2019 Proton Persona facelift – 32% lower maintenance cost compared to Perodua Bezza and Honda City

Proton gave us a preview of the facelifted Persona today, and the national carmaker was pretty bullish about its new offering, comparing the B-segment’s specs and figures against its key competitors – which we’re assuming are the Perodua Bezza and Honda City, judging by the boot spaces listed.

One number that jumped out at us during the presentation was how much lower the claimed maintenance cost for the Persona would be over the course of five years, which, on average, is a handy 32% down on its rivals. All in all, the Proton would cost RM3,051.91 in scheduled servicing, compared to RM4,287.71 for the Bezza and RM3,782.96 for the City – that’s a saving of RM1,235.80 and RM731.05 respectively.

Sending the Persona for service should also be easier than the others, as Proton lays claim to having the most 3S and 4S centres, currently at 75. The company has been upgrading and expanding its sales and service network since it partnered up with Geely, as part of its efforts to improve customer experience.

The facelifted Persona will be launched later this month – together with the also-revised Iriz hatch – with online flash bookings kicking off tomorrow and lasting until March 22.

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Persona 1.6 Executive
GALLERY: 2019 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• newme on Mar 11, 2019 at 5:44 pm

What is there to maintain when the car spend most of its time at service centre waiting for parts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 53
    • jetta280 on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Oh you must mistaken it as a VW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rr on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:39 pm

if u jz ignore RV, Persona konlanfirm a gud buy.

• John Bin Copypaste on Mar 11, 2019 at 10:22 pm

Why waste money on this soon to be muzeum car when you can buy a Myvi with a Toyota engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
          • Please share with us which Myvi version uses Toyota engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • pasembor on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:10 am

Be a patriotic Malaysian. Buy Proton only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • 70% Local Grad NO NO to Proton on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Proton Saga and Persona sales going down and down because 70% of local grads don’t want Proton

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • casual rider on Mar 11, 2019 at 7:09 pm

which service centre you go?

• That only happen at Perodua service centre.

• Aikon on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:10 am

Are you absolutely sure or paid to say that? ;)

• He is well known as the resident Perodua salesman. What do you think?

• John no RV. on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:49 am

2007 City 19k, Myvi 15k, Persona 12k..wat a joke!

• Darren on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:48 am

P1 shud kipas Persona RV depreciation cost compared to Perodua Bezza and Honda City

• typical malaysian on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:20 am

masih di zaman jahiliah ka brader? atau salah tengok service centre? saya punya axia alternator sudah 2 minggu raised ticket,masih not in stock apa cerita brader? bini punya persona dulu sampai window run channel…baru 3 hari tanya service centre…now sudah siap bikin…apa cerita brader?

• Eric Cantona on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:05 am

Agree with you, long a at perodua service centers

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 11, 2019 at 5:48 pm

I dunno what the Persona has against the mighty City apart from its supposedly lower maintenance cost for 5 years. The City trumps it on everything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • All city advantages are not really important for a B segment car

• sudonano on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:18 pm

Exactly. Proton Persona is the best sedan car option for 1st time car owner upgrading from their hatchbacks Jazz, Fiesta, Rio, 208 and Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • typical malaysian on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:31 am

EXACTLY. Persona is a very good and stable first car. On the other hand, City is a car to go when you want C segment car but can’t afford it. Different styles of purchase. It is a FACT that City is not the better first car to get.

• John tak da RV. on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:48 am

Proton is a joke.. 2007 City 19k, myvi 15k, Persona 12k..kehkeh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • yawnz on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:51 am

Persona – 46k
          Myvi – 55k (+9000)
          City – 92k (+46000)

For an RV difference of only 7k? I will take the Persona, thank you very much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • anonymous on Mar 11, 2019 at 5:54 pm

it is a joke that giving two different gear knobs on vary specs.

• kerata on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:32 pm

Jepunis gear knobs are deal breakers. Looks like Datsun 120Y

• anonymous on Mar 11, 2019 at 5:55 pm

i saw top left corner of glove box is popping out on executive spec photos.

• somer on Mar 11, 2019 at 5:57 pm

(Like) Proton Persona and Toyota Vios
    (Dislike) Nissan Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
  • The important question to ask is, how can the Perodua Bezza have a higher maintenance cost than the Honda City?

Considering the Perodua Bezza is a local national car and one segment lower which is a smaller car.

Ask yourself this; is Perodua charging us reasonably?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • lotusftw on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Auto start stop battery but its FC is anytime better than city. Of course persona ride and handling are still the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Perodua charge everything higher than Proton. We all knew

• The only free service for Perodua is the first 1000km. After that u pay for those oil+filter but free labour untill 150k.

Proton’s free service the other hand include all the oil+filter but only charged minor labour cost for 5 years. That’s why.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:06 pm

What nonsense is this. No black b-pillar for executive variant??????????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Aikon on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:13 am

Put own sticker lor. They need to create some differentiation between variants

• Saladin on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Good now in a right track. Next is parts cost.

• Ben Yap on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:22 pm

savings come from lower grade engine oil is it? why no breakdown on the parts change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Benzs on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:41 pm

Wow. Cheaper maintenance. This should be Proton priority since the company established. If not, why call local made car? Should be cheaper again and car price should be lower as well.

• Raja Kamarul on Mar 12, 2019 at 7:38 am

You have to stop using this ancient concept of local means cheap. A carmaker can very well address the many segments of the market. The Saga and maybe Persona can address the lower and lower middle income group, while its other models can address the middle high and high income group. Nothing wrong with that.

• Vinnie on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:35 am

Seriously, you guys paying more than 3k per year for car maintenance, no wonder every one complaining about toll and petrol

• Ugly and third world but most suitable for Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Joke of the year..
    Proton VVT consume more petrol la..
    Bezza or City can easily save more fuel rather than this maintenance.
    In long run, mechanical breakdown of VVT confirm much more higher than Bezza / City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

• BOYRACER on Mar 11, 2019 at 7:57 pm

We have a Proton Persona & a Perodua Viva at home.Normal servicing is about rm160 & rm110 respectively.I do notice that when come to some wear and tear parts prices the Persona is cheaper than the Viva.

• Ibnu bakrin on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:55 pm

1) Both company claimed their fuel consumption is 6.1L/100km (for Persona) and 4.5L/100km (for Bezza). The different is 1.6L/100km.
    Assuming both users travel 10,000km per year. For 5 years (50,000km) the fuel different is 50,000/100 X 1.6L = 800L.
    Times with current fuel rate of RM 2.08/ltr, Bezza consume RM 1,664 less than Persona.
    If both users travel 20,000km per year, follow the standard maximum mileage for every 6 mths, for 5 years Bezza consume RM 3,328 less than Persona.

Some people just send their car/s to normal pomen for S&M.
    Correct me if I am wrong with the calculation.

2) Persona still using timing belt ka?
    3) Does both service costs include tyre allignment & balancing?

• Browning on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Perodua FC figures are a mystery nobody has even come near. The best I ever got was 5.8L/ 100km.

• walauweh on Mar 11, 2019 at 11:39 pm

just read the comparison slide properly, it stated 32% cheaper than its rival for 5 years SERVICE COSTS and the service costs are based on official info from respective car manufacturer websites.

it doesnt mentioned running costs.

lel, is it really hard to read?

• Ibnu bakrin on Mar 12, 2019 at 6:49 pm

I plan to buy another car. It’s not only S & M to prioritize, I also need to know their fuel consumption.

I am a person who love travel long distance and use for long years. For me, fuel consumption is most important.

What I want to address here is, especially to Paultan, please consider all aspects when make comparison.

• Travel long distances and used for long years? Then you really shouldn’t be considering any Perodua cars at all. For your requirements, Proton fits the bill, especially the Preve & Persona.

• You sure Bezza can get 4.5L/100km? Perodua tend to inflate their cars fuel efficiency, especially with the new Myvi.

Their 4 speed Auto ain’t helping either.

• Yippi33 on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Need to know which method they use to get the official FC. If own method then it can deceive customer. I hv heard that one car company test it by dismantling passenger seats etc just to get lower official FC. Dont remember which one. In US there were cases where car companies being sued by consumers because they cannot get the FC claimed. We should do the same in Malaysia.

• Malaysian on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:13 pm

Happy to see the improvement, please keep up with the momentum

• Whlaw. on Mar 11, 2019 at 10:21 pm

To Proton: please be the first car company in Malaysia to use algorithm to determine oil change or 12 months interval, which comes first. Some jap cars like Honda in USA uses algorithm for oil change interval but not Honda in Malaysia. Not even if you uses Honda synthetic oil. If milage is only 6,000km in 6 months you still have to change the oil & filter. Not sure which department in Harapan Gov will pick up this issue with cars companies on their such practices in Malaysia vs in Japan or in USA.

• Bezza owner dunno their car maintenance very high.

• M.Zin on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:54 am

Bila beli tak pikir… tu lah jadik pening nanti! Bila dah pikir dua tiga kali, baik beli Persona.

• Lower maintenance aside, Proton’s built quality is wayyy better than the Honda’s poor, outdated and lousy built quality inside out. Malaysians are paying hard earned money for the Jap H brand and prestige but not for quality.

• newme on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:01 am

It was Proton and not Honda that was sold 2 times in 5 years. The best part is it was sold to a China company.

• Celup King on Mar 12, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Which meant Proton as a brand name is highly regarded by so many. Suitors after suitors were clamouring to marry it but only the best deserves to be with Proton.

• How about the 2016 persona service cost is it the same or similar?.

• Roger Loo on Mar 11, 2019 at 10:42 pm

Mestilah murah. Orang servis setiap 5000km. Proton tarik sampai 30000km. Sudah kurang belanja 6 kali.

• Roger Loo on Mar 11, 2019 at 10:46 pm

Orang servis kereta setiap 5000km. Proton tarik sampai 10000km. Sudah 2 kali lebih murah. Kereta tak tahan lama itu you punya pasal.

• I happy with my bezza. No worry about punch cvt failure

• chewfatt on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:34 am

But less comfort -32%, fuel consume +32%, air-conditioning failure rate +32%, persona spare part +32% . Wait…. Why proton won’t compare with vios or Almera? Becoz they are different class ?

• Something not right with this slide. Side & curtain airbag should say highest variant only. They can’t even get the slides right https://s3.paultan.org/image/2019/03/Proton_Persona_Preview_Slides-4.jpg

• anonymous on Mar 12, 2019 at 2:21 pm

i spot two defects:

1) top left corner of glove box on executive spec is popping out
    2) bottom right corner of glove box on premium spec is popping out

what the heck that the assembly is still lousy

• Avenger on Mar 12, 2019 at 4:07 pm

Ur eyes are still playing tricks on you. Go see the real car then come and comment.

• anonymous on Mar 13, 2019 at 10:34 am

Paultan shot the real car photos, right?

• Avenger on Mar 14, 2019 at 12:01 am

This is a preview car, meaning pre-production units. Go and see the cars when it is in showrooms.

• budak vios on Mar 13, 2019 at 2:10 am

Org kita …. suka nak burukkan kita sendiri, caner nak maju. Pengalaman saya, pernah guna iswara pada 2001 dan sampai skrg still excellent walaupun dah kat tgn org lain. lepas tu, beli kancil 850, vios dan latest tambah dgn city… my conclusion, semua best. iswara berbaloi dgn harga, kancil best bawa dlm bandar, vios lebih garang dan city lebih jimat minyak. Dr segi ketahanan body, saya prefer Vios sbb lebih tegap. Kepada yg suka kutuk, pada saya anda sebenarnya sakit. Just bagi pandangan, tu pun cukup. Apapun, tahniah proton. Kalau dapat, get back your customer dgn produk lebih hebat dan paling penting fokus kat enjin macam produk lama bila proton guna enjin mitsubishi yg rasanya samapi sekarang still smooth, lancar dan tiada masalah macam my ex-iswara…

• I wonder how they get RM611.68 for Bezza first year service. I did all my service at authorised Perodua centres: RM7.65 @ 3 months, RM167.50 @ 6 months, RM277.10 @ 1 year, for a total of RM452.25