Mercedes-Benz Services Malaysia unveils Lease2Go financing scheme – an alternative to the conventional

For those who are keen to use a Mercedes-Benz, but do not want to be tied down by traditional ownership commitments, Mercedes-Benz Services Malaysia (MBSM) now offers a new, zero downpayment financing solution, ‘Lease2Go’.

The operating lease option not only allows prospective customers to drive their preferred Mercedes-Benz models, it also allows them to upgrade to the latest models in the future. Customers will be able to customise their lease packages by selecting a preferred lease tenure (one to four years) and anticipated mileage usage (20,000, 25,000 or 30,000 km) per year.

Furthermore, costs such as the vehicle’s insurance premium and road tax are all included into the fixed monthly lease with Lease2Go. Tyre and rim coverage as well as 24/7 roadside assistance are also part of the package to provide further peace-of-mind ownership. Accounting-wise, the car legally belongs to the leasing company thus it remains off the books of the company that is leasing the car.

Those who are interested in the Lease2Go scheme will need to provide a two-month security deposit (refundable) and a one-month lease rental upfront. After that, they will only need to pay the monthly lease amount for the period the car is used, as stipulated in the agreed lease tenure. At the end of the lease period, the car will be returned, and customers can opt to upgrade to another Mercedes-Benz model of their choosing. Keep in mind that servicing costs will be borne by the customer.

“Mercedes-Benz Services Malaysia is constantly developing new ways to translate our customers’ needs into relevant and innovative financing solutions. Lease2Go is another perfect example of innovative and flexible solutions we offer customers in Malaysia. When you think of Lease2Go, think simplicity. We are removing all the unnecessary ownership commitments to give our customers peace of mind, and make it as easy as ever to enjoy driving and upgrading their Mercedes-Benz cars,” said Mike Ponnaz, managing director of MBSM.

“By developing a financing solution focused on usership, we have created another easy way for our customers to fully immerse themselves in the Mercedes-Benz experience. The zero commitment of ownership feature is also an advantage, particularly for companies, as it translates into an off-balance sheet item. Customers are also protected against the risk of asset depreciation and the hassle of disposing their vehicles,” Ponnaz highlighted.

For more information, you can click here to visit the Lease2Go info page.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• The Saint on Jul 10, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Is the scheduled maintenance included in the lease?

I wonder how much it cost monthly to lease a 350k Mercedes?

Leasing is finally here…..interesting…..

• The Devil on Jul 10, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Leasing will never work here. Due to taxes on car, prices are inflation artificially hence not representative of market value. Depreciation is magnified hence no attractive leasing price.

Either buy used/pre-owned to offset the depreciation a little
      OR just buy new if money is no object

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Leasing is ekceli used to hedge against depreciation for car. This works really well for corporate lease, which is now extended to individual buyers. Ur depreciation is only during the retention period of the car until lease expire, not whole lifetime of car. When lease is up, just upgrade and topup the diff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Abdul Latiff on Jul 10, 2017 at 9:19 pm

agree with thedevil. Buy used. john is wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • Pls elaborate n ur statement. a counter-argument is onli as gud as whats written.

• John Multiple Dupes on Jul 10, 2017 at 10:44 pm

how to trust fake news spreader?

• Smackdown on Jul 11, 2017 at 12:09 am

Corporation usually abuse this kind of leases, some clever accounting behind the scenes.

For the individual buyers, lease doesn’t offer much more than conventional financing. What’s happening is essential that buyer is paying for that depreciation of the car. The depreciation of a Benz in the first 3 years is horrendous. Keep changing your Benz to the latest and greatest models every time the lease ends is not a sound financial advise.

Moral of the story, there is no free lunches. Buy what you can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • IMO this is to attract mid-income buyers to own a Mercedes.
            (maybe slightly towards the higher side, eg:Camry,Teana,Mazda6,Accord,406 etc owners)
            This Lease2Go is obviously a marketing technique to make these mid-income buyers addicted to luxury cars.
            Those who cannot afford or don’t like taking the risk of owning a luxury can tryout this Lease2Go scheme, since it is “Flexible”.

But the trick here is this, once you drive a Merc, most of you would feel uncomfortable(not used to it) downgrading to a cheaper car the moment your finances are not healthy. Worse would even feel embarrassed to downgrade after you have flash your fancy Mercedes to your friends and family (if you’re not that kind of person, good for you).
            At the end of the day, this scheme will strongly motivate you to own a Merc after you have leased.
            If this scheme DOES WORK, other brands will follow. Probably would turn out well in Malaysia since we care so much about RV.

• The Angel on Jul 11, 2017 at 8:11 am

Let’s see how it goes in the near future. No use looking at your empty comments, which is mainly base on your opinion.

• Teksi Drebar on Jul 12, 2017 at 10:26 pm

This is nothing new however. I believe Toyota had been there before with their Toyota leasing many years back. I have no idea if they are still providing this.

• Actually it can work. Not necessary for Malaysians, but for Expats living in Malaysia, this is a very interesting option. For the moment the deals are expensive, but when competition will come, these deals will become cheap and offered for other brands too.

• BLT_Club on Jul 10, 2017 at 6:17 pm

“Keep in mind that servicing costs will be borne by the customer.” Clearly stated in the article. Do you need your Mummy to wash your backside after your take a dump too?

• no it is not included

• Bimmersakti on Jul 10, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Umm so next time if you drive a Mercedes people will awkwardly ask you, “is that lease?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Ruslan Bahari on Jul 10, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Betui…sebilangan abang “Biar papa asal bergaya”, Lepas raya tarek keta.

• 12yrsold on Jul 11, 2017 at 8:48 am

Leasing or owning one, U are still paying for it. There is NO free lunch in this world.

• Everyone can Merc soon.

• Any link to details?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 10, 2017 at 3:15 pm

In UK and in Europe, everybody use lease to buy their cars. It is called fleet leasing. You use, then after few years, just throw away with no commitments

My bro in the UK pays only 198 pounds per month for his brand new Mercedes C200. Lease is 36 months. Initial payment is 1500 pounds. Per annum, maximum is 10,000 miles he is allowed to drive.

So he pays 1500 pounds + 198 pounds x36 months. Then he returns the car. No commitments.

Can Malaysia also have such a scheme?

On a one to one basis, can we Malaysians also drive a brand new Mercedes C200 for RM198 per month with RM1500 initial payment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 31
    • U got confused between private leasing (as in article) and fleet leasing. Fleets has alwiz been around and must register under company and must be more than 1 car or continuance exchange after old car reached certain years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 45
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 10, 2017 at 6:56 pm

Nope I am not confused. My bro uses private leasing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Show us the website link showing such an offer for the c200 in the UK. We’re waiting toby.

• Dear Brother. This is very common and in fact this was not started by Mercedes. During the 90’s it existed in France when I used to live there, and I think it existed even before that time. You lease a car use it for a given period and return it. I think this should be the best way of using the car for all expatriates living in Malaysia, or in any country. Now let us see what is the deal Merc is offering. I believe the deal will not be so cheap. But once BMW, Volks Wagen, Peugeot, Ford, KIA and others will start leasing, the deals will become more user like.

• Sumpit on Jul 11, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Dear Khan, the rate konta konto claims his bro is leasing the merc in the UK is illogical. Merc c class 3 yr leases run from 380-420 pounds a month.

• On the rate I agree with you. 200 euros is more likely for Peugeot 208 rather Mercedes. For ercedes it would be around 350 or more

• Now 1st u say ur bro uses fleet leasing, then now u say ur bro uses private leasing. So mana betui ni? Next u gonna say ur “bro” is leasing whole BMW showroom kah?
          Too confused cuz of Happy House medicine?

• Sim dobby on Jul 11, 2017 at 1:38 pm

He will say his bro works for sime darby and leases the bmw in the UK as a sime darby staff so that BMW malaysia can cheat the sales number. Go figure.

• UK scheme works because the cars are bluddy CHEAP there.
      In MY, impossible.

Latest lease contract: KIA sorento

36 mths lease at RM4800/mth (including insurance & PA)
      36 x 4800 = RM172,800
      worth it?

• Loh Vli on Jul 10, 2017 at 3:29 pm

How does it work.? Who can we call or contact for more detail.?

• Leafable on Jul 10, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Yes finally. We have a winner scheme for no owning a depreciating asset. No RV to worry about.

• Kittfoxx on Jul 10, 2017 at 3:56 pm

pm price pls

• thepolygonal on Jul 10, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Should be cheaper than actually buying and owning the thing right? If not doesn’t make sense. Wait… like house, renting is cheaper up front but it’s not your house in the end. Ok… get it.

• A house and a car is different. Houses gain value over time hence owning a house is better than renting it. Cars loose value and a lot of value in case it is Mercedes, hence leasing is a better option than buying.

• Ah Jim on Jul 10, 2017 at 4:16 pm

leasing option=RM6K-RM7K for C180 W205 is quite ______

• centurion on Jul 10, 2017 at 5:55 pm

leasing will not work in Malaysia

• Who knows. I think it will work when more companies will offer it at competitive rates

• Keith on Jul 10, 2017 at 6:34 pm

All myvi and saga owner no need dream to drive Merz la. Continue with your job and tanam jagung

• Interesting but the website does not show the monthly lease and which model is available.

• orix already offer leasing ^^

• Wow … iphone can lease from telco and now Merc can lease from MBSM

Since insurance is under MBSM, anything that happens to the car wont impact my NCD

• What happens if we overuse the mileage?

• Guys,

If someone can check out the lease programee, post it here.

My personal experience on Coporate car leasing with Orreex.
    Gone through multiple new car leasing with the above mentioned company.
    Both schemes for 36 mths and 48 mths leasing. (> 10++ cars in total).
    For both 36 or 48 mths type, the full total installments for each car over the full 36 or 48 mths, is MORE than the full purchase price of the car. At the end of 3 or 4 years , you would have fully paid for the car. (each installment is including car rental, car insurance and personal insurance) Maintenance full covered in the lease. Accident / summons = leasee’s own cost.

If this MB scheme is anything similar, I would not touch it. Why? The car belongs to the Lessor after you have paid > 100% of the full car price.

Theese type of scheme only suitable for Foreign MNC whereby thier policy is not to purchase assets in the Country. (No fixed assets on the balance sheet. Financially , it is NOT good for a private individual ).
    YOU read the article, it said, good for Companies.

• Guys,

If someone can check out the lease program, post it here.

My personal experience on Corporate car leasing with Orreex.
    Gone through multiple new car leasing contracts with the above mentioned company.
    Both schemes for 36 mths and 48 mths leasing. (> 10++ cars in total).
    For both 36 or 48 mths type, the full total installments for each car over the full 36 or 48 mths, is MORE than the full purchase price of the car. At the end of 3 or 4 years , you would have fully paid for the car. (each installment is including car rental, car insurance and personal insurance) Maintenance full covered in the lease. Accident / summons = leasee’s own cost.

If this MB scheme is anything similar, I would not touch it.
    Why? The car belongs to the Lessor after you have paid > 100% of the full car price at the end of the contract.
    If early termination, you would have to pay almost 90% of the total of remaining lease contract value.

These types of scheme only suitable for Foreign MNC whereby their policy is not to purchase assets in the Country they operate in.
    No fixed assets on the balance sheet.
    Financially, it is NOT good for a private individual ).

• Svelte on Jul 11, 2017 at 11:18 am

leasing is a very common method of getting a car (almost 30% of all new car sales) in the us. its basically renting the car for the duration of the contract. monthly rates r low and affordable, one gets to drive a much better car. if u r driving lots of miles, its not worth it. anyone driving more than 30k km per year shouldn’t be looking at a lease as the rates will be high and its better to buy/finance.
    a car is a depreciating asset, why buy a depreciating asset? unless one is gonna be owning the car for 10 years or more or will be driving tons of miles with it. otherwise, leasing is the way of the future.
    the key to a lease is for the car to have a high resale value, thus the lease rate is low and attractive. anything with a 50% depreciation rate in 3 years is not gonna be offering a great lease rate.

• The Saint on Jul 11, 2017 at 2:51 pm

Just called my SA from HS Star, he told me no figures yet.

He did say that MBSM can offer lease option in Malaysia because of the high RV of Mercedes cars in Malaysia.

Looking forward to getting some figures soon.

• The Saint on Jul 12, 2017 at 11:45 am

Oska is right…

I just got the figures for leasing the c250 and the GLC250, which cost 288k and 326k respectively.

For 48 month lease and 20k km/year mileage, the monthly lease is 6,297 and 6,816 respectively. One would have fully paid for the car at the end of the 48 months but yet it does not belong to you.

Not going to work with that kind of figures…..

• just checked with MBSM on the rates. Looks like for a C200 or GLA200, 30km per year, 3 years lease is between RM6300-6600. This is insane, might as well just purchase it.