2018 Perodua Myvi – 1,500 bookings in just two days

We’re only days away from the official launch of the new Perodua Myvi, but could be well on its way to make history. According to managing director of Perodua Sales, Datuk Zahari Husin, bookings for the new Myvi have reached an all-time high, with 1,500 units recorded in just under two days.

“Bookings as of yesterday (November 10) is firmly at 1,500. This is higher even when compared against the Bezza,” Zahari said. Perodua began taking orders for the new Myvi from November 9.

To recap, pricing for the car starts from RM44,300 for the 1.3 Standard G manual, and RM46,300 for the automatic. Above that is the 1.3 Premium X at RM48,300, followed by 1.5 High at RM51,800, and lastly, the range-topping 1.5 Advance retails for RM55,300. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, and each will come with a five-year or 150,000 km warranty.

Like before, a choice of two EEV engines – 1.3 litre 1NR-VE and 1.5 litre 2NR-VE – can be had, both plucked from the Toyota NR family featuring DOHC and Dual VVT-i. The smaller unit is shared with the Bezza, while the larger engine is the same one found in the Toyota Vios. Aside from the base five-speed manual variant, all Myvis get a four-speed automatic gearbox.

Headlining stories are the car’s features. All variants get LED headlamps with ‘Follow Me Home’ function, keyless entry with push start, 60:40 split folding rear seats and reverse sensors. On the safety front, 1.3L variants get four airbags (dual front and side) ABS, EBD and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) as standard. The 1.5L variants get two more airbags (for a total of six), but only the 1.5 Advance gets the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite, of which its functions are detailed in full, here.

Six colours are available – Lava Red, Mystical Purple, Glittering Silver, Ivory White, Granite Grey (1.5 only) and Peppermint Green (1.3 only) – with the last two being new colours. You may refer to our earlier post for a comprehensive breakdown of all Myvi variants.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• nemesis on Nov 11, 2017 at 6:18 pm

this is Malaysia Best Selling car of all time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Can proton learn something here?

• Irizx on Nov 13, 2017 at 9:49 am

Iriz ady sparked other brnds to add more safety features, they learn it from p1 instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • camtakpro on Nov 15, 2017 at 10:22 am

Before Iriz sparked other brands to add more safety feature, it were the other brands sales figure that sparked Proton to add something worth into Proton models.

• wattheman on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:14 am

proton 34 years old… learn wat? shud be vely smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • jamari on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:42 am

u sound stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
      • Counter Basher on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:42 am

34 year old but sales figure still lose to P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • Lol.... on Nov 13, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Got some improvements, won Toyota… ha ha ha, now need to bash and boycott greedy Toyota…. offer Malaysian lousy specs at higher price!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Ah Kow on Nov 13, 2017 at 2:45 pm

Sapott kawkaw UMW toyota & pipel EPF !!!!

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 11, 2017 at 6:20 pm

The interior and exterior of the car pictures are already leaked.

I like it. Built in reverse camera too

• pondan4 on Nov 11, 2017 at 6:25 pm

“Bookings as of yesterday (November 10) is firmly at 1,500. This is higher even when compared against the Bezza,”

translation…..

P1 is firmly dead in the water for next 2 years.

• Mybmyvi on Nov 11, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Woww under 2 days oredy 1.5k booking. Impresip lor. Let say all 1.5k pepol get base model rm44k n all lon aproop, p2 oredy get rm66mil lor. Bravo bravo. New myvi is realy worth to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 148
    • Hidden Agenda Exposed on Nov 12, 2017 at 1:15 am

Many didn’t know the reason for the headlight design awkwardly downright sharp at the end.When accident accuse even very little impact will directly break it.Thus insured cover would bare the cost.Who benefits the parts? Yes,,,perodua parts department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • Johan Reza on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:22 am

this is nothing compared to my Waja list of casualties… Power windows each side replaced 3 time, Door handles each side replaced 5 time, Rear lights filled with rainwater & Front headlight bulbs burned I lost count how many time….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • kenot on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:46 am

pity to you…still talk about waja which is already stop production. Please move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • I miss Ohwai on Nov 12, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Bravo to Perodua. You have done well. If you continue like this, you will break your record of 200k and achieve 300k.

Amazing you have done this on your own. Some other car companies have free flow contracts with the Government to supply them cars. They also got contracts to supply gomen agencies such as Kastam, PDRM, Immgresion, Bomba etc etc cars.

And yet, these car companies are near bankruptcy.

If Perodua also get Gomen contracts and all the Ministries buy from Perodua as their official car, this year Perodua can sell 400k cars.

• Gabriel on Nov 12, 2017 at 1:13 pm

P2 pay royalti to toyota. Myvi is low profit model.

• Betol Tak? on Nov 12, 2017 at 1:44 pm

With such huge gigantic bookings, Perodua should rent or buy the half empty factory from Proton to speed up the production.

• Wow, No need to touch, feel or even test drive to book. No offense but it is plain ….

• Lol.... on Nov 13, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Bcos perodua cars drives the same…. as long as is affordable n less maintenance issues….

• I don’t understand what you are writing? Is it English or Martian language? And the spelling is terrible.

• don’t understand what you are writing? Is it English or Martian language? And the spelling is terrible. I am referring to “mybmyvi”

• Bernard on Nov 11, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Pity msians who can only afford this…and most will have to take loans, some 9 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 90
    • Some pay cash… no worries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • loler on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:33 am

You must be jelly H N T owner, lol

• Golfer on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:58 am

Why are you looking down at malaysians as if you are so great? Some ppl might be buying the car solely because it’s value for money and not because it’s the only car they can only afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • AkooIm on Nov 12, 2017 at 11:26 am

Pity to those who buy a low spec vios or city with 9 years loan tenure instead of myvi… kesian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • What’s your f’king point? U want the price to be what? Rm10k new?

• Pityful on Nov 12, 2017 at 8:04 pm

Pipu who buy much more expensive cars without those safety features

More pity on them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Alson P on Nov 11, 2017 at 8:51 pm

As of 11.11.17 ASEAN ncap has not released security level test results of Myvi New generation yet ..

http://www.aseancap.org/v2/?s=all&post_type=car_result

I believe myvi advance variant reaches the 5-star level ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 72
    • karam singh on Nov 12, 2017 at 2:34 am

is the chassis good enough ?
      hoping P2 up their games in term of safety

• Karam Singh on Nov 12, 2017 at 6:38 am

P2 has had its internal crash tests done for this model. They know where they are. Don’t forget in terms of equipment level p2 is ahead of proton now that it has 6 airbags, ABS, VSC and ASA

• ridea on Nov 13, 2017 at 8:05 am

just wait until its officially launched, then they will upload the test result.. that car is not even on sale yet. just open for booking.

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Budget car surely many bookings. Nothing to boast about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 60
    • ccy7218 on Nov 11, 2017 at 11:15 pm

No one boasting… Just information… P2 is doing really well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 74
      • 2018lagiBest on Nov 12, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Proton to be MY Best selling agains in 2018…
        5year free servis across all range.

Iriz 7airbag 》myvi.
        Saga 6airbag 》bezza, axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
        • camtakpro on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:32 am

Slash price 50% across all models confirm best selling in 2018.

• hazamiey on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Wow. So many MyVis. Our accident rate are not going to get any better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 95
  • willy on Nov 11, 2017 at 10:48 pm

five-year or 150,000 km warranty.
    shame to the rest of the brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 82
    • Eh why? Toyota and Honda 5 years unlimited mileage
      Proton also 5 years 150k km, sometimes even 5+2 years

It’s average

• alldisc on Nov 12, 2017 at 6:36 am

1,500 is not surprising at all for perodua. Why? P2 is doing 200k cars a year. That’s an average of 500 cars a day. Now if the target is 220k a year, that’s 600 a day (or 1.2k in 2 days). The numbers are normal for them. What will be surprising is when p1 hit 1.5k booking in 2 days. Because the last time p1 able to do that was between 03-04

• racing man on Nov 12, 2017 at 6:45 am

Buy Honda and Kia better, don’t buy perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2017 at 8:49 am

overpriced car with 9 year loan and triple tax on tax

• Driver on Nov 12, 2017 at 9:47 am

I wonder how many % only got approved loan

• neutral on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:17 am

Credit must be given where it is due. At the quoted prices and safety gadgets given, we must admit that this Myvi is by far the best equipped n value for money “national” car around. Let’s hope that this will spur P1 and other in the industry to come out with better ones.

• The much improved new generation Myvi selling at this price point is a bargain for most of the Malaysians. Perodua definitely did a fantastic job this time around. To those of you who are so called high income earner, please just buy your expensive car and stop uttering nonsense when you have nothing nice to say. Oh by the way, Myvi has features that your RM100K+ cars do not have, DUH…

• Jason Khoo on Nov 12, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Is the new myvi comes with hill hold assist?

• Guys at Paultan.org, time to enable comments voting only for those with accounts on the site.There are just too many bots and scripts running around.

• 1500? Still cannot match iriz 17000 booking before launch. Have proton finished delivering that 17000 cars btw? Hahahha

• digidigi on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Many sour coment, but in malaysia, the new top spec Myvi is definitely a better buy than all Toyota, all Nissan, most Honda, most mazda, most Benz and most bmw out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Xtremeycar on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:23 pm

This myv difiNeatly wil kilz jasz and yarrisz. U wil see it later.

• arowana on Nov 13, 2017 at 8:28 am

bookings… does it mean the loan will be approved? that’s another matter right?

• Vincent on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:18 am

P2 always selling their products using the Shadow of Toyota! That mean that the engine and gear box is much more reliable, problem free! Less R&D cost spend would mean lower cost per unit.

As for P1, the past pain which crony claiming billions on R&D for doing nothing … will be history! Najib get a Chinese to kill those kawan kawan Tun Dr M! If everything going well, mark my words, in 3 years time, P1 will regain it glory!

As long as P1 stop asking billions from G, I am still confident that P1 will make a better car than P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Proton VS Perodua on Nov 13, 2017 at 12:59 pm

One thing Perodua is vastly superior to Proton is its management system inherited from Toyota conglomerate – they are very cost effective, and they use readiedly off-the-shelve parts frm Toyota and Daihatsu to maximized cost effectiveness and profit margin. Proton on the other hand, waste lots of money and resources trying to go through the painful learning process of product maturity and eventually fell short of quality and reliability benchmark to Peordua. Not only that Proton make far fewer profit on every car sold compared to Perodua, but Proton losses its customer base to Perodua as well. In the end, Proton become weaker and weaker (both financially and number of car sales), and Perodua became mightier and mightier.

The arrival of Chinese boss and managment is to stop this insane and stupid practices of Proton’s way of producing cars, not only it’s not cost-effective, but also create lop hole for cronies suppliers to exploit the system, making Proton losses its money to unnecessary wastage and internal bleeding. The Chinese auditing team had just finished audited the Shah Alam factory and will shut in down in the near future, this is because Shah Alam is very human labour intensive and it could only produce 250k per annum. Tanjung Malim on the other hand, is highy automated and robotics, and could make 1 million cars per year, it is just insane to retain the Shah Alam factory for so long whereas the Tanjung Malim plant is woefully under utilised all these while. One funny thing is some of the Shah Alam factory managment choose to resign (rather than being fired) even before the Chinese auditing team came in, you guess the reason?

With Chinaman ironfist landing down on Proton’s managment and eradicating its past rent-seeking infested business malpractices, Proton is set to see better days. And with Proton consolidating under the Chinese management, it will soon up to a fight agianst Perodua. The local automotive scence will be exciting to watch in coming years, with Proton and Peordua competing each other, we consumers will be the ultimate benificier, make no question about it.

As for the Proton TGDI, it is good to just kill it off, yea, we lose the galmour of “indeginious made engine” monicker, but Proton could roll out its new line up faster up against Peordua. In business, nobody give a damn whether you are indigenous or not. As long as your car are trouble-free, save, fuel saving and comes decent quality, people will buy. The sales chart of Perodua in recent years says it all.

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:59 am

Extremely disappointing rear license plate bracket located!!! Any latest features of 3rd generation Perodua Myvi are very useless unless the rear license plate bracket is repositioned to its tailgate!! I’m waiting its major facelift, then 3rd generation Perodua Myvi will be more impressing-looked and like to be owned!

• Have made booking for 2 months ++ & my cheq of rm10k + has been cleared till now still have not receive my car :-( should’nt have paid the chq to them untill i received my car