April 2018 week three fuel prices – nothing changes

It’s Wednesday again, so time for another update on fuel prices. After three weeks of prices remaining unchanged, it looks like the trend will continue for yet another week.

Starting from tomorrow, April 19, RON 95 petrol will remain at RM2.20 per litre (unchanged from last week), while RON 97 retails at RM2.47 per litre (unchanged from last week).

As for diesel, Euro 2M will go for RM2.18 per litre (unchanged from last week). Meanwhile, Euro 5 diesel, which commands a 10 sen premium over regular diesel, will sell for RM2.28 per litre (unchanged from last week). These prices will be in effect until the April 25, when the next set of fuel price adjustments will be announced.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 56th since the weekly system took effect at the end of March 2017. The current price of RON 95 petrol is 10 sen lower (from RM2.30 per litre) than at the start of the programme, while RON 97 is 13 sen less (from RM2.60 per litre). Diesel, meanwhile, is two sen cheaper (from RM2.20 per litre).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2018 at 6:04 pm

it will continue until after election. than there will be an increase.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • aiyarkk on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:36 pm

until after election? Formula rosak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Where is john? on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:39 am

Where is john who always tell us our petrol prices are genuine and follow crude oil prices?

• jinggo on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:00 am

Balik gua kot

• Rightwinger on Apr 19, 2018 at 2:31 pm

You type of people are just amazing. It’s exactly like the story about the father, child and the donkey- nothing will ever be right.

If got price movements- government is manipulating. If got no movement also manipulating….oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
          • paleutoh on Apr 19, 2018 at 4:53 pm

Hangpa takdak modal nk komen lg..bn tin kosong kui3

• stastasta on Apr 20, 2018 at 9:59 am

no movement for 3 consecutive weeks near election ? cannot be coincidence la. furthermore global prices have been rising at the same time. if gov want to remove doubt then publish the price calculation formula in mass media.

• Abdul Halim Saad on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:33 am

4 weeks in a row global oil prices have been going up. But our Ron 95 remain the same for 4 weeks.

What can we conclude from this?

This means our free float was a big lie and a fraud from day one. Everybody suspected many things, now, all proven true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Driver on Apr 18, 2018 at 6:05 pm

something fishy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Bentong on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:51 pm

Unchanged. Govt succeed stabilize fuel prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
      • Where is john? on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:48 am

I am waiting for our regular commentators here who say float system is honest and Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • karam singh on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:57 pm

We voted them in. This is how they treat us rakyat Malaysians.

• Darul Ismail on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:55 am

This proves that every fuel prices since 2 years now have been just pure lies.

What is worse….all the commentators who lied here as well saying our float was genuine

• Well the trend will go till 9th. Or the prices will be reduced even further. “Fishing” laaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Habis laaaa

• Where is john? on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:01 am

Just like how car prices will go down by 30% was a big lie, this too seems like a big lie

• Global fuel prices UP, here no change. Pipu GST money put to good use, Syukurrla…

• Phudda singh on Apr 18, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Ya till NXT ge14 after it IF same pondan then v will c how he f*** us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Ini salahan… oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 73
    • Sabri. on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Rakyat didahulukan, kerajaan prihatin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
    • Darul Ismail on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:59 am

aren’t you the guy who told us free float system was BENAR?

• Yup.. memang benar, maybe Gov retain it from going up. That’s mean ada subsidi. Election or not, still have to pump up. While it’s cheap just fuel up la. If going up according to world price u also bash right? Now maintain still want to bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
        • Graduan Bijak on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:25 pm

Be clean & transparent. Sekian

• stastasta on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:00 am

no movement for 3 consecutive weeks near election ? cannot be coincidence . furthermore global prices have been rising at the same time. if gov want to remove doubt then publish the price calculation formula in mass media.

• jangankecamsaya on Apr 18, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Formula petrol amanah dan bersih… .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • YB Albert on Apr 18, 2018 at 6:49 pm

World oil prices indicate an uptrend towards US 80 per barrel very soon.
    I really smell a rat.
    When we expect a regrettable uptrend in prices…they stay stagnant.WE r not saying stagnant or lower prices r bad.
    What is amazing is the kind of formula used to calculate petrol prices.
    Dont be surprised,on May 10…it shoots up to Rm3/litre…then all hell breaks loose…every food /transportation related item skyrockets.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 0
  • Because GE is near… I wonder war will happen after GE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Who to trust on Apr 18, 2018 at 7:25 pm

GE or not… should not be manipulated.. People know.. and more distrust … whoever that advises Najib is fool . Ppl will think retrospectively …all those previous figures were fake before.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 0
  • drMpower on Apr 18, 2018 at 7:32 pm

even it is climbing also no hike
    why cant we have election week

• YB Meme on Apr 18, 2018 at 7:37 pm

18th April 2018.

Dear diary,
    I have a secret, a groundbreaking one, that will cause havoc in Malaysia. I realised that I have the ability to predict thr trend of weekly oil price changes in Malaysia, because not once or twice, but thrice had I made a correct prediction on the trend.

I’d predicted beforehand that in the coming 3 weeks, the price will be as below:
    25/4 -Drop
    02/5-No change
    09/5-Drop.

I must not let the rakyat know of this power, obviously because of safety reason. I DO NOT WANT TO BE FORCED TO BE THE PROPHET OF OIL CHANGE and experience Wednesday Blue, dahlah Monday blue is suffering enough.

Sincerely,
    Your lovely owner

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • Not Toyota Fan on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:38 am

Boss, give prediction for Toto/Kuda/Magnum lah.

• stastasta on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:02 am

i wish we could have election every month, then fuel prices will be forever low.

• Penipu besar on Apr 18, 2018 at 7:42 pm

More lies by BN when they say fuel prices follow a certain formula based on market prices. BN tipu, BN tipu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 2
    • Obvious Amir on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:57 pm

jangan biar penipu curi hak dan masa depan rakyat malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Blue travelers on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:12 pm

I’m just here with popcorn waiting for paultan infamous pro residents : john’s explanation on this issues. John has took a firm stand that bolaland fuel price are free floated months n years already under this administration. All other commenters’ counter arguments are idiots, who don’t kown anything.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 1
  • Blue traveler on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:29 pm

I’m just here for paultan’s comment section’s infamous residents john’s explanation on this issue. He has famously took a stand that the fuel price is free floating, the administration have no hand in inflating or suppressing it, for months and years already. Irony is a bitch isn’t it. Now, where my bag of chips. By the way, crude, mops and refine all up 2 weeks already. Now where’s my bag of chips

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:37 pm

syukur pm kita sayang rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • Digidigi on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:38 pm

Our government is good, once every five years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • david on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:48 pm

The cronies certainly hope there will be nothing changes on May 9th.

This is why the price remained unchanged despite of increasing prices of the crude oil.

• Woot Woot on Apr 18, 2018 at 9:03 pm

GE goodies

• Gomorrah on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Where is that person who keeps saying the fuel price mechanism is free floating bla bla bla? Petrol price is soaring at the bowser in other countries now, how is it in our country it is staying the same? Miracles? Sudden subsidy? How much money is being used to subsidise the supposedly non-subsidised petrol? And how will it affect prices later? The float got stuck ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
    • 12yrsold john on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:48 am

Hehehe. That person who keeps saying the fuel price mechanism is free floating is currently in ICU bro.

• Hayeri on Apr 19, 2018 at 12:53 am

I need a favor, hopefully the paul tan blog could make a post reviewing Proton new offerings.
    1st review proton preve 2018 facelift as it is already in the showroom.
    2nd I noticed new iriz backseat headrest is now not adjustable/removeable anymore. Any other cost saving feature?
    3rd Ertiga facelift is about to launch in Indonesia. How does this affect Proton strategy in selling Ertiga? Stop, update to new one, or continue with current model?

• TheDean on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:09 am

When was the last time fuel prices went unchanged for many weeks in a row? I’m happy that it hasn’t increased, but really, without any press conferences and nearing election this simply erodes the people’s trust even further. The government really has a poor pr department.

• Petoron Sagu on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:16 am

I hope there will be price increase. Too many car on the road. Who that doesn’t like the increase, go to Singapore. Earn SGD like you always wanted and spend it as you always wanted. Hope when PH take over from BN, they keep on increasing the price….

• ku naan on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:16 am

Brent is at an all time high of USD73
    and yet no fuel price increase ?
    Govt setting a very bad precedent.
    Fuel price mechanism being manipulated?

• Aniki Tan on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:36 am

waiting for the GE14, vote BN for increasing and vote PH for decreasing~

• Up bash, maintain bash. Haih..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Fuel prices rigged on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:54 am

Looks like govt fuel figures cannot be relied on … manipulated. So before this GE14,
    Mr Najib have we been subsidizing the govt instead ?? As your figures are questionable now

• azhar on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:21 am

clear evidence that govt DO have power to control fuel prices

• hyin21 on Apr 19, 2018 at 2:13 pm

it is so obviously wrong that price remains when world price is going up. Hopefully someone can ask this question during BN’s ceramah. And hopefully the next Govt will revert to subsidising essential goods.

• so confirmed the fuel prices are rigged….

lets stop posting the fuel price shall we, coz its pointless already…

no matter what world oil price/singapore mean of platts all BS^^