New Toyota Innova launched in Malaysia, from RM106k – 7 airbags, ESC, Dual VVT-i, more premium interior

toyota_innova_mop_ext-1

The all-new, EEV-certified Toyota Innova finally makes its launch debut in Malaysia today, with UMW Toyota offering three variants to buyers here – 2.0E (MT), 2.0E (AT) and 2.0G (AT), the same as the outgoing model.

We start with the most important bit, the prices, starting with the 2.0E in manual guise, which retails at RM105,764.31, whereas the 2.0E automatic is priced at RM113,543.83, and the top-spec 2.0G (AT) is yours for just RM122,323.35.

The prices here are OTR without insurance and come inclusive of a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty. When compared to rivals like the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid (from RM143,063) and Mazda Biante (from RM145,718), makes the Innova a substantially cheaper option.

Visually, the new car is a huge departure from its predecessor, adopting a more premium design this time around. At the front, there is a new grille that is either painted silver on the 2.0E, or finished in chrome on the 2.0G (with silver and black accents).

toyota_innova_mop_ext-3

For illumination, all variants come equipped with automatic halogen reflector headlamps and rear fog lamps, although front fog lamps are exclusive to the 2.0G. Also standard on all variants are 16-inch alloy wheels and power-adjustable side windows.

On the 2.0G, the latter also features puddle lamps and they are retractable as well. Other exterior differences between the 2.0E and 2.0G can be seen at the door handles, where chrome is used to finish the top-spec, while the others are body-coloured.

As for the rear, there are now two-piece taillights (bulb-type) that now encroach into the new, easy-close liftgate (2.0G only). At the top, you’ll find a rear spoiler that integrates an LED stop lamp into its structure.

Bigger dimensions are a consequence of the exterior overhaul, with the Innova now measuring 4,735 mm in length (+150 mm), 1,830 mm in width (+70 mm) and 1,795 mm in height (+35 mm). It also rides 24 mm higher (at 200 mm) than before, but retains its 2,750 mm wheelbase.

toyota_innova_mop_ext-24

Under the hood, a 2.0 litre 2.0 litre 1TR-FE naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine powers all Innova variants. The improved mill now comes with Dual VVT-i, and gains 3 PS and 1 Nm as well. Additionally, fuel consumption is claimed to be 9.4 l/100 km (from 10.7 l/100 km) for the manual and 9.1 l/100 km (from 11.2 l/100 km) for the automatic.

As a result, it now outputs 139 PS at 5,600 rpm and 183 Nm at 4,000 rpm, with power being sent to the rear wheels via a new six-speed torque converter automatic transmission (with sequential shifter) that replaces the previous car’s four-speed unit. The sole manual variant here gets a five-speed unit instead.

Much like the exterior, the Innova’s new interior also undergoes a radical overhaul. A brand-new dashboard layout is the first thing that greets you here, featuring a curvaceous upper section, while the monotone look has been relegated.

On the 2.0E, you’ll find a diamond-patterned trim piece that runs across the dash that is painted grey, accompanied by additional bits that are finished in “satin gold” or upholstered in suede-like material. These items be seen in various places like around the infotainment headunit, centre stack, steering wheel and door armrests.

toyota_innova_mop_int-1

For entertainment, you get an integrated head unit with CD and USB inputs, but as an option (prices detailed below), you’ll get a choice of either a DVD-AVN or DVD-AVX system. Both systems include an eight-inch touchscreen with the usual array of inputs and a reverse camera, although only the DVD-AVN gets a navigation function.

Also fitted on the 2.0E are manual climate controls, with manual fan speed controls found in the second row. The eight-seater MPV has a total of four roof-mounted air-con vents that sends cool air to rear passengers. Said passengers will also be seated on fabric seats that have a honeycomb motif on them.

For the driver, six-way manually adjustable seats are available, whereas the front passenger gets four-way adjustability instead. A backlit instrument panel and urethane three-spoke steering wheel (tilt and telescopic adjustable) also greets the driver.

However, the 2.0G takes things a step further by adding more premium goodies, beginning with additional “satin gold” trim on the door cards, as well as the air-con vents. Furthermore, there is now glossy wood trim on the dash and steering wheel.

Elsewhere, there is an automatic air-conditoning system system, Optitron instrument panel with a 4.2-inch colour TFT-LCD multi-info display (with steering wheel controls), leather-wrapped steering wheel and the fabric seats now get a “tiger stripe” motif instead.

Also exclusive to the 2.0G are foldable seatback tables for second row passengers, dual-zone ambient LED lighting, as well as automatic climate control and an armrest (with cup holders) for the second row.

Practical features include an upper glove box that doubles as a cooler, along with improved seat mechanisms. For instance, the second-row, 60:40 split-folding seats can be folded and tumbled with just one lever, while the 50:50 split-folding third-row seats now get a spring lifter, making it easier to lift them up and tether them in place for more cargo space.

Safety-wise, standard kit on the 2.0E include three airbags, ABS (with EBD), Isofix mounts (second row) and parking sensors (front and rear). The 2.0G bumps this up further with a total of seven airbags, plus VSC, hill start assist and traction control. The Innova is rated the full five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating for adult occupant protection (AOP), and was recently awarded the best child occupant protection in the MPV segment during the the 2016 ASEAN NCAP Grand Prix awards.

As mentioned earlier, there are a few optional items here, starting with the infotainment systems. The DVD-AVX will cost you an additional RM2,109.40, while the DVD-AVN is priced at RM3,169.40. Other optional accessories include a DVR (RM636), Toyota solar film (RM1,166) and Toyota solar and security film (RM2,109.40). All items are available for all variants and the prices are inclusive of GST.

Exterior colour options include Super White, Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, Grey Metallic, Attitude Black Mica and Avant-garde Bronze Metallic. For a better look at all Toyota Innova variants, check out Carbase.my. Also, read our review of the all-new MPV, here.

Toyota Innova 2.0G
Toyota Innova 2.0E (AT)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Come next year they will update the E spec with VSC…better to wait haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Malaysians kena con again big time. Now this car got EEV certification. So, why isn’t UMW Toyota passing the savings to Malaysians? The price seems higher than previous Innova despite EEV certification.

As we can see from the Mercedes C200 and BMW 320i, with EEV certification, the cars are now about RM50k less.
      We can assume that with the EEV certification, UMW will be able to sell ths car for about RM80k to RM90k. But UMW, being the sneaky company they are, has decided to sapu all the savings.

They then kelentong to the rakyat and say now they are giving 7 airbags and VSC. If you do the maths, 7 airbags and VSC hardly cost RM3k or RM4k. So, what happened to the RM30k to RM40k savings from the EEV certification?

This alone shows how dishonest UMW is. A company that lies to the rakyat. Do you dare to buy from a company that lies?

Gomen give them EEV incentive savings to pass to the rakyat, UMW sapu every bit of it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
      • Veey nice. Errrr……i mean the models

• I heard some say conti car have higher tax (non-Asean), so example a 20% reduce tax would be a lot.
        Toyota is under Asean which have lower tax compare conti car (which is still high off course), a 20% reduce tax made a little different.
        What you all think?

• OMG…all very nice but when see the rear part, OMG…WTH was that…it spoit the whole image…damn ugly.

• Very ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • applegreen on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Ugly? Sure or not…

Look closely and you cant choose which one better. Black, Grey or White. Maybe IMG 588261 is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Nueur on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:49 pm

idk but engine bay look kind of messy..:(

• Toy Life on Dec 05, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Why? Everyday you open the front bonnet see the engine compartment for hours for easy sleeep? Do u do the service yourself? I bet you not clean up your house everyday also.

• chowhai on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:50 pm

That engine bay looks like a big mess

• ALIF ADAM MOHD FADZLY on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Everything about this car looks great except the fuel consumption. Which is worse than a big size car like kia carnival. Should have come with 2.4 Diesel in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Albert on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Do U KNOW MORE THAN 90,000 Malaysians were retrenched from 2015 to 2016,based on the manufacturers data?
    This excludes smaller industries and businesses.
    Say,100,000…..lost their jobs.
    Where r these folks? Buying the latest Innovas and Personas?
    Next year…will not be any better.In fact,now more businesses are GOING BUST.
    THE number of young people that were blacklisted and bankrupt were staggering,due to car loan default.
    U wanna add to this statistics?
    BE IN CONTROL OF LOANS….NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Yep. Better sapot Gov initiative. Take public transport instead.

• Hot dog on Dec 05, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Pls come try the public transport in JB…..tak payah cakap lah !

• Vincent Ang on Dec 05, 2016 at 11:24 pm

I do not know what public transport is like in KL. However, I do know that public transport in all the small and medium-sized towns of Malaysia are either non-existent or completely unreliable.

• Sillyuncle on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Hello uncle, if you want to give this short lecture on a car site about managing loan, atleast pick a page where the yuppies would buy lah. Those young people you are talking about is not exactly looking to buy an innova.
      Depend which side of the coin you are looking lah. Walk into merc showroom and they will tell you there is a waiting list.
      You sound like one that has no job. Don’t go blame the society. A lot of people can’t reinvent themselves and the world is getting competitive. If you have genuine talent, I don’t believe you can’t find a job. People get into bankrupt not because of car loan. Is because they overspent what they earn. And is silly of them to go so high gearing.

• gonggok on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Owned the previous model for two years. Inoffensive and bulletproof (mechanically simple). Fuel effiency wasn’t bad. Overall a decent car that I couldn’t understand why some people hate so much.

But the IMAGE is soooooo uncle – main reason I replaced it. The brain says yes but the heart says no…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Dedak on Dec 05, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Brain is smarter thats why it keeps telling you to replace because it knows that toyota is worst

• Clean Slate on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:26 pm

If take out loan to buy one and use as GrabCar or Uber can make money or not?

• Sammy Loo on Dec 06, 2016 at 1:03 am

definitely can, this car is a workhorse and will not fail you

• Aaron on Dec 05, 2016 at 3:32 pm

If UMW genuinely passed on the EEV savings to the consumers, the Innova would have been priced from below RM80k……

• Sammy Loo on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:00 am

if this car doesnt qualify EEV it will be 150k already.

Remember what Sam Loo said in previous DRIVEN. Toyota expensive is good, because when you sell you get back more RV!

• Midship on Dec 05, 2016 at 4:05 pm

I’ve lost count how many times they’ve milked the Innova cow by refreshing over and over and over again

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Dec 05, 2016 at 6:34 pm

it’s a toyota mini bus, right?

• Sammy Loo on Dec 05, 2016 at 8:32 pm

If you want to get this good and reliable MPV with EEV certified now, better get the G Spec

Dont worry about safety features, E specs will come with VSC as standard after a year. This MPV has got the best RV in class too even without VSC.

• chin peng on Jan 10, 2017 at 9:17 am

when you see the engine,wah banyak serabut