Daihatsu brings nine concepts to Tokyo Auto Salon

Daihatsu is no stranger to the Tokyo Auto Salon, and this year the Japanese manufacturer has come up with another veritable buffet line of show cars for the latest edition of the tuner-centric motor expo, with nine concepts aligned into three distinct styles.

The first is a sporty line-up, comprising Sporza versions of the Thor and Mira hatchbacks and the Sporto Package-equipped Boon. Each are kitted out in a two-tone red-and-black livery, rolling on gold wheels with polished lips and sporty bodykits comprising deeper front bumpers and side skirts with red highlights.

Next up are show cars of a more premium slant, comprising the Move Canbus, Tanto and Thor, wearing pearl white paint with contrasting black accents and flashes of chrome for a more upmarket look. The wheels assigned are of relatively more subdued designs too, in line with the premium slant of the trio.

Save for the Tanto, the premium line-up also gets a contrasting black roof, while the Thor and the Move Canbus gain contrasting black side mirror covers. The Thor and Tanto also appear to have their respective ride heights lowered to match.

The more adventurous set isn’t left out, as rounding up the lot are the Active versions of Daihatsu’s models – the Boon as well as two versions of the Hijet pick-up. The Boon Active gets body cladding around its bumpers, sides and wheel arches along with matte silver and orange accents.

Meanwhile, the twin-cab Hijet gets the off-roader treatment with a raised body, off-road tyres, side steps, front bumper- and roof rack-mounted foglamps, and a marine-themed exterior finish. The single-cab Hijet Truck is given a more classical take, with plain white accents on its front and rear bumpers, roof and cargo tray cover, along with polished hub caps. Which are your favourites, dear readers?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• fanofthisite on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:21 pm

If the Mini inspired hits production i guess we will be seeing aftermarket Myvi lama mods on the roads. The new MYVI now really looks better as the new “Boon”s looks the same design DNA as the existing model. I wonder if we will see mini Alphards on our roads;-P

• Jepunis and their weird tastes.

• Sohai on Dec 26, 2017 at 9:45 pm

We are waiting Tanto to be duplicate in mesia 2018 with no delay… Urgently need replacement for sohai out-fashion Alza.

• Johnson Potien original on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Move canbus my favourite of the lot, rm 80k can consider buy one for collection.

• Coolicious on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Wowww the crossover style boon looks cool yah. Perodua shud come out wif this ehh.
    And, we shud hav more boxy shape kcar from perodua, i mean design like kia ray one.

• sparcov on Dec 26, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Daihatsu Move, P2 Kenari baru.

• Faisal on Dec 26, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Damn, the Japs really can bring it up a notch.

• Count your blessings that the new Myvi doesn’t look anything like the Boon?

• 12yrsold on Dec 26, 2017 at 3:26 pm

Is this Japanese K car at its best or what !!?