January 2018 week two fuel prices – petrol 3 sen down

Yes, it’s Wednesday, so fuel prices for the week ahead are out – and happily for motorists the increase brought along over the past week has been neutralised, at least where petrol fuels are concerned.

From tomorrow, January 11, both petrol grades are three sen cheaper at the pump, with RON 95 petrol retailing at RM2.26 per litre (down from RM2.29 per litre last week) and RON 97 petrol at RM2.53 per litre (from RM2.56 per litre).

Meanwhile, diesel fuel prices remain level this week, so Euro 2M diesel continues to be priced at RM2.32 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel – always 10 sen more expensive – holds station at RM2.42 per litre. These prices will come into effect from midnight until January 17, when the next fuel price adjustment will be announced.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 42nd since the weekly system took effect at the end of March 2017. The net difference has been a four sen decrease for RON 95 petrol (from RM2.30 per litre), a seven sen reduction for RON 97 petrol (from RM2.60 per litre), and a 12 sen increase in Euro 2M diesel (from RM2.20 per litre) since then.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• mogan on Jan 10, 2018 at 5:56 pm

no points. its the same damn thing. up and down around the same amount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Kancil Hybrid on Jan 10, 2018 at 9:55 pm

The point is harga bertambah rendah berbanding Singapura. Syukur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Sidek Kamiso on Jan 10, 2018 at 6:04 pm

Price of petrol is not only so high but our Gomen still sells Euro 2M in Malaysia. Euro 2 petrol and diesel was banned in the entire EU in 1994. That is over 23 years ago.

Europe banned it because it contained poison and carcinogens which cause cancer.

But somehow, Malaysian Government is still selling Euro 2 petrol and diesel. 90% of all diesel cars still use Euro 2 diesel. It has taken Malaysian 20 years to figure out how to come out with clean fuel

We Malaysians have to inhale this poison into our lungs.

I hope our Malaysian is responsible enough to ban Euro 2 in Malaysia despite we having Euro 5 diesel on sale. Like I said 90% of diesel vehicles in Malaysia still use Euro 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • malaysian on Jan 10, 2018 at 8:25 pm

stupid comment.
      even EU just only realise all diesel is bad and not just euro 2.
      bashing for bashing sake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
  • Honda Malaysia on Jan 10, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Still diesel expensive than petrol

• Mat salleh on Jan 10, 2018 at 6:54 pm

Nice

• Normal Guy on Jan 10, 2018 at 7:04 pm

Net difference is 4 cents. Waiting for zombie bashers to come out of hiding to say how much they’ve spent on petrol. Come on la, can spend on iPon Ex, petrol price difference how many cent only cry father cry mother. Culture of complain, that’s what we are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • kueh kaswi  on Jan 10, 2018 at 8:37 pm

Well said. But many school going kids are still wearing last year’s uniforms incl my 2 younger siblings. Cant afford new ones, Be kind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • realnormalguy on Jan 10, 2018 at 8:41 pm

where did u get the statistics of iPhoneX users complain about petrol price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Uncle apek on Jan 10, 2018 at 9:45 pm

His imagination I guess…or maybe he’s trying to reassure himself because he’s the one crying…

• Stats of iPong user complaint maybe he cannot give. But most who complaint about petrol price but straight q for Starbucks after fill up, that’s alot. U can done ur own survey, just stand and ask at any petrol station that have Starbucks and u will get ur answers. My pipu complaint kuat. I know becoz i have done it.

• Uncle apek on Jan 10, 2018 at 9:42 pm

This is bullshit! How can diesel be more expensive than Ron 95?? Kiasu country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • This is nonsense we have never had crude oil price exceeding USD65 and yet the petrol is lowered? Election is definitely taking its toll by forcing business to raise prices as diesel 2M is now more expensive than petrol in Malaysia?

• Unfortunately, petrol station are not selling crude oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • So does it means that petrol can be sold at lower prices after it is processed with additives based on crude oil price?
        Great I want some of what you have been smoking.

• Diesel up means transport and factory costs up and that means goods and services prices up. Diesel price should be more protected if the govt is serious about looking out for the rakyat.

• Ben Yap on Jan 11, 2018 at 9:48 am

yay! petrol price is down. it’s good time to store petrol now to sell later at higher price.