The finalists for the 2017 European Car of the Year award have been announced, with seven automakers vying for the coveted title. The list of contenders after a first vote by the 58 jury members are as follows:

  • Alfa Romeo Giulia
  • Citroen C3
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • Nissan Micra
  • Peugeot 3008
  • Toyota C-HR
  • Volvo S90/V90

As you can see, no American or Korean brands were shortlisted as a finalist this time round, and the list is devoid of any electric or hybrid models as well. Furthermore, of all the marques here, each has won the award before save for Volvo.

Of the finalists, we’ve already driven the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, as well as the Peugeot 3008 (expect our drive report soon), with models like the Toyota C-HR and Volvo S90 likely to hit our shores in the future.

Meanwhile, Alfa Romeo’s latest sedan managed to impress the panel of jurors enough to be featured here, one of several new models from the company, with the other being its first-ever SUV – the Stelvio. Other notable mentions include the revamped Nissan Micra (or March) and Citroen C3, both of which feature an all-new design, accompanied by technological improvements.

The winner will be announced next year at the Geneva Motor Show in March, with each of the 58 jury members dividing 25 points among at least five of the candidates. The 2016 edition saw the Opel/Vauhall Astra take first place, followed by the Volvo XC90 in second, Mazda MX-5 in third.