JPJ to ensure pricing of driving courses adhered to

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) says it will closely monitor driving institutes to ensure they adhere to the determined pricing of driving courses, doing so via the driving school licensing committee (JKPIM), Bernama reports.

According to JPJ deputy director-general (operations) Datuk Wan Ahmad Uzir Wan Sulaiman, the ceiling prices for driving licenses in the country were fixed, and any difference or higher price than that prescribed are due to additional charges imposed by an institution.

“The ceiling price for a B2 motorcycle license is RM350, while that for B is RM900. A driving course for manual transmission vehicles (D) is RM1,150, while for automatic transmission vehicles (DA) it is RM1,250,” he stated.

Driving institutions cannot charge more than the fixed prices, but based on our monitoring there have been additional charges imposed by institutes,” he said. Wan Ahmad Uzir said that sometimes, additional charges by a driving institution when it has to perform extra services such as transportation, but any additional charges have to be detailed by the driving school.

He said consumers were entitled to lodge a complaint if they felt that the additional charges imposed were irrelevant, and that action can be taken against driving institutes if they overcharge consumers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rchoo on Jan 15, 2018 at 4:34 pm

I am damn good in my driving and you are forcing me to pay the unnecessary?

• Lol?? on Jan 15, 2018 at 5:14 pm

Took them that long to figure it out huh.

Damage done. Now, where is the “check & balance”?

• Kan Maslan cakap betul, GST kurangkan kos hidup, Makin ramai amik lesen baru. Terbukti ekonomi semakin kukuh…. Cukuuurr

• PENGUATKUASA BRIBE on Jan 15, 2018 at 5:36 pm

I think we are ok with the charging from Uncle , but all of us are not OK with the CORRUPTION ON THE ROAD only… Why must COMPULSORY to CORRUPT JUST TO PASS ON THE ROAD TEST ???
    Please fix your CORRUPTION 1st before complaining uncle’s charging…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • Dun fail then no need corrupt. If theres no givers then theres no takers. Easy as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 30
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 16, 2018 at 1:30 am

What the hell! I’ve been quoted RM1600+ – RM2000+ from several driving schools in Subang Jaya. Can JPJ take action on these schools?

• wah Loo on Jan 16, 2018 at 10:47 am

I asked around, for a D driving license holder for more than 20 yrs, I need to pay rm350 alone to sit for infant ceramah, then rm10 for computer test, then rm20 to get L license, then after one month, can test Jpj.. For rm300.. So look like rm680 in total. Who is the smart Alex that come out with idea of re-sit undang ceramah for one whole day…?

• sam123 on Jan 16, 2018 at 12:16 pm

I think the should strictly remain 1 type only of driving course ( manual transmission vehicles (D) )

• I spent approximately RM1780 for 1 of my kid and another kid rm2200 (extra charge for additional class).
    1 kid fail at road test and another fail both litar and road test.
    Now the driving school is asking for rm300 to take road test and for both test is rm600, so total for both kids need to pay rm900.
    Can anyone advice if rm900 is high or should be lower than that?
    Thank you.

• Steven Lam on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:41 am

My son sat for the driving test but failed in his parking test. He was asked to pay RM200 as processing fee by the driving school to resit the test but failed again. For the 2nd attempt he was asked to pay another RM150 again for processing fee to sit for the test. Is this normal practice or required by JPJ to pay such a high fees for resit?

• Luisa on Feb 26, 2019 at 1:34 pm

With all these complains, has anything been done yet? I need to send my son for driving lessons but I have been quoted from RM 1,750 – to RM 2,100. Should we report these driving schools or should we report JPJ for not trying to act on them.

To quote:
    He said consumers were entitled to lodge a complaint if they felt that the additional charges imposed were irrelevant, and that action can be taken against driving institutes if they overcharge consumers.

JPJ, please define irrelevant charges.

• Irene Micheal on Jun 19, 2019 at 8:39 am

I spent approximately RM2200 for 1 of my daughter and another kid rm200 (extra charge for additional class).
    My daughter fail at road test and another fail and now the driving school want me to pay a other RM350 + don’t how much for additional classes
    Can anyone advice
    Thank you.

• Paul Lopez on Jun 02, 2022 at 9:57 am

“but any additional charges have to be detailed by the driving school.

He said consumers were entitled to lodge a complaint”

How and to who do we raise the complain?