2019 Toyota Yaris 1.5G displayed in PJ – RM84,888 est.

The 2019 Toyota Yaris has yet to make its launch debut here in Malaysia, but it looks like units are beginning to make their way to dealers. This particular example was spotted at the Toyota showroom in Section 19, Petaling Jaya, and we’re bringing you a full gallery of it.

Getting into the specifics, the car seen here is the top-spec G variant, which is one of three that will be offered to buyers – the others being the E and base J. For now, we’re being provided estimated pricing (OTR without insurance), with the G going for RM84,888, the E for RM77,888, and the J for RM71,888.

Regardless of variant choice, five colours will be made available, including Super White, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black, Red Mica Metallic, and the colour you’re looking at here, Citrus Mica Metallic.

In terms of what goes under the bonnet, the Yaris shares the same engine and transmission with the Vios, which is the a 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine (107 PS and 140 Nm), paired to a CVT with seven virtual ratios.

Equipment-wise, the Yaris in G guise appears to get projector headlights, 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels (with 195/50 profile tyres) and LED taillights on the exterior. This unit also looks to be fitted with the optional RM2,800 aerokit, which adds on front and rear bumper spoilers, side skirts and a roof spoiler. A cheaper, RM2,450 aerokit is also available, but it comes without the roof spoiler.

Moving inside, the Yaris’ dashboard is basically identical to that in the Vios, and features a DVD-AVX infotainment system with a 360-degree camera system, Optitron instrument cluster with a 4.3-inch multi-info display, single-zone automatic climate control, fabric seats, rear USB charging ports and a multifunction steering wheel.

Safety kit includes seven airbags, hill-start assist and blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert. These items are again, like what you would find with the Vios.

As reported previously, the Yaris’ estimated prices are between RM2,400 to RM5,300 cheaper than the equivalent Vios, which is priced from RM77,200 to RM87,300. Like the Vios, the Yaris will be assembled at UMW Toyota’s new plant in Bukit Raja, Klang, and you can click here to register your interest.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly focus on the Toyota Yaris 1.5G’s features, pricing, and value compared to competitors like the Honda Jazz, Mazda 2, and Proton Iriz. Many commenters criticize the car for its high price, lack of expected features such as leather seats, paddle shifters, and cruise control, and question its good value. Several mention that rivals like Jazz or Proton Iriz offer more space, better features, or fuel efficiency. Others compare the Yaris unfavorably to older models or comment on its design, calling it ugly or busy. There’s a general sentiment that the Yaris might struggle to compete with more modern or better-equipped alternatives, and some speculate on pricing strategies and market positioning. Overall, opinions reflect skepticism and disappointment regarding the value and design of the Yaris.

• Anonymous_C on Apr 10, 2019 at 1:25 pm

UMW Toyota trying to win some Myvi/Alza/Aruz customers?

• john 2019 on Apr 10, 2019 at 5:41 pm

UMW Toyota trying to win some Iriz customers. Yaris, Myvi, Alza and Aruz are Game Changers while Iriz, Exora And X70 are Game Overs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • betul! on Apr 10, 2019 at 7:28 pm

correct. Proton is clearly a game over brand. deswai they become a distributor of Geely cars

Toyota is clearly the REAL game changing brand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 10, 2019 at 7:32 pm

Perodua sold 100,000 2018 Myvi from November 2018 to now

In the same period, Proton sold 785 Iriz.

100,000 vs 785

Wow, people have really spoken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Who’s vomit inspired this colour choice?

• The God car is here!!

• Sam Loo's Granduncle on Apr 10, 2019 at 1:50 pm

Vios hatchback cheap retail price surely dominates over myvi soon.

• Akira on Apr 10, 2019 at 1:51 pm

When I see a price tag with many 8s, definitely that is a markup price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • No paddle shifters?

• taboogen on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:09 pm

front bumper to me seems to be “BUSY”

• Stuart Lee on Apr 11, 2019 at 12:27 am

i think so too.. previous gen has the by far the best headlight, bumper, grill, fog lamp, etc etc designs, latest gen is so ‘ BUSY ‘ with all those crannies and holes, triangles, slashes, thus ‘ UGLY ‘.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Great car those upgrading from Polo, 208 & A200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:11 pm

No leather seats is questionable decision by UMW Toyota but I recently sat in a 2014/2015 Vios 1.5 G with leather and seats were rock hard.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:12 pm

This car could benefit from a false floor in the boot to reduce boot lip and to make transition between folded rear bench less

• Exactly like Vios with chopped butt… Jazz, to me, is still “handsomer”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
  • markgoh on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:20 pm

Myvi..??

• That RM2.8k kit honestly is ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • redpilled on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:26 pm

did thing just fell off the ugly tree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Celup King on Apr 10, 2019 at 5:04 pm

The latest spawn from “Beautiful” monster. Fugly apple didn’t fall too far from the fugly family tree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 10, 2019 at 7:33 pm

john, try not to answer yourself. Both are your dupe names

• John 2016: "Party Hard crony!" on Apr 10, 2019 at 10:57 pm

Yes john, pls don’t reply to yourself and thumb up your comment 2300 times. P.S I am not kunta! I’ve been lurking this site since 2013

• At that prices? DoA just like the predecessor. Will be forgotten soon enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Sam Loo on Apr 10, 2019 at 2:37 pm

The ultimate driving machine. People who know about cars will surely get the new Yaris. You can never go wrong with a reliable Japanese car with high RV. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Ben Yap on Apr 10, 2019 at 3:02 pm

as usual, no turbo charger and cannot challenge a civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Everest on Apr 10, 2019 at 5:25 pm

Ya ya ya, Civic is the best creation by human kind…What’re you smoking today?

• Yen Bap on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:10 pm

as usual, Civic got no W16 engine and cannot challenge a Bugatti Chiron

• Sam Loo on Apr 10, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Honda is for low class ah bengs to impress the low class ah lians. Real high class businessmen buy Toyota vehicles.

There’s a reason why the people in the kampong admire you when you roll up in a huge black Toyota. They view you as someone who made it in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Redpilled on Apr 10, 2019 at 10:19 pm

If it was the Corolla I’d understand, but comparing this to the Civic shows your just a baby.
      Time for a diaper change.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:29 pm

Come on la UMW how much does it cost to equip your Vios/Yaris with LED headlamps la? Even low beam LED is better than projectors.

• Nostradamus on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:33 pm

Went to see the car up close at the showroom today. Disappointed with what you get (or rather don’t get) with this price. No leather seats, no paddle shifters, no cruise control, and I’m talking about the highest spec. What I do like is you get scuff plates and foot light at no extra costs.

But in my opinion, simply not worth its price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • panjang on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:43 pm

Since when an offering of Toyota is worth its price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Celup King on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:50 pm

You forget, no hybrid option as well. Pound for pound, Jazz is the better option and if budget does not permits, Iriz is the next best thing.

• YB Albert on Apr 10, 2019 at 5:47 pm

The day UMW (anak syarikat PNB) start charging very reasonable prices}is the day the sky rain durians.(durian runtuh}
      PNB has to distribute enough dividends to contributors who r also affected by the other GLC’s which need gomen bailout into the tune of easily Rm30 Billions.
      BESIDES PNB,and KWSP …which gomen GLC is doing well,having been plundered by bandits?
      Now MAS is also insolvent technically..requiring a fire sale or further Rm Billions of cash injection.
      So,a cheap Toyota in Bolehland is just a myth.Do u understand the meaning of myth ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Myth is when we refuse to repatriate obscene profits back to Japan which caused the high prices.

Myth is when we tell Toyota Japan, enough is enough. We have had it with making Japan richer from our hard-earned money and we refuse to pay these high prices anymore.

Myth is when Toyota finally realise we are no longer their assured cash cow for their outdated cars.

Myth is when they finally give us reasonably specced modern cars at reasonable prices without the cut-throat profit margins back to Japan.

This would be a myth worth fighting for.

• Amran on Apr 10, 2019 at 9:52 pm

Proton certainly looked very promising now with Dr Li Chunrong. MAS did look promising too then under the helm of Christoph Mueller. The same cant be said of other GLC’s to the likes of Felda, TH and 1Mdb having been plundered by bandits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Norlia on Apr 11, 2019 at 12:42 am

This site has nothing to do with GLC, MAS, Mueller, Felda, TH, 1mdb or plundering. If you want to talk about PH plundering the country go do your keyboard warrior antics in other sites like lowyat. Here we only talk about automotive.

• tiadaid (Member) on Apr 11, 2019 at 7:36 am

Since when B-segment car get leather seats & cruise control?

C-segment understandable. But B-segment?

• Dom Toretto on Apr 11, 2019 at 1:05 pm

Please do your research before making such comments and take a look at the Mazda 2, Honda Jazz and Kia Rio. Although not all of these have both features, but at least one of them.

• Namqul on Apr 10, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Hideous looking car with a more hideous bodykit. Goddamit thats an ugly car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
  • Better buy honda jazz, more fuel efficient than toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Kuinosan on Apr 10, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Hideous looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • that fabric..look cheap like shit. does not fit the car design..adoi sakit mata tgk that ugly seat design & fabric

• they should bring corolla hatch…looks way more better than this crap

• Mechanical hand brake? Which year are these car from?

• JOACHIM on Apr 11, 2019 at 1:10 am

2002. That was the year the Vios/Yaris platform was born and it never changed since then.

• Leonardo on Apr 11, 2019 at 8:35 am

Jazz win hands down! And we are not even talking about the new Jazz which is coming soon. The interior especially looks dated.
    Why is the price of the car still and ESTIMATE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Cloud Chasing on Apr 11, 2019 at 10:30 am

Why yaris is better than jazz:
    360 camera, front and rear video recorder, rear disc brake, blindspot monitoring, rear traffic cross alert, refinement (better noise insulation), full colour 4.3 inch multi info display, projector headlight, front and rear fog lights, rear USB ports, footwell lighting, illuminated scuff plates

why jazz is better than yaris,
    more powerful (but similar fuel consumption), overall more spacious cabin, ultra seats (rear), paddle shifter, cruise control, wider centre console (more storage and cupholders), half leather seat, lower shoulder line (less claustrophobic)

yaris 85k vs jazz 84k … formidable players

• But jazz have a hybrid version, more fuel efficient than yaris..

• I am amazed a comment like this made it past the mods while some other comments critical of the blue-eyed-ex-national-carmaker didn’t make the cut.

• Berapa jenis warna toyota yaris yang ada dipasaran malaysia..?