Malaysia’s flying car prototype to be launched by end 2019, second flying car by Q3 2020 – Mohd Redzuan

Malaysia’s flying vehicle prototype (or “flying car”), which was originally slated to be revealed this month, is expected to be launched at the end of the year instead. This is according to entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof, in response to a question from Khairy Jamaluddin about the project in Parliament on Thursday (October 17, 2019).

During Minister Question Time, Khairy asked, “Vision 2020 was introduced when I was 15 years old. We imagined there would be flying cars by then. I would like to congratulate the minister for being the only one to keep the promise of Vision 2020. I want to know, is there a date when we can see the minister riding the flying car?”

Redzuan said the project was led by the private sector and sponsored by local companies. “The government will not bear the losses if the project does not work according to plan,” he told Parliament, as reported by NST

He added that Cyberjaya has been chosen as the testbed to develop the air mobility industry, which had the potential to push the development in other areas like new types of insurance, financial tech, artificial intelligence and the Internet of Things (IoT), among others.

Responding to a separate query from Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin, Redzuan said the flying vehicle would be able to travel from Kuala Lumpur to Penang within an hour, which is far quicker than the four hours it would take to travel by road, adding that the prototype vehicle would be able to accommodate two or three passengers.

Earlier in March, a scale model of a flying vehicle prototype was put on display at the Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace 2019 (LIMA 19) exhibition. Called the Vector, it’s essentially less of a “flying car,” and more of a drone-based, point-to-point air mobility solution.

Developed by Aerodyne Group (and reportedly built in Japan), the Vector will reportedly be powered by four motors and a lithium-ion battery. Weighing in at 600 kg, and with a payload capacoty of up to 200 kg, the vehicle is capable of flying about 50 metres above ground level at 60 km/h, and has from 30 up to 90 minutes of flight time.

Redzuan also told reporters that a second “flying car” is in the works, with Bernama reporting that it would use different technologies from the first one, and could perform its inaugural flight in the third quarter of 2020.

“The second version is using new technology and we are discussing whether or not it’s possible, and if there is interest in the country, to have the inaugural flight by the third quarter of next year,” said Redzuan, who added that the vehicle is currently being developed in Europe.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• PutraJaya Talk on Oct 18, 2019 at 10:20 am

‘Developed by Aerodyne Group, the Vector will reportedly be powered by four motors and a lithium-ion battery. Weighing in at 600 kg, and with a payload capacoty of up to 200 kg, the vehicle is capable of flying about 50 metres above ground level at 60 km/h, and has from 30 up to 90 minutes of flight time.’

Cant wait to see launching prototype.

• lilytan on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:29 am

And they say it can fly to penang in an hour.

• Mason on Oct 18, 2019 at 12:55 pm

Siapa sini mau volunteer naik?? Ade bran?

• Celup King on Oct 18, 2019 at 3:52 pm

I propose all the Cabinet ministers as test subjects.
          They made the proposal right?
          They approved the proposal right?
          They gave the budget for this nonsense right?
          They told the rakyat to shove it right?
          Then they should be the first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • No more traffic jam at highway during holiday! Yay! on Oct 18, 2019 at 12:07 pm

Of coz it is a good prototype, coz they are using reliable fan brand, KDK. Instead of using Pensonic… put turbocharged motor can reach Penang from KL in 10mins…

• Li Peng on Oct 18, 2019 at 4:41 pm

The prototype on the table looks impressing. Possibly the fans can be tuned to move that thing faster? Then Malaysia would become world leader of fan-tuning.

• Will be worlds most exp table fan, even Dyson stand fan wun be that exp.

• Unfortunately, the use of fans is already obsolete as you can see on this video:

https://youtu.be/41IBiFFcSjQ?t=23

• Ollie on Oct 20, 2019 at 8:14 pm

How to compete with this level of stupidity? 60km/h for 60 minutes is 60km of range. Penang is 360km away. If you were more stupid, a dog would be able to type your comment.

• ahmad Kamil on Oct 18, 2019 at 10:44 am

the joke of the world continues. cant make a car after 30 years and now want to make this? please shelf this as this will make us the laughing stock of the Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
  • Angry Voters on Oct 18, 2019 at 10:49 am

Finally… Malaysia back in groove ! Bangga weii!
    Negara kaya UAE & world ekonomi most competitive Singapora now belakang kitaa wei..

Dubai pulis Hoversurf S3 2019 & Singapur Crimson s8 konpem jeless gilaa.. Keepidap MY Baru !

• v-tec fan on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:00 am

if “G” not involve any $$$ with this project = by all mean go a head.
    if “G” put rakyat $$$ for this project = gao gao ban this project.
    i’m not hater for Malaysia futuristic idea. just that i believe the $$$ can be use else where is more important like more road lanes, public transport or even HSR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Not Toyota Fan on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:20 am

Flying unicorn that flies to moon and back, bila yah Mini-Star?

• swoosh3553 on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:21 am

‘Developed by Aerodyne Group, the Vector will reportedly be powered by four motors and a lithium-ion battery. Weighing in at 600 kg, and with a payload capacoty of up to 200 kg, the vehicle is capable of flying about 50 metres above ground level at 60 km/h, and has from 30 up to 90 minutes of flight time.’

i am trying to do the maths here. 30-90min flight time with 60km/h, how did he came out with the 1-hour trip from KL to Penang (350km per Google Map from Suria KLCC to Georgetown)? Maybe flight path is shorter compared to road path. But cant be that short until its only 60km from KL to Penang?? Pythangoras theorem also cannot get that equation…. duhhhh. Anyone can help?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • If youre from technical and R&D guy you should be understand innovation is a step by step process. maybe first from kl to klia, then testfly hundreds of time to see its reliability. then improve and upgrade here and there then testfly again hundreds of time. if you ask how to fly from kl to penang they also cant answer because still not in that stage. maybe you should ask to yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
      • swoosh3553 on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:50 pm

@Mew FYI…yes, I am from technical and I am from R&D. AND I understand the testing and prototyping phases required. My point here is that where did he come out with the maths to claim the ability to fly from KL to Penang in 1 hour? In R&D industry, even on the drawing board, we do all the maths and the estimations and the modelling before COMING OUT with a STATEMENT/CLAIM to shareholders or production folks or customers on what we have in plan, what we will do and what it can do. Not cakap kosong because any failure due to bad R&D, will come back shoot us in the a$$. I hope YOU are also from technical and R&D! Then my explanation will make sense to you

• Real LLort on Oct 18, 2019 at 5:13 pm

R&D: Not ready. Far from ready.
          Me: Almost ready.

R&D: KL to Penang? Around 3 hours.
          Me do magic: In 1 hour for surely can reach!

hahahaha

• msia driver on Oct 18, 2019 at 1:20 pm

ya, this is funny he claim 1 hrs from Penang to KL..lolzzzzzz

• Celup King on Oct 18, 2019 at 3:55 pm

Flying car has the side effects of opening wormholes that can shorten a 350km journey to just 90km. Must believe our ministers, he has degrees (fake or real dunno).

• YAB Alberto on Oct 19, 2019 at 11:20 am

Ascend to 30km above sea level, then the speed increases dramatically due to absence of friction, just like a ballistic missile, Malaysia now makes a ballistic car…..

• Veyron Owner on Oct 22, 2019 at 10:36 am

Perodua cars are essentially ballistic missile cars on the road.

• Keep dreaming.

• flying car...pfft on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:27 am

dont mind me…im here just to read comment flying off the keybaord

• DroneMana? on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:40 am

Congrats! Our Minister of Transport YB Loke will be the first person to try it out just to give the public some confidence!

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Flying in formation would be Redzuan on his Flying Unicorn.

• The speed is 60km/h but he said travel from KL to Penang in 1 hour. You know what are you talking about or not? And battery max can last is 90min, is this enough buffer for your so call from KL to Penang in 1 hour? Facepalm

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Redzuan is another CGPA 3.85

Oh how I miss Maslan. At least his nasi goreng got logic.

• swoosh3553 on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:52 pm

Exactly friend. Claims are so baseless and obviously he did not do his homework before making that statement. Again, he may just be bad in maths during his school days

• Fireant on Oct 18, 2019 at 11:53 am

Why on earth do we need to get the expensive know-how from EU or more advance countries.. We have the Bomoh who can find MH370 with 2 coconuts.. Just use his flying carpet better.. Probably faster too “sekelip mata dah sampai”… Mana? Tak tentu lah.. Mungkin neraka tu.

• AkooIm on Oct 18, 2019 at 12:12 pm

According to the information i got from someone close with them, the delay is caused by their main supplier, Mr. DIY…

• Sceptical on Oct 18, 2019 at 12:24 pm

How about regulation?..is there any international rules to follow? If can fly up to 50m, hw to maneuver big n high rise if volume of flying car would be mess pro like perodua…or dont mind it now we can think later…no need for feasibility study…apa kerajaan mintak kita bagi shj janji nampak bagus n ada progress…pfftt

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Songlap dulu, regulations learn semua belakang kira.

• Michael on Oct 18, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Need pilot license? Need air route clearance? Is it cost effective as compare to normal driving… Or it will be operating as another private “helicopter” transport alternative?… Anyway… Syabas as dare to do it…

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:52 pm

Redzuan where got go in-depth until this level. Where the heck does he know the difference between PPL, CPL, ATPL? Or between VFR or IFR? Or apa itu Flight Plan.

His Flying Unicorn flies to the moon and back without needing any of these.

• john is otak batu on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:02 pm

Bad things r waiting to happen whether no customers or accidents. … Tun & PH pls take this blame!
    BTW… Rakyat will find out how the money is being burnt

• Grease monkey on Oct 18, 2019 at 2:32 pm

If private sector, why minister so sibuk to give statement? The company doing it should be proudly announce any progress,not this clown from Ph circus. Go do something about the high unemployment,high cost of living & give good practical solutions to improve the economy.

• Just a concerned citizen on Oct 18, 2019 at 3:09 pm

I’m concerned for the safety and the sort of qualifications or passing bar in order to pilot one of these things.
    We know that some people can be a little careless when it comes to bringing themselves to their destination so what are the sort of procedures that will be taken to ensure it will be safe for everyone?
    Accidents on the road is lethal to people involved but what happens when you are able to fly overhead above buildings and the likes? What covers it? What are the sort of insurance are we looking at?

How expensive is the training for people to pilot one of those?

What of repairs and parts? I’m sure no “Ah Keong workshop” can easily repair this.

Much questions, many doubts, very anxious on many insecurities.

• transformer on Oct 18, 2019 at 3:14 pm

just barred these flying vehicle to fly above any road, housing area, malls, school, hospital and other human populated area…

rakyat can’t trust these driver? or pilot?
    (they are not trained as pilot)

• Robinhood on Oct 18, 2019 at 3:54 pm

Most people in the country are struggling for basic transport in this ailing economy. They can’t even abolish one single toll and this person is talking about flying cars which is hardly affordable for the mass. Petrol price also go up which will cause hyper inflation and wiped off your pathetic RM30 subsidy for the B40. Are you an idiot or Ada Udang di Sebalik Batu?

• Its the udang my friend. Or rather the lobster in their meals.

• sam123 on Oct 18, 2019 at 5:41 pm

sad. hate those approver. our hospital need more fund than this crap.

• Selma on Oct 18, 2019 at 6:11 pm

Hangat hangat tahi ayam.

• Sam KK Loo on Oct 18, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Flying car in this country, pigs can fly. Just admit we are a special breed that can make a ‘special deathtrap’ pariah junks after 25 years with features such as steering suddenly locked while driving, fuel pump problems for vehicles aged less than a year, rear axle that risk coming off. In addition of lying their cars FC, they also lied that their cars cannot fit ESC just to earn more obscene profits at the expense of your life.

• vVivi Zurianti on Oct 19, 2019 at 1:40 pm

I want to see our super-high-IQ Minister Redzuan to fly in the flying car….

Jangan pakai cakap saja, prove by action please, ok?

• Using Google maps ( Measuring distance between two points ) , and taking a point from KLCC ( KL ) to Bayan Lepas ( the furthest point from the centre of Penang island itself and the closest point from KLCC ) , it would be about 287 KM.

If the flying car can go a maximum of 60 km/h, that means a total distance covered is 60 KM in an hour. The flight time is 30 – 90 minutes. Taking a maximum flight time of 90 minutes, that means the flying car would only be able to travel a distance of 90 KM .

So…. What’s happening ?

• Michael Khor on Oct 22, 2019 at 12:54 am

Until engineers can get power source and energy system to lift this human size machine, it is still sci-fiction to have flying car. The reason is power to weight ratio do not scale linearly with size increase. For example a small 5kg cat 25cm height can leap 2m up easily. Scale the height 4x to 100cm tiger size, it weight is not 4x heavier at 20kg, but at least 100kg…and no tiger can jump 8m up however much muscle it has.
    So small drones can fly, but human size drone has insufficient power to lift off the ground. We have to wait until inventors can give up anti-gravity motor…

• Indon on Sep 19, 2021 at 10:56 am

Malaysia never fails to amuse the world with their idiotic ideas bwahaha

• Jason Scott on Aug 22, 2022 at 11:04 am

The funny thing is now already years 2023 almost 2023….So many kerata terbang?