Perodua Bezza servicing costs: just 1% or 40% more than the Proton Persona? The numbers explained

It all started with Proton claiming that the Persona facelift – previewed earlier this month – has on average, 32% lower servicing costs compared to the Perodua Bezza and Honda City, over five years/100,000 km.

It didn’t take long for Perodua to hit back. “The inaccuracy in cost difference is due to a comparison made not on an apple-to-apple basis. The Persona’s service costs were calculated as scheduled in its service booklet or owner’s manual whilst for the Bezza, the calculation was based on its preventive maintenance costs (which are optional) instead of scheduled costs as recommended in the service booklet,” said Datuk Zahari Husin, MD of Perodua Sales.

P2’s sales chief added that the difference in maintenance costs between the Persona 1.6 AT and Bezza 1.3 AT is only RM44, or 1.4% in favour of the Proton, and not 32%. It was also pointed out that the Bezza uses 0W-20 motor oil (Persona uses 10W-30) and iridium spark plugs, which are costlier than regular items.

So, is the difference 40%, 32% or 1%? Now that we have in our hands on the itemised service schedule from the Bezza’s owner’s manual, the picture is clear. Unlike Proton, Perodua has a Pro-Care preventive maintenance package for the Bezza that’s optional. Items on the Pro-Care menu is not strictly required as per the owner’s manual/service booklet, and opting out does not affect the car’s warranty.

Perodua Bezza 1.3 AT with/without Pro-Care options vs Proton Persona 1.6. Click to enlarge chart

As shown in the chart above, the difference between opting for all Pro-Care items and strictly going by the (service) book is not insubstantial for a budget car – RM4,287 versus RM3,095 for a difference of RM1,192 over five years. RM3,095 is the apple that P2 wants us to see next to the Persona’s RM3,051, and the difference is indeed a mere RM44, or 1.4%.

However, if you just nod and say yes to everything (the full Pro-Care preventive maintenance package on top of the mandatory service menu), the difference between the Bezza and Persona becomes RM1,236. That’s 40% more.

With that said, let’s take a closer look at the optional Pro-Care package and what it entails. Mainly, it’s shorter interval for selected items such as spark plugs, engine air filter and brake fluid.

For instance, the 100,000 km spark plug change is in the owner’s manual, but there’s a Pro-Care optional change at 50,000 km. Similarly, mandatory brake fluid and air filter changes are set at 40,000 and 80,000 km in the service book, but Pro-Care recommends changes at every 20,000 km (which means these items pop up for your consideration at 20,000 and 60,000 km).

Perodua Bezza 1.3 AT with/without Pro-Care options vs Proton Persona 1.6, itemised. Click to enlarge chart

In addition, Perodua also offers tyre alignment, balancing and rotation (every 20,000 km); and a major air con service at 60,000 km as part of the Pro-Care package. If you skip the tyre and AC jobs and just tick the brake fluid, air filter and spark plug options, the difference between Pro-Care and standard is RM823.

So there you have it, the difference in five-year/100,000 km servicing costs between the Bezza 1.3 AT by the service book, the Bezza 1.3 AT with the Pro-Care optional maintenance package, and the Proton Persona 1.6 AT – itemised. Those who rack up lots of miles (the Bezza is popular with Grab drivers) might want to consider Pro-Care suggestions, but forgoing them will not affect the car’s warranty – the choice is yours.

Note that the Pro-Care optional items are all listed on Perodua’s website (asterisk marks out the options) and included in the total price for the selected interval – those were the official figures that we used for earlier comparisons (Proton also used the same source, it confirmed). Do look out for these optional items at the service centre, and specify that you want to follow the standard menu (owner’s manual), if you wish. By the way, Proton does not offer any optional service items.

In any case, there’s more to overall running costs than just servicing costs. There’s road tax and annual insurance, and of course, fuel consumption. The Bezza 1.3 uses a modern Dual VVT-i engine from the NR family, which is used in various current Perodua/Daihatsu/Toyota models. Paired to a four-speed automatic, the top Bezza Advance model’s claimed FC is 22.0 km/l, thanks to the inclusion of Eco Idle automatic start-stop. Read more about the engine and its internals here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mario and Bros on Mar 21, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Don’t buy Perodua cause Perodua Quality is getting bad to worst. Especially for many ex-Perodua Owners also said that it is not safe to the customers to buy Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
    • Wilson Khoo on Mar 22, 2019 at 6:11 pm

I disagree. Proton quality is very good.

• Roti john Pte. Ltd!!! on Mar 22, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Another fake news. Everyone knows this Perodua Bezza is a Game Changer, cheap service and best quality. Persona in the other hand, is clearly a Game Over car, even the sales report also Game Over already. Proven already so Habisla Persona!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Saysaysaja on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:38 pm

Another cheap fake new by persona owner.

• Lalas on Mar 21, 2019 at 6:41 pm

P2 scared because their services actually higher than P1. Not to mention their SA will include Pro-Care on every services unless you opt out. This is not the correct practices. Good job paultan to make a detail comparison. This info should alert new car buyer that P2 is no more cheap to maintain like last time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 21, 2019 at 6:44 pm

I rather buy Proton. Instead of Perodua. Perodua service is extremely expensive than Proton. Moreover, Proton Quality is so much better than Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • Both lousy…but what can we do when Bolehland car prices are sky high:(

• Tak payah pening, toksah fikir. Beli jer perodua, minyak murah. Servis murah, duit poket sentiasa ada

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • AirAirAir on Mar 21, 2019 at 6:50 pm

If you want buy Gud Perodua, Better Buy Toyota. It means Toyota is better than Perodua

• sampan300kmh on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:01 am

And if you want better Toyota , buy a mazda

• If you want buy Gud Toyota, Better Buy Bugati Veyron. It means Bugati Veyron is better than Toyota

• anonymous on Mar 21, 2019 at 7:12 pm

nothing much to say or argue, Perodua users’ real experience tells the facts

• Mohd Khairullah bin Kassim on Mar 21, 2019 at 7:44 pm

Ha ha ha. Perodua has given it to Proton and has proven that Proton plays dirty.

We the public have known this long time already about the dirty tactics, this is why we support Perodua. Annual sales 220,000 speaks volumesMoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • Dude, did you not read the article? The Bezza is still more expensive to maintain than the Perodua even after taking out all optional maintenance packages. A cheaper and smaller car more expensive to maintain. Looks like Perodua afraid of public perception that their cars are overpriced to own and maintain.

• Tido oh tido on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:03 am

Normal way of resident clown here bashing and spinning fake stories. P1 maintenance is still cheaper than p2

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 21, 2019 at 7:45 pm

Malaysians trust Perodua figures. This is why public also supports P2

P2 sales of Myvi since its launch in November already 110,000 cars. This joining the 1.1 million happy Myvi customers on the road.

We Malaysians trust only P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 22, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Malaysians trust Perodua figures. This is why public also supports P1

P1 sales of Iriz since its launch in this month and soon will increase up to 110,000 cars in the future. This joining the 1.1 million happy Irizcustomers on the road.

We Malaysians trust only P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Hayenadeblue on Mar 21, 2019 at 8:01 pm

Thanks Paultan! Otherwise typical Perodua Service Centre just advising to do the optional services buta2. Saying that they are standard services. Utk yg dompet nipis mmg berkira, yg tebal ikutkan aje la. Huhu.

• Abdul Rasyid bin Salleh on Mar 21, 2019 at 8:08 pm

No engine oil viscosity doesn’t change the price of the engine oil unless its the type of the engine oil eg mineral/semi synthetic/fully synthetic, so a 0W20 doesn’t cost less than a 10W40 very bad comeback Perodua.

• Ibnu bakrin on Mar 21, 2019 at 8:21 pm

Salute to all Paultan’s team for providing a details article this time. You really dig deeper. 2 main aspects that every drivers need to consider for long run has been explain here. Good job. Now everyone will think back twice by themself before purchase among these 2 brands. They also can consider another brands if they like. Continue giving us a best articles to read.

• I m owner of axia I can tell u majority perodua service centre really cut throat they tell me every 20,000km need to chge gearbox oil n gonna add up all unnecessary stuff like engine treatment. Normal service fr perodua axia is around rm 200 +-. All add up fr 5 years total rm3500. I m quite disappointed with perodua my next gonna be proton

• normal service should be under RM180. Dont trust those ‘commission greedy’ SA(s). Things like injector cleaner, headlamp cleaner & other are just optional accessories in service that gave those SA sales commission in the end of the month. For ATF(for AT its called automatic transmission fluid not oil), should replace during major svc at 40 & 80k, the 20k is only for severe driving condition. Next time, be cautious before signed the paper, save money by tell them you wanted normal svc with only M.oil, O.filter & Gasket. Weh every dealership also same laa whatever brand.

• Ibnu bakrin on Mar 21, 2019 at 8:29 pm

I agreed with Datuk Zahari Husin’s statement it should apple with apple. Easy said, Bezza vs Saga, while Persona vs Myvi. If not, I can say Persona standard like Bezza, and how bout Saga, standard like Axia ka?

If in previous article compared the Aruz’s sales with X70, it’s also not apple with apple. Aruz should compare with X50 ( which will arrive soon maybe) and Honda BRV.

To compare with X70, Perodua need to rebadged RAV4.

• panjang on Mar 23, 2019 at 8:14 pm

Dont see the bigger picture eh?
      Proton used a vehicle from a class higher than Perodua yet the cost is cheaper.

No doubt Perodua has the better overall vehicle but to me its nothing more than an overpriced rebadged vehicle.

• Ibnu bakrin on Mar 21, 2019 at 8:41 pm

Below is copy and paste from my comment on previous article.

1) Both company claimed their fuel consumption is 6.1L/100km (for Persona) and 4.5L/100km (for Bezza). The different is 1.6L/100km.
    Assuming both users travel 10,000km per year. For 5 years (50,000km) the fuel different is 50,000/100 X 1.6L = 800L.
    Times with current fuel rate of RM 2.08/ltr, Bezza consume RM 1,664 less than Persona.
    If both users travel 20,000km per year, follow the standard maximum mileage for every 6 mths, for 5 years Bezza consume RM 3,328 less than Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • lorlor on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:10 am

That comparison is a joke. Since when bezza can do 22km/l . If like that no need to produce hybrid carlor

• Max291 on Jun 17, 2019 at 10:36 am

If bezza can really do 22km/l, media will be crazy, n perodua will be made known, sold & resold thought the Europe. Probably that number is done on dynamometer @ constant 50kph without load. Both cars averaged 9-10 l/km. I have a fleet of both.

• Time for p2 to offer lower cost, good fight. Better for market

• Greedy Perodua

• Fair dinkum on Mar 21, 2019 at 9:11 pm

Perodua Bezza servicing costs: should be compared to Proton Saga than the Proton Persona. Then only its no discrimination Icerd.

• Can proton also publish the depreciation cost comparison after 2 to 3 years. this will be the bulk of the running cost as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • P2MACAI on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:12 am

Jepunis car TOC is anytime worse than p2

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 25, 2019 at 10:25 am

depreciation cost is not running cost. if you own the car for 10 years, which most malaysians do, who cares how much the car depreciates?

• Nothing doing about the fuel consumption. Perodua always lies on their FC, you can never ever reach even near those figures they quote.

• david on Mar 21, 2019 at 11:26 pm

should add one more line 110k km calculation

• Well, as P2 salespipu say tak payah pikir, so of course most owners will say yes to everything. Which makes the majority will unknowingly pay the 40% higher prices compared to the average Persona2 owner. No coincidence too that many fresh grads become bankraps and almost all of them owns a P2. They cant afford to maintain the car and this is the reason why. Its so clear now. So there u have it, conclusive and irrefutable proof that P2 cost of ownership is 40% higher. Tenkiu PT writers for making this loud and clear!

• Joseph Deva Komar on Mar 22, 2019 at 8:34 am

The Pro Care in Perodua is like hidden costs most of the time unknown to the consumer. Most of the time the personal that attend to us just ticks boxes and indicate it is due for change. They do not indicate that it is optional and does not affect warranty. My opinion Perodua has unfair policies not favoring consumer

• typical malaysian on Mar 22, 2019 at 8:59 am

P2 try hard to explain LOL. baru kena sikit terus meroyan. kesian kesian. yala…P2 kan cheapo, semua cheap mau sapu…ambik la semua…

• Mr. Octopus on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:17 am

What’s even more astonishing is the fact that the Bezza needs 0w oil and Iridium plugs!

That is sports car territory right there lol

• Hakim on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:22 am

As a ex Proton owner, I must confess that Proton cars are not build to last. Every servicing is a pain in the arse and took up so much of my time. When you drive proton car the 1st 6 months felt new. After 1 year the car feels like its already 3 years old. The NVH is so bad. You own the car for 3 years it felt like its been on the road for 7 years. It just felt like the car isnt made solidly and build to last like Perodua. The myvi on the other hand is 10 years old, but the same mileage you feel like its only 2-3 years old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Afrojoe on Mar 22, 2019 at 5:52 pm

BS! Im a Proton owner for 2 years now and mileage almost 40k, so far there’s no hint that the car aging like you said, and your 10 years myvi felt like 2-3 years, what a BS!

• Bro. Our desperado resident basher @ P2 saleman is desperately tryung to backup his boss with more and more bollocks and using multiple dupes. No need care about his fake news

• PJ fella on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:35 am

lel. Can perodua inhouse calculations be trusted? We can’t even trust their FC results wei!

• All systems go on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:48 am

Tiada beza pun

• Tido oh tido on Mar 23, 2019 at 11:17 am

Beza Kat enjin , bezza underpowered 1.3, persona powerful 1.6

• Copy cat Kunta keybot warrior on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:03 am

I own a perodua and proton, both servicing costs are the same.

• Ben Yap on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:05 am

I told you already… the moment i see the figures, i knew Proton is hiding something and mentioned that they use cheap engine oils. i got thumbs down for that.

after you read this ” It was also pointed out that the Bezza uses 0W-20 motor oil (Persona uses 10W-30) and iridium spark plugs, which are costlier than regular items”, what i say is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Since when lower oil viscosity equals to better oil quality? Your Honda standard recommended oil is also semi-syn only.

• PlainBS on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:19 am

Hahaha, everyone who been to Perodua service center will know there’s only 1 service package: the most expensive package

• Krayfish on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:19 am

What kind of battery are Perodua cars with start-stop function is using, like this Bezza and the new Myvi?
    Is the Myvi still using NS40 or AGM?

• Babai Dayak on Mar 22, 2019 at 10:35 pm

Those with ecoIdle(start stop) uses M42 battery. You may use NS40, but ECU wont recognize the battery charge, thus ecoIdle will not function. The irony is if you wanted the M42 to last longer as it is pricey(above RM300, I suppose), switch off it or shift N after every stop in traffic jam.

• Daniel on Mar 22, 2019 at 12:47 pm

Rm823 just for the brake fluid, spark plugs and air filter? Don’t you think that is a little steep?

• redpilled on Mar 22, 2019 at 4:23 pm

wah! 0nly 1% differnce. not so low cost la in the end. might as wel get Persona, same cost, but more power, better handling.

• Persona owner on Mar 22, 2019 at 4:46 pm

My persona sv
    1st service- Rm50
    2nd service Rm50
    3rd service Rm50
    4th service Rm 100
    5th service Rm 50
    6th service Rm 4

Total 3years Rm 304..ofcoz with coupon and free labor..

• michelin on Mar 22, 2019 at 9:18 pm

Please please please have a look at the items before you say yes to the SC.. they do not tell you that some items can be taken out i.e. just an extra unnecessary things intentionally to rip your wallet..

• Racing car on Mar 23, 2019 at 12:08 am

perodua still longlasting compare to proton even some said perodua lousy…perodua technology is still under toyota and daihatsu.

• 1.Proton persona car after 2 years the ekzos pipe give whistling and lossing sound. Very annoying. However proton warranty department said no warranty and need Rm400 for changing ekzos.

2.Another problem is the servicing schedule of proton persona not including timing belt on 80000 km service which is extra Rm1000 for customer. Is not shown in the listing. It violate the non disclosure act.

3. Besides, after 2 years, the car front desk compartment always got mouse squeezing noise which is very annoying. This is proton standard. No warranty after one year.

4.when starting car in the morning, air conditioning compressor humming sound is also normal as customer service told me. This happen even the car was newly collected.

Think twice before action. Proton standard still remain….????

• Max291 on Jun 17, 2019 at 10:30 am

With pro-care is more expensive? (Table 1) That’s weird.

• sigaraga on Jan 05, 2023 at 10:25 am

perodua cut corner on first service