GALLERY: Honda City 1.5L V in Passion Red Pearl

Honda Malaysia announced last month that the City can be ordered with a Passion Red Pearl paintjob, so here’s a full gallery of the B-segment model in that shade for your viewing pleasure.

The colour replaces the previous Dark Ruby Red Pearl, and was first offered for the facelifted HR-V. According to the company (at the time), the colour has proven to be quite popular among customers, accounting for 30% of the compact SUV’s sales.

This particular unit is the range-topping Grade V, which comes with 16-inch wheels, LED headlamps, fog lamps, daytime running lights and taillights, single-zone air-conditioning, leather upholstery, a 6.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system, keyless entry with push start, six airbags and Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA).

Under the bonnet, there’s a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirate four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 120 PS and 145 Nm of torque, with drive going to the front wheels via a CVT. This is applicable also to the mid-range Grade E and base Grade S, with the exception of the Hybrid that comes with an electric motor and a seven-speed dual-clucth automatic transmission.

The on-the-road pricing (without insurance) for the Grade V is RM86,983, and other colour options include Lunar Silver Metallic, White Orchid Pearl, Modern Steel Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Matchy on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:48 pm

That 1.5l enjin Honda 120PS higher than Mazda3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Mee goreng mamak on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Both of the engines you said are game changers. Proton Campro engine is a game over engine because of its lousy quality and unreliable. This is one of the reason why Proton sales is so dissapointing every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • zeroemission on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:43 pm

But underpowered than Vios and Mazda 2

• BringItOn on Jul 10, 2019 at 2:33 pm

City 1.5 cvt u try drag wif vios 1.5 manual. Then u know which is underpower.

• Kaikai on Jul 09, 2019 at 10:26 pm

Honda city 120ps, mazsa3 1.5 is 118hp.
      Note the difference of ps vs hp

• Akira on Jul 10, 2019 at 8:41 am

Mazda3 with better torque.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 10, 2019 at 10:28 am

120ps=118hp if i am not mistaken

• Cityboy on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Best low fuel consumption in it class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
    • NismoMugenTRD on Jul 11, 2019 at 12:11 am

No bro, Almera is the best fuel low consumption in B segment. City comes next and third is I am not sure maybe Vios kot

• Don’t buy Honda on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Honda Service Quality and Honda Assembly Quality are lousy than Proton

• LRT User on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:43 pm

So it went from taxi blue to taxi red. Lmao!

• GG Vios

• Habislah Vios tak laku

• Persona got 150Nm torque but less PS.

• the only entry level car under 100k mark that have auto cruise. apart from proton. am i right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Sohai on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:14 pm

Looks almost as good as the Mazda Soul Red…almost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • MiloTinHondah on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:36 pm

For 87k we can get Toyota Camry 2.5L full specs overseas, rather than this Milo tin. Pity Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
    • Pyraxle on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:58 pm

If you want to compare to overseas, why didn’t you compare to SG? Overseas also but still far more expensive than us. Yeah everyone know most of the cars overseas are cheaper but what choice us Malaysian have? Migrate to overseas? Do pointless riot in front of gov building? or you want to sponsor everyone to migrate overseas? So we rather stick to our A-B milo tin, at least for now. Oh have you studied the car price in South East Asia? I think mostly the price lebih kurang only to us, correct me if I’m wrong.

• JOACHIM on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:41 pm

In which part of the world can you get a Camry for RM87k?

• Dolan on Jul 09, 2019 at 10:18 pm

Then u go overseas go buy loh

• Lol88 on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:06 am

How about 87 for a vio or yaris? Aluminium foil?

• Lol88 on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:06 am

Vios*

• MiloPeng on Jul 10, 2019 at 3:23 am

Get a life bro..

• Footie on Jul 10, 2019 at 8:53 am

The same fugly camry u talking about is priced almost 200k mark here in Malaysia..

• 87k u get Camry oversea version with no ABS, no VTC 2 Airbags, 110PS, 130Nm, and 12L/100km FC. Pity u waste money to get crap.

• Why this car sell so well? Does it comes with AEB, BSM, RCTA?

• Why? It didn’t need to have all that to success because Malaysians love it and that’s enough. I bought the first batch after it was launched back in 2014. Pros? Cruise Control, Rear AC, big boot plus i can fold the rear seat flat hence making my IKEA shopping easier. FC & pickup pun okay lah not bad. Cons? Ride not too comfy in long distance because the soft suspension and thin seats. Speedcut at 190kph (my wife’s 09′ Persona SE can reach 210kph max) and mine have a leaking at the rear door everytime it’s raining recently.

• Mienzz92 on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:58 pm

Weird, mine can go 200kmh then speed limiter kicks in, GM6 2016 model

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:12 pm

One thing I hate about the City that the gallery unfortunently does not show is the bare body colour metal for the top of the door frames.

• Jinggo on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Please avoid this outdated model, the All New Honda City is coming soon…

• Philip on Jul 10, 2019 at 7:33 am

Honda cars are outdated, they need to upgrade their interior.

• Ben Yap on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:49 am

you pay RM137K for a 1.5 NA Mazda 3 with torsion beam and underpowered, people will laugh out loud. you pay RM90K for a City, people will say you are wise and prudent.

• redpilled on Jul 11, 2019 at 9:15 am

Way to go genius, let’s compare a B segment hatch to a C segment.

• Mohammad Zhahirin Bin Mohamad on Aug 02, 2019 at 11:53 am

A C segment with B segment engine? Biggest jokes of modern era automotive industries..

• Doing all they can to keep an aged model attractive.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 10, 2019 at 10:29 am

Persona is better

• Amran on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:00 pm

What? City 120hp, persona 107hp..

• Persona has better torque so pulling power in city drives is better than City (lol pun fully intended).

• Mienzz92 on Jul 10, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Persona got Better torque by 5Nm than City but the kerb weight more than City itself, + Wet Clutch CVT doesn’t gave instant acceleration compared Torque Converter type CVT in City

Putting a pun also useless if not exploring more depth into each cars specification

• Oh puhlezz, spare me the sales spiel. I have driven this City before. The CVT on it is lethargic like h3ll. Driving it like normal takes forever in getting up to speed, more so when ECON mode is activated. I have to kerb stomp the pedal to get the car moving and not be a moving chicane to other road users.

The Persona? No such thing. It might be jerky during the gear changes but it gets the car up to speed in a normal way.

• Persona got much better handling hence safer driving

• najib1312 on Jul 10, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Persona 50k vs City 90k

• Jinggo on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:12 pm

Please avoid this outdated model. Just wait for the All New Honda City next year.

• Anwer javed on Jul 11, 2019 at 3:35 am

Beautiful, marvelous, but I can’t buy this