Nissan and Infiniti now provide a seven-year, unlimited mileage warranty in Malaysia – class-leading coverage

We’re just one day into 2017, and we have our first Malaysian automotive news announcement. New Nissan and Infiniti models now get a seven-year, unlimited mileage warranty for the new year, replacing the three-year, 100,000 km coverage offered previously.

Announced to coincide with the Tan Chong Group’s 60th anniversary, the two brands now offer the longest warranty period available in Malaysia. Nissan now leapfrogs Toyota and Honda (five-year, unlimited mileage warranty), while in the premium segment, Infiniti boasts class-leading coverage too, overtaking Lexus and BMW (also with five-year, unlimited mileage warranty).

The new seven-year warranty for both brands is fully undertaken by the Tan Chong Group (though technically the first three years is covered under the manufacturer’s warranty), and is transferable to subsequent owners within the coverage period. This differs from Hyundai’s eight-year powertrain (engine and gearbox) warranty offered on the Sonata, which is only applicable for first hand owners.

In closer detail, the first five years of the warranty is identical to a standard manufacturer’s warranty in terms of scope of coverage, while the sixth and seventh year warrants the engine, transmission and selected parts coverage. Basically, this is more of a 5+2 package, with major mechanical parts covered over the last two years.

The new warranty package covers all Nissan and Infiniti models (Year of Make 2017 onwards), with a few exceptions. The Nissan Navara and NV350 Urvan are capped at five years or 150,000 km, or back to the previous three-year, 100,000 km warranty for commercial registrations. The Nissan Leaf, Sylphy and vehicles intended for public transport, taxi, rental car and goods carriers also retain the three-year, 100,000 km warranty plan.

Existing Nissan and Infiniti owners, don’t fret, as an extended warranty programme will be announced and detailed soon. This will only apply to owners of in-warranty vehicles (still within the first three years or 100,000 km, and fully serviced at authorised service centres only). Stay tuned to paultan.org to find out the exact terms and prices (if any).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• horrayooi on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:37 pm

These companies should gives 5- 7 years long warranty with serviceable parts( oil filter, oil, spark plugs and etc. ) and labour included. If these serviceable parts are not included we are at their mercy. These parts are not cheap at their service centres. Every oil change eg. they charge for oil plug washer ( we doubt they change it- scam ) which is unnecessary for outside workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 24
    • gaviny on Jan 01, 2017 at 2:53 pm

so true, people are so excited with warranty they totally forget the car MUST be serviced at the stealership, MUST not be modified in anyway.

is it worth it then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
      • Don’t be surprise if 3rd party reverse camera also cannot be install or music player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Peter on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:46 pm

And also you must take their expensive optional service package i.e AirCond cleaning freqently during service!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 02, 2017 at 11:33 am

This is a good move. Let us start the whole industry with 7 years warranty.

Do you know, in Europe, nearly all car brands give 7 years warranty? It is normal.

In Malaysia, the problem is, nearly ALL car companies are owned by the gomen or GLC indirectly. So, gomen got no incentive to lose money giving the rakyat 7 years warranty. See Toyota, until last year, all their cars ONLY had 3 year warranty. UMW is a GLC

Same with BMW. Until 2 years ago, all their cars also had only 2 years warranty.

This is the problem when gomen gets involved in car business. They cannot be neutral and demand better rights for the consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
        • Abah kau on Jan 02, 2017 at 3:42 pm

BMW where got GLC kunta oii.. Auto Bavaria tu memang la sime Darby Tp bmw Malaysia bkn sime Darby punya. Sbb tu sales director, service director datang Dari Germany. Belum pandai lagi rupanya kinte ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
        • karam singh on Jan 02, 2017 at 4:43 pm

But, I dont think U.S car brand not related to their Goverment.
          Politic & business somehow related in some ways
          for their own benefits in economy.

• karam singh on Jan 02, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Less car exported, more imported goods like in Malaysia gonna consume their own currency.
          RM going down coz imported goods > exported

• Gaviny on Jan 03, 2017 at 11:13 am

What we need is capped price servicing like in Australia. That is the evolution we need. Basically what it is , the service centre offers servicing plan that is fixed for a certain number of years. Either it’s paid upfront or during service

Holden even offers a plan for life.

It limits the maximum they can charge for a service , instead of adding items as they go along

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 02, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Nissan not this first. Haval did this last year.. giving 7 yrs warranty

• Like this also want to complain, no need to buy car lah…. use Uber or grab enough….. there are many countries the warranty program don’t even have 5 years at all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • Sammy Loo on Jan 01, 2017 at 11:54 pm

if you feel like taking your own risk, by all means you may service outside or modify the car to void the warranty, they don’t force you to service with them.

This is just an option if you wan the 7 years warranty or you plan to just intact with the warranty for 3 years and you do your own service outside. Nissan did not increase their price for this additional warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Henry on Jan 02, 2017 at 10:36 am

They give you something and take back something else. Basically there is no free lunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Clean Slate on Jan 02, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Mercedes Benz in Msia gets 2 years warranty only, boo hoo.

• Horizon Sailor on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:39 pm

good move by missan…congrats…happy new year to PT team and all readers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Ah beng on Jan 01, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Big impact to outside workshops. Their business volume will drop. No good for economy, user also paying more to service their car at Tan Chong. It is the same at the end of the day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
      • LPost on Jan 01, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Hope some workshop with sembelih attitude close shop soon

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
        • PostL on Jan 01, 2017 at 9:59 pm

Hahaha true! Not everyone but some I know kan, wah tipu punya tipu

• Hafriz, can existing owners.also get 7 yrs? My car is 1 yr and 6 months old.

Not fair on old nissan buyers who got only 3 years. Nissan should give us the option to upgrade to 7 yrs warranty. We don’t mind paying extra too

I hope Nissan considers and thinks about their old loyal customers like myself. Please give us the option to upgrade to 7 yrs. Honda and Toyota were giving 5 yrs but since we are loyal Nissan customers, we forgo the 5 yrs and compromised and took Nissan instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:57 pm

An extended warranty programme for existing owners will be announced and detailed soon, as mentioned in the last paragraph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Tan Chong should not take too long to announce the extended warranty to existing 2015 and 2016 Nissan Car owners (about 70 thousand) of them. TCM must be fair to them otherwise, this 7 years unlimited warranty thingy may decrease their future car sales volume due to unfair policy. Quite similar to Mitsubishi Lancer rebatch to Proton Inspira.
        One thing TCM should improve is their cars absorber system; too fragile and it kaput or makes lots of noises within a year driving on Sarawak road. How to go against the Toyota especially in Sarawak road condition? Think hard TCM.
        Overall, be wise TCM in handling this and goo dluck.

• normal_user on Jan 01, 2017 at 7:42 pm

My 2+ y.o. almera VL (50k mileage only) suffers so many problems. Shud extend warranty to existing car models that they r selling f.o.c. Among problems:
      1. Rattling exhaust/dash/panels
      2. Changed bearing
      3. Changed radiator fan motor
      4. Changed aircon belt
      5. Changed bush stabiliser bar (after suspension got sound).
      6. Car dies suddenly while driving 2 times. SC cant pinpoint the source of the problem.

Give justice to your existing customers, Nissan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Submarine on Jan 01, 2017 at 10:24 pm

For existing Nissan owners the in-warranty period should be extended foc. When car companies offer long warranty it is already locking your service with them, which in a real world means you pay more for service. Why would you pay for the extended warranty then? You wanna be loyal also be smart la.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:58 pm

Insha Allah they extend to existing owner. My Teana warranty expired (5 years), but the dashboard cracked! MKH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Why ReligionHere on Jan 02, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • lengchai on Jan 03, 2017 at 8:04 am

In shaa allah means God willing.
        Its normal in muslim’s convensation.
        Chill bro. Everything is based on God’s will.
        Hahahah

Btw congrats Tan Chong Motor.
        Make it 10 years warranty and i’ll consider buying nissan. One more thing, please go redesign Almera. They irritate my eyes.
        Hiks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Sylphy facelift mana? Sked of civic kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Altis more better.Number one in the world.Every second 1 corolla sold.Civic only can sell in Malaysia.Other countries the name missing in the jungle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • lazada on Jan 01, 2017 at 10:39 pm

UMW… but where are you now???? MALAYSIA, so PLS lah….

• Altis still overpriced junk and interior looks unker. Sylphy was the pioneer in safe jepunis cars when it 1st came out. NVH still was the best in C segment jepunis, so we need a competitor from nissan here – one that focus on comfort driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 01, 2017 at 1:04 pm

Excellent news ! A 7-year warranty will do wonders for Tan Chong. They are already well-known for their high assembly standards… stretching back to the 1970s. Both Subaru and Mitsubishi know it too (Tan Chong also assembles their cars at Segambut), and Subaru has even made Malaysia their ASEAN hub thanks to Tan Chong’s high assembly standards.

Ever since the Vios facelift, the Almera has lagged behind in terms of safety and value for money. This 7 year warranty will definitely benefit the ageing Almera the most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 02, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Almera has been around too long. More than 5 years. Totally need a new body and everything

• Check out the detail from Nissan Msia web.. the 7yr Warranty is provided by 3-year manufacturer and 4-year by Tan Choong.. thus it is not 7-year manufacture warranty.. not sure is the last 4-year warranty given by insurance or not, my experience with insurance warranty is quite hassle and lengthy process..

• old horse on Jan 01, 2017 at 2:16 pm

xtrail 2017! cant wait for it

• Hanye on Jan 01, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Will this sway buyer’s decision from Toyota to Nissan?

• kimi's fan on Jan 01, 2017 at 4:15 pm

they should implement this earlier.
    One of the reason, TC use some low quality parts to assemble car. eg Alemra..

• Mikey on Jan 01, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Any company & I mean ANY COMPANY(P1/P2 included) that dare to give a 5+2 year Warranty deserved to be praised. Enuff said.

• P1 has 5 years MANUFACTURER warranty long long time ago.

• Askedu on Jan 02, 2017 at 9:12 pm

P1 5yrs is 3+2 and your P1 will give you big headache the next day after finish the 3rd year :-(

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 02, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Toyota for the past 15 years actually did give 3+3 years warranty for engine and transmission. And they call it a goodwill. Only to loyal customers sending back service at UMW. No question asked.

• camtakpro on Jan 03, 2017 at 10:09 am

Toyota engine & transmission last longer than 3+3 years. Like saying give warranty on the car body so when it melts you can claim but knocks, stone chips, scratches, rusts caused by wear & tear are not covered.

Dare to warranty alternator, sensors, compressor, throttle body, dampers & bearings?

• I think PROTON should do the same too. Since this year, the brand new engines will come into production.

I believe newer engines last longer than old ones.

• therevs on Jan 01, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Great move by the infamous Tan Chong Malaysia.
    Now all thats left is to Finally bring in brand new CBU units of the 2017 GTRs, Muranos and Fairlady Zs for the upper class Malaysian Drivers. No need to drive 2nd hand Trashed at Sepang and Sunway Recon GTRs anymore from Recon Dealerships.
    Where are the 2017 JUKE, Murano and Qashqai models?
    These are key models to compete against the overated Made in Alor Gajah Hondas and Sam Loo’s infamous UMW Toyotas with so called great RV:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • WakeUp on Jan 01, 2017 at 8:15 pm

From above mentioned models, which one you can afford to buy? Bring in to our shore just for your eye candies purpose? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • wokeupalready on Jan 01, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Bro, he has an excellent suggestion. Its stated in the comments for upper middle class Malaysian drivers.. refering to the powerful and legendary GTR:), Unfortunately non existent in Tan Chong Malaysia.
        Nissan Singapore and even Australia have the GTR, Juke and 370 Fairlady Z vehicles right now for sale brand new.
        No reconds like here at NAZA world or Ah Beng Recond shops in KL.
        These are vehicles which people want to buy. Not some outdated and sad looking Almera:( with ‘Nismo’ stickers on bodykits and suspension upgrades for cosmetic purposes.
        Tan Chong Malaysia should definitely bring in brand new CBU(made in Japan) models such as the Juke, Murano and Qashqai (like Mazda Malaysia did with their CX-3, MX-5).
        The Murano can compete against the CX-9 and Qashqai with the outdated HR-V from Honda for example:)
        No offence ya bro, be sure to check out Nissan Singapore, Australia and even the tiny country known as New Zealand. Cheers bro:)
        http://www.nissan.com.au/Cars-Vehicles/Browse-Range
        http://www.nissan.co.nz/Cars-Vehicles/Browse-Range

• JB_KIA on Jan 01, 2017 at 10:21 pm

if no full free service (parts and labour), 20 years warranty also I wont be interested….pls learn from mazda.

• Henry on Jan 02, 2017 at 5:51 pm

I bought a Subaru XV in 2015. It comes with a 5 year manufacturer’s warranty and 5 years free service inclusive of parts and labour. Such a good deal. After the five years I can sell it.

• How about those who take 9 years loan? Warranty is just for rich pipu kah?

• Good moved by TCM, my car warranty expired last year Jul 2016, hopefully extended warranty programe will be offer to expired warranty car aswell, last 2week i just replaced cooling coil for Almera, without warranty, so its very expensive cost i paid :(

• ben yap on Jan 02, 2017 at 8:31 am

now with a longer warranty period, the nissan almera looks more “beautiful”?

• Jaaaake on Jan 02, 2017 at 9:10 am

Well done Nissan. Toyota is being hit from both sides now; new product categories from Honda and a longer warranty period Nissan. I doubt the C-HR would be enough to get back market share – I see Nissan gaining market share slowly, at the expense of Toyota, just like Honda did in 2015-2016. However, i don’t see any other manufacturer having any real dent on Toyota.

• Michelin on Jan 02, 2017 at 10:26 am

Owned Grand Livina currently.. the price of the spareparts are tooooo expensive.. even worst, the service maintenance prices charged are soooo different than what is shown in their website.. normal service also charged >RM500.. sigh!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 02, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Kimchis can have 10 years unlimited mileage warranty but it will still have poor RV

• horrayooi on Jan 02, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Time to upgrade all Nissan cars to Xtronic CVT 7 speed shiftronic or paddle shifers. Jatco transmission is own by Nissan, it makes no sense if Nissan don’t use Jatco CVT. Murano with high torque engine was even fitted with Xtronic CVT. Consumers love higher specs and gadgets for the cars. The H company when media people ask them why their car not fitted with paddle shifters when Thai specs have them they said owners seldom use the funtion. They (
    H company ) think what they want not what the consumers want. Lastly reinstate the temperature gauge. We are fed up with the 2 blue and red idiot lights.

• Good move nissan!! anyway, nissan’s are bulletproof…7 yrs is nothing for this brand, can easily reach 10 yrs without any failure…nissan are soo bullet proof!

• notakata on Jan 03, 2017 at 2:30 am

Is takata airbags a bulletproof airbags or indeed a bullet?

• takata on Jan 03, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Takata airbags is takata fault and not nissan….its effecting other cars too that’s using takata airbags like honda, toyota…etc…

• drillero on Jan 02, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Congrat Nissan, good move. Yet, I’m still waiting for my Takata airbag replacement, why it is taking too long to get it replaced? Prof

• Paul Lim on Jan 02, 2017 at 10:13 pm

TC earn back from service maintenance charge.

• Honda Fan on Jan 03, 2017 at 12:09 pm

I’m not sure if it is really a good news unless we have the full details on what is covered under the extended warranty and the process of claiming the warranty. Tan Chong service is fast but spare parts is costly and unable to solve issues. They can’t even troubleshoot Livina engine vibrate issue and keep pointing to after market air filter. The outside workshop mechanic can tell the root cause without even checking on the car.

• ILoveMyRide on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:12 pm

7 years warranty?? Wah! Good move…

Personally, I had some minor issue with my car, and i emailed to the TCEAS customer service, and their responses were prompt.

Maybe you guys can email over to them too?
    Its [email protected]

• Hi, I intend to buy 2nd hand infinity Q50/2.0T.
    Tested n very powerful n good handling.
    But notice from US review, many problems for the electronic issue from display system.
    Need your advice from existing n post user for the problematic issues n whether infinity service center can be solve effectively?
    Tks a lot