Proton X50 SUV rendered with Infinite Weave grille

It appears that Proton is not wasting time in its efforts to expand the product line-up. Just yesterday, two fully-camouflaged test mules of the Geely Binyue (SX11), a five-seater B-segment SUV, were spotted making rounds in Malaysia. Could this mean that Proton is readying a second SUV to supplement the larger X70? If so, ever wondered what it would look like?

Well, we’ve got digital renderings of what the new Proton ‘X50’ SUV could potentially look like, courtesy of rendering whiz Theophilus Chin. Right off the bat, the only differences between the Geely Binyue and the Proton ‘X50’ renderings are the ‘Infinite Weave’ front grille and tailgate chrome garnish, the latter featuring Proton lettering instead of Geely.

Apart from that, everything you see here is exactly what you get with the Binyue. Of course, there will be additional tweaks should it be launched here, and that may materialise in the form of design and equipment changes that are better suited to our market. Sources say there are two versions of the Binyue being tested here, one being the standard, and the other is a “Sports” variant.

Performance-wise, in China, the Binyue is available with two turbocharged, direct-injection three-cylinder petrol engines. The first is a Geely and Volvo co-developed 1.5 litre unit (174 hp and 255 Nm) paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic, while the second option is a less powerful 1.0 litre unit (134 hp and 205 Nm) available only with a six-speed manual transmission.

For equipment, it includes Level 2 autonomous driving features such as adaptive cruise control and parking assist, GKUI system, autonomous emergency braking, seven-inch LCD instrument panel and 10.25-inch main display, among others. Prices range from 78,800 yuan (RM47,858) to 118,800 yuan (RM71,151) there.

Meanwhile, Proton is currently in the midst of upgrading its Tanjung Malim facility to cater to the manufacturing process of the X70, as well as next-generation Proton models, which should include the Binyue-based model. As the Binyue rides on Geely’s B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA), it wouldn’t be too far-fetched to assume Proton’s RM1.2 billion investment will include support for building the platform. Whether this extends to include the CMA used by Lynk & Co models is still unknown.

To recap, Proton has also secured the use of intellectual properties (IP) and the rights to manufacture and sell three Geely models – the Boyue, Binyue and Jiaji (VF11) MPV. Exciting times, isn’t it?

GALLERY: Geely Binyue (SX11) test mule spotted in Malaysia

GALLERY: Geely Binyue (SX11)

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Leonardo on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:36 am

Looks good, outside and inside. The success here will probably depend on the pricing, in the end.
    Any indication of the sales in Malaysia? Expected OTR price range? RM80-90K?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
    • Ismet Ulam Raja on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:06 am

The Change is relentless! Bolehland embraced Geely X50, exactly Huawei P20 stunning victory!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Abes la aruz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • MoFaz on Feb 22, 2019 at 3:20 pm

Grown up and existed 34 years, billions wasted. P1 now a mere car grille designer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • What’s sadder is they could have been a VW rebadger. Same circumstances actually, VW wanted to buy them out, they so confident to say no. Now China Car buy them instead and they’re rebadging Boyue/Biyue instead of Beetle/Golf/Passat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
          • Aikon on Feb 25, 2019 at 11:55 am

@Dean, VW might not be a suitable partner with DSG failings and pricey spare parts. It might be worse for Proton if tied up with VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Roti john Pvt Ltd on Feb 22, 2019 at 2:07 pm

The real game changing replacement model for Proton. Habisla all the game over Proton models! Proton soon become a Perusahaan Geely Premium Reseller Sdn Bhd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Benzs on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:38 am

Nice! Bring to Malaysia and sell 60k – 80k. Will rival HRV, CHR, CX3 and ASX. Proton conquer SUV market soon.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
    • dejavu on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:59 am

Proton X50 SUV will cannibalize into X70 cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Saysaysaja on Feb 22, 2019 at 12:02 pm

Yah. After 5 yrs those hrv, chr, cx3 and asx owner will laugh at u cos u cant sell off ur x50 even rm20k. Jz gv to farmer lar for them carry their cangkul to farm. U very helpful after tat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 84
      • Asx is useless.. Chr is ugly and fat.. hrv more live HIV.. Cx3 front looks like the mouth of a whale..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Feb 23, 2019 at 1:21 am

This is malaysia.. price is no1 winner here.. design comes 2nd then..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Looks really great though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • James on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:35 am

After Theophilus Chin rendering whiz, now wait Mimos wayy more local flavor X50

• benzs on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:55 am

Proton and Perodua should hire Theophilus Chin. Erm, better not hire him. Ask Theo set up a company first, P1 and P2 will get design from him and paid according to fees. Sure Theo will become popular and many come to Malaysia to look for Theo.

• Ben Yap on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:45 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 157
    • Calvin on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:56 am

But the CRV 1.5T engine has a history of turbo leaking problems. No point to balik kampung with this car, if it breaks down in mid-journey and having to sheepishly explain to the kampung relatives that your arrival will be delayed due to repairs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
      • eksebenti la.. on Feb 22, 2019 at 12:14 pm

this can make orang orang kanpong waiting waiting not arrive…due to car brokedown on the way balik

• Jap’s cars also having their problems, Honda’s O ring n Mazda n Honda absorbers & parts relatively are very costly. If cars cost of maintenance are low n pricing structures are reasonably with good after sales services definitely Malaysia consumers would consider X50 n other model as well. Most of the consumers that look for Proton n perodua brands are from the lower middle segment of the income bracket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • YAB Alberto on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:24 am

Crv only cheap parents approve la, when i say cheap i dont mean they re financially poor but rather attitude problem. Who gives a crap about what their kid drives.

• dont be a brand snoob on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:45 am

brand snoob

• Atifjeelan on Feb 22, 2019 at 1:53 pm

End of the day X70 is the wise choice due to it lower price. Rm40k gap is alot though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 22, 2019 at 8:33 pm

For Ben Yap, RM 40K is only “a bit”. He must be the T20 living in RM5 Million bungalow. If he’s soooo rich, why he waste time here trolling Proton?

• Phaser on Feb 23, 2019 at 11:56 pm

Hello Mr Honda salesman. So kesian your Honda Civic now suspended from being sold due to Jabatan Audit Negara looking through its pricing approval. So now must try to shit on PROTON la.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:47 am

if this so called X50 sells in the rang of 70 – 80k++… a lot of cars will die in Malaysia. Myvi city vios even cars like civic Altus accord confirm die. and this news definitely put a dent on Perodua Aruz sales. even I would wait for this if im already planning to buy Aruz. well played Proton for this leak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 0
    • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Feb 23, 2019 at 1:27 am

Aduh.. politik dan birokrasi dah mai.. ( dlm bisnes kereta.. ini dinamakan politik).. jgn pikir parti je.. by the way.. perodua alza dulu pun bnyk kill market jugak.. (sedekad lepas la..)

• Mat Saga on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:48 am

Macam kena kan grill tu dengan lampu

• Veli nice! Really does look like baby X70. Expect the price to be at upper range of Rm70k but even this is a steal with Level 2 autonomous driving (does it mean it has LKAS too? Expecting another round of ‘How cool is that from PT writers’). Gud times r rolling in for P1!

P1, Geely, VolvoCar, Mesidis, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Proton Sdn Bhd - Official Distributor Of Geely Vehicles on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:20 am

Habisla! Proton just become distributor for geely cars in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • #wapalewheels on Feb 22, 2019 at 9:55 am

Great works TC.
    Price range must be between Perodua Aruz(7seater) and Haval H4(5seater) if really want attract people to buy it. if not, make it 7 seater and give same price as Perodua Aruz.

fb #wapalewheels

• X50 is aimed at youngsters who either single, or married with no kids yet, or with small famili.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Loo on Feb 22, 2019 at 2:48 pm

Your X50 got no RV wei! Beli je Aruz… Aruz use Toyota engine one. Confirm RV high.

To all perodua drivers, don’t act like samseng ok! Dont busukkan nama Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
  • lilytan on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:06 am

Even the x70 is not CKD yet. If just rebadge and put on the infinite weave @ subaru forester grill than might as well just close tanjung malim. Proton is much better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • https://paultan.org/2018/12/28/proton-x70-suv-between-200-300-bookings-daily-since-launch-ckd-production-could-start-in-oct-2019/

Be patient, everything takes time. By the time X70 CKD starts, they will then bring in CBU X50, so by next year when X50 CKD they will bring in VF11 and maybe a sedan as well. Tick-Tock process some say.

• xoxox on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:07 am

Expected price around 62400 – 93600…

• Liinggesh on Feb 22, 2019 at 7:03 pm

Hahahaha…saying national brand.. Pricing like import cars.. Cm on proton change the pricing.. Mk it cheap…sure Malaysians will consider abt ur cars… Sumore 1.0 and 1.5

• azrai on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:45 am

With this look and circa RM75k-RM85k price, it will be a hot seller. Bye2 HRV, Bye2 CX3. Aruz??

• Harimau on Feb 22, 2019 at 10:58 am

base on selling price for bo yue and x70, I think the price for this car will be around 70k -100k. And don’t keep say habis la city, vios blar blar, they don’t wish to sell so expensive.we are the one make the price double up

• Its a China product…..be careful….

Also, pricing should be below RM40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 48
    • SUsu Kunta Kinte Sdn Bhd on Feb 22, 2019 at 5:37 pm

Your shirt, your underwear, your phone, your table, your electronics , your pillow, your bed and other things are mostly made in China. Your life must be sooo miserable because you have to be so cautious everytime and everywhere

• Ksatria on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:03 am

MY cup of tea..if the spec & price is right!

• Gabriel on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:17 am

Thank you Najib.
    It was you that trigger the collaboration, albeit getting stick/mocked/criticized back then. We are now reaping the reward.
    Looking forward for the X50. I might end up buying one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Tun Keramat Hijau on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:18 am

Why not Theophilus renders Perodua Aslan based on Toyota CH-R?

• PlainBS on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:24 am

Can I get the original look

• chepo on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:52 am

competition is good. bring it on.

• lolpanda on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:52 am

realistically speaking, the highest spec X50 will be priced higher or close to the lowest spec X70…which brings it into the RM95K+ price point.

and you’d likely be able to get a lowest spec variant for about RM80K…or rather RM79,800 just so they can market it as “under RM80K”.

• Kennard on Feb 22, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Indeed very Good if this car falls below 100k given with such specs and Brand T & H will definitely bring higher features to maintain market domination. Or else we could just get crap spec with ultra high pricing.

• Impressive engineering by Geely. 1.0L with 134hp and 1.5L with 174hp. Good power for SUV. meanwhile copy-paste local manufacturer trying to sell off dinosaur Toyota 1.5L engine in their SUV, thinking 114hp is enough. *facepalm*

• Price should be lower than 7 seater Perodua Aruz RM 75K.

if they price it RM 60k to 70K then will be a hit for proton.

Otherwise, China car will pile up at stockyard and waiting for big discount.

X70 is too expensive for family income below RM 10K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Darren on Feb 22, 2019 at 4:23 pm

15,000 people disagrees with you.

• If the pricing of the local SUV be in the region of RM65 to RM70 it will be a heat among the lower middle income bracket.

• Anonymous on Feb 23, 2019 at 3:59 am

“X70 is too expensive for family income below RM 10K”.
      You make it sound like it’s an obligation for families to buy an X70.
      It’s a product that is priced fairly. It has all the right features for the right price with our sales tax structure. Stop asking things to be cheap, that’s what was wrong with trying to sell cars in this country. Malaysians are terrible at seeing how cars are really worth.
      Way too many bought the old Myvi when for just RM1000 more you can get the better Iriz. The Vios gets way too much attention when in all honesty it’s about as “prestigious” as a Proton Preve, only worse. The Honda Jazz gets too little appreciation, Kia cars are often overlooked, and a lot complain of how Proton sedans are expensive when a top spec Axia is only RM1000 cheaper than a top spec Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • The 1.0 liter turbo enjin with price for 55k plss

• Roti Kosong on Feb 22, 2019 at 6:14 pm

1.0l variant for that size? Why proton like to produce underpowered cars… For the life of me i cannot understand. If the 1.0l variant is a turbo then it would the best seller i presume.

• Sporty on Feb 22, 2019 at 7:02 pm

I will buy one. Bye bye myvi

• Great strides by Proton. I test drove the X70. I must say I’m very impressed with everything. This is a radical departure from the old Proton.

Geely gave their best-selling model for Proton to resuscitate its life. Unlike Mitsubishi, Citroën etc etc which just wanted to get rid of their unsold stocks. This is a true testament of a real, sincere partnership.

Whoever organised that proton saga race in Sepang, please don’t do it again. We want to move away from that era.

• Caveat emptor

• choha on Feb 22, 2019 at 11:17 pm

front lamps look great

• Tempe tempura on Feb 23, 2019 at 12:28 am

Hebat China… Dari produk cap ayam… Sekarang menguasai dunia… Jepun dah pening… Amerika sakit hati… Ha ha

• hamba on Feb 23, 2019 at 7:20 am

Before the GE 14, people were blaming the BN now after the GE 14 people are blaming PH. I guess democracy is not for the third world countries. Blaming everything except yourself.

• P. Alyanna on Feb 23, 2019 at 9:29 am

The hate comes from the false promises & the price increase we kept seeing on daily goods and foodstuff from a PH Government that is clearly not ready.

• So people do something wrong,you must senyap je?i guess sometime ignorance is the way to being a happy citizen

• History Bender on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:07 pm

PH demands rakyat ignorance to their fallacies and transgressions much like a certain Reich back then.

• The only thing i interested are geely 1.0 and 1.5 turbocharged engine which shows a very good power to FC ratio. Lots of torque but consume less fuel than campro cfe. Possible to get new gov fuel subsidiary too. If secure these engine, make sure it runs without problems in 10 years interval and put in proton A to C segments car/suv/mpv and and proton sales will rise unless they gives people a really ungly car. I m looking forwards for these engines in B and C segments sedans.

• Yusof on Feb 23, 2019 at 7:06 pm

This is another robbery done at daylight, The X70 (Emgrand) costs app Rm 70k(50k less) in UAE. It is not even assembled there. When are we ever going to realize that the the present government has no intention whatsoever, to reduce the prices of cars and void all APs. We are no better now than we were then.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 26, 2019 at 11:22 am

Itu AP for X70 CBU, duties & taxes as such.

Import Duty 30%
      Excise Duty 65% (below 1.8L)
      Sales Tax 10% (on the total Import Duty + Excise Duty)

If CKD, just remove the Import Duty 30%. Still gotta pay Excise Duty 65% & Sales Tax 10% (on the Excise Duty).

THAT is why our car prices are soooo high. Sure ASEAN AFTA says zero tax but nothing mentioned on Customs DUTY (which is another form of taxation). Pandai kan our gomen.

• Toyota forever on Feb 23, 2019 at 8:05 pm

Why buy unreliable proton when u can get more reliable and high re-sale value jap models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Mohd Shaolin on Feb 28, 2019 at 2:20 pm

Do not worry about X70. It is better than any cars three times the price. We have friends who sold their Porsche and Elgrand and Bmw. Come and join us.

• Kenny on May 03, 2019 at 9:45 am

Oh no… another dual clutch?!

• Live To Drive For Life on Jun 19, 2019 at 12:13 am

Everything looks cool and practical, although I would like the tyres to be 15 inch or 16 inch. Don’t get me wrong, bigger rims looks fierce, but most of our roads aren’t cut out yet for low profile performance tyres..

• George G. Kipa on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:52 pm

I’m intending to buy one Proton X50 for my pension gift. Its nicer if 1.5 AWD turbo with 4 cylinder be available in the market.

• Siow Alex on Sep 02, 2019 at 9:16 pm

X50 should sell at 50k make affordable for everyone, 30 years ago I see many proton car otr ,proton don’t think about profit. Make proton a car that can daily used.