JPJ to haul CNY traffic offenders straight to court – says decision is not illegal and well within the law

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) said its planned decision to haul traffic offenders to court over serious traffic offences committed during the Chinese New Year travel exodus is not illegal and is well within the perimeters of the law, The Sun reports.

Its director-general, Datuk Nadzri Siron, had said last week that any offenders caught for seven offences will not be issued with compound fines, but will instead be hauled off to court.

The seven offences are indiscriminate use of emergency lanes, overtaking on double lines, running the red light, using the mobile phone while driving, failure to fasten seat belts, jumping traffic queues and riding a motorcycle without a helmet.

He told the publication that apart from Road Transport Act laws, there are clauses that empower the transport minister to enable the authorities to charge traffic offenders in court. He added that it was a desperate move by the authorities to reduce the rising rate of road accidents and fatalities in the country.

“We have tried almost everything. From enforcement to advice through campaigns, but the figures continue to be alarming. When there are heavy vehicles are travelling faster than cars, youngsters riding motorcycles without helmets and people using their mobile phones to send text messages while driving, we have to act to save their lives and that of other innocent road users. All these are being initiated for the benefit and safety of the public in general,” he explained.

It was reported that some lawyers had argued that JPJ’s decision to take traffic offenders to court for compoundable offences was unlawful, stating that the move should not be enforced until laws are amended, but Nadzri disagreed with the viewpoint.

“Lawyers may have their own views on the matter, but we consulted our law experts before implementing the move. It has been accepted by the court of law and we have had no objection. Offenders have the option to defend themselves and it is the prerogative of the court to decide on the case,” he stated.

There was a significant increase in road accidents and fatalities in 2016 compared to the previous year. A total of 521,466 accidents were reported last year compared to 489,606 in 2015, and the number of fatalities also climbed, with 7,125 deaths from road accidents in 2016, up from the 6,706 recorded in 2015. Motorcyclists and pillion riders accounted for more than 62% of these fatalities.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Good. Catch all those errant motorists. People give them chance, but they continue to abuse all goodwill and never learn. Unfortunately, some people can only learn lessons the hard way… and some people will never learn at all. What to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Nadzri JPJ on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Indiscriminate use of emergency lanes offence >>> Indiscriminate Double/triple parking this coming Friday.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 24, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Stern as always. I respect JPJ for serving without fear and favour. The gov truly goes all its way to protect the rakyat’s interests. Syabas JPJ! – Faiz Roslan CEng

• Sewel on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:06 pm

Yes good move jpj..i see many of those idiot drivers when stuck at jamm always use emergency lane..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:52 pm

As a principle on Interstate highway I NEVER use emergency lane but on federal highway, I just have to. EVERYDAY. The daily rush hour jam is due to everyone driving too slow and maintaining big gap with car in front. Also too many single occupant cars really pisses me off. With wife/girlfriend also everyone refuse to car pool. When BRT federal highway is completed, there won’t be emergency lanes anymore so might as well use it to reduce jam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • 4G63T DSM on Jan 24, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Ah, so you are those in the emergency lanes that queue up in such a way that those who were in the correct lanes can’t merge in to exit.

Work in PJ?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:22 am

No I don’t queue when the emergency lane is backed up. I reenter the “legal” lane, weave through those huge gaps that lazy drivers make, and when it’s not moving, I just reenter the emergency lane. I arrive KL Sentral earlier, less emissions so less polar bears are going to die, and I avoid stress and back pain.

• flubberblast on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:37 pm

That would not justify your action of using the emergency lanes. Unless u r in emergency, hence the name emergency lane, u r not suppose to use it to your heart content. Matlamat tidak menghalalkan cara

• Guest on Jan 31, 2017 at 12:08 pm

please…its been researched that maintaining gap with the car in-front in a slow traffic is the best way to avoid complete stop and adding compounded delay to clear the stretch when its suppose to be moving

• Dulan on Jan 24, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Problem is… When these drivers used d emergency lanes… You couldn’t see any enforcer officers around… All dead or curi tulang, how to enforce?

• Problem is, do u think these offenders r so stoopid as to do it in front of polis?

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Unless there is a very special case, no one should be breaking the seven rules stated. These tough and what does sound like an unfair action from JPJ will work. of course if they do it cleanly

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Biggest joke ever. We know why JPJ exist. Everyone can confirm this. Ask any car or lorry driver who has faced JPJ officers. We all know their modus operandi. All this empty threats.

For JPJ officers, duit kopi is their main existence. They live for this. This in return has resulted in now 3 million people having no lesen.

The problem existed 20 years ago but over the years, the number has balooned up to 3 million because JPJ officers instead of penalising those they catch, kept on taking duit kopi.

Every year, it became bigger and bigger until 3 million. There are 10 million motorist in Malaysia. This means 1 in every 3 is illegal, no wonder so many accidents.

Every year also, hundreds of people get run down by lorry hantu. The driver just runs away. JPJ is the cause of this problem because for years, they have been taking money from these drivers who not only got no lesen but also illegal with no work permit.

That is why got big lorry hantu problem. Then best part, when someone gets killed, JPJ or PDRM don’t even prosecute the company owning the lorry.

Pity every year we see hundreds of deaths all because of duit kopi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 12
    • Y U Fuk on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Agree with Kunte Kinte. Straight to the point ! But who listens ? It’s an annual festive hipe & Berak, no one pays heed to.

• landan on Jan 24, 2017 at 1:54 pm

It is the question of reducing accidents or easy money or both. Some of the offences is agreeable but what about overwight lorries. Is not wearing seat belt more dangerous than overweght lorries. And does the authority really wants to reduce accident. If implementation and enforcement of the law is only done on holiday seasons. It does not serves the purpose , perhaps only for easy money. And what spad is doing….

• Gomorrah on Jan 24, 2017 at 2:38 pm

Excellent. Please do so for everyone’s safety and please apply the action equally for all festivals throughout the year.

• Bernard on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:25 am

Great decision . Also , don’t forget to throw away the keys. Let them rot in prison .