All speeding summonses issued under the Automated Enforcement System (AES) will have a fixed penalty of RM150, according to transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

Liow said the decision to impose a fixed penalty was approved during a Cabinet meeting recently, Bernama reports. He was responding to rumours the government would dismiss 1.6 million speeding tickets issued by the AES since 2012.

“They have to pay, but from now onwards it will all be RM150,” he told reporters at Parliament. “Those who fail to pay up their summonses will be blacklisted and not allowed to renew their driving licences,” he said, adding that there are currently 40 AES speed cameras installed in the Klang Valley and Perak.

In April, it was reported that a total of 2,034,265 fines have been issued since the AES began operations in September 2012, with a total of RM96 million being collected. However, the collection rate is low, with only 15% of fines having been settled.

In May last year, the government announced that the AES coverage was to be significantly expanded in the second phase, with cameras being installed at traffic light intersections in stages at 262 locations nationwide. It was also announced that the AES and the Kejara demerit points system would be unified under a new name – Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS).