The all-new Perodua Myvi – watch the official launch live TODAY at 5:15pm, exclusively on paultan.org

Today is the day we welcome the all-new 2018 Perodua Myvi, and to make sure you can catch the reveal wherever you are, paultan.org is bringing to you an exclusive livestream of the launch event.

Exclusive live streaming of the launch of the new Myvi will be available at this website, our YouTube page, our Facebook page or Perodua’s Facebook page. Stay tuned as we give you a walk-around tour of the third-generation Myvi, and talk to key figures behind the new model. We are set to go at 5.15 pm today.

Needless to say, the Myvi has been the most popular car in Malaysia over the last ten years, with over one million units on the road since the first generation said hello to Malaysians more than a decade ago in May 2005. The five-door hatch topped the sales charts for nine consecutive years before passing the baton to the Axia in 2015.

The new Myvi made its public debut on November 9, albeit in a teaser box, and order books have been filling up since they opened. The new car is longer and wider than the outgoing Myvi, but with a lower roofline for a new silhouette. Exact dimensions have not been released, but Perodua claims a roomier cabin and an ‘8+1 flexible seating arrangement’, which alludes to nine layouts, not seats.

Five variants are on offer – 1.3 Standard G (MT), 1.3 Standard G (AT), 1.3 Premium X, 1.5 High and 1.5 Advance. The 1.3L and 1.5L engines offered are from the Toyota/Daihatsu NR family, with DOHC and Dual VVT-i. Base five-speed manual variant aside, all Myvis get a four-speed automatic gearbox.

It’s exactly the same engine line-up as the Toyota Avanza and not a carry-over from the previous Myvi. The 1.3L 1NR-VE is the same unit used in the Bezza 1.3L, and in the sedan it makes 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 1.5L 2NR-VE makes 105 PS at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm in the Avanza. The 1.5L NR engine also powers the Toyota Vios.

Eco Idle auto start-stop, first found in the Bezza, is available on all variants except the Standard G. That, along with the new engine and aerodynamic improvements, help contribute to a claimed fuel economy figure of 20.1 km/l for the 1.5L auto. By comparison, the outgoing Myvi 1.5L AT is rated at 15.4 km/l.

The new Myvi’s list of equipment is one the main talking points. All variants get LED headlamps with auto off and ‘Follow Me Home’ functions, keyless entry with push start, 60:40 split folding rear seats and reverse sensors. The 1.3L variants are fitted with four airbags (front and side), ABS, EBD and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) as standard.

Moving up to the 1.5L variants, you’ll gain 15-inch rims (one-inch larger), front and side skirting, a two-tone rear bumper, a rear spoiler and an integrated Touch n Go reader (insert you TnG card into the car and use Smart Tag lanes without the device). Both 1.5L variants also gain two more airbags for a total of six (front, side and curtain). Perodua is targeting a five-star rating from ASEAN NCAP.

But wait, there’s more. The range-topping 1.5 Advance gets the biggest surprise feature – Advance Safety Assist (ASA). This is a suite of safety features that includes Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC).

These are existing Daihatsu systems and they operate through a forward-facing camera on the top of the windscreen. PCW warns you when a collision is about to happen, PCB is low-speed autonomous emergency braking, while FDA alerts you when the car in front has moved on (in a traffic jam), saving you from being honked by the car behind. PMC detects an obstruction in front, and will not allow the car to accelerate. Full explanation on ASA and its functions here.

All the above improvements have been achieved without a price hike. The new Myvi range starts from RM44,300 for the 1.3 Standard G (MT), rising to RM46,300 for the 1.3 Standard G (AT), RM48,300 for the 1.3 Premium X and RM51,800 for the 1.5 High. The 1.5 Advance with ASA is yours for RM55,300. All prices are on-the-road excluding insurance. Gear Up accessories, including the just-introduced child seats, are available.

Buyers can choose from six colours, which are Lava Red, Mystical Purple, Glittering Silver, Ivory White, Granite Grey (1.5 only) and Peppermint Green (1.3 only). The latter two are new colours. Below is the spec sheet, in point form. Bear in mind that the specs we have here is a preliminary list, with plenty more to be revealed tomorrow.

Perodua Myvi 1.3 Standard G
RM44,300 (MT)
RM46,300 (AT)

Gets as standard:
1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine (1NR-VE)
1,329 cc, four-cylinder petrol
94 hp at 6,000 rpm, 121 Nm at 4,000 rpm (est. numbers from Bezza 1.3)
Five-speed manual or four-speed E-AT
LED headlamps with auto off and follow-me-home functions
Headlight levelling
LED tail lamps with light guides
Reverse sensors
14-inch alloy wheels
Keyless entry and start
Flexible 8+1 seating configurations
60:40 folding rear seats
Side pocket on front seat (for mobile phones)
Four airbags (dual front, front sides)
ABS, EBD
Electronic stability control (VSC)
Traction control (TRC)
Emergency Stop Signal (ESS)
Five-year/150,000 km warranty
Target five-star ASEAN NCAP crash test rating

Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X
RM48,300 (AT)

Adds on:
Eco-idle automatic start-stop system
Other exterior and interior trim (not released yet)

Colour options for Myvi 1.3:
Ivory White (solid)
Glittering Silver (metallic)
Mystical Purple (metallic)
Lava Red (metallic)
Peppermint Green (metallic) – new, exclusive to 1.3 models

Perodua Myvi 1.5 High
RM51,800 (AT)

Adds on:
1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine (2NR-VE)
1,496 cc, four-cylinder petrol
106 hp at 6,000 rpm, 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm (est. numbers from Vios 1.5)
Four-speed E-AT
Combined fuel economy of 20.1 km per litre
15-inch dual-tone alloy wheels
Front bodykit and side skirts (dual-tone)
Two-tone rear bumper
Rear spoiler
Built-in toll reader (integrated SmartTAG)
Six airbags (dual front, front sides, curtains)

Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance
RM55,300 (AT)

Adds on:
Advanced Safety Assist (ASA)
Pre-collision Warning
Pre-collision Braking (low-speed autonomous emergency braking)
Front Departure Alert
Pedal Misoperation Control

Colour options for Myvi 1.5:
Ivory White (solid)
Glittering Silver (metallic)
Mystical Purple (metallic)
Lava Red (metallic)
Granite Grey (metallic) – new, exclusive to 1.5 models

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Driver on Nov 16, 2017 at 3:25 pm

Proton’s management sure today tak senang duduk.

• sham_azlan on Nov 16, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Sejak 1985, nasi lemak P1 management focused on R & D (Rileks & Duduk).

• Din basher bash hiding & seek tactic? So why…

• YB Albert on Nov 16, 2017 at 3:48 pm

Mr.Aminar….spare a thot for the struggling rakyat,whose kancil or viva needs a timely upgrade to a Myvi.
    At close to rm50 grand for a small car….dont u kesian the loan applicants who have to go thro another 7 to 9 yr loan financing again?
    Perhaps Rm45 k looks like a better proposal.Dont just make money without any moral conscience.
    Make money ,but give back some to society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • tiadaid (Member) on Nov 16, 2017 at 4:50 pm

They can always buy a Bezza or a second hand car.

• Chepo on Nov 16, 2017 at 4:55 pm

At RM44k you can get a new 2018 Myvi 1.3L…..

• Malaysia is a more or less a Capitalist country, and Perodua, more or less a private company. Therefore most of its action when it comes to product planning are driven by profit and competition rather than welfare and ‘Moral Consent’. As a collective market, the rakyat have pushed Perodua to grow and the latest Myvi could possibly the finest product to come out of its Rawang factory, I believe they have done enough for the price and features of this new car. For those who are economically challenged, there is always the Axia.

• pondan5 on Nov 16, 2017 at 5:59 pm

ai ya… always spend within your means. Bezza, Axia and lower range Myvi are still 44k+.

don’t expect premium specs when u can’t afford. What if you run a business and ppl tell u the same message. Make sense ? Do you feel fair?

• Zuchie on Nov 16, 2017 at 3:53 pm

It’s showtime!

• sparcov on Nov 16, 2017 at 4:12 pm

The King is HERE.

• forestgum on Nov 16, 2017 at 4:48 pm

is it made of steel ? wow…

• Malaysian Timing !! on Nov 16, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Should have guess, 5.15pm Malaysian time is actually plus 1 or 2 hours, coz as normal, VIP late stuck in jam coz raining, so delay lar !!

• John L on Nov 16, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Omg, as usual so many hate comments in all the articles about the new Myvi.

As an Iriz, I just wanna say I think the new Myvi is really impressive on paper. I’m looking forward to this website’s review. On paper alone, Iriz really kalah liao to the new Myvi. But when I bought my Iriz 2 years ago, that was the best car in the market for safety and that was my priority. So.. what is the point of all the hate? Can’t we all just acknowledge that without the Iriz, Perodua would have continued to sell tin kosong cars with no safety features to Malaysians? And now that the new Myvi is here, Proton needs to step up their game. If they can offer the same features as the new Myvi but with their signature great handling, I’m in.

• farghmee on Nov 16, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Gud luck to P1.so Rakyat can get back our $2.5Bil.

• John L on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:17 pm

The rakyat is already getting back that RM2.5 billion since Proton pushed Perodua to make their cars safer. Now just hope Geely Proton steps up their game. Otherwise, confirm Perodua will sell this new Myvi model without much improvements for 10 years plus.

• John L on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:02 pm

*Iriz owner.

• John L on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:18 pm

Oh yeah, I forgot to add, “best car in the market for safety, for RM40k, 2 years ago.”

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:56 am

Extremely disappointing rear license plate bracket located!!! Any latest features of 3rd generation Perodua Myvi are very useless unless the rear license plate bracket is repositioned to its tailgate!! I’m waiting its major facelift, then 3rd generation Perodua Myvi will be more impressing-looked and like to be owned!