2019 Volvo S60 teased on Malaysian site – launch soon

Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) has teased the arrival of the third-generation S60 on its official website and social media pages, with those interested now able to register their interest. The company previously said that the sedan would be launched locally in the third quarter of 2019, but since we’re now in the fourth quarter of the year, it’s clear that this plan has been pushed back slightly.

For now, details about the available variants and pricing are not available, but we’re expecting the former to include the T6 AWD, which features a 2.0 litre turbocharged and supercharged four-cylinder petrol engine with 310 hp and 400 Nm. This is mated to an Aisin-sourced eight-speed automatic transmission.

The S60 is also available with two plug-in hybrid options, including the T6 Twin Engine AWD (340 hp and 590 Nm) and T8 Twin Engine AWD (390 hp and 640 Nm), with both also offered for the V60. On that mention, the station wagon sibling of the S60 was recently spotted in Malaysia in T8 AWD Inscription guise, although it isn’t known if the model will be launched alongside the sedan.

Given VCM’s track record, we’re expecting the early batches of the S60 (and V60) to arrive as fully-imported (CBU) units first before local assembly (CKD) cars roll off the assembly plant in Shah Alam for domestic consumption and exports to Thailand. As we’ve seen with the S90, XC90 and XC60 before this, a T5 variant (254 hp and 350 Nm) should also join the mix when this happens.

We’ll only know more when the S60 officially makes its launch debut here in Malaysia, which should take place soon as suggested by VCM. The S60 goes up against the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class, and should be an interesting prospect for car buyers in the premium segment. It certainly has a good look to it, but will you prefer the Swedish sedan to its German counterparts?

GALLERY: Volvo S60 T6 AWD R-Design

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• In latest group test, this Volvo S60 came up top again. Among usual suspects Audi A4, 3series G20, AR Giulia and the C class. truly 1 class above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 22
    • If my English is not perfect can I interpret that

AR Gulia is just a low life premium car

Audi A4 is such ugly to consider a premium buy so truly 1 class below.

C class is not a True standard Mercedes other than the E and S class so also 1 class below

3 series only love by performance orientated drivers. Family and well to do will never consider it a premium other than a hooligan car , So also drop 1 class below

In summary , all the Audi A4, 3series G20, AR Giulia and the C class truly 1 class BELOW..as they are..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 36
      • Correction Zia on Oct 04, 2019 at 2:39 pm

# Zia, Let me correct for you

S60 is better looking car, more powerful and good features so 1 class above

3 Series looks better looking, powerful, more dynamic, good handling and good features so 1class above

C class is not up to standard and look ugly so 1 class below

In summary , 3series G20 and S60 truly 1 class ABOVE as they are.. but not C Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
        • Heskey on Oct 04, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Jaguar XE. fullstop

• Tokmoh on Oct 05, 2019 at 1:59 pm

Another model to fail from Volvo. Hardly see any Volvo on the road. See more VW and Peugeot.

• VOL WHAT on Oct 05, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Fuk u, buy one of them first before commenting, poor dicko, haha… All your cheap talks, just like urself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Correction Zia on Oct 04, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Forgot to add that from Zia:

AR Gulia is just a low life premium car

Audi A4 is such ugly to consider a premium buy so truly 1 class below.

In summary , 3series G20 and S60 truly 1 class ABOVE as they are.. while not C Class, Audi A4 and AR Guila are 1 class BELOW

• VOL WHAT on Oct 05, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Bet u dont even own one, crap talk here… Poor dick

• 4bini on Oct 04, 2019 at 11:45 am

Volvo sales in Malaysia jatuh a lot because Malaysians believe might as well buy the Proton X70. Still use Volvo technology mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • Lexus Kaki on Oct 04, 2019 at 1:44 pm

4bini ,

You are living inside the Cave
      So you are living in some part of Malaysia Cave land never in touch with outside news . So sorry of your Living situation

FYI , Audi sales in Malaysia already goes into the Jamban
      Toyota sales in Malaysia Jatuh the most…currently..
      Mercedes and BMW sales in Malaysia can be seen Jatuh a lot this year

While Volvo and Lexus sales are increasing their Market share every month

From Paulberg news,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • japankiller on Oct 04, 2019 at 8:48 pm

Condemn people living in cave does not make you become superior neither smart, he has his point you just have to counter but not attack his personality. Be wise to use your word.

• Really? on Oct 06, 2019 at 6:28 pm

Oh, what was 4bini’s credible point other than hearsay and his own assumption? Please elaborate, smart one.

• Yummy on Oct 04, 2019 at 12:12 pm

(Like) BMW 3 Series and S60
    (Dislike) Mercedes C Class

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
    • Wtf Wrong with U on Oct 05, 2019 at 3:49 pm

Please buy one of them then u r qualified to have a voting, else continue driving ur proton and wank alone at home :)

• Mr Hakim on Oct 04, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Proton will rebadge Geely model that base on this one as Perdana, so I’ll buy that one lah ..sure cheap cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Mr Car on Oct 04, 2019 at 3:32 pm

Hopefully they bring in the high end range T6 and T8 hybrid only. Hopefully it is fully kited out with the latest safety package such as the pilot assist 2.0

This car’s rear end looks much better then the S90 too.

• Rusty886 on Oct 04, 2019 at 5:38 pm

Hi guys, the s60 looks really nice! But i’ve not own a volvo before, hence would like to ask all sifu here on hows the reliability of a volvo in Malaysia? Any feedback from previous / existing owners would be much appreciated, thanks.

• The Baron on Oct 17, 2019 at 2:21 am

I have a Volvo since 2005 which was a 5 cylinder….No complains at all. Still going strong. Would love to get the new S60 when its launched

• No need to guess when will it be launched, It will obviously launch at PACE 2019

• Vol what? on Oct 05, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Ah pek interior for current volvo models… Off….

• Vol What on Oct 05, 2019 at 3:47 pm

So many volvo glorifiers here, must be salesmen, drive proton and promote volvo but criticise other manufacturers, El Cheapos

• Really? on Oct 06, 2019 at 6:31 pm

You mean like so many German car salesmen that criticise people just because talking about Volvo?