AES fines to be reduced to RM150 pending law amendment next year – Deputy Transport Minister

AES_Camera

According to Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi, traffic fines under the Automated Enforcement System (AES) will be reduced from RM300 to RM150 once amendments have been made to the law, set to be tabled in Parliament in March next year.

In the report by The Sun, the minister said the law revision was important for the second phase of AES, and added that the standardisation of traffic fines issued by traffic cops was important for the implementation of the Kejara demerit points system, which links the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), Road Transport Department (JPJ) and police.

Pending the new legislation of AES to be gazetted, the implementation of the Kejara system could be delayed to next year as a result. Both are part of the previously announced Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS).

camera-trap-speed

Aziz also took the time to clarify on Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai’s statement last week, stating that the RM150 fixed amount for AES offences was merely a compound discount for traffic offenders to settle the 2.5 million outstanding summonses issued via the AES since 2012.

“This discount offer begins now, for the next six months. After that period, those who still refuse to pay will be hauled up to court,” he said. He added that the ministry is not ruling out a proposal to the Attorney-General’s Chamber to set up a special court to clear the backlog of AES cases accrued in the past four years.

Therefore, the RM300 fine is retained for offences issued under AES until present regulation is amended. “The Transport Minister stated that the Cabinet has agreed to reduce the fine to RM150. Is Section 79 (2) of the Act already amended? I don’t think so,” Aziz said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Nov 28, 2016 at 11:18 am

Hello Aziz Kaprawi, U still did NOT address those who pay 300 ringgit in full ! Are U going to refund the $$$ ??!

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 28, 2016 at 11:22 am

Well done government, lessen the burden on rakyat. This is a sign of progressive and democratic country with good leaders. Hope all rakyat will appreciate the government’s kind heartedness.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • Better hope later the taxpayers don’t have to ‘compensate’ the companies operating the AES system for lost revenue. They are crony-owned companies, after all.

• Armstrong on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Reduce to RM50 , lessen rakyat burden. Rakyat drive safely, can stop at R&R and buy more coffees and continue journey home.

• I fully agree. Lessen to RM50 per camera. Then put cameras every 1km and issue saman PER CAMERA, and we’ll see all u offenders cry.

• Armstrong on Nov 28, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Reduce to RM50, rakyat can rest at R&R with more coffees and arrive home safely.

• Negara Pasir Salak on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Laser array used by event management can easily fried the speed trap camera.

• azhar on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:18 pm

too bad..should up the fine to rm500…thats the only way to teach those idiots on the road..hurt their pocket money!

• Hot dog on Nov 28, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Why not from the begining set RM 150? If you know RM 300 rakyat cannot efforded ? Now you purpose to reduce fine ? I tot tat time set RM 300 , you said : ‘ must fine RM 300, to reduce accident on the road !! “

• Ahmad on Nov 28, 2016 at 2:45 pm

if your enforcement is not good it will not make any difference even if it is 150, 300, or even 500. Reducing the fine is not going to solve the problem when nobody is taking action against the offenders.

• johorian on Nov 28, 2016 at 9:09 pm

The company AETS is PFI that provide such none legal catching motorist action. hey, i not going to pay them a single cents, and we all know ends up in political pocket..its just like setting up your own speeding camera personally and ask others paying saman…its not JPJ/Police that own the system at all!

• Why bother at all? Losers up there siphoning and threatening us. All cronies get samans quashed anyway.