Geely Borui GE – 1.5L plug-in hybrid to debut April 9

This is the Geely Borui GE, which is essentially a plug-in hybrid version of the Borui sedan sold in China that will officially debut on April 9, before going on sale in the summer. Before that, photos and details of the model have emerged on a number of Chinese media sites.

The PHEV employs a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine, which is already being used in the Volvo XC40 T3. Mated to the engine will be a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox, electric motor and a battery pack.

These components are certainly very similar to the T5 Twin Engine powertrain showcased to us in the past, and it wouldn’t be a surprise if we find them in the Swedish carmaker’s upcoming electrified models as well as Lynk & Co cars.

Detailed specifications pertaining to outputs aren’t out yet, but local media are reporting a fuel consumption figure as low as 1.5 l/100 km. The plug-in hybrid powertrain will join conventional ones offered for the Borui, including a 1.8 litre turbo (184 hp) and 2.4 litre (162 hp), both with a six-speed auto. There’s also an upcoming GT variant with a 177 hp 1.5 litre turbo engine and seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox.

Visually, the PHEV shares a lot in common with Borui GT with the prominent Geely grille at the front flanked by some rather sleek headlamps. Down the sides, there a chrome trim pieces, while the wheels sport a distinctive look as well. New and modern graphics for the taillights are also seen, and dual exhaust outlets are also being touted.

Moving inside, you’ll find a massive 12.2-inch touchscreen display that provides access to a number of vehicle features. Below it are a pair of air-con vents and switchgear for the climate control system, followed by the raised centre console with a stowage area and wireless charging slot beneath it. Other features include decorative LED lighting designs on the doors and dashboard, along with a conventional instrument cluster (with a small digital display).

More details about the Borui GE will be revealed when the model is finally revealed, but for now, what are your first impressions of the Chinese-made PHEV?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• New Preve PX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 44
    • Correction: new Perdana PX8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
      • Hashim Yeop on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Why buy a China car when you can buy a Japanese car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 85
        • willie on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:34 pm

Jz rebadge & sell lah Proton Rendang !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
        • Look, it's that guy! on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Aren’t you suppose to say why buy Vios when you can buy Myvi? You can’t fool anyone with your outrageous dupes, so why don’t you just stick with a name that isn’t too obvious.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
        • Becoz its better, safer , more hi tech, more kits, and value for money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
        • Kuinosan on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:13 pm

Reach here. Local build quality is horrendous.

• Kuntak on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Kah kah kah. Because china had surpassed japan as second biggest economy years ago.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
        • Gracke on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:26 pm

It’s Volvo 1.5 Turbo high technology engine in it……actually!!!!!!!!!! Why not :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
        • Why choose Sony pong when Huawei pong is sooo much better?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
        • Lok Chyi Yeu on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Is like why buy Huawei P20 pro when you can buy Sony XZ2. If you judge the product by the country then you are the one loosing out on the good products.

• Perdana has always been a dead car for Proton. All government orders

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • So says the person that P1 majority sales is from gov fleet but PT burst that fake news bubble when they repoted 97.5% sales comes from retail end customers.
          https://paultan.org/2018/01/08/proton-sales-result-end-2017/

PT real news > fake news SA

• tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • YB Albert on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Why cant Geely bring in their affordable range of cars ,convert to right hand drive,instead of banging on 1 model called Boyue? Protong is very excellent at rebadging ,right?
      Since our own rakyat said no to Iriz,preve,suprima,Hondana….why wait until Christmas to launch 1 miserable car which might not be affordable for lower wage earners? Just mind boggling…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 28
      • What?? on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:42 pm

Because their affordable cars aren’t as good as their current crop of sedans, hatches and SUVs. Do you really want the Geely Panda in our market?? Or any of their pre-Borui copycat cars…

And we don’t even have to wait until Christmas, Proton officials have said the car will be ready for media testing by October and can be launched at the same month.

You also underestimate how popular SUVs are in the 80-100k range. The BR-V and HR-V are enough proof, middle income people also buy Proton you know. And not to mention they have a more affordable suv coming next year as well as a Preve replacement lined up so it’s not like they aren’t thinking about lower income earners.

• isengard99 on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:27 pm

Proton should tap into its big brother, Mercedes expertise in parallel development of both left and right hand drive models. The venerable C-Class & GLA45 are perfect examples.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Haval n Chery currently doing it but not much demand n success.. why Geely bother doing it if their subsidiary (aka p1) can do it for them?

• Kuntak on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:17 pm

You wanted range of geely cars, yet you labelled one of them as miserable . you want it, or you don’t want it???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
        • tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:54 pm

Haters a bunch of hypocrites.

When they wanna insult Geely, they stress on its Chinese origin, implying they’re junk.

Suddenly when wanna bash Proton, pretend Chinese cars are top class, quality product. How to trust such liars?

People who can’t be honest, like this Albert, who’s obviously a dupe of Kunta Kinte, Baghawan Singh, Muthusamy Periasamy and various dupe names before, cannot be trusted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • Ah but i confirmed the real persona of this joker muppet is Albert Yong. One time he let slip his real name.

• Ini kereta untuk orang perut boroi dan juga orang bolui (takde duit).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 27
  • Abdul Kadeer on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Ever wondered why Geely cannot sell their cars in US, UK, Europe, Australia and New Zealand as well as Japan?
    95% only sold in China. 5% sold in 3rd world countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 72
    • Geely cannot sell in Nippon, US, or EU? But their Volvo won these countries COTY awards there wor. How did it win if not sold there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 61
      • What?? on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Technically Geely can sell most of their cars in SEA, Australia and NZ but their dealer networks are limited for now. But they seem to have remedied this by using Proton as a hub for their SEA export and right hand market.

And Lynk & Co exists for markets like US and Europe so there’s that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 21
      • Abdul Kadeer on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:24 pm

volvo owned by china but run by swedish brains….that is why volvo cars carry Made by Sweden

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 68
        • But then u said is not sold there wor. Now u say not counted cuz its sold there but not by China brains. So mana ni? Sold there or not sold there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 52
          • seancorr (Member) on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Oh for heaven’s sake John he said GEELY branded cars, not Geely owned marques. Which part of his sentence did you not understand?!

• See tokmohs explanation.

• tokmoh. on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:58 pm

Oooh, now Volvo is Swedish? But in Volvo threads, always must stress Volvo is Chinese, as if no quality, rubbish car.

See john, these haters so insecure, even downvote truth speakers like us. They expect people to believe them, but we throw fact at them, they change their lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Their truth is like their names alwiz change. Like lalang. How to belip what he hawks to us?

He chains lie after lie after lie, and often it bites his rear and he dun even realise it. Sweet justice served cold.

• rightwinger on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:47 am

..facts dont care about their feelings….

• carloss on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:29 pm

easy..China car maker is not like 10years back story liao.. when they started seriously focus on their car industry..it just like kacang putih 1,2,3..others brand are dead…their learning new tech and rnd faster than japan..and others country yoww.. and cheaper also..even a gred A quality product.. thats why lor..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
    • Ruslan Bahari on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:12 pm

Yes, I wondered and I know why, too.

China’s annual TIV is more than 20 million units, and if you have 10% of that, you’re already a success. This is why they have many carmakers in China. The reason Geely or other China makes are rarely available overseas is that they have only started to seriously look at exports.

Remember Kia in the 90s? Well, China is in that shoe now, and they will dominate several markets in quick time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • Yeah right on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:29 pm

Pfft, stop sounding as if China’s automotive market is like 10 years ago. You think carbuyers in China nowadays are not as demanding as other markets?
      All major global carmakers are concentrating in China and with that brings increased competition to local carmakers. Buyers have more choice and Chinese carmakers won’t survive if they can’t compete with global brands.

• SudahBalikTongsan on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:08 pm

I actually think it looks very very good. Although the design has some ques from Camry and the likes, it does have its own taste. How would this appear in Proton? We’ll see.

• thepolygonal on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:16 pm

My god what kind of interior front panel is that? That totally blows away the rest of the competition.

• better than camry hybrid, i would customize the front grill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • turborider on Apr 03, 2018 at 6:25 pm

Proton – Powered by Volvo/Lotus/Geely/L&C

This is interesting, this will be the game changer and turning point for Proton. With such strong arms and technologies shared, Proton will achieve a quantum leap in car manufacturing.

I’m not a Proton fan but i need to say Kudos Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Borui- Bo lui (no$$)

• Lui lai, lui lai on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:11 pm

Thanks, Hokkien to English translator.

• tokmoh. on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:04 am

Don’t embarrass yourself la.

Recently Malaysia became butt joke for causing British artist Dua Lipa to change her birthday wish to her babi, which means dad in Albanian.

You all laugh at those extremist idiots that’s paranoid of babi, disrespectful to other language, now you wanna do the same?

• Basher SA worry he bo lui when GeelyP1 revival kicks into hi gear, cuz he will get ZERO sales then. Let him be.

• Moto EP on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:24 pm

China car leaps and bounces like their smart phones technology and design

• Gracke on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Oh god……it will be Proton later on!!!!! Cheers!!!

• MaxAz on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:41 pm

Bring Malaysia. I will buy. (If it price right)

• John Loh on Apr 04, 2018 at 6:00 am

I come, I see. I go in and test-drive.
    Good, bad comments it’s all your rights.
    If I feel fine and the car suits my like,
    I pay the deposit, coz the decision is mine.

• kumintator on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:59 am

hopefully they’ll change the front grill design. ugly af and looks cheap. Other than that, the overall looks is quite ok

• roland emmerich on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:15 pm

ah…chinese cars, even if proton are tied to toyota as long as the name is proton, they want them to die lorrr….bashing sana bashing sana..come on la lets join forces together and pray that proton will die soon.

• Michael C on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:34 pm

Borui~ bolui (No money in hokkien).

• Robert on Apr 04, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Look promising , nice PHEV will buy if pricing ok

• damn that looks nice with a volvo heart inside? anytime for me

• Alex Dima on Jun 29, 2022 at 2:21 pm

One of the Best Buy Hybrids on International market today!