Honda HR-V facelift revealed in Europe with 1.5L turbo

Europeans tends to receive Hondas far later than any other region, but in return they get goodies that aren’t available anywhere else. That’s true for the facelifted HR-V as well, which arrives in the Continent nearly six months after it made its debut in Japan, but gets a new engine and a couple of hitherto unseen features.

The big news is under the bonnet, where Honda has finally shoehorned the Civic‘s 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine. That’s coming in 2019 alongside the 1.6 litre i-DTEC turbodiesel; at launch, the HR-V will soldier on with the same 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated i-VTEC petrol as before. It gets friction-reducing plateau honed cylinder walls and timing chains coating, which reduce long-term wear and improve efficiency.

Outputs remain at 130 PS and 155 Nm of torque, resulting in an identical zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of at 10.7 seconds with the standard six-speed manual gearbox and 11.2 seconds with the optional CVT. Meanwhile, combined fuel consumption has dropped from 5.7 to 5.3 litres per 100 km, as have carbon dioxide emissions from 134 to 121 grams per kilometre.

The European HR-V will also be equipped with increased sound-deadening material around the car, including around the front bulkhead and wheel arches, the boot structure and both front and rear door panels. Certain models will also receive Active Noise Cancellation (ANC) to further reduce noise.

Elsewhere, it’s the same facelift as elsewhere, with new projector halogen headlights and LED daytime running lights as standard, plus a bolder dark chrome grille graphic, deeper front air intakes with circular fog lights, a dark chrome rear garnish and smoked tail lights. Higher-end trim levels get full-LED headlights, tube-type LED tail lights and new 17-inch five-spoke alloy wheels – the latter are unique to Europe.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Muzammil on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:09 am

We hope Msian HR-V will get better interior trims and plastiks. More NVH material and Active Noise Cancellation(ANC) to reduce noise.

• Autobahn on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:05 pm

One generation too late la H…hyundai kona already equipped with 1.6 turbo 204hp with proper gearbox not the rubber box…go back to sleep…u sell 1.8 na dinasour engine oso msian will still buy maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Hehehe on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:10 am

Thats what we want too. 1.5 turbo on our hrv mesia.

• Ksatria on Aug 14, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Hope MAI can set higher safety standards like Europe for national(if one came to exist) & non national cars selling in msia so that we wont get the usual tin milos with sub standard safety equipment any more

• No more Honda on Aug 14, 2018 at 1:05 pm

No more Honda next time ,my Hrv rubber seal always drop itself and the tyre noise is ridiculous,proton persona nvh better den it much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Johnson Amigo on Aug 14, 2018 at 3:41 pm

zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of at 11.2 seconds so slow?? full loaded how?

• Ben Yap on Aug 14, 2018 at 4:16 pm

anything from honda, it is a pleasant drive.

my civic 1.5 turbo can cucuk audi A4. imagine HRV can cucuk harrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Volvo owner on Aug 14, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Sad that you can only afford a Honda

• The cucuk man.. on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:43 pm

My hrv already cucuk harrier..but toyota harrier spec 2016 not the latest one..the latest one got turbo..it will cucuk my hrv back..

• SARAVANAN on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:51 am

Nonsense….i drive a 2003 240G….So many times HRV try to cucuk….all I have to do is kickdown ….especially from 110 to 180..HRV hilang terus….

• italia on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Hahaha Audi A4 driver only push 2000RPM while your junk ady screaming at 5000 RPM.

• Maybe Honda gave you the power of wet dream. While you are doing 6000 rpm the A4 probably eating kuaci doing 1500 rpm. Looks like Honda slogan is effective.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:04 pm

I find the first paragraph of this article offensive. Europeans tend to get Hondas late but they get goodies not available anywhere else…?

It seems like Malaysia is even late in getting this facelift model, and are we getting even more goodies not available anywhere else, especially Europe..?

Be careful what you write, and how much Honda paid you to write this…?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 16, 2018 at 6:35 pm

The facelifted HR-V is only going on sale in Europe in October; we’re probably getting ours earlier, since it’s been open for booking for some time.

Remember also that we received the latest Jazz and CR-V an entire year ahead of Europe, and we beat the UK in getting the Civic sedan by a whole two years.

• It is not how fast we get the update. It is the same quality of material used and option given in EU and Malaysia should be the same.

Check out the specs for the Jazz in UK…https://www.honda.co.uk/cars/new/jazz/specifications.html They have full LED headlights, active city stop, lane departure warning, rear disc brakes, front parking sensor, better head unit, rain sensing wipers n more…

See how much short change Malaysian gets. Come one Honda Malaysia. You can do much better. Don’t take Malaysian for a ride.

• halloha560 on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Honda service is very terrible