What is Proton’s future direction and what can you expect – an interview with its CEO Li Chunrong

In the first year since assuming the role of chief executive officer at Proton, Li Chunrong has focused on various initiatives to bring the national carmaker back to the heights of glory that it once attained. As you’d expect, this isn’t an easy responsibility to undertake.

There are many aspects that demand attention, which have been stipulated in the 10-year plan that has been laid down to bring Proton to the forefront. Among them are two standouts that are clear for all to see: the introduction of the company’s first-ever SUV, the Proton X70 that will be launched soon, and the upgrade of over 100 dealerships to 3S/4S centres this year.

However, behind the scenes of Proton’s operating and brand management, there are other things that have changed. Company policies, long-standing business practices from before, expectations placed on vendors and suppliers, and many more, all have be done to achieve one goal – improving the overall quality of Proton’s product line-up and regaining customer confidence in Proton. And, this is what Proton needs at this point.

To find out more about the planning and ongoing efforts, we had the opportunity to sit down with the man of the hour for an interview recently at the Proton Centre of Excellence. What can we expect from Proton moving forward? We direct the questions to Li himself.

The Proton SUV will be launched soon, with bookings already exceeding 10,000 units up until now. Is this a good development for Proton? What contributed to this warm reception (of the SUV model)?

We began order taking of the X70 first in September this year. At the time, it was conducted only at physical showrooms only. A month later, in October, we started taking online bookings. That was a new method for us, and the first time it has been done in Malaysia by any manufacturer. However, this method is common in China. Looking at the response we received, customer awareness towards the X70 and Proton is now higher.

Once the official launch takes place, will there be units ready to be delivered immediately to customers who made a booking? How will Proton plan to handle this matter considering the X70 is (initially) a CBU model from China?

No, the handover will be done in stages. Once launched, we will make sure the number of units ready is enough to maintain the momentum in the market, balancing between supply and demand accordingly, as well as shortening delivery times. Those who placed their booking early will be given priority. The feedback from the bookings made gives us the advantage to plan the distribution rate of the model for the local market.

The Proton X70 as we know, is a model based on the Geely Boyue. What are the processes required to prepare the model for the Malaysian market?

On the one hand, the X70 isn’t a “rebadged” model as widely understood. Chiefly is the switch from left-hand drive to right-hand drive. This process isn’t as easy as switching seating positions only, as it involves transferring five main vehicle systems, with 20 components that require modifications. About 500 Proton personnel were involved in the project and are currently working at Geely’s plant in China. The time it took to complete the project was one and a half years. Now, the X70 is ready to enter the local market.

Proton previously announced that the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the X70 will be introduced later, replacing the CBU model that is being marketed first after its launch. What are the differences we can expect from the CBU model? Will the new 1.5 litre engine co-developed by Geely and Volvo be offered?

For now, there’s still a lot of work that must be done to ensure the introduction of the X70 CBU runs smoothly. In that regard, we will focus on the matter at hand first. A CKD version is definitely planned, but it isn’t time for us to reveal anything about it. Currently, the X70 is the priority for the market.

Is there a possibility that the X70 will emerge as a seven-seater later?

It isn’t included in our existing plan but it can be considered later. Since the X70’s body design is rather big, it’s not impossible to introduce (a seven-seat version) here, if there is demand from the market.

The naming approach taken with Proton models is completely different starting wit the X70 when compared to previous models like the Saga, Persona, Iriz and others. Will this approach be retained and will the names of existing models be changed as well?

Starting with the X70, the new naming approach for future Proton models will follow this latest method; it becomes like a sign for the transition of Proton’s products. However, for existing models, their names will be retained. This is because many are already familiar with the names, and we have no intention to change them.

After a year as CEO of Proton, what are some of the challenges you’ve faced? Do you understand the intricacies of the market here? Can you share your observations?

The most critical challenge I had to face is the total sales volume of Proton vehicles that have diminished when I joined the company. That’s a very difficult situation. With 30 years of experience in the operation of different automotive industries and my involvement in the joint venture (JV), I’m trying to reestablish Proton’s path.

From my observations, the market here has different demands and is of a much smaller scale compared to China. The prices of cars here are also higher compared to China, and the lifespan of a model is much longer here. So, based on these inputs, Proton will plan its way forward.

Among the goals of Geely’s joint venture is to restore Proton as the leader of the local market. How will this be achieved?

When I took up the responsibility, the Proton-Geely deal included a 10-year plan to be achieved. Indeed, for now, we only the new X70 as the first model to come out of this joint venture.

Recognising the SUV segment as a large and popular one in Malaysia (compared to sedans and compact hatchbacks), Proton will enter segments with potential that it wasn’t represented in before this. Therefore, among the steps taken is to introduce one new model every year, for different segments. This doesn’t include improving existing models, and certainly to increase the annual sales volume of Proton vehicles here.

What about the export market?

In 2017, we exported 248 units. In 2018, around 1,700 units will make their way out of Malaysia. With the support of the Malaysian government, we are targeting to export about 3,000 to 4,000 vehicles over the coming years. This is still being worked on.

One of the key factors to regain customer confidence is improving the quality of products and customer service provided by Proton. How has the development been so far?

As many are aware, Proton is actively upgrading its dealer network to 3S/4S centre. This is for customer satisfaction, and we are close to hitting our target for this year. Secondly, the quality of the product itself. For the whole year I was here, Geely’s internal audit team have been here three times for evaluations.

With the same internal demerit rating system used by Volvo, Proton, which recorded 6,680 points in October 2017, has now reduced the figure to 1,574 points as of October 2018 (higher points earned equals worse). Within a short period of time, this is something we are proud of, as we originally aimed to hit 1,500 points.

How do you deal with the perception that Proton is now a Chinese company, and no longer a company that’s more closely associated with Malaysians?

That’s totally incorrect. If there is any change in this context, Proton hasn’t turned into a Chinese company, but a multinational company. Why do I say that? It’s true that Geely has an interest in Proton but in terms of operation, it is not as you’d expect.

I’ll give you an example. At the Tanjung Malim plant, we have three Japanese engineers who head the operations there. Proton’s chief financial officer is a Canadian national. The design and styling department has British and French individuals who are also involved in providing input. Similarly, a few German and Indian nationals with their respective expertise contribute equally.

Our goal is singular: to improve Proton’s condition and restore it to its respected position as before. All these things we’ve discussed – and many other aspects of course – are the changes that are necessary to achieve that goal.

DISCLOSURE: This interview was conducted by our sister site paultan.org/BM, and has been translated/paraphrased accordingly.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton oh proton on Nov 09, 2018 at 1:42 pm

how much is Proton X70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:05 pm

I have to ask Li Chunrong one question….Proton was born in 1985. Geely was born in 1997. So Proton is more senior. Why is Geely teaching Proton?

It is Proton that should be teaching Geely. It is Proton that should be transferring technology to Geely

Why is Geely having so much of success and expertise in car industry when it is 12 years younger than Proton?

Why does Geely make USD$30 billion (RM100 billion) in profits last year and Proton makes RM4 mil in losses per day?

Proton also could have marketed our cars to all over the world and China market as well. Infact, Proton had an advantage. They had the worlds markets and even China to market their cars. Geely only really had China to market their cars.

So why are both companies so different?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 17
      • What can i expect?

Same company, same attitude in working. If pipu say the new Gov is the same, so is Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Proton Rebadger After 30 Yrs on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:27 pm

you are right. Same 10,000 lazy workers in Proton that ruined the company in the first place are still there.

So, how different can Proton be now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
          • Penyanggak on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:55 pm

For declaring a Chinese car as a national car …it’s tantamount to tax evasion… You should be ashamed of yourself Li Chung … Geely didn’t keep their promise to help develop new Proton models but using Proton status to sell China cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
          • Bruno on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Now Proton got access to Volvo, Geely, Lotus technology and platform …some say even Merc Benz. Xie xie Geely Li Chunrong !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • Broken Promise Lichun on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:26 pm

I have One question for this Li Chun person …. Prior to DRB selling Proton …what happened to Geely promise to the Govt to turn Proton around like it did Volvo.. injecting resources to build new models and creation of jobs for Malaysians… But its very obvious now that Proton is being used instead by Geely instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Li Chunrong did not break his promise. Volvo was easy to turn around because Swedish people work hard. Just that Volvo went into financial difficulty

Proton – all lazy workers. So it is hard to turn around like Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
          • Stop BS lichun on Nov 09, 2018 at 11:26 pm

As i read this interview … its unbelievable the amount of BS this li chun is coughing out … making it sound like rocket science to change left to right with 500 Proton personnel involved. If li chun really needed 500 then he failed miserably.. when it can be done with 100 or less

• Very Shock on Nov 09, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Before driving a Proton is like wearing a Casio watch when everyone else wore Swiss watches for status… Today driving a GeelyProton is like wearing a fake casio watch… with zero identity and zero brand

• Azrul on Nov 10, 2018 at 3:18 pm

Nasib baik China datang tolong org Malaysia. Kalau tidak, Proton dan Malaysia dua dua pun hangus bangkerap….oh wai!

• Capt Slow on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:46 pm

So slow. rather elect CEO from DRB hicom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
          • “At the Tanjung Malim plant, we have three Japanese engineers who head the operations there.”

Really? Time to fire the Jepunis as we always say sushi sucks and replace with our locals.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Li Chunrong is one clever dude. Managed to get local car status and local tax privileges just for a mere RM170 million for Proton

Honda, Toyota and Nissan spent tens of billions in Malaysia the past 40 years to establish their brands and earn the right to have local car status and local tax privileges.

Li Chunrong, with just RM170 million got local car status and local tax privileges overnight. What a slap to the Japanese.

What did Proton lose for taking RM170 million?

a) They lost 49.9% of the company. But in reality, they lost more than that because local Malaysians now have ZERO say. China calls all the shots even though DRB has “controlling stake”. We are puppet boneka only.

b) Lost Lotus completely. Not bad, geely now has Lotus for just RM170 million ringgit.

c) Proton lost its RM5 billion land in Shah Alam with a Gross Development Value of RM12 billion.

Li Chunrong and China are really brilliant people! Salute!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • Miti Kena Kaw2 on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Yup he is so smart … he even took Miti for a ride… making Miti think X70 is national car tax

• Previously u talk nonsense but this is one fact which i agree with u. Chinese are clever pipu. They know how to do business. Why would Proton be making a loss? It’s becoz of the lousy CEO they hired due to discrimination. Now they learn their lessons by losing billions in dollars. It’s the same with the Gov, some refuse to change, clinging to the old administration. U can’t progress without change. Just like a cocoon to a butterfly.

• oppo fon on Nov 09, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Otai2 AP orso smart … kelentong Miti thinking AP is only for Velfire

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 10, 2018 at 2:41 pm

My advice to Li Chunrong, pls give and treat Malaysians equally. Don’t give us substandard products but give same Proton to the white man with better spec.

When I was in the UK in 1998, I used the export Proton Satria. It had so many safety features that our local Malaysian Satria did not have. It felt so solid. It felt like a German car.

Made me wonder. Proton was created for Malaysians. So why give so many safety features like ABS, EBD, Airbags etc in export Protons for the white man but our own rakyat get kosong car.

Is this fair? Our local brand Proton should be giving safety to the rakyat of Malaysia first. Long before even airbags were given to Malaysians, Proton was giving airbags to the white man in the UK

Just see how even here, Malaysians were cheated by Proton. Malaysian lives not important Proton?

• Diss-illusions on Nov 12, 2018 at 11:00 am

Did the Japanese bothered investing in Proton?

Is it JUST RM170m? What about the things that are not in the price? Outdated inventories, poor brand equity, complicated vendor systems etc.

• starfruit on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:44 pm

john minum teh 8x- we homo sapiens exist for thousand of years and breath the same air and eat and drink from the same earth. so nothing special here. all equal opportunities, right? so the answer to your question is, you buy an air ticket and go to china for a visit and participate in their daily business routines. calculate how much hour and effort they sacrifices. we can only reap what we can sow. no magic trick. it is HARDWORK HARDWORK HARDWORK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:35 pm

Volvo is far older than Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Mohd. Adnan on Nov 09, 2018 at 4:23 pm

I don’t see any problems with Proton learning from Geely. If even orang puteh brand like Volvo with 91 years of history can learn how to rise again from Geely, then why not Proton which is so much younger at 30 years old?

Talking about advantage, Volvo had so much advantages going for it. It was the first luxury brand to expand production overseas and even started in Malaysia long before Proton was an idea. They were at everywhere and yet did not succeed until Geely took over.

So why is that? Why are both companies so different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Volvo did not cause hardship to Sweden. Volvo did not cause other cars in Sweden to rise in price sharply.

Proton did. It caused hardship to 30 million Malaysians for 30 years with super high car prices.

So, that is the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
          • Mohd. Adnan on Nov 09, 2018 at 7:42 pm

I do not see this problem. Every year more and more cars are on the roads, every year record breaking sales everywhere. The roads are jam full with cars. If what you said was true, this would have happened. Yet more and more cars are still being sold, especially luxury brands. Cars are affordable to the working Malaysians, if you can’t afford it, it means you’re not working.

As for Volvo, even Swedes themselves don’t own Volvos so early in their adult lives, it’s not affordable even for them, but they make a conscientious choice to buy Volvos rather than equivalently priced Mercedeses & BMWs.

• JOACHIM on Nov 10, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Proton did not cause hardship. It made cars more affordable for the B40s, it created jobs for hundreds of thousands of locals, it advanced Malaysia from an agricultural country into an industrial one, it created our automotive industry which would not have been able to compete with the early automotive start in Thailand if they had followed, it boosted the technical skills of our labour workforce, more farmers & fishermen children became engineers & specialists, it pushed innovation in local cars, it was the forefront in driving for better safety features in cars sold here, it lowers the death rates amongst car users. With all these, Proton was more of a boon than any bane at all.

• Yes. Agree with Joachim bro!

• confuse on Nov 09, 2018 at 4:49 pm

My friends and I born in Malaysia same year, 1984, we bought our first house from the same developer, same project at the same time. but he got some special discount, while i don’t have. why both same malaysia, but treatment different different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
        • That friend of yours knew how to “kamcheng” with the developers and ask for discount lor. A lot of people do that. If he was truly your friend, he would have done the same for you. Clearly he didn’t.

• Ahmad on Nov 12, 2018 at 11:23 pm

You didn’t get what confuse meant. Too bad

• Ohh? And how certain about that? Are you ‘confuse’ but with another name? Are you the same troll that uses many names to tell lies? So how can we believe what you said whether as Ahmad or confuse or any other name?

• anonimos on Nov 13, 2018 at 11:57 am

because u refuse to study at same school.we all SAME, must enter one school together

• Rightwinger on Nov 09, 2018 at 7:10 pm

do you really want to know the answer or was that just a rhetorical question?

• Dun need to layan him cuz the answers alwiz slaps him in the face. The readers r smarter now to source real facts from internet and not hearsay and fake news from basher.

• Christopher on Nov 10, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Older means better? Old, lazy n poor attitude better than young, hardworking n energetic ones? Unless an idiot…. One can understand the reasons easily….

• Kereta on Nov 10, 2018 at 10:20 pm

Thought you only have one question…

• Diss-illusions on Nov 12, 2018 at 10:58 am

I have one question for you… how big is China’s market?

No doubt Proton has its shortcoming and definitely pale against the Koreans which was also borne out of a bigger market.

Perhaps before you make yourself look silly, the question can also be extended to how come Apple’s market cap is larger than Microsoft or Alphabet?

When it comes to business, it’s never about the age for if not, we would still see Kodak around. It’s about what the market wants and how you manage the finances.

• Question for Li Chunrong on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:11 pm

How come Li Chunrong within 6 months already identified that Proton’s vendors and suppliers were over charging Proton by a bomb?

Why did not our local CEOs identify this problem the past 30 years?

Does this mean foreign CEO is BETTER than local CEO?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
      • Thank you China on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:24 pm

This is why we need more Li Chunrongs to come to Malaysia and run our GLCs and Putrajaya. In a few years time, we will even overtake Singapore as our productivity will tenfold.

Thank you China for giving us hard working ethics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
      • Rizal on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Most of vendors have connection and direct access to the bosses. Thus if one starts to question the costing will end up in cold storage worst dumped in body bag in Sg Klang.

• starfruit on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:01 pm

Question for Li Chunrong- NO. it is well qualified CEO.

• It’s more due to political affiliation and interference.

• Malu Malu Malaysia on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:16 pm

For 20 years we Malaysians suffered with Proton’s debts. Now, we have become a full rebadger. After a while also, Li Chunrong will terminate and tutup kedai for all Proton cars like Saga, Exora, Persona, Ertiga, Suprima and Perdana.

Li will want to market all Geely cars in Malaysia ie rebadged Protons.

So, why did Malaysians suffer the past 30 years? Would not it better we did not even have a P1 and just be an official rebadger for a few car companies in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • nothing to shout about on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Even toyota and holden failed in Australia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • proton likes to shout on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:23 pm

Fail in 1 country but succeed the rest while Proton can’t even have success in 1 country. That’s where our 30 years taxpayers money went to, failure.

• Proton VS Holden on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Holden failed in Australia but Holden never made other car prices go up 700%

Proton made all other non national car prices go up by 700%

Big difference.

You still can get Toyota Camry Hybrid for AUD25k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
          • Proton did not raise all other non national car prices but it was by a certain man who is now back at the top. [paultan.org/2016/08/15/proton-capable-of-being-competitive-global-player-madani/]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
          • Madani on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Did i also said that Proton is ‘BMW of Asia’?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:48 pm

At the end of the day, it was because of protectionism for Proton that raised car prices in Malaysia. In 1985, brand new Mercedes 200 was RM57k. Today it is RM400k

In Europe, Mercedes 200 was 20,000 pounds in 1985. In 2018, E250 is 29,000 pounds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • History Bender on Nov 10, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Protectionism isn’t solely for Proton but for your beloved Perodua as well. It’s mainly to protect Perodua since Honda is disallowed to bring in their Brio, otherwise Perodua can close shop dy.

• starfruit on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:06 pm

WELL, IF YOU HAVE THE SKILL AND CAPITAL TO DO IT, GO AHEAD. IF NOT, SHUT UP AND LEARN HOW ITS DONE

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:08 pm

please get your facts right. the biggest problem with the internet is people posting up incorrect information on the internet and pretending like its the truth. li chunrong works for proton, not geely.. he also doesnt come from geely, but from dong feng honda. if you work for audi, you dont say you work for VW.. likewise if you work for nissan, you dont say you work for renault who owns nissan.. with the x70 in the market, proton will still be selling, persona, saga, exora and preve. these are still 100% homegrown proton models, and not rebadged in any shape and form. proton is now spending millions building a brand new line in tg malim to build the CKD x70.. why would they do that and close down the company? how about perodua then? never ever produced their own car, but also recognised as a full national car with all the same benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Rizal on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:10 pm

Nothing new if you look like auto companies like Daewoo, Holden, Opel, chevrolet, Vauxhall – all under GM. Some models came out as rebadged by respectives company. If Geely can came out with attractive car and globally acceptable Why not? If we still harping for changes without doing the walk the talk… another 1000 years also would not happen.

• pelayu kelayu dilayu selayu berlayu layu-yu on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:09 pm

master plan make more people to love proton and silence all those haters?

• guan yin ma on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Good luck Dr Li. You still need to work harder to understand how msian buy car.

• Ben Yap on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:40 pm

dunno why when the chinese take over the sales go up. when our own malaysian sell, sales go down.

• Tun F on Nov 09, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Dear Mr. Li Chun Rong….. I bet you still didn’t get the whole picture about malaysia’s automotive industry and what Malaysians buyer really want? It’s about the brand and the quality of aftersales that really matters… No matter how you upgrade your branch and dealer to 4S or 10S it will be nothing if the faith in Proton cannot be restored in to Malaysians buyer again….. The attitude of workers in Proton was on one of the main contributions to this never ending problem and the lousy vendor who always failed to produce good parts. What you should do is to total revamp Proton… Kick all the useless morons… And do more marketing all over Malaysia…. Day and night… Get back the trust… And I’m sure you have all the databases of millions existing Proton’s owner who swore never buy Proton again…. Why not start with them… I mean.. Do it like you mean it…. No need to teach right… When you said Perodua is no match of Proton is true because Proton never learn and buck up after being toppled from top industry playmaker… Yeah.. I know easy said then done…. Hey…. That’s the reason why you have been hired to turn around the company…. Handsome paycheck… Many benefits…. Come on… Prove your worth… Don’t let people insult Proton…. If you have pride and dignity.. My 2cents…peace

• dong gor on Nov 09, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Tun F, what position you hold in your company…if by any chance you are currently employed. CEO, with the entire team behind his back, see things 5 decades ahead of you la. so just drink your teh tarik and chill.

• Tun F on Nov 10, 2018 at 2:05 pm

What Proton needs now is to get the sales back…. It’s about back to basic… Sell.. Sell.. Sell…. Don’t talk about 5 decades if you only sell 50k cars per year…. Oh come on dude

• benzs on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:21 pm

Geely take over… Proton increase in sales. Main reasons is due to Geely experience and achievement of obtaining other company instead of building its own. Geely obtain/bought share from Volvo, Proton, Lotus, Daimler, Terrafugia and soon many more. From nothing into something. From copier become own build and successful. Proton is totally consider not a failure but failure in management due to cronies which resulting is supply of inferior parts while lack of experience to evolve. Evolving in engine parts is crucial but Proton truly lack of that. Meanwhile design wise is truly below expectation but body of the car has its character. Especially Preve, Savvy, Juara, Waja, Gen-2, Persona and etc. All looks good in body but front and rear end need a better improvement. Well, glad to see Geely has put many effort to turn Proton into its glory day. Good luck!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:52 pm

Proton will increase more sales than Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • But Proton already has more sales than Toyota. Why are you saying unnecessary things?

• bernie on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Protons saviour but can he speak English….just curious

• All his interview is made in English…simple google will get you there

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:57 pm

The proof of the cake is in the eating. It is nice to hear the quality improvements and all, but the real test and proof will come when the X70 hits the road, and the service levels of the so-called 3/4S centres. Have they really gone up?

I definitely hope so.

• With a free hand unfettered by a diktator boss, the CEO has alredi began doing so. We can alredi see the improvements within one year where P1 sales satisfaction has overtook P2 and aftersales rose up just 2 points below P2. By the time when X70 is fully on the roads, we can expect P1 to far surpass P2 and aiming for the Jepunis branding image. The journey has only begun but its will be well worth taking.

• passion on Nov 09, 2018 at 4:14 pm

the outsider is more objective in doing things. thus the change will come!

• JOACHIM on Nov 10, 2018 at 12:26 pm

That’s the difference when there is no meddling by a powerful old man who treated the national car as his child, even when that person was poor in his guidance. Najib helped to unshackle this burden and Proton can finally chart it’s own way whichever it sees best.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 09, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Kill off the old farts in Proton Edar pls and Proton will have a better future.

• Proton is finally saved…TX TO GEELY!!

Madey stay away…end of story

• Loo Siew Imm on Nov 09, 2018 at 11:41 pm

Market X70 Is Sexy ,high Quality.. ..But now waiting for Prices ??? Dr Lim Tq

• Thomas Foo on Nov 10, 2018 at 2:34 am

Age does not count, although Proton is older than Greely but it was not progressive.
    Many workers worked longer in a company but lack of initiatives to learn and improve so other younger workers who take courses to improve and become better and promoted.
    It is not easy to turn around a company as there are many factors involved.
    I had turned around a company but had to encounter a lot of hindrances like the union protecting non performance staffs.
    So it needs time to turn around Proton.
    Good example, Malaysian Airlines, a man with great experience and had turned around another airline found the task difficult and gave up.
    It is easy to talk but doing it is difficult.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 10, 2018 at 11:40 am

China cars were not build to accommodate RHD models unlike Japanese or European models. Thats why it requires more work to convert existing LHD models to RHD. Meanwhile sales of Boyue is not that satisfactory as it failed to make it to the top 10 best selling cars in China. This is due to complains & issues of the SUV not well addressed by Geely.

https://www.marklines.com/en/statistics/flash_sales/salesfig_china_2018

• I dont mind if buying a rebadged Geely if the price is right , reliable and spare parts are plentiful plus affordable. You people should have a look at Geely’s website and look at their current models. It makes local Toyota and Honda models look 10 years behind time.

• Joe v2.0 on Nov 11, 2018 at 8:38 am

Wow talk as if been working in the automotive industry for decades. Where in the heck you guys got all that so called automotive facts? wow..

Proton is a chinese company? since when 49.9% is bigger than 50.1%? No matter how many %, but the most important thing is, no more or little political magic hands intefering with their opertion n decision.

Biggest problem with proton is not about the workers or engineer, – even with limited or small engineer work force they managed to came out cars with safety level far better than some nissan model (tida, datsun go, np300) this was before geely jv. So IMHO back then it was mostly about political magic hands.

You can see with perodua, little political magic hands meddling in their operations/decisions, produce/rebadge good cars in term of finishing quality (compared to proton back then) .

So hopefully with going fully privitized, they can hire who ever they want, rebadge, reengineer what model they choose, as long they can improve proton, can caputure more market for larger sales volume domestic or foreign and produce more good cars with good bargain for malaysian..

• camtakpro on Nov 12, 2018 at 3:13 pm

While tired of waiting X70 price release, I finally just went ahead for the super final facelift edition Alza, as its price point is actually very hard to beat and cheap maintenance; and more so probably X70 won’t be able to beat this price as well.

• Michael Boey on Aug 22, 2019 at 3:31 pm

New Proton Saga VVT ( Major issue will cause loss of life ) Fuel Pump failure during driving Engine suddenly stop middle on the road. Under market claim the service center given lot of accuse not able resolve problem.Myself had purchase Proton Saga VVT ALB 8693 as market claim on March 2019 due to Fuel pump problem car suddenly stop when on the roadway driving or reverse as the Fuel Pump not function intermittent. Car stopped while driving in middle of the road will lead to loss of life cause may bang from lorry or car behind as these is critical claim major problem through Proton Service Centre Modern Tune ( Fah kee Motor Bercham Ipoh ) Dianostic found out Fuel pump error as unwilling to do replacement the mechanic re-download the ECU program. Claim again then the Proton Service center inform no spare part only available replace with Saga FLX fuel pump and relay by mechanic problem solve. August 2019 same problem as the Modern Tune ( Fah kee Motor Bercham Ipoh ) inform for 2nd claim with same item need to write report to Proton factory HQ. Unwilling to do to erase the error quote and inform able to drive, Same problem happen claim again as the mechanic found out Fuel pump problem at the error code but unwilling to change due to relay replace by the previously mechanic wrong type and the old version type of Saga FLX fuel pump not Saga VVT ( Had snap keep photo as proof during replacement stated Saga FLX parts) .
    Need Proton factory HQ to take over these matter through Modern Tune ( Fah kee Motor Bercham Ipoh Perak ) to do replacement faulty unit of fuel pump that these is major big issue that lead to loss of life as the car stopped middle of the road while driving. If whole world not these issue not being attended to do replacement for the faulty fuel pump will badly affected proton car lead to loss of life as very serious case.

Your attention is appreciated for these seriously market claim fuel pump malfunction that lead to loss of live as badly affected proton reputation cause from Authorized panel workshop having problem not perform the require claim.