiss the RM1.5 billion soft loan goodbye. I think by now, the RM1.5 billion already depleted to ZERO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
        • Are you even Malaysian?

Proton get RM1.5 billion. Porsche sales go up. You don’t see it?

You think the RM1.5B really go towards improving a sinking ship?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Young entrepreneur on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Stop whining like small kids. For things to change you must change first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
      • Stop Syiok Sendiri! on Aug 24, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Dear Young Entrepreneur, may I know wat biz u r doing? Selling hp? Selling burger? Doing MLM? Fyi there are many many high paid ppl r working for people. Stop being syiok sendiri if u r doing peanuts biz! I can say tht u may even not paying incometax bcoz not qualify..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Jual nasi campur tipu income tax can buy top of the line mercedes and vios for their teenage kids.

• Go ask the perotdua why did not reduce price. Even though the % of the luxury is up, but the volume of normal average car state at thousands of vehicle sold. Still MY people can buy new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 24, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Perutdua oso got reduce price ma, look at Myvi SE Manual, only RM46k (from original RM50k), 1.5 engine oh, somemore with manual, naik bukit gear 4 oso no problem.

• Jimmy on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Where is Kunta Kinte? I missed him. Like some of his comments.

• Hussein on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Proton only 3866 cars last month despite Raya Promotion and Perdana sales?????

What a shock!!!!!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 10
    • Sayonara on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Rakyat has spoken once again.

Rakyat very smart only buy either Bezza or City/Vios.

Rakyat will ignore both new Persona and Saga.

Bye bye Proton sayonara!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 29
      • Close Shop Proton on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:54 pm

Proton got few hundred showrooms. I think just to maintain all the showrooms alone cost more than profit from the cars sold.

Better for Proton to sell their cars by online or mail order galeri or galeri smart shop on TV. Cheaper and better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • relax bro. proton most affected by the launch of bezza last month while proton only got the almost 10 years old empty 3star ancap saga blm to fight with…

see how it will go this month with the launch of persona with a lot more value for money than bezza. next month will launch facelift saga with full safety features and interesting accessories as well for the cheaper price market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • keluangman on Aug 25, 2016 at 9:09 am

for me it’s simple. To buy a Proton it’s means that you support openly the rakyat oppression access to cheaper, better quality and safer cars! I don’t blame those government or GLCs personnel driving Proton cars, but YOU! You as the private personal buyer! Why the heck are you supporting this oppression!

• citizen on Aug 24, 2016 at 4:16 pm

What Perdana sales? insiders say that most of the perdanas are given FOC to VIPs and also given to DRB companies as mode of payment and company cars. the actual sale of perdana is very low in single digit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Andas on Aug 24, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Went to p1 showroom at sri sutera skudai last month, 12 units sold since launched.. u say single digit for which showroom leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • citizen on Aug 25, 2016 at 7:51 am

When they pass cars to suppliers as payment , the suppliers are asked to go and collect the car at showrooms designated to do this and only pay the reg fee and rest so gov and people think it is sold but actually it’s FOC foe payment they owe. This is the tactic they use. I have a biz friend who got one perdana 2L and two iriz for money he was owed by proton and he is selling the cars to make the cash he needs privately. This is how drb lied to all

• I strongly suspect the perdana is actually the left over stock of old accord. Thats why honda dont let proton to add even a vsc in. Just put on the new shell become perdana.

• jobless (ori) on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Why sales by “individual models” still not avalaible for the public to see?? Wats so secretive about tis data?? It can actually help potential buyers decide which variant or models more popular and making final decision

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Hussein on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:24 pm

They are doing this to protect Proton. How to show they only sold 10 Perdana last month? Invest few hundred million to come out with Perdana but sales 10 units per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • Henry on Aug 24, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Did anyone see this new Perdana on our roads. I didn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Still havent seen Biza on road yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Andas on Aug 24, 2016 at 6:57 pm

I didnt even see any single bezza in jaybee.. tot early birds have received their cars on the launching date.. what? Johorean so rich ka???

• I didnt see neither.

• tokmoh. on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Volvo XC90 > all
    Volvo XC60 > all
    Volvo S60 T6 Drive-E > all
    Volvo V40 T5 Drive-E > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Hussein on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:10 pm

7 months have passed and Proton has only sold 39 593 cars. By year end, saya anggar, maximum is 70,000 cars.

That is lower than last year 100k cars.

How to make money like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • bro. Saga & Persona coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • Please Don't Lie Proton on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Persona already came. Can Proton tell us how many orders they have got? Please don’t lie to us like how you lie about Iriz sales. Proton CEO said Iriz sales super good. Then Tun M come and say Iriz sales kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • BERBEZA on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Proton now even lost to Honda and Toyota? What a loser. Pity who buy proton need to suffer bad RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
  • applegreen on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:22 pm

by next year we can see more subaru cars on the road than hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Im glad you brought this up. Perhaps that clown Billy Goh should stop having expensive dinners, stop social mingling and focus so much on taking photos for posting to social media, and instead should fix hyundai sales here since their current lineup sucks so hard. It’s 2016 and still no Santa Fe facelift???

• Porsche jump from 6 (June) to 47 unit in July… got promotion?

• Bernard on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Reduce all car prices by 50% or increase salaries by 50%.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Rakyat are smart! People don’t buy new cars la now. When we all don’t buy, they all go panic. Why should we support the nonsense insane car prices? They’re doing this is to protect their so called “industry” but in reality they’re protecting their crony friends. You can buy a highly engineered used BMW E36 325i for less than RM15k. Rear-wheel drive, six cylinders with luxurious interior, better than buying a tin milo Perodua or taking 9 year loans. Rakyat are smart!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Hane to agree with this, kasi ajar ini car company. Currency down, price up, bla..bla..bla.. Currency up, never hear they down the price..puii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • jemah on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:56 pm

CITROEN NOT IN THE LIST? WHY?

• tishaban on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Obviously lots of sales in June as buyers want to buy for hari raya.

I would like to see statistics on loans rejected for cars costing less than RM100k, that will give a different dimension of the health of the automotive market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:12 pm

car is to bring u to point A and point B.

if cannot afford new luxury car, than buy second hand luxury car.

if still cannot afford 2nd hand luxury car, than buy a japanese car.

if still cannot afford to buy japanese car, than buy a proton or perodua.

if cannot buy proton or perodua, than it’s your fault for not working hard and study hard.

don’t point finger and blame government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
    • tohellwithplagiarism on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Technically ur correct. But with ur that mentality, that’s y we r stucked way behind compared to first world. Enuff to spend n to eat then satisfied. Didn’t even care bout others or even our next generations. Right ? I’m sad not for u. But for ur children ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • You are right. Should work hard, then people will donate RM260,000 to your account.

• That is only the basic car function. If you just can afford that need,meaning you just as good as that,nothing special. Higher need like safety,show personal preference n taste, indicate social status,achievement in life,different car for different occasion…you just cannot afford this coz you are just a failure in that sense.ask youself why others can drive a merc you drive a miserable proton. Must be something wrong in you.

• where is Infiniti? why not in the list?

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:18 pm

This month Proton will blame on Pokemon Go that is affecting their sales because people got distracted from buying their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Untung Manyak Wang on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Opss, UMW sale target 70K units? End of years sure got Tera Sales :p

• This just proves that the public is more cautious in making purchases plus year end sales is awaiting.

• Pengguna Bijak on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:22 pm

Rakyat only buy Toyota, Honda and Perodua.

Bijak dahulu, bijak sekarang.

• Getting worst, lots more sales center shutting down soon especially vw, kia, hyundai, peugeot… we just hold our seat belt tight and wait for price drop

• camtakpro on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Price drop do you think people still buy en-mass?

As long as the brand(s) are having horrible ownership experience, it will just continue on.

• Suzuki on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Suzuki sell ZER0 car, can’t believe that

• Levin on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Toyota oh Toyota… UMW… please wake up and smell the coffee. Without your commercial vehicle sales, you will be placed below Proton (and maybe Nissan) LOL! Such a shame to be beaten by Honda that doesn’t sell any commercial vehicle locally.

Good job to Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Not Toyota Fan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Even with the launch of new Civic, Honda sales is still lower YOY. So many fanboys making noise in /k but sales numbers doesn’t reflect the noises made. Car loan not approved, is it? Gone are the days of 90% loan for 9 years.

• camtakpro on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Perodua as usual Axia, MyVi and Bezza.

Honda I can say City and HRV mainly.

Which Toyota model constitute the most in passenger category? My guess would be Camry Hybrid. Hard to imagine it is Vios.

Proton maybe is Iriz and Saga.

Nissan still Almera.

Subaru is XV.

What happen to Mazda? I was thinking it could go up due to release of M2, M3 and CX-5.

Kia is looking good.

Overall is dropping. Year end massive sales coming soon

• Albert on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:41 pm

YEAR END PROMOTION
      2015 Saga,Iriz 15-20K discount.
      2015 Exora 10-15K discount
      2015 Pesona 12-18k discount
      2015 Suprima 15-20K discount.
      Go check it out for yourselves.Their branch and dealers yards are overflowing.
      If u want brand new,but a little sunbaked Proton..wait till Christmas.
      Wah liao……BLOCKBUSTER YEAR END PROTON PROMOTION……DONT MISS!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Subaru on Aug 24, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Subaru is picking up with so few models only, good job !!

• waters on Aug 24, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Ford only sold 66 passenger cars. HAHAHA.

• Why Infiniti constantly never featured in the list?

• Kenny on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Ford only sold 66 passenger cars in July. What happened? They used to outsell Pug and VW. Could it be that the new Ford Focus is too ambitiously priced?

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:16 am

Proton sales will definitely increase with the introduction of the Persona and Saga but I feel that the Iriz will experience a significant drop in sales. The same thing happened to the Gen2 less than 10 years ago. It went from selling appx 20k a year to 4k/year once the first Persona was launched. The question now becomes, how will this effect the Bezza? The cheapest CVT persona is about 2k cheaper than the better equipped but smaller Bezza Advanced.

• Kegagalan on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Those can afford rm60k++ sure go buy Vios/City instead. “Bagus beli Toyota Honda”

Those can afford rm49k better go buy Bezza Advance instead. “Bagus tak payah pening kepala rosak sana rosak sini”

Conclusion: Persona gagal jua akhirnya.

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:39 am

10 years ago, Proton sold 10,000 units in July http://paultan.org/2006/08/17/proton-sales-up-21-in-july/

• Akira on Aug 25, 2016 at 7:45 am

Wow, P2 just dump another 15k suicide squad on the road. Be careful guys when driving.

• palehotak on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:13 am

seems not many bought civic

• Not a surprise to see the sales figure up and down. Not only bad economy, another reason I see is there’s too much car on the road nowadays. Do we really need a lot of cars?