UMW Toyota introduces new five-year warranty for all models in Malaysia; in-warranty vehicles can upgrade

Toyota five year warranty

Good news for Toyota fans, and Toyota owners alike. UMW Toyota has introduced a new five-year warranty for all its models in Malaysia. Effective April 1, 2016 (no, it’s not an April Fool’s prank), the Hilux and Hiace now have a five-year/150,000 km warranty term, while all other Toyota models have a five-year, unlimited mileage coverage.

The new manufacturer warranty term supersedes the previous three-year/100,000 km plan, and it now puts Toyota level with Honda Malaysia, which also offers a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty across all models. Edaran Tan Chong Motor maintains a three-year/100,000 km warranty for all Nissan models sold in Malaysia.

Despite the 150,000 km mileage cap imposed on the Hilux and Hiace, the two models now have a class-leading warranty coverage among comparable commercial vehicles. The Toyota Hilux, for instance, has a warranty that extends two years or 50,000 km longer than the Ford Ranger, Mitsubishi Triton, Isuzu D-Max and Nissan Navara.

The warranty coverage is wholly undertaken by UMW Toyota Motor, and not through other insurance companies. The five-year warranty is fully transferable to the new owner if/when the vehicle is sold within the coverage period. Of course, the vehicle has to be serviced according to the maintenance schedule at authorised Toyota service centres for the warranty to be valid.

8457_04 5yearsW_PressAd_TheStar_37cmX26.1cm

Note, though, that vehicles that are not purchased for private use, such as taxis, rental cars, converted vehicles and goods carriers are not entitled to the new five-year warranty. They instead fall back to the previous three-year/100,000 km coverage.

Owners of in-warranty Toyota vehicles (those with an active warranty, and have been serviced as per required by the warranty terms) registered before April 1, 2016 may purchase the additional two-year extended warranty package. A grace mileage of 10,000 km is given for cars with borderline mileage (up to 110,000 km).

Prices of the two-year extended warranty package are as follows:

• Toyota Avanza – RM890
  • Toyota Innova – RM890
  • Toyota Rush – RM890
  • Toyota Hilux – RM1,290
  • Toyota Hiace – RM1,290
  • Toyota Vios – RM1,590
  • Toyota Yaris – RM1,590
  • Toyota Prius – RM1,590
  • Toyota Prius C – RM1,590
  • Toyota Corolla Altis – RM1,890
  • Toyota Fortuner – RM1,890
  • Toyota Camry – RM2,990
  • Toyota Alphard – RM5,090
  • Toyota Previa – RM5,090
  • Toyota 86 – RM5,090

Customers who sign up will receive a free MaxCheck Advance service package too, worth up to RM519. The offer to upgrade your existing warranty is only valid until September 30, 2016, so do contact your preferred Toyota service centre to find out more.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• jinggo on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:24 am

Hahahaha…. “sudah terantuk baru tengadah”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Operation Manager on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:35 am

When VW will have 5 yrs OEM warranty with unlimitted mileage?
      warranty is transferable for new owner(s).

• Ismet on Apr 01, 2016 at 11:56 am

Toyota without VSC. Gip lifetime warranty also no use, if accident won’t survive. Warranty only for car, not your life. Worth it?? Renung2 laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rr on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:00 am

Toyota? Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • james on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:07 am

Better than those lousy 2+3 warranty

• Henry on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:27 am

Good news. When is the C-HR coming?

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:37 am

This is good news. Thank you UMW. I hope other car manufacturers follow too ie Nissan especially.

But I also hope Toyota reduce prices and give VSC in all their models as well as giving minimum 6 airbags. We Malaysians are paying 3X the global prices of cars in Malaysia. The least we deserve is 6 airbags and VSC.

I hope people don’t start comparing with Thailand and Indonesia and say car prices are expensive there too. Just be reminded, we don’t compare ourselves to lower countries and we should aim to better ourselves by comparing ourselves to first world countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:49 am

You must be kimchi keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:54 am

How do you know I am driving kimchi…always have to park far far away during family gathering.

• Albert on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:18 am

The other day,I was at the UMW service centre at Setapak.The service advisor said,you can send your Toyota anytime,no need prior bookings.
        I peeped and OMG,most of the service bays are empty,waiting for Sam Loor to remind customers to send in Toyotas for scheduled service.
        Now,UMW following Protong and others by giving 60 months warranty,telling us how bad sales are .
        Protong,without YAB TUN,is heading for INSOLVENCY and mass layoffs.
        I hope Same Loor,you can tahan at UMW,where most of your upline bosses goyang kaki in their posh office,looking at this amoi and that bohsia.Good luck to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Correction here, INDO and THAI are well ahead of us already so please don’t say that they’re lower countries even Vietnam and Cambodia are coming up, soon will over take us and all that is within 10yrs. Scary huh!!!???

• Sammy Loo on Apr 02, 2016 at 1:36 am

3x the price? Did you even check with the price of neighbouring countries? There is no such thing as global price. Even Thailand is not cheap now.

• About time.

• Josh Ling on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:46 am

Tan Chong ah, when is your turn ah?

• Scrooge on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:50 am

We want 5 yrs Wty + 5 yrs FREE maintenance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Good job guys.. keep on the pressure.

• takNakP1 on Apr 01, 2016 at 9:45 am

upgrade the spec first…
    many still find it expensive at SC and will take the risk after 2-3 years for servicing at their regular mechanics.

the damage is already done.

• lets hope its not April Fool..

joke aside, its a good move from toyota and hope they will improve the safety aspects of their cars too

• Dreamer on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:21 am

Heard from my Toyota salesman, the upgrade package will cost us for about RM15xx to extend another 2 years, and they will free a MAX CHECK package that worth RM3xx.

Still considered quite expensive though if this information is true!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 10:51 am

Toyota had to do this else they will sink with the bad sales they are getting at the moment. Now if only they will increase the spec sheet and price accordingly…

• Lord of Leech on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Same Lorr bosses is really desperate now.Pls don’t buy Toyota yet,wait until the promo is buy 1 free 1,10years warranty or 300,000 mileage & free service for 5years.We can make it happen.Make it as our solidarity to pressure this King of leech for decades.For time being just use ‘cheap’ p1 & p2 car.Currently vios excise duty is 25k & altis at 45k per piece! Let them suffer,then all the promises to cut 30% price would come true.Solidarity! Don’t buy new car this year! Or next year!

• Same lorrr eat wind on Apr 01, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Hardly to see Toyota technicians sit at the corner side waiting for incoming car to be serviced.Now it happen at many service centres.Cars in showroom is more than the potential buyer.Those salesmans wait in line praying accidental prospect come in just to get a brochure with no intention to buy.Time to eat your undesirable rv now,my dearly pity same lorrr!

• So those that bought the car few months earlier now got to pay extra… hahaha… thanks toyota.

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:01 pm

now toyota car more warranty and more RV

• Better late than never. Seems like Umw finally jumps on the 5 year bandwagon. Probably wouldnt lose much financially with their bulletproof reliability

• Aku lupa.. Vios apa je depa cover. Jika x service kat tmpatnya apa akan jd. Aku g tmpat ini.. Itu depa ckap. Aku pi tempat tu ini depa ckap.