NAP 2014, EEV review to be finalised next year; Honda City price dropped from RM90k to RM75k – Madani

The review of the National Automotive Policy (NAP) 2014 will be finalised in the first half of 2018 at the latest, according to a report by Bernama. Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) chief executive officer Datuk Madani Sahari said that the review, conducted by MAI, will include the expansion of its scope to cover commercial vehicles and other aspects of mobility as a whole.

“Research is being done and we hope that, if there aren’t any obstacles, the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) will be able to launch a new NAP by the first half of 2018,” he said, adding that since the policy was introduced in 2014, the prices of Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) have dropped by an average of 13.1% as of September 2017.

Madani also mentioned that as many as 105 EEV models have been introduced as of last month, and that through the implementation of the NAP, the government has provided incentives to EEV-producing carmakers in the form of duty exemptions. “For example, a duty reduction of RM10,000 must be transferred to the customer in the form of a RM10,000 reduction in the price of a car,” he said.

The government has set a target for EEV sales to make up 60% of total vehicle sales next year, Madani said, up from 45% currently. “In fact, we’re confident that this year’s 50% sales target for EEV models can be achieved, seeing as almost every carmaker builds their new models as EEVs,” he said.

Madani added that car prices in Malaysia are expected to remain competitive in line with consumer demands of better safety, comfort and environmental performance. “For example, the cheapest Perodua Axia is priced at RM25,800 and is among the cheapest cars in the world. It is an EEV and is equipped with safety and convenience features,” he said.

He gave an example of the Honda City, which he claimed was previously priced between RM60,000 and RM65,000 in Thailand and RM90,000 in Malaysia. In contrast, Madani said, Malaysians can now buy an automatic model for RM75,000 whereas a manual model costs RM69,000 in Thailand.

It should be noted that Madani’s comparison isn’t exactly like-for-like. The current City is still priced at around RM90k for the top-spec V model – RM89,240, to be exact – and the RM75k figure given for the current model is for the base S trim, which is priced at RM75,930.

“We can see a reduction in the price gap, and yet products in Malaysia are among the best in Asia,” Madani said. “This is one of the aspects that we need to look at, not just lower prices but competitive prices with safety, convenience and environmental impact taken into consideration.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• azwan on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 164
    • Keyboard Warrior on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:00 pm

em… how u calculated 30%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • anuar on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:18 pm

please see it sarcastically not seriously

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 0
        • He’s plain dumb. Can’t even differentiate between sarcasm and true comment

• iammail on Dec 21, 2017 at 8:01 pm

Madani being sarcastic.

• Operation Manager on Dec 22, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Civic1.8 last gen 110k, now also 110k. Mana ada EEV price reduction…? Mai tipu mana ada Civic 95k under EEV…?

• Sohai on Dec 20, 2017 at 5:31 pm

How many times want to finalize…? Endless every few years finalize cycle … This is mai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Bad idea to reduce the price. It deincentivise pipu to use public transports. I say keep the current pricing and shove all that savings into expanding more public transports esp in other cities like JB & Ipoh & KK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 79
      • Levin on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Bad idea to reduce car price? Don’t be selfish bro. Don’t just judge the traffic based on city areas as Malaysia has vast land. To make public transport up to Singapore standards, it will probably take another century or two. Number of vehicles should be controlled in city areas, but not in outskirt areas. Also, in KL if everyone starts to take public transport and leave their vehicles at home, highway toll companies will go bankrupt LOL
        Instead, they should limit city access to carpool lane (HOV) or they could also impose higher roadtax for vehicles used in city area (similar to singapore/shanghai). Its about time we deserve to buy cheaper cars as we have been suffering with high import taxes to protect Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 26
        • Banglaman on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:23 pm

Don’t bother about him. Always talk like no brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
          • U like to see the world drown in pollution, but I dun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
        • Do u care about toll companies going bankrap, cuz I dun care.

Nippon too has vast land, but in rural regions the pipu adapt to the public transports there and both expand together. We gotta start sometime, and current PM is really pushing for public transports, so the public shud respond and evolve together.

I agree shud limit access to cities via certain number plates, congestion charges, limit time parking, ERP. But this is just to reduce city pollution, it dun solves the overall dependency on cars. We need to force pipu to use public transports, and if we rely on future gen to do it, then nothing will gets done. It has to start NOW, and cheaper cars doesnt help, it only hinders.

So NO to cheaper cars. Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 26
      • Expensive, complain.
        Price drop, complain.
        Free car, i guess complain too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • When free cars, they then complain endless jams and ini salah gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Pencukur on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Cukurrrlahhh… 30% high spec stuff removed to kosong spec… Excise duty/tax still the same…

• Bapak Jepun on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Two words, Syok Sendiri!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
  • Yawn….

• Salam Tok…. where is P1 EV?
    “Malaysia will produce not one, but two electric vehicles by 2017. Proton EV arriving 2017, priced under RM100k”

Tekan –
    https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygonal on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Still got 11 more days to go. P1, I choose you! (if you launch an EV within this 11 days)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • EEV and EV is completely different meaning.

In theory Proton could release EV (Electric Vehicle) WHEN the market is ready. EV is technologically simpler than gasoline-based if you have engineering background. They made R&D since DSZ era. The only problem to deploy EV is absence of charging stations in Malaysia.

Yeah they can launch now but gonna bare the financial risk? You?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • lilytan on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Empty talk again. Protong cant even produce the conventional car right so dont expect an EV unless u wanna bare the electrocution risk. Even a proper EEV also protong dont have (unless u have no face to tell that the ertig@ is ur own EEV).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • https://paultan.org/2015/09/10/proton-iriz-ev-300-km-electric-car-on-display-at-igem/

• lilytan on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Empty talk as usual

• Sonyman on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:45 pm

What? All I see is more expensive…… Hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Government’s automotive policymakers should take a holistic view on EEV. Not just focusing on how much fuel can be saved and emission reduced from a more efficient engine, but also the concern over fossil fuel consumption.

Incentive efficient fossil fuel engine should be reduced over time and loaded up on hybrid cars, and ultimately fully given only to electric vehicles.

Of course, the argument doesn’t end when you start to talk about our coal-fired power plants used to generate electricity. But it’s better to start somewhere.

• Saiful Hamdan on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:03 pm

In my opinion, power plant are located in a fixed area, regardless of what is powering it, the impact to environment is minimal to where human population is concerned. Imagine if all vehicles were EVs, the high density area such as cities and rural town would have much cleaner air. Power plant usually is located near to places with large forested area to make up for the carbon emissions.

• Ekceli MY’s EEV policy take into consideration the whole lifecycle of the car to be certified EEV. Thats includes how efficient the factory that produces it, how it runs, until how efficiently it can be disposed & recycled. Thats unlike other countries that gips the benefit to efficient cars but comes from polluting and wasteful factories. Thats how brands like Haval gets EEV, its cuz of how efficient is their assembler here not just solely on their car. That a better assessment of being truly EEV.

• Drop the highest spec price to 75k then I’ll be impressed. The lowest spec is essentially tin kosong with a Honda badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Porta on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:51 pm

VSC, ,hill start, push start, LED DRL & more for lowest spec is tin kosong ka? The down side is there’s only 2 airbags but mid spec (E spec) pre-FL also had 2. But spec-wise, it’s still better than it’s sworn enemy, the mighty vios (low spec vs low spec)

• No carbon fiber body panel with diamond studded redwood veneer dashboard and ostrich skin headlining.

Yea, tin kosong.

• PhatCat on Dec 20, 2017 at 7:40 pm

It has drop to 75k long time ago because that is Langkawi price.. for V spec. OHH YEAHH! look with envy suckerss!

• eddiekee on Dec 21, 2017 at 3:13 pm

agree. initially i thought highest spec is at 75K

• tokmoh. on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Stopped reading at MAI.

Conlanfirm madani dengan bodoh dia lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Madani got it wrong la. Actually,the previous RM90k City is now only RM40k due to market depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Heskey on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Janji ditepati!

• thepolygonal on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Please bring back the EV, hybrid tax exemption. Do we have tax free import from Thailand so UMW can lower the CHR price? Hey wait… supposed to launch this year right? The CHR? No?

• This Madani fella can’t even compre apples to apples, what is he doing being a CEO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Edwin on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Thats mean Honda City V spec price drop?

• City RV straight runtuh

• Ouch, those who bought City recently..

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:41 pm

The story does not imply in any way that the City’s price will drop. Madani is implying that it has already dropped, as clearly stated above.

• YB Albert on Dec 20, 2017 at 5:18 pm

R u sure the price has dropped? By how much? Just skeletal drop,NO big deal, wor,my fellow Victorian.
        Gomen will never allow cheaper japanese cars ,TO PROTECT PROTON…THATS A FACT.
        We can debate till the cow dies,nothing will change.
        I have a Indon contractor by the same name…he is more credible.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 20, 2017 at 5:31 pm

We’re not saying it has dropped either. Madani did.

• polla on Dec 20, 2017 at 7:29 pm

so madani was telling us to bercukur?

• He saying cars is getting cheaper despite the bad publicity and fake news from other side.

• Proton oh Proton on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Have to cancel my city hybrid for now… and book next year with more tax discount.

• haha, I thought really got price drop. But the smart person compared like this. Really genius!

• mustagah on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:17 pm

Dah lah dapat Datoship now wanna become politician. GE coming so here we go again , promises of lower car prices + wet dreams !!!
    NAP 2014 still in nap mode and you dare say NAP 2018 is in the pipe works.
    What happened in 2015-2017 ? Tidur kah ?

• polla on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:19 pm

talk so much…ppl just need to know drop or no drop

• Ben Yap on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Malaysia strategy of price drop in cars is to remove all safety features and other goodies. the car only comes with as kosong and with a lower price tag, it is classified as already enjoying EEV incentive.

• common sensor on Dec 20, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Nonsense. Full Stop.

• Our City price is now closer to Thai City price in RM, because Thai City price (in RM) has increased. And why is Thai Honda City price (in RM) has increased? Thats simply because RM has dropped against Baht in the past few years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • But tomyam City is lower spec than MY City. So when considering the high kit will cost more, its justified for MY price to be higher. So overall, MY prices din increase but value has been added.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Anonymous on Dec 21, 2017 at 8:16 am

Guess they didn’t mention about GST and others. End of the day they price of loan is still the same, just that our bill shows the car price is lower.
    After GST = RM 68900
    After loan interest (est 3%) = RM 70967
    To make more money they will make the acc less and the add on will be rocket prices .
    Car and Houses these vendors (P*gs) will somehow make the money..

• at a moment i almost had the impulse to buy a honda city v spec….90k to 75k….but dude is referring to s spec…meh…when was s spec priced at rm90k?

• davidletterboyz on Dec 21, 2017 at 10:54 am

The Honda City S spec wasn’t priced 90k in the first place. Now with EEV duty exemption, the S spec is still priced at around the same price as before. In that case, where does the money go?

• sam123 on Dec 21, 2017 at 12:02 pm

“We can see a reduction in the price gap, and yet products in Malaysia are among the best in Asia,” Madani said. <> Products in Malaysia are among the best in “Malaysia only”