VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz demos Multibeam LED lights

MULTIBEAM LED headlamps in the new E-Class.

In the new Mercedes-Benz E-Class the optional high-resolution MULTIBEAM LED headlamps automatically illuminate the road with precision-controlled distribution of exceptionally bright light.

Posted by Mercedes-Benz on Wednesday, 9 March 2016

You often hear about these new lighting technologies for vehicles, but how often do you actually know what they do? Here is Mercedes-Benz showing off what its most advanced system, the Multibeam LED headlamps, can do.

Available first in the CLS four-door coupe, the brand’s latest headlamp technology has just been introduced on the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class. Featuring a precision LED grid module with 84 LEDs in three rows, the German car maker calls this the first high-definition lighting system in the auto industry.

But rather than have you read all about its “precise deactivation of individual LED chips,” Adaptive High-Beam Assist Plus and what not, here’s a short video that explains it all better than words ever could.

The W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class is expected to arrive in Malaysia by the third quarter of the year, but in the meantime, you can read all about the new model in our report of its global debut. You can also check out the car’s cool Remote Parking Pilot and Parking Pilot systems here.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Meanwhile people here are still using fog lights as the main light source.

• Meanwhile people here are still worried about this car look like uncle, that car have low RV, etc…

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:34 pm

I would foresee always bakar bulb. Too much of on/off and switch around.

Worse thing this, LED bakar 1 bulb, whole set change. And this is how they make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Kancil Hybrid on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:05 pm

LED ada bulb ke?

• do you even know what LED is? even LED that you use in bengkel kemahiran hidup have a lifespan of 20 years. =.=

• Aniki on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Must always keep the headlamp polish so that the sensor is working all the time and i can smell spare part opportunity here…

• Akbarfit on Mar 10, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Meanwhile in developing countries there will be traffic jam and sooooo many motorcycle… The lights will be turn on and off and so on like a 3stack disco light bar…… Heheheh