Future Lamborghini supercars to be PHEV – no turbos!

It looks like Lamborghini is planning to stick with naturally-aspirated engines for its super-sports models, resisting the downsizing and turbocharging trend that its rivals are adopting. According to Autocar, the Italian carmaker’s technical director, Maurizio Reggiani said he intends to resist any pressure to reduce the number of cylinders in its next generation of supercars.

“Every car has a mission, and based on that mission you have to choose the right engine. For the [Urus SUV] the decision was turbo, but we will continue to choose natural aspiration for the super-sports cars. In the future, we will need to take account of fuel consumption and emissions. I am convinced the naturally aspirated engine coupled with a hybrid system can be the right answer,” explained Reggiani.

The successor to the Huracán is scheduled to debut in 2022, and there’s a good chance it will be a plug-in hybrid. However, Reggiani hinted that the Aventador, which will be introduced before 2022, will also be employing an electrified powertrain.

He said: “We need to reinvent this icon without [losing] the characteristics of the current car: carbon-fibre, the V12 naturally aspirated engine and other components. Looking forward, if it is a hybrid, then in what ways can we compensate for its weight?”

Of course, the issue with electrification is added weight, but Reggiani also said that battery density is as big of a concern, because the battery pack needs to be able to accommodate a significant number of cells. The automaker is currently working on a project – previewed by the Terzo Millennio concept – with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston to develop CF bodywork that can act as a storage battery as well as superconductors.

Reggiani said an electrical drivetrain may help smoothen out the current Aventador’s ‘sometimes aggressive’ single-clutch transmission. “You could use the electric motor to ensure that you don’t have torque interruption,” he noted.

The Aventador’s successor will still come with a naturally-aspirated V12, as will the Huracán with a V10. “The reaction you have to a 10-cylinder engine you cannot have from any other kind. This is what our customers love. Why do I need to do something different? If I trust in the NA engine, why downgrade my powertrain to a V8 or V6? I am Lamborghini, I am the top of the pinnacle of super-sports cars. I want to stay where I am,” said Reggiani.

GALLERY: Lamborghini Aventador S in Malaysia

GALLERY: Lamborghini Huracán Performante Spyder

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Great!! Just like Mazda.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 22, 2018 at 5:52 pm

wow, even hardcore sportscars like Lambo and Ferrari also moving to PHEV, EV or Hybrid.

Infact, the whole world is moving towards EV, PHEV and Hybrids.

But in Malaysia, Proton masih tido. Promised Hybrid 10 years ago, until now habuk pun tarak ada.

Promised EV 5 years ago, until now, habuk pun tarak ada

Hope they wake up from their deep slumber. Shy that Geely has to give us EV, Hybrids and PHEV in the future and our own local talent could not meet the task

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
      • Hahaha! Meanwhile P2 begging toyota to donate their hybrid engine from Toyota Museum exhibit. Kecian basher trying so hard to please his lords.

• Chandra on Jun 23, 2018 at 12:24 am

Wow, comparing Proton to Lambo. Is Proton really that good or Lambo that bad? You really are a massive bonehead.

• Awang Selamat on Jun 23, 2018 at 11:49 am

Typical GLC and Putrajaya style….talk big but no substance.

Then cry for bailout.

• Yup. so typical Putrajaya now. Kejap 1 trillion story, then 687 Billion story, then 800 Billion story, then back to 1 Trillion story. Dunno which story is true. Deswai all investors cabut lari.

• Exactly. N/A still the way to go. Downsizing is just for car manufacturers to cheat their way for lower taxes. Now when many countries wanted an emission reading from actual driving condition, downsized turbo engine will definitely failed big time.

• This is the reason why performance car drivers prefer the Lambo over Ferrari and Porsches. It sticks to its original natural aspirated engines in a V format. Nobody else makes 12 cyclinder engines the way Lamborghini makes them.

• Lambo is good in engine noise and outlandish exterior, that’s all! In terms of handling and performance, Ferrari and Porsche are still ahead. The sales numbers doesn’t lie, Ferrari and Porsche are outselling Lamborghini with a wide margin. Don’t forget that Ferrari also makes one of the best V12 engines ever.

• MeToo on Jun 22, 2018 at 4:55 pm

PHEV?

No vroom vroom sound?

Or like BMW i8 have fake exhaust/engine sound coming form the radio?

• Anonymous on Jun 22, 2018 at 7:49 pm

It’s a plugin HYBRID, the combustion engine will still be there and it’d still be a V12. The i8 is a 3 cylinder.

• Yusri on Jun 23, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Like the fake eksos in our Perdana because Proton designers malas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Brian on Jun 23, 2018 at 11:12 pm

Yup. Just like Myvi SE with the fake quad exhaust. Perodua designers malas to even lift a finger, only know how to rebadge.

• Taknaktoyota on Jun 24, 2018 at 3:31 am

Butthurt la tu ko punya vios ekzos Tak nampak pun

• Kelabit on Jun 24, 2018 at 9:11 am

whole of Proton is fake like fake john

• Another dupe? on Jun 24, 2018 at 1:55 pm

You forget Toyota, Mercedes and Audi also uses fake exhaust vents. Look at the fake exhaust vents in the Audi Q8 and behold, hypocrite!

• stastasta on Jun 26, 2018 at 9:42 am

proton took 1.5 billion soft loan, and R&D grant from taxpayer, to design fake exhaust vents.

• Why no vrooom vrooom sound. PHEV is not full EV. It still has a V10 or V12 engine.
      You cannot compare to i8. That thing cost more than RM1mil but has a 3 cylinder engine. That is why it needs fake sound. If not, people will laugh at how it sounds. 3 cylinder = Kancil, Kenari, Kelisa and Axia.

• Brian on Jun 22, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Heresy, I tell you! Heresy! Supercars without the guttural throes? No way!

• yup…488 gtb sounds nowhere near as exciting as a 458 speciale , NA keeps the characteristics of the car alive,
    Granted, the more exotic and next gen items they use would increase price and sells less cars, but , that would lead to better exclusivity….

• Loke Your Yew on Jun 24, 2018 at 3:20 am

Why not using V12, electric turbo and small battery on wheels together?

• Mikey on Jun 25, 2018 at 10:17 am

Since U asked the questions, U should get a reply.

1) a V12 engine will always be heavier than a V6/8

2) if U turbocharge the engine, U don’t have to carry a big/heavy engine. A V6/8 will suffice.

3) adding electric motor’s will add weight hence if U opt for electric motor’s, U will have to down size to justify the inclusion of electric motor’s.

With modern technologies, most sports car companies will downsize, turbocharge &/or use electric motor’s to meet strict European emissions rules. Hope someone can help chip in to explain better.

• Afeeq Hasan on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:13 am

Hell yeah! I hate Turbos and small engines!

• Aniki Tan on Jun 25, 2018 at 9:46 am

Turbo just for people to pay less road tax, so for supercars, there is no reason to change to turbocharge as it is affordable by richs and road tax reduction is not a concern by them.