Proton Persona receives 7,000 bookings so far, on track for 3,000-4,000 unit monthly sales target

Proton_Persona_Premium_Ext-2

Launched in August, the new Proton Persona has now recorded 7,000 bookings so far, according to a Bernama report. First introduced in 2007, the latest Persona is in its second generation.

“We are very happy with the number of bookings achieved, and we are on the right track for a monthly sales target of 3,000 to 4,000 units, set by chief executive officer of Proton, Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali,” said chairman of Proton, Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar at an appreciation ceremony for Malaysian athletes who bagged medals at the recent 2016 Olympics at Rio, Brazil.

So far, Proton has launched two models this year, the other being the Perdana. Another two models are set for launch this year; the Proton Saga is due at the end of this month, while the Proton Ertiga MPV is slated for an October date.

Want to know how the new Proton Persona drives? Read our first impressions of Proton’s B-segment sedan here.

GALLERY: Proton Persona 1.6 Premium

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hammond on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Gaya. Mutu Keunggulan.

Inside out better than Bezza Tongek..

• inb4 P2 salesmen here dun belip.

Oh wait, im oso P2 salesman.

• Pro Proton on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Thing to Improve.

1. Back Seat/Head Rest – to low and very uncomfortable
    2. No Arm Rest
    3. Tyre – 16 Inch for all Model

• Jonn Dol on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Bravo Proton!

• Rawfi on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Booking only no point, more than half loan reject by bank. Cash is king but i dont think now many people will buy this type of car by cash.

• Sharul on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Not bad….

• Disgusting brand with disgusting brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Aragon on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:37 pm

As expected. Proton sedan are likely to sell more compare to hatchback. Remember the Gen2 less sale then 1st gen Persona came out sales increase. Same case for Savvy and Saga BLM. Now this.

• karam singh on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Not bad at all.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 15, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Is it that true fact? Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!

• inb4 bashing starts.

• Seems to be good. But, just wondering. Why the management decide to actually launch 4 cars in 4 months continuously? Is it because the models are overdue for launch? I find it hard for them to actually cope for production due to multiple car launches.

• Same L00 on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Iriz, Preve, Suprima S also got this kind of “good sales” news, yet Proton still need to seek for RM1.5bil pocket money.
    Typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Yusof Kadir on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:36 pm

I have to admit, I don’t see Proton turning around. Now got big hype on the car, so sales are 7000 but wait few more months when the hype is over and the usual Proton problems crop up. Then what happens? 1000 units per month also lucky

The volume is way too low to support 12,000 workers. And mind you, Proton CEO said that their margin per car sold is only RM500. In lay man’s terms, this means, they only untung RM500 per car sold.

With such low volumes, in a year, they will hardly sell 70,000 cars. A far cry from last year’s 100,000.

So, last year, with just selling 100,000 cars, Proton was losing RM4 mil per day. The past 2 years, Proton officially admitted losing a few billion ringgit.

And now, we just pumped Rm1.5 bil into Proton besides already giving Proton free RM15 bil the past 20 yrs. How is Proton going to turn around?

70,000 cars at RM500 per car untung only Rm35 million. How to pay their overbloated 12,000 workers? Board of Directors alone per month gaji works out to more than RM35 million

• Ismail Saad dari P1 on Sep 19, 2016 at 4:34 pm

You datang jadi ceo lah bang. You banyak pandai.

• Bro, in accounting terms. This production Margin is RM500/car which means all direct and indirect cost has been put into the calculation of profit that is RM500/persona car. Seems low but factor in the numbers sold not to small eh?

• Andas on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Wow, bad news for p1 bashers!!! Dont worry la.. the figures just 4 wayang.. should be just 700 units only.. the rest booked under spanco.. im sure of it..

• Fossil on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:31 am

I think you got a point. I work with jpj and the system showed as of 15th Sept, ONLY 950 units registered. Where does the proton got this 2k figures anyway?

• karam singh on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Good Job Proton ;)
    seen some on the road , its fresh looking car
    way2 better looking than Almera / Bezza / 208 sedan / attrage
    hope Proton can earn back Malaysian trust by making better realiable,safe & quality car.
    Don’t forget the aftermarket service yeah.
    Keep it up ,

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:53 pm

ha ha ha. This proves to everyone Proton is selling well and doing great. I am happy to hear this.

Can I propose one thing to our Government. Please cut all working adults pay by 1% and give this money to Proton to help them recover. Let each of us in Malaysia be a helping hand to Proton.

I am happy to help Proton. My gaji is RM8000. I don’t mind RM80 is cut from my pay to help and get Proton on its own feet. After all, it is our pride and joy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • It is good that Proton carries forward the old names of Persona and Saga for new models. This will allow the previous owners to identify with their cars. There are many owners who switch to Honda and Nissan when changing cars because they cannot identify with Ispira, Preve and Suprima.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:01 pm

I don’t know how far this is true but it is a false market. Sorry Proton, I am your No 1 fan but I think this is false reporting.

My wife works in the Government and all staff were told to buy this Persona and various incentives were given. So many allowances were given to staff to take on this car.

• Another Day, Another Lie on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Very hard to trust Proton on this 7000 figure. If 1MDB can lie and fake documents and yet get the giant Accounting houses to sign off as audited and approved and all books are fine……I have my doubts about Proton.

In Malaysia, semua boleh. The proof of it is our eyes. Do you see it on the road. I drive about 100KM per day in Klang Valley alone. I have NEVER seen one Persona even.

this looks like the Iriz lie. Remember Iriz? The CEO even openly told public and media that sales were so good and orders were so long that Proton could not keep up with it. The CEO said orders were 1 to 2 years long even.

then Mahathir, then Proton Chairman siplt the beans, he said Iriz sales were so bad and atrocious.

So, who to believe now? Proton has lied many times before. All this recorded statements. Go and see in the past, Proton love to lie that sales are so good etc etc.

• hashimembi on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Not sure if the 7K units profit margin can cover the generous hand outs offered to the Olympic medal winners.
    7K is too modest a figure. How to sell 100K units when even this latest model is seeing tepid response. Should have just waited for the new engine range b4 launching this model.
    Its a buyers market so consumers will wait for one more year rather than commit to a model that will become obsolete after 1 year .

• Another Day, Another Lie on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Please don’t forget also, for the Ertiga and the Perdana, Proton has to pay hundreds of million in royalty to Suzuki and Honda.

Can they make the money back? Or is the Perdana just for show?

• Satu Malaysia on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:13 pm

New Persona the best Proton so far and i will soon get one.
    Ignore those bashers,they cannot even afford Saga also yet still want to anti Persona bla bla.
    Support Persona

• Another Day, Another Lie on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Proton is banking too much on the Saga to boost sales. But the old saga did well because there was no Perodua Sedan like the Bezza then. Now you have a great car like the Bezza.

Who will trust Proton when the past 30 years, service and quality has been so bad, it is in people’s mind already now, never to touch a Proton ever.

Perodua on the other hand got so many owners and people singing praises for the car.

So, who to trust, Proton who said they have changed (but they said this 10 times already for the past 10 launches) or Perodua wh has had excellent track record the past 20 years?

• Yay! I’m glad they’re doing well. Go proton :)

• wow, no comment so far.. huhu

• SoChunn on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Good for Proton! But you have to hope the sales volume continues to be good for this range of vehicles to be considered successful.

• panjang on Sep 15, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Good car, generous equipment, very competitive price.A little disappointed they shrunk the size a bit as its now in a different class.

• Bangsa on Sep 15, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Iziz those buyers cancel booking BEZA?

• Fahmi Musfizree on Sep 15, 2016 at 7:33 pm

Is there any sales data according to variants? Interested to know how popular each variant is, with the buyers. Will the buyers go for higher variants, like the Bezza and Iriz, or instead opt for the lower variants, like the previous Persona?

• Justice on Sep 15, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Wow…bezza owner must be regret

• I’m one of the 7000 who booked Persona … took the Premium model
    Why persona? … under 60K .. I got all the features that I want.. esp the safety feature.
    probably next week I will be driving it ….. no regret …

• Hayenadeblue on Sep 15, 2016 at 8:02 pm

All is well, all is well, Proton!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 15, 2016 at 8:06 pm

As a old persona owner, please do something to the quality of the seat sponge. Its way too soft. When you sit at the rear bench, the sponge compresses too much and makes the person fall out the minute the rear door opens. The middle person will be bouncing throughout the drive. We don’t see this problem in the Iriz. The rest of the car can close one eye.

• Iduncare on Sep 15, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Only SA cares enough about sales number

• Still cannot match the 17000 booking yet-so-little-on-road iriz.

• Congrats Proton. Don’t sit on your new-found popularity though. Keep improving on the quality and also after-sales services.

• Persona, the real game changer.

• Supplier on Sep 15, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Ooi! cepat-cepat bayarlah kita ni, dah lama tunggu!

• Good news!

• Proton still struggle on Sep 15, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Design not bad. Meet Malaysian taste .But can they maintain consistent quality and reliability. Thats a big question. Those are the reason that kills their product. Plus after sales service too.

• All the best Proton,…make us proud.

• normal_user on Sep 15, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Its common for new car to garner interest & lots of bookings (hrv sales slowed down when civic was launched). Difficult to predict whether 4k units per month are sustainable, given the uncertain economic situation & bad vibes abt the brand still exist. If the early batch doesnt suffer any issues, proton is off to a good start. The persona is the most refined proton had ever built, but it still lagging behind closely to the jap trio despite they’ve tweaked the campro-based vvt engine & punch to deliver their best. The upcoming gdi & jatco combo are the ones that can pack the Persona real punch in power, fc & refinement, hopefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 15, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Kudos and bravo proton…there will be an even longer que for the new saga…just wait and see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • powershot (Member) on Sep 15, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Err… Congrats?

• Ahmadjr on Sep 15, 2016 at 10:35 pm

I barely seen one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Annoynimouse on Sep 15, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Time for the Preve & Suprima S to be given major facelifts, in and out plus power and drivetrain refinements. IMO… Also, the Exora is too old oredi… A low slung mpv for me please…

• drillero on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:08 pm

Well done, Proton. But, too early to tell. Remember, dont let mass people down again & again. Now, your reputation, your branding & your future at stake. This is your last chance, do it right, do it right from begining till the end. From sales sweet deals, delivery on time, high service standard, spare parts quality etc etc etc. Your existence to serve the people, not, otherwise. First & foremost, for the sake of Malaysia Merdeka, please use national name with global flavor instead of queen name without any identity.

• Perompak Msia on Sep 16, 2016 at 12:39 am

Power window semua ok x?

(PM)

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Sep 16, 2016 at 12:44 am

Same was said for the Iriz, and Suprima S, and lalala

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • oh mak lu cina on Sep 16, 2016 at 12:55 am

Hello: 7,000 bookings is NOT 7,000 sales!

• RavenAii (Member) on Sep 16, 2016 at 1:11 am

Quite nice with the updated Iriz interior. Lookwise imo it look better compared to fully black Iriz. Proton has good cars but the only thing that bothers me is the quality…

• Same L0rr on Sep 16, 2016 at 7:43 am

Campro & cvt bising. Buyers will regret after buy this persona. Bad RV & always lepak at Proton SC to fixed the problematic proton parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
    • pak atan on Sep 18, 2016 at 7:42 am

basher detected. Now the que barking even stronger .. where is your cuopon makan. Ur jap master didnt pay you . be more worrior.

• Original true Persona owner on Sep 16, 2016 at 8:31 am

Again Biggest lie in the world. We all know the lie when they said they had 1000 bookings for perdana and 10000 bookings for iriz and 5000 bookings for suprima S. Where are the real figures?. They build and register the cars under their own drb companies and pile them up in open storage yards u ser elements to show gov they have sales and production. Rakyat know all of your lies. If only one day some OEM checks your book when they take over, you all will be summoned to court to answer for your BS. Be honest as more you lie more bad karma comes to you. I personally with my club members check all showrooms and no I can say what is said by proton here is not true. Go from C segment to B segment iriz sedan is not a smart move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 54
    • Boring Samy on Sep 16, 2016 at 8:01 pm

You are your club member so busy body ah? No need to work, must be very rich people lah you bang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • AJ Style on Sep 17, 2016 at 12:57 am

My club also knows it

• Zaimi Abdullah on Sep 17, 2016 at 9:12 am

Basher is a basher…,you and your club member visit all showroom…… Now i tahu you are pizza delivery boy.

• pak atan on Sep 18, 2016 at 7:44 am

this is ultimate basher. thei jap pushing.them to bash anythings, or else they dont have 50ringgt coupon makan.

• Herman Low on Sep 16, 2016 at 8:41 am

This is the best looking and features packed Proton since 00 Waja launch which I booked and got it in Dec.
    Might consider trade in 14 Vios with 3 yrs free all-in service package…………………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
  • aiyo, still no komen. not bad proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Proton SUV on Sep 16, 2016 at 9:52 am

Proton, you are the man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Piece of garbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 41
  • x-city on Sep 16, 2016 at 11:52 am

Thumbs up! looking good for Proton….now the challenge is can they keep up their quality in parts and services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Albert on Sep 16, 2016 at 12:01 pm

7000 bookings….hopefully 100 percent loan approvals.But reject rate may be 30-50 percent.
    But after rm 1.5 Billion bailout,only 7000 bookings ?It should be 20,000 bookings,50 percent reject rate,translating into at least 10,000 deliveries.The lower the reject rate,Proton..the better.
    But wait a second.Proton…u r not out of the woods yet.You have to pay at least rm300 x2 Juta=Rm600 juta to Honda and Suzuki for JV production of Hondana and Ertiqa.
    Too recover such huge costs,you need to sell at least 200,000 vehicles the next 5 years to start making some profits.
    So,2016 will be another loss making year at 80,000 unit sales projection(max).
    S0 come 2017,suppliers again crying they have big families to feed,cannot pay staff salaries…then P1 will call the mus again…RM 1 Billion ‘softee loan ” again.
    It is a vicious cycle,like what happened to MAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 37
    • Toyota sales man Albert on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Worry about your sales first. Showroom empty, so free together with Sam Loo

• Nosushi on Sep 17, 2016 at 5:11 pm

You wanna buy jepunis overlord cars work hard lor

• Holee schmucks! Persona2 sales r outselling all of toyota models combined! So u know what ur dupe said about competing sales volume equals brand quality, right?

• Boboy on Sep 16, 2016 at 12:02 pm

How does it compare to Bezza?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • So silent…

• Still a decent figure despite lagging behind the Bezza with 25,000 booking and 10,000 units delivered.

Proton needs to get it right this time as their latest models carried the legacy of the volume-seller Persona 2007 version and the Saga 2008 version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Boring Samy on Sep 16, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Quite a good response. Well done

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Sep 16, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Is it just me or anyone noted that the design for the wheels are just too small compared to the car body? Just odd looking otherwise its a good looking car indeed.

• Henry on Sep 17, 2016 at 12:30 pm

You are right. A set of 17 x 7 alloys will make the car look so much better .

• Mikey on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:38 am

Bro please remember there is a reason why the car is fitted with a smaller wheels.
        It’s suppose to be an affordable car. By changing the wheels to a bigger one, U will change the dynamics & may upset the way the car drive.

Besides looking good with a bigger rims, it will also cost U higher in maintenance & the petrol bill will increase. A set of 17 inch wheels will cost U an extra 2k plus.
        With the raining season coming, beware of aquaplaning when U drive a wider wheels. Drive safely bcos your life is precious.

• 1 weeks owner here, I sincerely recommended this car unless u got a 80k budget to buy city or vios. Upgraded from 8 years old persona se, the new persona evidenced the innovative improvements of the proton car to what a driver needs. Happy owner..loves my car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 9
    • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 17, 2016 at 9:28 pm

If you drive the old auto persona, its probably an upgrade in the gearbox but if you drive the MT persona, its a downgrade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • In terms of safety, its definitely an upgrade even basic variant. But yeah, nothing beats stick shift, except for dual clutch with sport shift flappy pedals. Dinosar 4AT can godai

• Ex BMW Owner on Sep 17, 2016 at 1:00 am

I have a BMW and changed to this Persona. I’m more happy than driving my BMW

• rodimuslai on Sep 17, 2016 at 2:22 am

I had test drive the car already, the power is not so good as what they claim to be, the NVH is okay for P1 but still have a lot room to improve. Couldn’t tested it’s fuel consumption…

• Unknown on Sep 17, 2016 at 4:31 am

Know wat, Proton and Perodua just a trash car, if u are smart wif don’t support BN, we can ignore this both trash car company and let it bankrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • NoBrainer on Sep 17, 2016 at 6:53 am

lol..haters…

• How many of these 7,000 bookings are from private individual? What is the point if 60 to 70% booking come from government agencies? It is a policy that government agencies buy from Proton. If the booking is more coming from private individuals then Proton can boast of increased customer faith in their product.