Porsche Macan facelift launched in Malaysia as base 2.0 litre model – 252 PS, 370 Nm; prices from RM455k

Porsche importer and distributor in Malaysia, Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) has launched the facelifted Porsche Macan SUV in sole, base model guise, priced from RM455,000 which includes all applicable duties but excluding registration, insurance and road tax; bookings for the Macan facelift have been open from last week.

The base Porsche Macan here represents the most accessible entry point into the marque’s model range; the entry-level sports car from the firm is the base, 2.0 litre-engined Porsche Cayman which starts from RM530,000. This will be the sole facelifted Macan variant available for our market for the time being; a 3.0 litre turbo V6 petrol-powered Macan S is also available overseas. (Update: the Macan S has also joined the Malaysian line-up.)

The fundamentals of the facelifted Macan remain as before, namely the MLB longitudinal layout platform, here powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol with 252 PS and 370 Nm of torque, channeled to all four wheels via a seven-speed PDK dual-clutch automatic transmission. This powertrain propels the Macan from 0-100 km/h in 6.7 seconds, and on to a top speed of 225 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is rated at 8.1 l/100 km, with combined CO2 emissions rated at 185 g/km.

Visual updates for the facelift include new lighting units; these include a new design for the headlamps’ LED clusters, while the rear end gets updated with a three-dimensional light panel to bring the junior SUV in line with its recent stablemates, and the rear lamps also use the four-point LED design used by the headlamps, for which Porsche Dynamic Lighting System Plus (PDLS Plus) is an option. New bumpers front and rear aid in emphasising the SUV’s width.

The interior has also been treated to selected redesigns, in particular the centre console which now houses the new Porsche Communication Management (PCM) that is home to a wider 10.9-inch touchscreen display, over the previous 7.2-inch item. The new infotainment layout’s width also relocates the air-conditioning vents beneath it in a horizontal orientation, over the vertical bookending form previously.

The facelifted Macan comes to the Malaysian market with the Premium Package as standard, which includes 14-way power-adjustable front seats with memory function, Power Steering Plus Park Assist, self-dimming mirrors, a Bose sound system as well as ambient lighting.

Optionally available is the Sport Chrono package that includes the GT sports steering wheel, while rolling stock comprises a choice of wheels ranging from 18 inches to 21 inches in diameter. Further options such as exterior paint and interior trim colour choices can be selected from your preferred Porsche dealer.

The base price includes a four-year, 200,000 km warranty and free maintenance including parts and labour. With SDAP’s 360 Financing, a monthly commitment starting from RM5,700 is available for the latest Porsche Macan.

We’ve also sampled the latest Macan in Mallorca, Spain, with some time spent in both the base model and the Macan S; read our drive impressions, here.

GALLERY: Porsche Macan/Macan S facelift driven in Spain

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• English Teacher on Jun 21, 2019 at 7:51 pm

fundementals*

• Rajan on Jun 22, 2019 at 11:51 pm

I hope those who buy this car got money and rich. Don’t buy this car with loan maximum just to balik kampung and show Opah you got lots of money

Then 2 months later sambung bayar or kena tarik balik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • Base model Macan from RM455,000 too high. Proton X80 Xingyue SUV 240hp and 350 Nm; RM155,000 only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Rajan 2 on Sep 23, 2020 at 7:40 pm

Yeah true, like some guys rent it to go back celebrating Deepavali to show Appa and Amma they got money.

• It’s fundamentals, dude.

• Shah Khalson on Jun 23, 2019 at 10:07 am

Majority in Malaysia live above their means. Showing off to neighbors and peers are very important in Putrajaya

• Folkswagen on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:26 pm

Golf R SUV? For half a mil…#crazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Zaman Khan on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:48 pm

Porsche Malaysia is very greedy. Macan prices going higher and higher.

Just like the Cayenne prices. 2018 Cayenne is RM900k. Previous Generation Cayenne 2011 was RM530k

But in overseas, the 2011 Cayenne and the 2018 Cayenne was US59,000 and US61,000 respectively

Pity Malaysians. Porsche prices seem to be jumping so high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
    • Mario and Bros on Jun 22, 2019 at 11:32 pm

Are you giving me your fake news again? Just look at current price for Porsche Cayenne 2018, which costs RM780K but not RM900K. Porsche Malaysia are not so greedy at all. Unlike for Hyundai Malaysia and Toyota Malaysia, both are so greedy for giving dumping outdated engines and lousy features and giving basic safety features (Except for Toyota Malaysia) to the consumers. This will make their lives more risk to the consumer when driving Hyundai but not Toyota. Do you know that? At least German Auto and EU Auto in Malaysia giving better safety features and better features and specs to the consumers. Get your proper facts which I told you already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • If you surf US websites, you shall read them fully:

‘Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price. Excludes options; taxes; title; registration; delivery; processing and handling fee; dealer charges. Dealer sets actual selling price’.

I agree with you, that in the US cars are still cheaper than in Malaysia. But then you also have to take into account, that buyers there spend the money saved for family health insurance. So in the end it’s a zero-sum game.

• Kelvin on Jun 24, 2019 at 9:31 am

Porsche come from GLC Sime Darby. Staff of this GLC is so highly paid with free BMWs as company cars.

So they need to make lot of untung to maintain the GLC high standards of living. Luxury and high class

• Jeevan Lingam on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:54 pm

Many Proton fanboys are telling why buy Macan when you can buy Proton X70???

I got a big shock…..if everyone thought this way, Porsche, Ferrari, BMW and Mercedes would have gone bankrupt long ago.

Luckily only jaguh kampung think this way….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
    • Only you the jaguh of jaguh kampung, RJ Raja Jamban said such things. Please don’t lower Proton owners to your low standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Jeevan Lingam on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:55 pm

Many fanboys say their Proton X70 uses AMG technology from Mercedes as Geely owns some small percentage of shares in Daimler Mercedes AG Germany.

They say Proton X70 is BETTER than Porsche Macan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Oh, you mean like how P2 salesman troll said Aruz is the best SUV, even better than the Macan because Aruz has 7 seats while Macan only 5?

• Like a certain Perodua salesman troll like to say the Aruz is better than the Macan because the Aruz is a 7-seater.

• John Doe on Jun 22, 2019 at 6:59 am

GLE and X5 now got challenger

• The Macan is smaller than both of those. More like the size of X3 and GLC.

• Macan base specs used to be 420k without options.

• mmmmm…..SiDap…..

• Steven Mathias on Jun 23, 2019 at 12:44 am

The Macan is a game over design because it has only 5 seats. Porsche should learn from Perodua how to design stunning 7-seater like the Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • You’re right. Same goes for the 911: Porsche should learn from Perodua how to design stunning 4-seater like the Axia.

• Thinkoutsidethebox on Jun 23, 2019 at 11:19 pm

People who spend half a million to get this car is likely to have a 7-seater vellfire.

• Tochi on Jun 24, 2019 at 11:48 am

If you have the means, buy it. If not, buy one per your budget….