Motorcyclist almost loses head to wire trap in bike lane

A motorcyclist almost lost his head, and his life, after riding into a fishing line strung across the motorcycle lane on the Gombak exit of the DUKE highway. Facebook user Mohamad Afiq Izwan Ismail said the incident occurred at the motorcycle lane exit before the turn-off into Taman Rowther and Taman Koperasi Polis 1, Gombak, said a report in The Star.

In his Facebook post, university student Mohamad Afiq wrote that he suffered a cut on his neck and his helmet was damaged. “This is not a myth, as it happened to me. There’s some heartless human being who placed this trap near the corner … this is a fishing line, which is rough,” he said.

Mohamad Afiq added many riders were afraid to use the motorcycle lane at night, for fear of encountering such booby traps and becoming the victim of muggers or worse, losing their life. Speaking to The Star, Mohamad Afiq said he did not expect his post to go viral, saying his intention is to warn other riders in the area to be careful.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• mustaqeem on Sep 18, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Gombak… port ramai penggemar kucing..

• rightwinger on Sep 18, 2018 at 8:18 pm

my heart goes out to the victim. he’s right, there heartless people out there who wouldnt think twice with killing locals to replace them with mainlanders.

• 911 caller on Sep 18, 2018 at 8:28 pm

Fishing line trap set up by psychopath killer or terrorist?

• the driver on Sep 18, 2018 at 9:56 pm

I get really pissed off when I read about motorists complaining about ‘2 wheeled menaces on the highway’ –
    There will be less 2wheeled menaces when the authorities ensure that the motorcycle lanes are uniformly standardised and without any detours on the federal highway esp. at Motorola in PJ then maybe they might ride comfortably in the bike lanes. I ride a big bike in the bike lanes but most bike lanes are dangerous to ride on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Same Lor on Sep 19, 2018 at 12:29 pm

That’s why I suggest you guys to buy a car. There are so many danger with motorcycling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 51
      • Danger lurks every where. If u r suggesting car is safe, then taking public transport is safer dont u think so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Sep 19, 2018 at 9:57 pm

The bike lane was designed some 30 years ago. During which a kapcai has between 70-90cc engine only. 3 speed gearbox with top speed ranging from 80-95kmh.

Today kapchais top spec engine is between 150-175cc, 6 speed gearbox with top speed reaching 155kmh

• Motorcyclist on Sep 18, 2018 at 11:40 pm

Really sad to hear that. Hope they gonna catch those bastards

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 19, 2018 at 8:03 am

This is really bad. This what happens when parents have 6 to 12 kids each and have no time to guide the kids.

this is the work of bored youths and youths whose parents have no time for them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • anak12 on Sep 19, 2018 at 4:00 pm

no. this what happens when parent has 1 child and DIDN’T KNOW HOW TO TEACH’ their child.

even parents with 10 children can guide/teach their children until become doctors/professor/engineer, have good manner and religious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 19, 2018 at 8:06 am

Although this is very bad and need to be severely looked down upon, we must also see another big problem. Federal Highway, bikes are still causing a lot of problems.

Bike lanes are open but bikers are still using fast car lanes and being a big problem.

Everyday now Federal Highway got berpuluh accidents involved between bikes and cars.

Bikes should start using their lanes back again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
    • M'cycle lane user on Sep 19, 2018 at 1:48 pm

Dude, try to ride bike in the lanes, today open tommorow closed, next week.maybe open, we dont even know when they gonna officialy open it, the upgrading works still not finished. You think we wanted so much using car lanes ah? Car lanes on rush hour is damn disaster la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Rightwinger on Sep 19, 2018 at 11:46 pm

Its useless trying to reason with this chauvinist.

• Add A Comment on Sep 20, 2018 at 10:29 am

But can at least try to ride on the far left lane instead of fast lane or swirling around right? I am not saying it is you…but many of the others. Look around dude.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• U surely never rode a bike on federal highway, that’s why ur saying bluntly jz like many other drivers.. I leave along federal n travel daily using federal for so many years which 10fingers of mine is not enough to count the years of experience I had on federal highway. I drive whenever I’m wif family n I ride between two different kind of bikes to work, a scooter & a supersports bike.. First of al, the highway section within PJ terribly suxx let it be the main carriage or the bike lane. But honestly the bike lane is so so dam shitty that never once the PJ stretch is free from any construction or obstacles.. N during raining days expect some stretch to be flooded.. Over the Shah Alam stretch it’s generally better but yet again there are stretch where main highway branches across the bike lane where the motorcyclist had to wait at traffic lights just to continue straight, flooding and tight corners (literally a ‘L’ corner). Sometimes Im forced to ride on main highway due to the above mention conditions. If given a choice, I would rather ride my bike(including my supersport bike) in the bike lane fearing sm stupid maniac car or truck driver would annoyingly zig-zac cutting traffic queues n hit me. I had seen many accidents happened just becos the drivers cannot patiently wait in the line n choose to overtake blindly.. Many of which could had been avoided if only the drivers are ethical n the bike lane is functional.. A friend of mine, riding a bike on the emergency lane of federal UM stretch, suddenly hit by a pickup which was apparently also driving on the emergency lane.. So tel me, isit the bikers fault or the pickup driver? N mind you that stretch was long under construction /repair/refurbishment (call it watever u want) n open recently for bikers to use it.. It my be my rant, but I’m expressing my grunt of our poor bike lane n poor drivers(not riders) attitude..

• Tok pa on Sep 19, 2018 at 8:29 am

The most dangerous bike lane – kesas highway !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Mr. Octopus on Sep 19, 2018 at 9:01 am

Motorists who love to bash bikers for not using the bike lane… What do you have to say to this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • syukur laa malaysia masih aman

• Oscar award on Sep 19, 2018 at 9:55 am

Safer to install a huge front screen for all motorbikes like how the police motorcycle front screen is designed to withstand front impact.

• Yes it is true, the bike lane is dangerous, sharp turn, unsafe entrance and exit, blind spot, narrow lane, poor road surface and maintenance, slippery and totally discriminate the motorcyclist, and, when they are refused to use it, they were penalized by the authority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Gilay on Sep 19, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Charge toll for bike lanes, use the toll income to upgrade bike lanes and facilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Sub_zero on Sep 19, 2018 at 7:48 pm

I willing to be charged toll as long as we shared the same road

No point separate motorcycle using that small lane everytime near a toll, frustrating and dangerous

• Henry on Sep 19, 2018 at 2:05 pm

This is evil.