DBKL considering scrapping parking bays in city buildings to discourage car use, reduce congestion

Congestion in the city; how to deal with it? The Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) is looking at ways to disallow parking bays in city buildings in an effort to reduce traffic and encourage city folks to use public transportation, The Sun reports.

The policy of not having parking bays in a building has become a trend of a developed city, and Kuala Lumpur should follow, Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said, citing major cities in developed countries as example.

“Look at what’s happening in Tokyo, Hong Kong, Melbourne, London, the building style or redevelopment has changed and these building are not even allowed to build a carpark.

“They are trying to deter the people from using cars in the city and this are among the things that we are looking at so that we can be on par with the greatest cities in the world,” Tengku Adnan said when launching the 2017 Kuala Lumpur City Community Development Strata Seminar yesterday.

He added that rapid urbanisation in KL has changed the intensity and the pattern of land use in the city, and city residents and project developers must adapt to a vertical style building development to save space. “This trend has become a norm that KLites need to adapt to. They need to accept this fact and change their old mentality to a modern metropolis lifestyle,” he said.

For the no parking scenario to work, KL needs to have good public transport infrastructure, and Tengku Adnan said Putrajaya is doing its best to provide the best facilities “I would like to say sorry because at the moment there’s a lot of congestion, a lot of potholes all over the city and there’s a lot of things that needs to be upgraded,” he said.

“But we cannot address this issue right now because there’s MRT construction, new highways under construction and also new roads and there’s a lot of development in certain places. This has caused city dwellers to feel inconvenient, but please bear with us and once all these projects is completed, we will not face such problems anymore,” he declared.

The scrapping of city parking is not a new idea. It was mooted two years ago alongside imposing Singapore ERP-style congestion charges for private vehicles entering the city.

What the minister said is right – to be an advanced city, we’ll need good public transport (the full MRT Line 1 will open soon and Line 2 is now under construction) and a mindset change in urban dwellers who are so used to and/or in love with their cars that they won’t consider taking the train and walking short distances to and from the office.

Sometimes, going for lunch around the block involves a car, but you’ll still hear grumbles about “no parking” and “so jam” while ignoring that we contributed to the congestion. Klang Valley residents, what’s your views on this?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Smoking pot fella. First want to ban kapchai, now ban parking bay for cars… means encourage us to use kapchai?? Or use the already packed like sardines LRT. Crazy la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 16
    • Brilliant move by our Government. We must abide by this and support this move. Abolish all car spaces in buildings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 70
      • agent_nur67 on May 17, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Sapot sapott no congestion..KL Sentral, KLCC, Pavilion parking.
        Abolish all NOW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • If everyone sapot Gov like how we sapot P1( By giving billions), we can be a developed nation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
          • Tricycle on May 17, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Deswai everyone prefer alternatif like Toyota & Honda but not P1. ( After donating billions)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • Sama L00 on May 17, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Why not cut all water supply to KL so no one can survive in KL, then they won’t come to the city, no more congestion.
            Does DBKL have a gram of common sense in their brain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 15
          • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 3:26 pm

Same otak udang still asking people to support P1 and thinking we can be developed nation

• nazee on May 17, 2017 at 3:27 pm

if this deluded fella can show us how he survive and work car free for one year i will gladly follow. period.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Have you ever seen a single Minister take public transport? All go in fancy big cars with 10 cars following them. Just for 1 meeting got big convoy.

Ministers must show example first. Go see in the UK, even Ministers and Judges travel by London Underground Tube.

Time for Ministers and even head of departments start taking MRT. Even normal head of department also nowadays got siren

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
          • Amekau on May 17, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Nanti they gladly pakai helikopter Uber

• John otak udang on May 17, 2017 at 1:48 pm

I do agree with john.
        Leading by example.
        It should start from ministers, gomen and DBKL.
        1. Remove all DBKL car and suv
        2. All govt activity in kl must used public transport.
        3. No more motorcade for vip@vvip. Used public transport together with their escort.

Plus get rid showroom car in city center e.g. merc, jlr, bmw.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
        • Oldskoool on May 17, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Bring back Elyas Omar. Terbaik

• Better bring back Maria Ozawa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 3:25 pm

Only a fool will ask Maria Ozawa to be Mayor. Really otak udang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • john otak batu on May 17, 2017 at 2:48 pm

I hate to say this but yes. Why don’t we start from Menara DBKL first, then slowly expand to other buildings stage by stage.
          Ku Nan and his DBKL employees must show the KLites that this plan is possible and most importantly “effective”.

If they can do it, we KLites have no excuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
          • Robinhood on May 17, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Yes, start with the minister. Kepimpinan Melalui Teladan. Please take public transport to the city and rakyat will have no excuse not to follow. Yes, no carpark for DBKL buildings too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Diesel-Power!!! on May 17, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Want to reduce congestion simple:
          1. Min. 20% down-payment for new car.
          2. Max loan 7yrs.
          3. Scrap 20yrs old vehicle.
          4. Minimum new car price rm50k.
          5. Increase back roadtax for below 1600cc.
          6. City entry fee like Singapore.

If implemented, gov can earn money, safer vehicle on the road,only those can afford can drive, less jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Common sense on May 18, 2017 at 8:11 am

What a stupid comment. First of, Singapore introduced those rules for exactly what you just mentioned – To stop congestion in their small sized country.
            Now, do you think they would do such a thing if they were Malaysia’s size? What will be the purpose?
            Can you imagine people from rural areas , etc. having to pay those kind of sums for a car? In a country where the infrastructure is nothing like Singapore’s?
            People like you who have lost touch with reality shouldn’t be given any chance to make decisions for others.

• Stupid lah u, why ban everyone when the congestion mostly occur in city. My place seldom jam, so dont make such stupid comment. I believe u can only afford a bike and jealous to people who owning a car.

• Mikey on May 17, 2017 at 4:52 pm

U better ask ALL our ministers 2 take LRT/MRT B4 U speak again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Diesel-Power!!! on May 18, 2017 at 2:50 pm

To Common Sense,
          Since you are so smart, can you let me know why during early 90’s or before when:
          1.Car loan were even stricter and less than 7rs.
          2.1600cc roadtax was RM200+
          How did the rural people travel?

I used to take & change buses from Cheras to Subang to study, and i dun find any issue.
          Why do the people now got issue when we have KTM/LRT/MRT/BUS/BRT?

And what I commented earlier was a suggestion and related to the topic, but not like your irrational comment of personal attack that only show your low level of manner.

The reality is now congestion is everywhere, something need to be done to lessen the problem. So please provide some solution if you think u r the smartest.

And for the kid who think i only ride a bike, fyi, i dun like or ride any bike. Car is only option for travel.tq

• Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 9:53 pm

1) Thanks 4 calling me Smart
            2) I was replying 2 john but Diesel-Power!!! Seriously!!!
            3) What irrational comment of personal attack are U yapping about!?
            4) Who ask U about your past?
            5) Why are U talking Car loan & Road Tax here?
            6) Which kid think U ride a bike & who cares what U are riding??

I think U got the wrong guy & U are in the wrong forum. Bye bye.

• Diesel-Power!!! on May 21, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Mikey, my replied was directed to CommonSense, not u.Tq.

• Ah Kow on May 17, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Add more buses
      Improve bus frequency
      Expand bus network
      Improve and fix sidewalk
      Expand more pedestrian walkway
      Add more bicycle lanes
      Expand Monorail/LRT/MRT network
      Monorail/LRT/MRT top notch service

By all means go ahead and ban whatever parking spot available in buildings if we have succeeded all the above mention.

I fully support for a better and greener KL
      #wawasan2020 #tn50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • Ah Kow on May 17, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Forgot to mention, we have to reduce our crime rate too before implementing this. Robbery and rape case is more frequent that RapidKL bus.

And not to forget, covered sidewalks/walkways. Malaysia’s weather is unpredictable.

• klguy on May 17, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Awesome plans but beyond their brain CPU capabilities.

• Their brain is more like 286 computers. Not even Pentium yet.

• If we have public transport like HK, Tokyo then it’s ok. Public transport here like sh*t, want to reduce parking??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 11:10 am

So shameful. So so shameful. Our Ministers must show by example first before they ask us to us public transport.

Now, they all use outriders and affect morning traffic. Even banduan also got outriders every morning halting federal highway traffic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • Prawnbrain on May 17, 2017 at 11:32 am

“Look at what’s happening in Tokyo, Hong Kong, Melbourne, London, the building style or redevelopment has changed and these building are not even allowed to build a carpark.”
      Yes, please in the meantime DON’T FORGET to also look at the public transportation before making the proposal to be logical !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • Manual Swift Sporter on May 17, 2017 at 12:04 pm

I’ve stayed in Melbourne for 8 years. Car free apartments are part of a development plan, where the council fully equip the area with more than adequate car free amenities (car and bike sharing programs, bus connectivity, tram and train stations, pedestals that you could actually walk on without getting robbed, taxi stands, micro-suburbs with commercial facilities, to name a few), AND THEN allow the implementation of car free buildings. Which never made sense to me, cos council could have saved a bundle by just banning cars and jailing those who complain they can’t go to work. Can’t these bloody welchers just pay for motorcade escorts or move their office to Putrajaya or something? Sienz so easy nia.

• oh mak lu on May 17, 2017 at 1:30 pm

if develop the whole country evenly, no need for everyone from the whole country to crash and work in KL in the first place. Melbourne by comparison is equivalent to working in Ipoh.

• Putrajaya is trying their best to help the rakyat. I hardly see anymore potholes. So, they are already doing a good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 45
        • Tarakbaca on May 17, 2017 at 12:58 pm

Sini pasai Kuala Lumpur, macai sesat kat Putrajaya. haizzz Owaze

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on May 17, 2017 at 11:35 am

Larangan kapcai masuk KL, bila start YB? Lama tunggu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • safety 1st on May 17, 2017 at 12:01 pm

when comparing to tokyo melbourne n london, not only their public transport is top notch, they also provide ample and clean pedestrian walkway all over the town so that people can walk in safe and clean environment. can you walk safely and in a clean environment from ampang park to klcc? no right, there are no continuous pedestrian walk, and not only that the road side is filth with dust and sand and when the vehicle pass by, our office attire will get dirty from the dust and sand. the buses and lories emitting black smoke passing by us by the time we reach klcc, we have to take taxi home to change our clothes….you can implement the policy only when you can walk from ampang point to klcc to bukit bintang and to jalan tar with your office attire on. if you can do that and get back to work without being smelly from you sweat and dirt from the street then we will support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Everyone must keep an iron. Every morning got to iron clothes at office

• Johnson Amigo on May 17, 2017 at 2:56 pm

weather so hot how to walk my friend, LRT station mostly no aircond…most need walk staircase, no money build escalator…not friendly design..

• oh mak lu on May 17, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Not to mention it works there also due to cool weather and parking your car in the city cost equivalent of over RM100 per day.

• Grab Driver on May 17, 2017 at 10:43 am

Great for Uber and Grab drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • pengayuhbasikal on May 17, 2017 at 10:50 am

gazette certain road to bus ,taxi , pos , courier , delivery only eg…for the whole length of jalan TAR and Jalan Raja Laut. Start small and expand later.

• foxtrot on May 17, 2017 at 1:26 pm

my office nearby Sogo. Selfish motorists always double parking their motorcycles, cars and even lorries especially during peak hours and mid Friday noon.

• Bernard on May 17, 2017 at 10:54 am

Our public transport system will take another 20 years to be efficient. Until then cars are a necessity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Bro, who are we kidding….comparing ourselves to Tokyo , Melbourne,London…..

Every time want to look at other developed countries, but our infrastructure not even close at all…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 11:12 am

If want to compare with other countries, let us also have car prices like other countries and also their pay packet.

Pandai pandai selective when comparing with other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • passion on May 17, 2017 at 10:57 am

as usual no action talk only – NATO!

• My2cent on May 17, 2017 at 11:01 am

One of good idea to reduce the congestion but need to think of for families who travelling to KL for leisure. Its not really convenient to go by public transportation especially when they have kids. My2cent

• Duhhhh obviously on May 17, 2017 at 11:05 am

On paper, definitely spot on.

However, saying it right DOESN’T make it right – what are the realistic and do-able actions at this present and near future timing?

Let’s be real:
    Reduce congestion = ppl use public transport = excellent public transport. That’s all well-said by Mr Minister.

But the problem is, we are only STARTING to build the public transports now, more specifically trains! And what that brings about is the challenge of SPACE.

So Mr Minister, how do you overcome space when clearly the township planning is such a failure?

Answer to this before babbling the facts which the blind men knows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 11:08 am

Most important is our Ministers themselves must show example and take the MRT. I have never seen a Minister do that. In the UK for instance, you can see a full Minister taking the London Underground tube everyday to work. And he goes about without any bodyguards, convoy of outriders and convoy of pembodeks.

Can we have out Ministers first show the example of using public transport first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • Like it or not that will be the future direction.

The masses will have to get used to the idea. The government has spend billions on MRT/LRT/BRT and improve infrastructures in the city (covered walkways between KLCC to Bukit Bintang for example).

The move by DBKL is therefore, timely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 26
    • timely? have u been to tokyo etc.? i’ve lived in tokyo for about 1 year, they have more than 50 lines of trains (kl only 3?), rarely delay or service disruption, very good bus and taxi services etc. basically i can live there without a car. kl have not even quarter of that plus frequent service disruption/delay and the gomen want to scrap parking space? stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Hailut on May 17, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Ambitious plan, ridiculous timing. The coming election though is timely. No need to think twice on which party to vote for!

• applegreen on May 17, 2017 at 11:11 am

How about menteri-menteri sekalian pergi ke parlimen using public transport? Leader start rakyat folo la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Rodney on May 17, 2017 at 11:23 am

Ban kapchai. They dont pay tax or toll. Such a public nuisance. Otherwise we shall remain a 3rd world country forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • we do pay taxes and our insurance is as expensive as owning a car. don’t believe it? try own one. Toll? With our life at risk during riding at the highway i think it’s not relevant to pay toll since so many asshole minded kiasu driver on the road like you that keep blaming motorcyclist all the time for causing accident. – Owner of 2 superbikes and MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • do you think we all kapchai owner dont have car? guess what if we all opt for car how long the traffic jam will be?

• azhar on May 17, 2017 at 11:25 am

baru ada 1 line MRT dah perasan negara maju..improve kan lagi public transport laaaa..puuuiiii

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • azrai on May 17, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Syukur negara aman dan maju.

• Ahmad on May 17, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Negara aman? Kamu ada tengok dewan rakyat tak? Baling kerusi punya tau.

Maju? Baru ada satu MRT je, sementara negara Singa kat bawah lama lama dah ada 5 lebih MRT walaupun negara kecik.

• Have they not heard about UK having problems to keep their shops around city centres open? This is because people rather go to out of town shopping centres where they can park.

If they do this in Malaysia, I forsee only malls and outlet park like Mitsui/JPO will strive. City centre will be like a ghost town.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on May 17, 2017 at 11:39 am

They should scrapping all parking lots at Menara DBKL first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Great idea but for heaven’s sake, ensure that we have adequate infrastructure in place that is conducive for the public to take public transport. At the current rate, our public transport is ridiculous and wholly inadequate!

• Bruce on May 17, 2017 at 11:58 am

Improve the public transport first before implementing such ideas. Not all areas is connected to LRT. The parkings at the stations are usually not enough. It will be very inconvenient for people that do not have access to LRT stations. Here they always like to implementing things without proper survey or understanding of the people’s problem.

• What safety? on May 17, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Remember, those developed cities not just have efficient public transport, their public transport coverage also very extensive and cover almost all places in the city. Do these first for our public transportation: very extensive coverage, high frequency, short waiting time, punctual, cheap fares, and also a journey planner website or apps (to track the arrival time of bus or train, and also for automatically plan routes to go anywhere in and out of the city using public transport). After you provide us with all these, then I wouldn’t care if you want to ban parking, exercise congestion charge, raise parking rates or whatsoever.

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2017 at 12:08 pm

I knew it since day 1 that buying a helicopter is the best. kapchai and cars will get ban into entering the city.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 17, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Teleport to work. Beam me up Scotty!

Or just not work or shop/eat in DBKL area. Still got Selangor, Putrajaya, etc.

• C. P. MOHAN on May 17, 2017 at 12:23 pm

I presume from the article that the issue is reducing traffic congestion, but the solution is eliminate or reduce parking lots. What “brilliance” why didn’t I think of that instead of following the bees and flowers.

• kadajawi on May 17, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Their brilliance is way beyond us common peons…or they simply detached from our hard reality.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 17, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Singapore has the easiest solution. Charge ERP in downtown & raise parking charges. Ensure adequate public transport service. This politician is well known for spewing gutter from his mouth, the same arrogant ignorant politician who wants to cut down green lung in TTDI Kiara Park so that developers can build condos & highway.

• Andrekua on May 17, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Taxi drivers will be jumping in joy if this go through. They will be lining up at every building with their lansi face.

• oh mak lu on May 17, 2017 at 1:20 pm

On par with the world? How about paying us salary on par with the world as well?

• How if they build apartment or condo in the city?
    Without parking means who will buy that property?
    Malaysian Ministers should be applaused for always talking sense without thinking about the bigger picture.

• tokmoh. on May 17, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Some people work at graveyard shift, lrt edi tutup at 12am. So no choice, must use car/bike.

Want implement, sure, make lrt, komuter, rapid bus all run 24 hours. Even London don’t have 24 hours for all public transport, selected bus routes only.

Typical bodoh minister, only think of ways to inconvenient people with no alternatives at all.

• Fix the safety of people walking around first

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 17, 2017 at 2:27 pm

when the minister stop using car. we also follow ok?

• Bodoh on May 17, 2017 at 2:29 pm

This is a very bodoh comment. Not having car parks will mean building owners and developers will be able to maximise its profit from the plot of land without assigning any parking lots that will benefit the public and for public to use. Other countries where buildings do not have parkings are places where they have fantastic infra for walking and great public transport. Whereas in Malaysia, we have unpredictable weather, insufficient sheltered walkways, bad security so Mat Rempits will have good business operating as snatch thieves. Those countries that he mentioned also have building dedicated as parkings only. This proposal is half baked, not thought through and very very stupid.

• thepolygonal on May 17, 2017 at 2:29 pm

Parking fees in private buildings goes to private sector mah. Kalau pakai LRT, money goes to public transport sector mah. You think really want to ease congestion or more to force people pakai public transport?

• Syoiknya Suka Syoik Sendiri on May 17, 2017 at 2:33 pm

Just look at the parking around DBKL building itself. Double parking, illegal parking, and lack of parking for public when dealing with officials, high parking rate, etc….

Before look so far as Tokyo and syoik-syoik sendiri, please look at your own backyard and problem, okeh??

• If dun like stay here, Malaysians can always move to Tokyo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Mikey on May 17, 2017 at 4:59 pm

I suggest U move 2 Tokyo 1st & learn how Japanese make their transport system works so efficiently B4 commenting.

• paul walker on May 17, 2017 at 2:50 pm

As my name suggest, i walk, and compared to those other cities mentioned, KL city isn’t very pedestrian friendly. When in those other cities, i’m ok being myself, but when in KL, i’m thinking of changing my name to Paul Driver.

• This bugger has been approving high-density commercial and residential buildings at a congested area without sufficient allocated car park and traffic control.

In the current situation, he’s DBKL revenue has been increasing dramatically due to summonses for the double park, illegal park and RM1/hour road side park. With this stupid idea he’s only generating more revenue for himself, and burden to the people. Well done job i must say !

• Hailutt on May 17, 2017 at 3:06 pm

not a bad idea to compare ourselves with likes of tokyo or hk. Besides carpark provisions we should look into matching our salary and standards of living to likes of tokyo or hk.

• Hailutt on May 17, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Tokyo got mrt stations every few hundred meters. Here can or not?

• Dong Gor on May 17, 2017 at 3:15 pm

What’s the road tax for if highway need pay toll, and can’t drive in/to the city? Before propose anything please complete the full assessment from all aspects. Don’t execute B today, another party complaint C, and we revert to A. Good example is the petrol price where stations are free to sell at any price below the ceiling price. PUI!!!

• Hailutt on May 17, 2017 at 3:27 pm

KL ppl like to drive their cars and park at the roadside regardless of whether there is carpark in the building or mrt station beside. Try harder pls! PUI!!

• Dong Gor on May 17, 2017 at 3:43 pm

It’s obviously wrong planning with number of available VS required car parks in the commercial area. Similarly with LDP…same size of road but more intersections allowed to branch in from now and then…and we are told to wake up earlier to work like 5am? And yes, full toll price. Please do proper planning and proposals when awake. Pui!

• Tolol on May 17, 2017 at 4:37 pm

A better idea is to scrap the government for their stupidity.

• iRobot on May 17, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Like Proton, DBKL is also manage by ‘mudah lupa’ punya people.

• Raja Bomoh Petrol on May 17, 2017 at 6:21 pm

DBKL really out of idea, aint it??

• normal_user on May 17, 2017 at 7:11 pm

the minister is comparing with advanced countries with excellent public transport service & transparency. The most important difference however is our climate. you see, Malaysians are clearly not lazy to walk around. We pedestrians can easily get drenched with sweat & odor especially when our walkways are not covered (not safe for crossings too). Its humid here.. U can walk for miles in Toronto, Paris or Tokyo without sweating much due to their dry weather.

At least try emulate from singapore. many coverage paths and trees as shelters

• This move only penalize the lower and middle income group. Rich people always have Valet parking.

Why not start with these :

1. Government stop giving cars to its employees, take back all those Perdana from government servants.This include ministers .
    2. All government offices cannot reserve parking for their own staff especially Jabatan Imigresen in Jalan Duta ( which falls under DBKL’s territory). Tell your staff to stop bringing their own vehicles and use public transport.
    3. All government office hours/working hours in KL change to 10am to 7pm to reduce congestion so that it does not clash with the private sector workers which mostly start work at 8.30am or 9am and go home at 5.30pm or 6pm.

• Does that include PWTC? All the perhimpunan will be attended with public transport?

• Pen island on May 17, 2017 at 10:46 pm

Increase petrol to RM5000/litre, no car on road

• Agreeviable on May 18, 2017 at 8:30 am

Not a bad idea.
    Just don’t force us. If want KLites to use, make sure you study in detail what makes those other countries’ system a success and if it would work here. Their level of efficiency is so damn high it makes people WANT to use public transport. Not forced to use.

• Change the minister

• Janggut on May 18, 2017 at 9:17 am

There are several options to improve traffic in urban areas. I believe, everything has their own pros and cons. The best approach would take a wholistic view of the situation and not to take just one option and think that it is the solution. For example, one can limit cars in the city centre but one has to provide effective mass transportation, park & ride, e-hailing services and providing incentives for the ploriferation of the use of bicycles and small electric scooters to counter overuse of private vehicles. Again, this will not be achieved overnight but has to go through a comprehensive and well thought plan