GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E-Class – W213 vs W212

MercedesBenz_EClass_W212_W213-lead

The Mercedes-Benz E-Class is arguably Stuttgart’s most important model. Despite the brand’s massive lineup expansion – which includes a recent downward trend with the A-Class, B-Class, CLA and GLA compact cars – this mainstay of the executive segment remains its traditional centre. It is perhaps the car Mercedes is most identified by, along with the flagship S-Class.

Now, there’s a new one, and to illustrate how far the W213 model moves the game on, we’ve pitted it against the previous-generation W212 in facelifted guise. And yes, in case you were wondering, this Cavansite Blue W212 E 250 Avantgarde belongs to none other than our very own Harvinder Singh.

Despite carrying an E 200 badge, this particular fully-imported (CBU) W213 looks nothing like the E 200 Avantgarde that we officially get here. That’s because this is one of the few advance units of the E 200, specified with all the equipment and goodies of the E 300 AMG Line, which we’ll get to later. It’s priced at RM415,888 on-the-road without insurance, RM20,000 more expensive than the E 200 Avantgarde.

Want one? You’d better hurry, as only very limited units are available. After those are sold out, you’ll have to wait for the actual E 300 – the range-topping model should arrive on our shores in November, with pricing to be revealed closer to the market launch.

So, how do the past and present compare? Let’s start with the looks – the W212 is unique in that it was caught in two very different design eras for Mercedes. When the car debuted in 2009 it was one of the most polarising examples of the brand’s then ultra-boxy styling language, with squared-off quad headlights and very defined rear fender flares that recalled the “Ponton” W120 and W121 models of the ’50s.

By the time the facelifted model arrived in 2013, however, the company had already switched to a much more rounded aesthetic shown on the W222 S-Class, and the E-Class was given a significant facelift in an attempt to fall in line. It was so significant, in fact, that at the time Mercedes dubbed the exercise the “most significant model revision” it had ever undertaken.

As a result, the front end is significantly sleeker than before, with single piece headlights (adaptive LED Intelligent Light System units here), a sports grille with a centrally-mounted star on the Avantgarde model and a more organic bumper design.

By contrast, the rear has seen far fewer changes, limited to revised tail light graphics and a sportier rear valence with integrated exhaust exits. Put them all together and the end result appears a little disjointed, even after the characteristic fender flares have been smoothened out. Still, it’s a relatively handsome machine, especially in that fetching blue hue and sitting on two-tone 18-inch alloy wheels.

Being a clean-sheet design, the W213 suffers from none of those issues. The whole car bears more than a passing resemblance to the W205 C-Class, although the stretched proportions grant it a much more stately presence than is immediately apparent in photos.

Equipped with the full AMG exterior package and sitting on massive 19-inch AMG alloy wheels, the W213 looks a hell of a lot meaner than the W212 in Avantgarde trim, although it should be noted that the W212 E 400, E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid and runout “Edition E” E 250 models did come with the AMG kit as well.

The details on the W213 are more interesting too, with this particular car coming with second-generation Multibeam LED headlights. These feature 84 diodes that can be turned off individually, sectioning off parts of the high beam to avoid dazzling other motorists, allowing for full-time high-beam operation. The high-tech headlights are paired to the cool “stardust effect” LED tail lights, which use crystal optics and a special reflector surface structure to produce an impressive glittery look.

The gulf between the two cars gets even wider when you step inside. The W212’s boxy exterior styling carries over to the cabin, and the arrangement of buttons and displays are as traditional as they come. Ahead of the driver sit analogue gauges and a round three-spoke steering wheel, while a modest (by Mercedes’ current standards) seven-inch screen sits in the centre. The facelift introduced a three-tube instrument cluster, relocating the analogue clock to sit between the revised centre air vents.

MercedesBenz_EClass_W212_Int-28

W212 Mercedes-Benz E 250 Avantgarde

After that, the W213 feels like a breath of fresh air, even if much of the interior has been seen in other Mercedes models. The upper environment is reminiscent of the W222 S-Class, with a wide, flat display panel – covering both the instrument cluster and the centre infotainment screen – as well as four circular centre air vents. Moving down, the entire centre console and transmission tunnel appears to have been lifted straight off the W205 C-Class, incorporating the new COMAND controller and touchpad.

The W213 E 200 AMG Line blows the W212 E 250 Avantgarde away in terms of kit and toys on offer. Both get Keyless Go, Artico faux leather dashboard wrapping, power-adjustable front seats with memory, triple-zone Thermotronic automatic climate control, the upgraded COMAND Online navigation system, rear sun blinds and a panoramic sliding sunroof, but there’s where the similarities end.

Sitting front and centre is the widescreen cockpit that features twin 12.3-inch 1,920×720 pixel displays. The centre screen displays the new COMAND interface, while the one ahead of the driver shows the virtual instrument cluster with three themes – Sport with twin yellow-on-black gauges, Classic with conventional white-on-black meters and Progressive with a centre rev counter, flanked by twin customisable displays.

MercedesBenz_EClass_W213_Int-78

W213 Mercedes-Benz E 200 AMG Line

Other features include twin touchpads on the steering wheel that can control both the COMAND interface and the instrument display, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, a 590 W, 13-speaker Burmester surround sound system, a 360-degree camera system, a Qi wireless smartphone charger with NFC connectivity and handsfree bootlid opening, operable using a kick action under the rear bumper.

And while both the W212 and W213 get ambient lighting, the latter dispenses with the former’s paltry three colour choices for a whopping 64 hues, enabling you to bathe the interior in virtually any colour you choose. What a welcoming interior that is too, with sumptuous Nappa leather upholstery, classy carbon fibre-esque metal structure trim and an AMG interior styling pack that adds a flat-bottomed steering wheel, sports seats, metal sports pedals and AMG floor mats.

Safety-wise, the W213 adds a driver’s knee airbag to bring the total amount to seven airbags, and bumps up the W212’s Collision Prevention Assist system to Active Brake Assist, bringing forth autonomous emergency braking (AEB) in addition to collision warning. Attention Assist and Crosswind Assist are included as before, but while Parktronic parking assist is fitted as well, the W213 also gains rear cross-traffic alert. No Remote Parking Pilot, Drive Pilot or the Digital Car Key to be found on local cars, which is a shame.

W213 Mercedes-Benz E 200 AMG Line (left), W212 E 250 Avantgarde (right)

Amazingly, the same 2.0 litre M274 DE 20 AL turbocharged, direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine powers both these cars, despite the differing generations and badging. Predictably, the W212 E 250 is the more powerful of the two, developing 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque between 1,200 and 4,000 rpm. All that power is sent to the rear wheels through a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus automatic transmission.

The W213 E 200 makes do with 184 hp and 300 Nm, but utilises the newer nine-speed 9G-Tronic gearbox. As such, the 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 7.7 seconds in the new car, just 0.3 seconds slower than the more powerful older model, while the top speed is only 3 km/h slower at 240 km/h. Weirdly, it does consume more fuel at 5.9 to 6.3 litres per 100 km combined, versus 5.8 to 6.1 on the old E 250.

Based on the same Modular Rear Architecture (MRA) as the W222 S-Class and W205 C-Class, the W213 measures 43 mm longer than the W212 at 4,923 mm, 2 mm narrower at 1,852 mm and 6 mm lower at 1,468 mm; the wheelbase is also 65 mm longer at 2,939 mm. As with the W212 E 250 Avantgarde, the W213 E 200 AMG Line sits on lower (by 15 mm) suspension – an Agility Control setup with passive selective damping.

What do you think – do you prefer the more traditional executive sedan that is the W212 E-Class, or would you rather drive the tech fest on wheels that is the W213? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E 200 AMG Line
GALLERY: W212 Mercedes-Benz E 250 Avantgarde

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:22 pm

honestly the new e-class is boring if not ugly…..im converting into volvoism….long live the s90

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 47
    • nomoneytalkmuch on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:49 am

You cannot afford it, still

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 19
      • Albert Peria on Sep 05, 2016 at 10:05 am

Where is john the pondan? He is always saying high car prices are good.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:03 pm

says the guy who is still driving his mum’s hyundai matrix

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:55 am

Wow, E200 already Rm415k. Where is najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Now 3 years already we are waiting. Mercedes price actually not that expensive.

The E350, with a bigger engine and hger spec in US is sold for US$53k. That is RM200k That is the after profit price. MBM in Malaysia sure to get cheaper. This E200, in raw form, reaching our Port Klang, will be nore more than US$35k (RM140k)

But we poor Malaysians, have to pay RM415k.

Where is Najib’s promise? While Jib is living a luxurious lifestyle, we Malaysians are suffering with high cost of everything.

Syukurlah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
    • Lee Kum Kee on Sep 03, 2016 at 11:05 am

Old and new, they are as ah pek as ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 42
    • tokmoh. on Sep 04, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Volvo S90 > all.

Heck, for less money, can get even XC90 instead of this W213.

• Harvinder certainly knows his car. From a 3 series diesel to the w212.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • sack the designer on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:51 am

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:59 am

As with any Merc, if any of you like this car, just wait 1 year and buy 2nd hand. It will lose at least RM140k in less than one year. Even better when the CKD comes out. Lagi jatuh

You can buy it for RM280k even. Why buy brand new? Somemore, you will still have 3 years warranty left.

Be wise. Always buy 2nd hand. 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year onwards just depreciates RM30k per year. But first year, always RM140k jatuh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
      • So u see, u dun need to wait for Najib to gip u 30% reduction. Just take ur own advice and buy it 1 year later for Rm280k! Kautim!

• w213sux on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:34 pm

It looks like my old elantra, even my dog approves it than any hideous jepunis cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Same L0rrrr on Sep 03, 2016 at 2:43 pm

You are proud owner of elantra. Well done. Must work hard to get a sushi first, after that work even harder for many many years to get a low RV recond sausage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
      • w213sux on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:24 am

Sushi is hideous, don’t you read my comment?
        Asal bukan sushi!

• Jobless on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:49 pm

The old model actually looks better especially the rear…too bad, even 2nd hand cannot afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Looks like Harvin’s gonna have to switch to a new E soon looking at the vast differences between the W212 and W213. I’m going to have a hard time differentiating between the C and E class now they both of them looks the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Walter on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:13 am

I prefer old model….. New E class similar like C class on the road….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • I bought the W212 259 Edition E model just before the 213 Model was launched. MBM was giving a very discount on it together with 3 years full maintenance (not lube service. The 250 Model is very comfortable and powerful and I’m glad I bought it.
      Sometimes it is not advisable to go for new model especially a luxury model each time it is launched as car is a depreciating asset. Most important, the specs are good and you like it, comfortable and serves your needs.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Sep 03, 2016 at 12:57 am

W124 is the real E-Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Nikolai on Sep 03, 2016 at 7:38 am

Just curious – one of the pictures showed two stereoscopic cameras mounted behind the rear-view mirror on the top of the front windscreen. I know that Mercedeses with ILS (now replaced by Multibeam) have a single camera mounted in the same position, while the ones equipped with Lane Tracking Package or the full DAP+ package have two stereoscopic cameras.

Does that mean that Lane Tracking Package is present?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:45 am

No, the W213 does not come with the Lane Tracking Package, only Active Brake Assist.

• Ys Yeo on Sep 04, 2016 at 12:59 am

“The W213 E 200 AMG Line blows the W212 E 200 Avantgarde away in terms of kit and toys on offer. Both get Keyless-GO”
        Is it there’s a typo here?
        W212 E200 doesn’t comes with Keyless-GO, only Keyless Entry.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Sep 04, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Indeed, it was a typo – sorry about that! I was talking about the W212 E 250 – the one featured in this gallery – which does come with full Keyless Go (entry and start).

The article has been amended. Thanks for the spot!

• Nikolai on Sep 04, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Then in that case, what’s the two stereoscopic cameras for?

The 360º camera system wouldn’t need two of them – the CBUY C250 AMG line with the 360º cameras had it integrated in a single stereo camera setup (which is also used for ILS).

• W213 is too expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Ys Yeo on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:25 am

Does W212 E200 gets Keyless-GO as well? Thought that it was only comes with Keyless Entry, no Push Button Start.

• W212 E200 comes with neither. It has keyed start and normal remote control entry. W213 E200 comes with Push button start but remote entry

• Ys Yeo on Sep 04, 2016 at 1:08 am

Keyless-Go meaning it have both sensor on the door handles and Push Start Button.
        If it’s true that W213 E200 also need Remote to unlock the door, it should only be written as” it only comes with Keyless Engine Start, but no Keyless Entry”

• Onanodus on Sep 03, 2016 at 5:29 pm

The E200 doesn’t have Keyless-GO, but it does have the normal keyless entry with keyed start.

• muddy (Member) on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:31 am

A good write on the W212 model facelift as I saw it as the brand tried hard to smoothen the sharp edges/lines into a rounded one but failed in design language wise.

And wow!!! Congratulations for Harvinder in getting the specially specced unit, and that’s an almost a cool half a million bucks! This proves that auto journo is a profitable venture!!

Keep up giving us small nation great auto related news ya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Basheer on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:14 am

Any idea an E-class hybrid is on the cards with a possible price of less than RM350k?

• Ilham on Sep 04, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Earlier on a Paul Tan article, the head of Mercedes Benz Malaysia said they will bring the E350e to our shores by next year. You can check it out on the Paul Tan website somewhere

• Hybrid is the way to go these days. MB malaysia shd go straight away to the hybrid W213. With the EEV pricing, the normally aspirated cars are looking way overpriced. When will they bring in the GLE500 (hybrid). Bet will be cost around the BMW X5 hybrid 388k price levels versus the 568k for the normal GLE400 .

• apamau on Sep 03, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Ya, looking forward for the hybrid E300 with all the tech, hopefully the put in drive pilot and Lane tracking. Planning to buy one only if with PHEV incentive. Or else will not consider at all. Volvo will still the 1st choice for PHEV, except a bit big for cx90

• Hentamje on Sep 04, 2016 at 8:11 am

Nope. Mbm will price it at the normal engined level. Look at the c350e.

• keluangman on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:42 am

Went last week to book the W213 E200. Found out for Malaysian spec model, no Drive Pilot and other autonomous driving features installed. Walked away immediately. What’s the point of new E-class when it doesn’t come with all the autonomous driving features? After all that was the highlight of the new E-Class. Bengong sokmo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • Peter Ambrose on Sep 03, 2016 at 7:30 pm

You cant really blame mercedes. Cause it seems this autonomous tech all work by NFC and satellite. The government must invest the NFC in order to get drive pilot and remote park.
      You see even the 7 series does not have the remote parking in its car key cause the government did not invest. Plus i got the info from a mercedes manager that it will cost 500K.

• Hentamje on Sep 04, 2016 at 8:12 am

Maybe those will come with the e250 or e300?

• Are you nuts, or bullsh*ting?? Auto-driving in Malaysia with killer kapchai’s and speeding lorries?

• Simon Ambrose on Sep 04, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Government must invest the NFC chip in order to get this autonomous tech
      Even 7 series no parking pilot on key cause no invest. Chip cost about 500k.

• Tesla alredi kirring pipu. Do u wanna be part of the statistic?

• Gaviny on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:43 am

Pre facelift 212 is the most gangster looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Simon Ambrose on Sep 03, 2016 at 7:29 pm

You cant really blame mercedes. Cause it seems this autonomous tech all work by NFC and satellite. The government must invest the NFC in order to get drive pilot and remote park.
      You see even the 7 series does not have the remote parking in its car key cause the government did not invest. Plus i got the info from a mercedes manager that it will cost 500K.

• Like the rear of the old one. It’s unique to the E-class. You see it you know it’s an E and don’t have to squint to be sure it’s not an S. The front of the old is a bit busy but still nice. The driver’s place of the new E however is light-years ahead of the older. That alone is worth the upgrade. You can almost believe your’e at the bridge of the Starship Enterprise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Megane on Sep 03, 2016 at 8:24 pm

True . i saw one new E Class today , couldnt tell the difference whether it was C or E class or S class from a 50m distance , now i know from the new DRL designs . THe old E Class was badass with AMG kits .

• new e class actually looks better in the eye. those sculptured body looks multiple times better in the eye than in the pictures. i have to say im disappointed to see similar looks of all new mercs but after a while it grows on me and now i actually think the new one is a step up form mercs. soon the new sonata will look like this trust me,like they copied cls

• the old one is too boxy,the new one is well sculptured and looks bolder,muscler,hence better

• Taib Hampden on Sep 04, 2016 at 1:08 pm

I be like : I prefer old man’s car. Boxy design, big engine, with key ignition. Fair is fair and i only comment accordingly because it’s my field

• e-classmate on Sep 04, 2016 at 11:07 pm

very impressive tech wizardry though car could do with a better navigation system – was supposed to attend a wedding in ampang; map took us to tugu negara instead

• dorea on Sep 05, 2016 at 8:12 am

It’s good to have family identity for a car brand.
    Nice looking car. But this is getting boring.

S-Class, then C-Class, then E-Class – Looks the same. Nothing exciting anymore.

Lazy designers. Just use the mouse to stretch or shrink the image of the same car. Even the dashboard looks the same. YAWN!

LOL!

• The new car predictably moves the game on but I do feel sad that this possibly signals the end of analog instrument clusters for most cars as history has shown that tech in the E and S class is a precursor to what we will be getting in the more mainstream cars.. I love analog clusters..now it’s just a screen and frankly feels really soulless and lazy from a design perspective ..Lexus has shown that you can still make them interesting with motorized clusters,,,

• Rick Auffenberg on Sep 17, 2018 at 8:55 am

The 212 is more conservative on the interior and is what I own W212 E250 bluetec diesel and love it!