India big on EVs – no petrol/diesel car on sale by 2030

The country with the second-largest population in the world is considering going towards an all-electric vehicle fleet by 2030, with the goal of reducing the country’s fuel imports as well as running costs of vehicles, according to The Times of India.

“We are going to introduce electric vehicles in a very big way. We are going to make electric vehicles self-sufficient like UJALA. The idea is that by 2030, not a single petrol or diesel car should be sold in the country,” Said power minister Piyush Goyal.

The Indian government supported the nation’s largest car maker, Maruti, which led to the development of the nation’s automotive industry, the minister said. He added that the Ministry of Heavy Industries are working on a policy for the promotion of electric vehicles, citing cost as a driving factor. People are more likely to buy EVs when they are cost-effective, he said.

Speaking to the International Business Times, Goyal said he wants the Indian electric car industry to be “driven by demand, and not subsidy,” saying that the industry would need two to three years of hand-holding by the government, after which EVs will start to pay for themselves.

To get the move started, the Indian government is considering “lower-cost financing or some sort of GST support,” according to Goyal, although the industry will no longer receive government aid after the initial two to three-year period. “We would love to see the electric vehicle industry run on its own,” he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• centurion on May 05, 2017 at 1:35 pm

nice talking, infrastructure how

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Albert Chan on May 05, 2017 at 8:25 pm

which infrastructure u are talking about? Road network? Millions of cars are already on the road in India! So what is the problem in replacing those with EV?

• Sama L00 on May 08, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Get everyone clean water first! When comes to talk big no action, India is the few countries only who can outperform Malaysia.

• First and foremost – Build more toilet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • Bernard on May 05, 2017 at 1:38 pm

I think first India needs to ensure that people follow traffic rules, clean up the filth on the roads before embarking on this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • Muhd Hassan on May 05, 2017 at 3:34 pm

India can achieve this cause they work hard. they don’t have 100 meetings minum teh dan makan karipap and nothing comes out of it.

Both our national car makers also don’t even have Hybrid, which is 10 yrs old technology. Don’t even talk about EV or PHEV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
      • Lol….you are a funny idiot. You are confusing India with China. If you want to insult our government at least try not to be too stupid about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
        • Halim DS on May 05, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Nord, India is already the top 10 global economies and according to CNN, at their current growth rate of nearly 9% annually, they will be the top 3 economy in the world, along with China by 2030. As a Malay, i have to say “jangan borak kosong”. We have to realise that in the future, it will be another global domination by China and India in the future of trade, like how they did all the way up to the 15th century. With their current investments in alternate energy sources (the largest in the world after China), we have to listen when they talk, as they are serious about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Mikey on May 06, 2017 at 10:42 am

Congratulation Nord for insulting both Great nation(India & China) at one go. What have they done 2 deserved your bashing??!

• Face the fact, India will never be like China.
          China make own decision, India has to listen to USA just like Japan and Korea. like it or not USA will control their development.
          China complete the aircraft carrier building in 4 years.
          India after building the aircraft carrier for 9 years, less than half way completion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 34
          • Halim DD on May 06, 2017 at 10:46 pm

John, what credentials do you have to come up with such a statement? Only India and China have the people and the resources in this world to be whatever they want to be. Accept it. Thats the future of the world. You can’t decide for them.

• TunTanSri on May 06, 2017 at 10:48 pm

India listens to the US? You obviously dont know the difference between diplomacy and political directiom

• Bernard on May 07, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Listen to USA….good:)

• Tauke Shah on May 08, 2017 at 11:55 am

Listen to USA is a soft word, in actual it is control by USA.

• Madani on May 05, 2017 at 1:52 pm

We’re beginning to see a gradual shift to EVs as these have proven to be a practical solution to pollution while also helping drivers to save cost on fuel and maintenance and providing a green option in transportation.

• EV is still a crappy technology. Very expensive to build and to maintain. Only the rich people who want to show off and ignorant idiots will buy an EV car today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • rosdi on May 05, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Mana Proton Electron?…. Geddit?

• Get stuck in democracy bureaucracy for 20 years than becomes law in 2050.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Well done India. Being ambitious with EV will serve U well in the long run. That is also one of the way to show India cared for the environment. Cheers to less smoke City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Kariland can commit to real caring for environ by reducing the number of major emitter for methane (greenhouse gas). Yes, the 4 legged herbivore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Mikey on May 06, 2017 at 7:29 pm

There is a FINE Line between Bashing & Insulting. U have cross the line this time. What has Kariland & 4 legged herbivore done 2 deserve your insult ??!

• Dats the problem with MY bashers. If u use logic and google “major methane emitter” u wud find the 4 legged herbivore is by far the major contributor. I din say that, google did. If u feels insulted, then tough. Live with facts, boy.

• Mikey on May 08, 2017 at 7:04 pm

In terms of percentage Of Methane Emissions, India is NOT the top Emitter or producer.
            That title goes to US, followed by the UK, Germany, Poland, Australia, China, USSR & Czechoslovakia.

• Yeah right. So your poverty problem first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • Facebook on May 05, 2017 at 3:20 pm

talk is cheap… by 2030 to ceased the sales of petrol driven vehicles… by 2030, India can’t even solve it’s poverty…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Pakisia on May 06, 2017 at 11:54 am

Targeting lesser than 0.001 percentage of India population has access to EV