European Commission targets mandatory safety equipment in new cars – looking at 19 technologies

The European Commission has its own wishlist for new car technology, and there are 19 new technologies it wants to be made mandatory on new cars in order for road fatalities to be reduced to less than 15,000 a year by 2020, according to an Autocar report.

Heading the wishlist of mandatory items are autonomous emergency braking and lane departure warning, with the aim of avoiding a crash in the first place instead of mitigating the consequences of a collision. Under European law, lane keep assist and automatic emergency braking is already mandatory for buses and HGVs (heavy goods vehicles), the report says.

The increased demand for SUVs will also be addressed, with the report stating that safety measures continue to require attention given ‘the proliferation of SUVs with higher centres of gravity, higher masses and aggressive front-end design’.

Also proposed by the Commission is the introduction of flashing brake lights when the car is performing an emergency braking manoeuvre, plus seat belt reminders and tyre pressure monitoring systems in the list of proposed compulsory passive safety systems.

Functions such as intelligent speed adapting, lane keep assistance and driver drowsiness and distraction monitoring are among the active safety measures the European Commission aims to make mandatory within five years, marking the first time autonomous systems have been considered for mandatory installation.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• lilytan on Dec 23, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Euro regulation changes so fast. First it was emission and now safety. If proton still work this slow then their euro ambition will be up in smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • pak atan on Dec 23, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Sampai kat Malaysia..semua full spec.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 24, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Malaysia the best. Here we say technologies like VSC is important. Our Gomen say it can prevent 45% of all accidents and deaths in a single year. Then they introduce cars like the Ertiga with no VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:33 pm

Hopefully nobody is able to change lanes sesuka hati without signals.

• Can anyone elaborate on the SUV’s aggressive front end design being a problem?

• Littlefire85 on Dec 23, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Pedestrian safety, especially kids. As SUV is higher, hitting the front end is not a good place for a kid as it will direct hit the head or critical area like chest area. Compare to adults which will hit lower and the head impact will be absorb by the front engine bonnet.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 24, 2016 at 5:24 am

Yup, although SUVs tend to be worse for adults too.

• Jeffrey Read on Dec 24, 2016 at 11:11 am

Perhaps what it is trying to say is in reference to this case. Only recently it was reported that a child was killed as his father who was beginning to drive his Vellfire, alleged that he DID NOT see his child run across the vehicle’s path. Thus, the Vellfire ran-over his child, causing instant death.

If the father did indeed failed to see his son’s movement as the vehicle begin to move from a stationary position, surely then there are blind spots.

• Onanodus on Dec 23, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Not sure about the rest of Europe, but Tyre Pressure Monitoring is already mandatory for cars sold in the UK.

• Teraks on Dec 23, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Meanwhile in malaysia, lori with wooden doors from pre merdeka still roaming around..hewhew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Jeffrey Read on Dec 24, 2016 at 11:57 am

This only proves that it has had excellent drivers who drives SAFELY, without the need of all the modern technological advancement but did you check what was inside the cabin, just to prove that such machines are continually kept true to that period that it was made?

• neverthar on Dec 23, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Silly bureaucratic nonsense…the more gadgets they mandate, they heavier the car becomes causing more headaches in terms of emission requirement meeting as well as more potential causes of electrical gremlins 6-7 years down the road in terms of vehicle ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Jimmy on Dec 23, 2016 at 10:36 pm

If you always say cannot, then you can never do it.

You must have the correct mindset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Jeffrey Read on Dec 24, 2016 at 11:50 am

They claim that vehicles today are safer than ever compared to vehicles from the old generation.

What is only contradicting that statement is the number of road fatalities continues to rise at an ever increasing rate, give all the technological advancement modern vehicles have made or will ever make!

Something is seriously amiss, wouldn’t you think so or do I have a correct mindset?

Hmmmm what example can I give. I’ve attended the STOP THE CRASH recently and I was impressed & awed by everything I saw, it’s as if the car had a mind of it’s own and took over control of the car the moment when the driver failed. It was amazing I thought initially, until I begun to ask questions.

START
        ME : “Excuse me Sir, I am impressed with what I just saw, as the car automatically swerved into another lane, just as it was about to crash into the rear of the vehicle in front or barrier, without needing the driver to do anything at all!

He could even be sleeping on the wheel so to speak and still avoid accidents, so to speak!

BUT what if there was a speeding vehicle racing down the track from the back, will this “autonomous car” be able to detect that oncoming speeding vehicle that is fast approaching from the back, before autonomously makes a decision to switch lane?”

SIR : “That’s a very good question, this demo car does not have that capability yet.”

ME : “Then there is a risk of a real collision, because if the existing technological advancement were to be introduced into the market now without considering such and other potentially disastrous scenarios.”

SIR : “Yes, we have to really look into this matter and thank you for your concerns.”
        END

You see, I am under extreme duress having to be force to buy a damn car with S.R.S. Airbags as I have reservations which have yet to be properly addressed by relevant parties in the name of modern & safe car that we are constantly bombarded with.

If these baby pops-up under circumstances which it clearly shouldn’t as the safety of the occupants were not even compromised under any circumstances, I can guarantee everyone we will have a field day court.

It’s agreed then, we are in the correct mindset now, aren’t we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Goldie on Dec 25, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Agree with you. Drivers have to be in full control. Better to impose a mandatory alcohol breath test, or simple brain function test before the engine can be started, or some sort of alarm or caution reminder if erratic driving detected. Current AI cannot take over fully unless all cars under same networked control as soon as they enter the road. However, it is too soon to impose such techs on new cars before prolonged testing.

• Tuan Loyar on Dec 26, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Hi Jefreey, are you a lawyer? Because you sound like one.

Anyway, your point is a bit off. The reason why there are more accidents nowadays is due to number of cars on the road. Compare that to a decade ago.

Cars are becoming faster too. Which increases fatalities.

If you think SRS is irrelevant to you, then drive old cars or ride bikes.

• there would not be a problem if your “speeding vehicle racing down the track from the back” has AUTONOMOUS braking (using radar and cameras).
          my point is , eventually if every car on the road has advanced nanny safety assistants then the road system will cause much less accidents as a whole, compared to today.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 24, 2016 at 5:26 am

Yeah. A couple of chips and a digital camera is going to add SOOOOOOO much weight. Right.

I have a couple of these assistants, and I wouldn’t want to miss them. There’s no way I’d buy a car without them. It’s a life saver. Not crashing in the first place is better than surviving a crash.

• Amriji on Dec 24, 2016 at 10:14 am

There will always be problem and humans have always strive to solve them…that’s why we thrive as a species.

• Anonymous on Dec 27, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Meanwhile our Transport Minister now only looking to make ABS mandatory haha..