Mercedes-Benz A-Class Malaysian launch delayed to end-2018 – C-Class facelift in Q4, S-Class facelift soon

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has had a relatively slow start in terms of product launches this year, but things are set to pick up considerably in the second half. The company is due to introduce a number of new models and variants, with the first of the core models being the W222 S-Class facelift.

It was reported last year that the car was targeted for a June introduction, but it’s now confirmed that the S-Class will be launched in early Q3, quite possibly sometime next month. An example was spied on local roads back in May, and based on an MBM price list that briefly appeared on the company’s website, the debut model should be an S 450 variant, in locally-assembled guise.

No word on whether the S 560 e plug-in hybrid is in the pipeline – there has been a general quiet about this, but by all accounts the company’s strong hybrid push in recent times should see the replacement of the S 400 h being part of the range, though at what point remains to be seen.

A model that is certain is the third-generation CLS – when we last spoke to MBM vice-president of sales and marketing Mark Raine, he said the C257 was on the cards, due in sometime after mid-year. The CLS is already in the region, having made its market debut in Thailand – in a solitary CLS 300d AMG model guise – a few months ago.

The W205 C-Class facelift is also due in before the year is out, making its appearance here in Q4. The car is expected to arrive in its Benz-badged civilian form first, followed by the AMG C 43 versions at a later point. Other AMG-related activity is also due – word from the grapevine has it that some AMG 53 models are on the cards (perhaps the E 53 and CLS 53?).

The new G-Class is another vehicle inbound, but there’s no confirmation as yet to whether the niche Gelandewagen will make it in this year or have its local debut in 2019. One car that was scheduled to be launched around this time was the W177 A-Class, but buyers will have to wait that bit longer for one. Apparently, production issues have delayed the market deployment of the hatchback globally, and it looks like the A-Class will only go on sale here by year-end at the earliest.

When it finally arrives, the A-Class will go on sale in fully-imported CBU form, as has been the case with the W176 model, but Raine said that the company is looking into eventually assembling the brand’s compact cars here as part of its continued growth plan. “We’re looking at extending our local product portfolio. We already have the C-, E-, S-Class, GLC and AMG 43 models, so the logical next step would be the new compact cars,” he said.

“The locally-assembled C-Class, E-Class, S-Class and GLC made up more than 75% of our overall sales last year, so if we want to continue to expand the footprint of Mercedes-Benz in Malaysia the key to it is localisation, and that’s why we’re also looking at compact cars,” he said, adding that no decision on localisation plans have been confirmed, or even with regards to model choices.

A future model being looked at very intently is the A-Class Sedan. The car made its debut in a China-only long wheelbase form back in April, but a version tailored to the needs of customers outside China is slated. “That is something we are obviously looking into, as Malaysia is still very much a three-box design market. So, we’re very excited about that, because the A-Class sedan would open up the brand to a wider target audience here,” Raine said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Jul 05, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Mercedes Benz free GST… Syukurrr

• Tokbomoh on Jul 05, 2018 at 7:52 pm

German > sushi> kimchi> chinese

• All delayed because they want to make debut at Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 05, 2018 at 8:11 pm

Nearly every model has a Plug in Hybrid version. MBM should bring these cars down to save the rakyat money as we can benefit from the EV tax incentive given by the Government.

One of the t sellers is GLC. In overseas, GLC got hybrid. Why don’t MBM bring this Hybrid down and sell the car for so much cheaper than the GLC200?? (cause can benefit from the EV tax incentive)

• No… U are just waiting for more clarity on SST. U profited so much that u scare u are shortchanged when SST kicks in.

• Sohai on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:18 pm

30millions msian looking for A-class sedan to be local assy here… Time is limited, no more waiting, fast kickoff A-Class sedan assy kit here…

• klasse on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:07 pm

Looks like a saga hatch to me

• halloha560 on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Nowadays, Mercedes exterior design looks like very old grandfather design. Not only that, Mercedes only have 4 years unlimited warranty compared to almost all car manufacturer company have 5 years unlimited warranty. Mercedes Benz also paid fatter fines due to cheated emissions regulators with defeat devices.

• With only 2 years warranty plus 1 * 2 years extended local warranty, it would be cut throat maintenance after own it 2 years plus.

• Mike Khoh on Jul 06, 2018 at 4:48 am

A class sedan is the answer. MBM did their homework well

• The front of new A class looks odd…

• Aero (Member) on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:14 am

Good to know MBM is considering local assembly for the upcoming A-Class. Despite being the most affordable Mercedes model, there has never been a CKD A-Class. It’s a missed opportunity for MBM. The BMW 1 Series is considerably cheaper than the A-Class thanks to local assembly.

This is only a guess, but I think MBM doesn’t really want to invest in A-Class local assembly because the profit margins are too low or non-existent. I’ve read some time back that even the C-Class profit margins are already too low for MBM. It also doesn’t make business sense for MBM to dilute their exclusivity and brand image by moving DOWNmarket. They are a luxury car company, they should be selling more high-end luxury cars and SUVs, not low-end hatchbacks and small sedans.

Looks like there will be no X-Class in Malaysia this year either. Then again, Thailand hasn’t got it either, so we’ll have to wait and see.

• All tactics really. If they price A keras veli kolos to C keras, then the salesman can bait and switch those looking for A keras to topup and go for C keras. Deswai C keras is top seller, and Mesidis make record breaking sales year after year.

• Ben Yap on Jul 06, 2018 at 10:05 am

When u buy a merc, u know u are half way there until u drive a maserati.

• MyNameIs on Jul 06, 2018 at 10:16 am

We want A-Class Sedan.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 06, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Awesome news glad they are happy and eager to bring in the A Class sedan. Meanwhile BMW has been slow in rolling out the 1 Series sedan worldwide.