2020 Proton Saga homagE – our first national car reimagined as a modern, fully-electric concept

Malaysians, say hello to the 2020 Proton Saga homagE! Let’s make it clear from the start – this isn’t an actual Proton or a concept car from the Malaysian carmaker. As far as we know, there are no plans for a next-generation Proton Saga in 2020, let alone one with an all-electric powertrain.

What this is then, is a flight of fancy by Theophilus Chin, who visioned a national car for the modern age. And since cars are heading into a battery-powered world where the internal combustion engine is deemed as dirty, this Proton Saga of the future is, fittingly, an EV. Not just any EV, but one that takes inspiration from the past, and is proud of its name and heritage. It’s an homage, and it’s electric, hence the name “homagE”.

Sounds familiar? Yes, this is the same idea used for the Honda e, which will hit the market next year. A development of the much-loved Urban EV concept from 2017, the Honda e is a cute fully electric five-door hatch that references the design of the original Civic. Retro yet modern, and super lovable.

Does the 1980s Saga’s cues translate well into a modern design? The Lancer-based original car’s rectangular headlamps and slim letterbox grille make an appearance here, and that black strip below the 33-year-old car’s eyes has morphed into LED daytime running light strips.

Conveniently, the “no grille look” of the old timer is also a common theme on today’s electric cars, which do not require as much cooling as an ICE-powered car. The eagle-eyed among you would have noticed “Proton” branding on the side of the front/rear lights and the “Infinite Weave” pattern on the slim grille – the former is a modern Proton touch, while the latter is a signature of Geely-era Protons starting from the X70.

Moving to the sides, familiar design cues adapted here include a clamshell bonnet and door frames that also “clam” themselves over the A pillars. My favourite is the “cut off” rear wheel arches that aren’t as full as the front ones. Of course, who doesn’t remember the old Saga’s bright blue paint and (dare we say iconic) body-coloured caps for the steel wheels – the latter has been lovingly reimagined here.

Rear end designs used to be very simple back in the day – more often than not, backsides were dominated by a horizontal strip with lights sandwiching either the number plate (Saga, Toyota AE86) or a decorative piece with the logo mark, as seen on my favourite 90s behinds (e.g Toyota MR2 and Honda CR-X).

Theo rightfully went for a more contemporary look for the Saga homagE, which sports a full-width chrome wing with Proton lettering that bisects the LED tail lamps. That chrome strip is common on Geely sedans, and this car looks like it’s part of the family, from the rear at least.

That’s not all. Theo also did a Saga Aeroback version of the homagE. Much of the above are repeated for the red car you see below, but there are sportier alloys and a liftback tail. Stubby butt and shorter rear deck aside, the Aeroback gets unique square tail lamps connected by a black trim with Proton lettering. Also in black is the “diffuser” section of the rear bumper. A black Aeroback with Proton Knight-style livery might be interesting.

Once again, does the original Saga’s design translate well into a modern car? IMHO, not nearly as well as truly retro things like the original Honda Civic (1970s) and Longines Legend Diver (1960s), but I adore this reimagination regardless.

Of course, like most Malaysians, this writer is biased (the Saga Megavalve was my first car, and it’s still in the family today), and I would love to have a Saga EV someday, when it’s inevitable. By the way, we drove an electric Saga before and it was hilarious.

With my rose-tinted glasses still on, I think that this has to be Theo’s best work so far – great attention to detail, mate! To Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong and chief designer Azlan Othman, what do you think of our 2020 Proton Saga homagE? The designer would love some feedback. You too can share your thoughts below.

GALLERY: 1985 Proton Saga 1.3S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Good idea. But since proton is now back to rebadging business, this is a pipedream since there are no similar donor cars from geely. Unless of course if proton has a little bit of face left to develop their own model from scratch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Gracke on May 30, 2019 at 9:51 pm

This a solid good new Gen Proton Saga 1.0T

• Kereta Rj Berhad on May 31, 2019 at 7:28 am

Sorry but the design is already game over. I wonder why Proton haven’t hired a world-class designers to design something outstanding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
        • Think before commenting on May 31, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Woi Roti! It is because this fictional car is designed by Theophilus Chin which he doesn’t work for Proton you moron…

• Dilbert on May 30, 2019 at 10:32 pm

When there is no donor car from Geely, this is EXACTLY the opportunity for Proton to showcase their ability to make proper small sedans & coupled it with Geely or Volvo EV drivetrain.

• lilytan on May 31, 2019 at 11:53 am

What opportunity? Proton have been toying with the EV idea for years. They just dont have the guts to do it.

• Logical Deduction on May 31, 2019 at 10:20 pm

1)The market take up is not there.
          2)The gahmen is looking to raise charging rates.
          3)Even the rich are complaining battery price expensip.
          Proton would be insane to have that much guts but no brains to proceed with sell EV cars.

• seancorr (Member) on May 30, 2019 at 8:46 pm

Pls no. Looks very disjointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • FugleE

• 3pedaler on May 30, 2019 at 9:12 pm

Still not detailed enough. Missing 12V front grille Proton Saga logo Emblem with glowing light.

• Kuinosan on May 30, 2019 at 9:18 pm

Hold your horses and just let Geely show you guys at Proton how it’s done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • this looks like the 90’s idea of futuristic design. Looks cheap too

• Paksyed on May 30, 2019 at 10:08 pm

Idea is excellence, but the design look outdated. Kindly look at other e-car design that very futuristic

• Any EVs coming from Proton would be Geely rebadged EVs. Let’s not kid ourselves, Geely is not interested in selling Proton cars. They paid for Proton so that we’d use their cars.

• The same would happen if Proton was sold to VW in the past. Have you ever heard Seat or Skoda developing their own car from scratch? Anyways, using Geely cars is wise business decision given Proton’s dire financial state.

• Chuah Hock Leong on May 30, 2019 at 10:39 pm

On May 2017. I bought a Saga model. New car, new prices at that time. On March 2019. GEARBOX KAPUT. Proton replacemed me with a genuine but RECON unit. I’ve already complained to them for more than 2 months. But all in vain. My car is still with the RECON gearbox. I’m very disappointed with Proton services. Really very frustrating. To make things worse, my car radio also kaput. Thanks for sharing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Vader on May 31, 2019 at 12:55 am

Sure sure. Your story totally kaput. Talk about gearbox suddenly talk about radio. Wall of BS.

• Other brands never have gearbox problems? I can share with you stories of engine and gearbox problems in cars such as Perodua all the way to Mercedes too. Mind to share what’s broken in your Saga’s gearbox and where is the SC that replace it with a recon part?

• MejarJeneral on Jun 01, 2019 at 10:49 am

Most of the time it is standard to replace broken components with reconditioned units built back to factory specifications. At least it is authorised by the factory.

Anyway have you heard of VW massive DSG gearbox failures? They received bad flak for that problem alone.

• alldisc on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:09 am

For any car manufacturer warranty claims clearly stated that not necessarily replace new, as long as able to make the car go again and at a reasonably period of time without breaking down. This means either repair, replace new or replaced with refurbish units. The law allows all. Go read the owners manual.

• Ksatria on May 30, 2019 at 10:59 pm

this ain’t the one chief.. pls use current design language

• Chris C on May 30, 2019 at 11:04 pm

Looks so retro…seeing it, all I can think of is 80’s Renault (Renault 19, 21, Fuego…around that era). But that’s not a compliment though…

• vVivi Zurianti on May 30, 2019 at 11:59 pm

More like homage to Mistubishi tha Proton…..Ori proton was rebadged of old mitsu car.

• Proton Saga is not a car that I like to resurrect. The name itself has been made fun of because it sound really bad/dumb when the sound is converted into Chinese. The launch of that car also marked the rise of huge import tax for every other car brand in Malaysia. Essentially created a protective market for Proton. The worst thing from the car is of course the terrible quality. I don’t think Malaysian product ought to be known for poor quality but this car kind of ruin the country’s reputation.

• alldisc on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:19 am

The Chinese actually have poor tongue. It’s our fault they cannot say Saga. They can’t ever pronounce Rover, so change the name to Roewe instead.
      Malaysian Chinese no problems to say saga

• So so on May 31, 2019 at 3:03 am

At the moment of life and dead of SAGA, it is better rebadged from our likes, example vw or merc or something that is popular at Indonesia, Thailand or Philippine so that we can get spares parts likes after market. But, India and China is hmmm! Do it’s curry favorite at Asean land of cheap and best price here at 2020 evs for us is just too political protection agencies such as ngos to answer to our bolehlando. Simple yet too complicated than more improvement. needed.

• Farid on May 31, 2019 at 5:57 am

Proton loses it originality. Only rebadging cars. Well if making money is the only concern, then I think in few more years Proton would definitely beat Perodua thanks to Geely.

• He should design a flying car not electric

• Mr Hakim on May 31, 2019 at 7:02 am

Rear design looks good but front look so ugly like concept car back in the ’80s who try to say it’s for the ’90s.

• Larra Jassinta Si Bapok Bertelur on May 31, 2019 at 8:02 am

Buruksss

• The blue one, carryover SX-11 rear lamp? Nice try

• W.A.Nazaruddin on May 31, 2019 at 8:57 am

Well done Theophilus Chin! Love the retro design of SAGA with sophistication touches. Your design is always better than the real P1 or P2.

• john doe on May 31, 2019 at 9:09 am

Hell No!

Not with those rims!

• newme on May 31, 2019 at 9:13 am

If proton ever come out with an electric car, get yourself a power bank. You may need it. Their current models requires jump start even with just few days idling.

• John Doe on May 31, 2019 at 9:16 am

Photos tells a thousand words.
    This tells us pain and resentment.
    What happened to the Look East policy where we have thousands sent to Japan since M time.
    Now the Look East policy is primarily championed again by the same person, this time it is for the worst industry (Dangerous & Dirty).

• Normal User on May 31, 2019 at 9:18 am

VOLKSWAGEN POLO SEDAN + BMW….
    lol…..

• Saiful Hamdan on May 31, 2019 at 9:29 am

Clearly many comments here dislike retro look on cars. I love it! Someone with proper automotive design background please render this into 3D model.

• asal electric car je design buruk, asal electric car je design buruk. buat la lawa sikit, at least rim tu bagi sporty sikit.

• thykrupp on May 31, 2019 at 10:05 am

Kudos, can see that they are trying to retain heritage of the first version of SAGA. It means a lot to our country back in 1985. This is definitely good!

• Danial on May 31, 2019 at 10:29 am

Why this car looks old in design..looked like it came out of pre Soviet times..couldn’t anyone do a better job of design to make Malaysian cars look joy to own..or go to Italy and snatch a car designer there!

• I really like the design of this, i like the wheels and the rear arches, doesn’t look like a copy of another car which is what im so used to seeing these days. The profile could use a bit more of design flair but contrary to popular opinion, i think this is a really impressive design.

• Neutral on May 31, 2019 at 11:09 am

With all due respects, this is by far the worst rendering Theophilus Chin has done. One look at the front is enough to turn one off.

• Sannas on May 31, 2019 at 11:22 am

I like retro modern. Is it a Megawatt version?

• badut on May 31, 2019 at 12:20 pm

clearly the design is disturbing.

• Bumi Parrot Safari on May 31, 2019 at 1:04 pm

lmao all the comments above condemning P1 instead of Theophilus Chin, he is the one who created this conceptual drawing 2020 SAGA HomagE

• You have one job….. Just one and…. Oh well

• Seesaw on May 31, 2019 at 2:23 pm

Still want to keep that rectangular lamp design..it’s proton, right?..never want to change..so dissappointed.

• Love it. Want one.

• Loo Chi Bai on May 31, 2019 at 5:06 pm

Honda-e side mirrors pleeze..

• Ugly concept, did not reflect the nostalgia or futuristic. Design to reject by market

• Dah boleh buat design buruk, buat apa susah² fikir design cantik

• Kingston on Jun 26, 2019 at 10:20 am

Need more design improvement. Especially the front grille and bumper design. The rear of the blue one actually looks good just like 7 series lamp.