New Lexus ES 300h launched in Thailand – fr RM448k

The new Lexus ES is now in Thailand, after being launched in Indonesia at the 2018 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show, which we reported from. As with our southern neighbour, the seventh-generation ES is also available in Thailand solely as a hybrid.

The ES 300h is the choice in the Land of Smiles for tax reasons, the Bangkok Post points out. With an improved hybrid system, fuel economy is up from 20 km/l to a claimed 22 km/l, but it’s the below 100 g/km C02 emissions that has cut excise tax from 16% to 8%, enabling Lexus to maintain entry prices at 3.59 million baht (RM448,545) for the Luxury trim. The Grand Luxury is priced at 3.76 million baht (RM469,827) while the Premium comes in at 4.19 million baht (RM523,622).

The English language daily says that the ES is aimed at well heeled Thais wanting a fuel-efficient alternative to diesel-powered European executive saloons, but don’t want the additional task of plug-in charging. As in Malaysia, Lexus faces the same CBU vs CKD issues in Thailand, where premium German brands have the local assembly price advantage.

The seventh-generation XV70 is new from the ground up, and rides on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) GA-K platform, which also underpins the latest Camry. Lexus says it rivals the GA-L RWD platform used for the LC grand tourer and LS limo in terms of rigidity.

Looking very much like a smaller LS, the new ES is 66 mm longer and 46 mm wider than before, but sits 5 mm lower. The wheelbase has also grown by 51 mm, and all these figures contribute to the sleeker appearance – “provocative elegance” is what the design seeks to achieve. The dramatic spindle grille comes with vertical slats here and the 18-inch wheels are in a “Resonator” design.

The ES 300h combines a 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder petrol engine with an electric motor that’s lighter, more compact and more power dense. The total system output is 215 hp. Power goes to the front wheels via a CVT automatic.

In Indonesia, the car we detailed had a largest in class colour head-up display, 12.3-inch central screen, 17-speaker Mark Levinson Pure Play sound system, rear seat controls in the centre armrest (for seats, temp and audio), sunroof, kick-to-open powered boot, panoramic view parking monitor, three-zone auto AC with carbon filtration and nano-e, heated/ventilated seats and full LED exterior lighting.

An “Ultra Luxury” variant adds on power reclining rear seats, semi-aniline leather seats and acoustic glass rear windows to go with the standard front ones. The outgoing ES was a decent seller for Lexus Malaysia, so this new one should be heading to our market in the near future.

GALLERY: Lexus ES 300h in Indonesia

GALLERY: Lexus ES 300h official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 1:34 pm

Such a beauty. You got this kind of car….who even wants to look at the Perdana?

Proton better learn from toyota how to design their cars. Oooops I forgot, Proton is only a rebadger and they don’t design their cars anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • Nobody cross shops Perdana with Ciaz except u. Just admit it that u got no money. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
      • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 2:19 pm

This article talk about Ciaz? Are you sesat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • don’t see anything or any comment on Suzuki Ciaz here….are you okay?

• Darren Surin on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:06 pm

what are you talking about? MAna Ciaz? What is Ciaz?

• Haris on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:06 pm

Pls improve your English and try to read the article. No Ciaz here

• Junkard on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Honestly this glorified Toyota looks like tractor with big useless ugly grill

• Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:24 pm

OMG john again said something not relevant. Bro, try not to shame your self please!!!

• Albert Yong on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:50 pm

john, you have done it again! Either fake news you spread or you tembak not relevant points or off topic.

Pls ask your ex boss to train you better

• rightwinger on Aug 21, 2018 at 2:42 pm

idiot! WTF does this Lexus have to do with P1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • FrankC on Aug 22, 2018 at 10:00 am

Interestingly it runs on cvt transmission. Will this be new trend in luxury category soon?

• DPCraft on Aug 22, 2018 at 2:21 pm

RM448k? <—and that's just base variant. Siao ah?
      This car sharing platform engine with Camry…also means it's a FWD at most should be priced on par with C-Class with is around 250k. Heck 448k is absurd. Volvo's S90+ T8 at 366k seems like a bargain now…it might not be as spacious but you get a lot more, like B&W system, more refined & powerful 407hp hybrid system.and also AWD!! It also drives and handles way better. While the Lexus might look gorgeous to some eye…it's a highly overpriced product…and the specs does not justify the price!

• Hussein Abd Majid on Aug 21, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Toyota and Lexus sales melambung in malaysia despite prices being so expensive.

Even Gen Y and Millenial work hard and long hours just to own a Japanese car. They know what good RV is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • Ah Kow on Aug 21, 2018 at 2:30 pm

For just RM148K, better get the stunning new Camry aka deglorified Lexus ES RM448K.

• Sushi Sucks on Aug 21, 2018 at 11:41 pm

Lexus sales in Malaysia is not selling well as in the case of Mercedes. In fact Lexus sales in Malaysia is poor

Toyota sells more cos it is cheaper to buy and cheaper to own like in the case of the Milo Tin Vios and the Dangerous Avanza

Most of all cheaper Toyotas or glorified Toyota ( lexus) are still being installed with Takata Air bags which is still questionable till todate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Mikey on Aug 21, 2018 at 2:42 pm

Sorry to spoil your mood bro. A man who look for good RV will buy a property bcoz it have better chance of appreciation.
    Maybe using this Lexus can close more sales for U. I know bcoz my consultant use his Lexus to do the closing of his sales & it works wonders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Lexus will always be more expensive because they will never assemble their vehicles outside of Japan except for the RX which is also made in the US continent.

• stastasta on Aug 24, 2018 at 11:44 am

as a customer , i dgaf if it is assemble in japan . why should i pay the high salary for glorious nippon workers ? if can be assemble to a similarly high fit and finish by some 3rd world shithole workers, then lexus should shift production to that country and drop price by 30%.

• Dislike Toyota on Aug 21, 2018 at 11:35 pm

Ugly Grill

Never see anything good or outstanding about Lexus

just another glorified Toyota. Wonder what innovations Lexus had contributed to automotive world.

No everyone appreciate the Lexus looks hence RV is poor too immaterial of the pricing ( over price ).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Audi Fans on Aug 21, 2018 at 11:48 pm

Between a Lexus and a Mercedes

90% in Malaysia will look and buy the Mercedes rather than the Lexus .

Just another failure for lexus since Lexus had been in our malaysian since the 90’s till now.

Hardly see new lexus car on Malaysia roads nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Madeline on Aug 22, 2018 at 1:13 am

Overall the Lexus design is UGLY & so oldies looks even the rear design & light need time to digest on the rear design

Just wondering whether this sort of Lexus design can sell in Malaysia since Lexus sales is only better than Audi and Porsche.

• FrankC on Aug 22, 2018 at 10:06 am

In terms of appearance, lately Toyota and Lexus is clearly one of the ugliest car around in luxury and d segment. Even vw passat looks which don’t change much from previous generation still looks much better.
      I don’t get Toyota’s design philosophy lately.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 22, 2018 at 9:24 am

the front looks like oversize brace, worn by a squinting lady…

• Brunei new es250 2018 new model, not hybrid 300h only cost b$69k which is around RM210k only. launched last week too. Malaysia Lexus is sooooooo expensive. sit in it and feel so comfortable and real super quiet, feel more grand than the gs model!